Stats: 3,153,011 members, 7,817,979 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 01:29 AM

Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days (25665 Views)

N80b Salary Debt: Akeredolu Begs Ondo Workers To Waive Outstanding Salaries / Rochas Introduces 'Back 2 Land Scheme',Civil Servants 2 Farm Thursdays & Fridays / Fayose Urges Workers To Call Off Strike, Says APC Should Cover Face In Shame (2) (3) (4)

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by Abagworo(m): 7:49am On Aug 02, 2016
kettykin:

The civil service in imo state has been reduced to the level of redundancy that would make imo civil service a joke, the same APC is busy importing grass from another country.
3 working days out of 5 working days simply means on Thursday and Friday the state machinery grinds to a halt

Did you read the news at all? Not all civil servants are involved but those who are not essential in running of the State. I believe or rather advice most States to follow suite as this will help a lot in poverty reduction.

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by autodoctor: 8:14am On Aug 02, 2016
Insanity of the highest order.

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by Abugab(m): 8:17am On Aug 02, 2016
Not a bad idea and experiment to try out in the next one year. The shout about hunger is becoming deafening in the land.
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by einsteino(m): 8:19am On Aug 02, 2016
You dont get. He is also going to slash their salaries.

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by MasterJayJay: 8:20am On Aug 02, 2016
3 days times 4 weeks = 12 days. You get paid a month's salary for working just 12 days. undecided

The fact still remains all states have overpopulated civil service, and they need to reduce the number drastically.

A scenario where government is the largest employer spells doom for the economy of that state, especially when it is all about paperwork with no government owned industries.

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by kettykin: 8:22am On Aug 02, 2016
Abagworo:

Did you read the news at all? Not all civil servants are involved but those who are not essential in running of the State. I believe or rather advice most States to follow suite as this will help a lot in poverty reduction.

I read the news very very well and I understand the content of the News.
Imo state is more of a civil service state than any other thing. The government is the largest spender and employer. Many businesses in owerri like the transportation business, eateries, even Ekeonuwa market depends largely on disposable income from the civil servants.
On Thursday and Friday the owerri economy will enter some self induced recession because the teachers , internal revenue staff will not be enough to sustain the canteens, eateries and transportation businesses.

What stopped Rochas from taking a cue from Obiano by licensing a private firm that would evacuate and export agro products in Imo.

Imo should by now be competing with Rivers state for IGR but because of the lack of good policies ,Imo is now loosing the only industry it had exclusive advantage in to Abia and Anambra

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by Nobody: 8:25am On Aug 02, 2016
Abagworo:

What is bad about this policy?

Were you not expecting them to see it as bad policy?

For me, I'm not disappointed at their comments.

Politics don't let our people reason with their brains again but their hearts.
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by Ojiofor: 8:27am On Aug 02, 2016
And finally,Imo state has been rescued by a criminal governor grin.

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by free2ryhme: 8:31am On Aug 02, 2016
Beremx:
ok nice one.

If almost everyone in imo goes farming who will buy the produce? Is there any scheme set up to buy back these produce from farmers? Are the produce cash crops? Is the farming going to be for subsistence purpose or commercial? These are questions begging to be answered

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by MaziOmenuko: 8:31am On Aug 02, 2016
Rochas is a certified clown I swear cheesygrin

Which land is in Owerri for Agriculture? Abi civil servants go travel Ngor-okpala every other week to farm?

Clown with Nafdac number!

Dear Rochas, if you are reading this, kindly do the following in the Agric sector:
1. Subsidize fertilizers for farmers in the state
2. Invest in agric research institutes or partner with Root crop research institute in Umudike, Abia: that institute has been supplying disease resistant cassava stems to Abia farmers for ages now.
3. Empower Local Govts to purchase agric equipment and liase with coperative societies to make these equipment available for farmers.

will come back for more...

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by frankopit: 8:35am On Aug 02, 2016
Standing5:
No. The governor is being realistic by reducing number work days and work load by 40%. It is only a matter of time before he proposes a 40% pay reduction. Their effort has no bearing with their pay n it is natural they flow with the tide instead of harrassing the ship's captain.

Exactly.its clear, soon there salary will be cut down by 40%.Imo state is now used as an experimental template for other state to follow suit.

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by proprince(m): 8:37am On Aug 02, 2016
Ejanla07:
Abagworo. come and see

owerri is being molested by roach-ass

;Dhahahahahahaha
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by proprince(m): 8:38am On Aug 02, 2016
[quote author=Ejanla07 post=48101085]Abagworo. come and see

owerri is being molested by roach-ass
ahahahahahaha grin
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by TedBaker(m): 8:44am On Aug 02, 2016
RRoyaId:
Imo state is cursed. They should closed the state down and chase away every body including Okoroawusa cool
Okorochausa na ur man oooo grin
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by ozoemenaca: 8:46am On Aug 02, 2016
Rochas has run out of ideas and as such is confused
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by Angelb4: 8:48am On Aug 02, 2016
RRoyaId:
Imo state is CURSED so it can only get worse cool

Abagworo please confirm

Your pix is from Abia. Why spreading fake information
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by skipolala94(m): 8:50am On Aug 02, 2016
See gbage..... we don enta one chance tru tru
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by RRoyaId: 8:54am On Aug 02, 2016
Keep deceiving yourself. Did you see the posters? All the pictures are from Imo state. FACT.

Angelb4:

Your pix is from Abia. Why spreading fake information
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by bellville: 8:54am On Aug 02, 2016
The workers are now part-time workers.
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by Abagworo(m): 8:55am On Aug 02, 2016
kettykin:

I read the news very very well and I understand the content of the News.
Imo state is more of a civil service state than any other thing. The government is the largest spender and employer. Many businesses in owerri like the transportation business, eateries, even Ekeonuwa market depends largely on disposable income from the civil servants.
On Thursday and Friday the owerri economy will enter some self induced recession because the teachers , internal revenue staff will not be enough to sustain the canteens, eateries and transportation businesses.

What stopped Rochas from taking a cue from Obiano by licensing a private firm that would evacuate and export agro products in Imo.

Imo should by now be competing with Rivers state for IGR but because of the lack of good policies ,Imo is now loosing the only industry it had exclusive advantage in to Abia and Anambra

Okorocha can equally arrange for such a show of shame but it's better being realistic than making false claims like Obiano. If indeed you encourage Government being the highest employer of labour then you need a lot of grow up in economic affairs. What Okorocha is experimenting might turn out a viable option for Nigeria as a whole and should be appreciated while we all study the outcome within it's one year lifespan.
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by Janeyinspires(f): 9:00am On Aug 02, 2016
ORO abia kwa ozo o!

If you are giving workers 2 days off to engage in 'back to land',you should also make provision for the land.The present economic recession has turned almost every land owner to land seller(money in the bush).

Again,your administration has taken most communities land to erect massive structures with no economic relevance.Give them back their land then,we'l see how your 'back to land' works out.
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by kagari: 9:01am On Aug 02, 2016
hmm glad to see mc pecolo still doing his thing. That guy na something else for my platoon when we served in delta state.
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by Abagworo(m): 9:01am On Aug 02, 2016
MaziOmenuko:
Rochas is a certified clown I swear cheesygrin

Which land is in Owerri for Agriculture? Abi civil servants go travel Ngor-okpala every other week to farm?

Clown with Nafdac number!

Dear Rochas, if you are reading this, kindly do the following in the Agric sector:
1. Subsidize fertilizers for farmers in the state
2. Invest in agric research institutes or partner with Root crop research institute in Umudike, Abia: that institute has been supplying disease resistant cassava stems to Abia farmers for ages now.
3. Empower Local Govts to purchase agric equipment and liase with coperative societies to make these equipment available for farmers.

will come back for more...

Are you ignorant of the fact that all that has been done or you are playing politics? Okorocha is under attack for his political affiliation thereby exposing Imo State to all sorts of lies in a bid to discredit his successes. Read and digest this.

http://reporters365.com/2016/05/84075/imo-state-government-to-generate-n40bn-from-palm-oil-rubber-commissioner/

The Imo State Government on Wednesday said
it would generate over N40 billion annually
from rubber and palm oil plantations it
established in parts of the state.
Mr Udo Agoha, the state Commissioner for
Agriculture, Environment and Natural
Resources, disclosed this in an interview with
the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Owerri.
Agoha, however, said that the projected
revenue from rubber and palm oil would be far
less than what the state anticipated to
generate from cassava and cashew crops.

“Imo State is the third largest national
producer of cassava and the revenue potential
in cassava alone is far above what it hopes to
get from rubber and palm oil put together
when our investment in cassava begins to
yield returns.

“What is currently going on now is installation
of plants for the processing of cassava at
various locations and we hope to get more
lucid idea of what the revenue potential of the
state will be in this sector in few weeks time,’’
he said.

The commissioner told NAN that the
government’s investment in agriculture was
in-line with the diversification programme of
the state in the bid to reposition its economy
given the downturn of crude oil prices.
“Registration and enlightenment program
mes
are being conducted for potential farmers in
the state to encourage them to embrace
agriculture as not only wealth creation, but a
veritable means for the provision of jobs.’’
He said that Gov. Rochas Okorocha-led
administration believed that through these
sources, his promise of providing employment
opportunities to youths and women would be
achieved.

The commissioner said that the state had
keyed into other agricultural programmes of
the Federal Government as well as opened
discussion with banks for provision of credit
facilities to farmers.

“Our focus is to change the mindset of our
people from seeing agriculture as subsistence
venture, but rather a genuine business that
could offer life opportunities,’’ he said.
Agoha equally hinted of plans by the state to
establish markets where surplus agricultural
produce would be procured from farmers to
curb wastages.

He said that food processing factories were
being built by local and foreign investors who
took part or were attracted during recent
overseas economic tours sponsored by the
state government.
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by MissBN(f): 9:01am On Aug 02, 2016
pedel:

How many days in a week will teachers be going to school?
did you read the news at all or you just came to hate on the man?

Am no supporter of okoroawusa but for this one, AM IN... Its a nice decision only if it would happen the way it was said...
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by meltiplexer: 9:03am On Aug 02, 2016
If the policy work out very well,it will be nice. we should all find a way to go back to agriculture, Naijabet man say so
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by RRoyaId: 9:03am On Aug 02, 2016
Clown what false claim? How did you conclude it was a false claim? Sarahareporter? Did the state export to Europe or not? Ans me fast daft.

This is why Okorocha is a failure.

Abagworo:

Okorocha can equally arrange for such a show of shame but it's better being realistic than making false claims like Obiano. If indeed you encourage Government being the highest employer of labour then you need a lot of grow up in economic affairs. What Okorocha is experimenting might turn out a viable option for Nigeria as a whole and should be appreciated while we all study the outcome within it's one year lifespan.

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by Nobody: 9:04am On Aug 02, 2016
RRoyaId:
Okoroawusa is the greatest Nigerian cheesy

Lmao.

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by Exponental(m): 9:04am On Aug 02, 2016
It should be optional. Grounding civil service for 2days is uncalled for. Make it optional, let interested people apply. Making it general will only encourage idleness of the non interested.

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by collinsVP: 9:16am On Aug 02, 2016
This policy is laughabe. This simply means, IMO state, is at a level of full employment. Everybody is gainfully employed, such that no one within the age bracket of labour force is left to go into agriculture. Hence the need to rationalise the labour time to accommodate all projects.

That policy was a product of lazy mental job. comletely gross.
Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by MasterofdRolls1(m): 9:27am On Aug 02, 2016
chrisblack:
guy you have only succeeded in showing us different pictures of the same road.there is know how any govt can repair or tar the entire road in the state.Mind you roads cost money.some road are even more than the entire monthly allocation of states

Dude I can bet that you are not resident in Imo State, but I am, this man is useless, he destroyed the already good roads and left it in ruins, going to the media to lie that he has executed at least a thousand projects in 5yrs.

Re: Imo Introduces “Back To Land For Agriculture", Workers To Work For 3 Days by Onegai(f): 9:32am On Aug 02, 2016
Abagworo:

What is bad about this policy?

What they need is commercial agriculture, large scale farming to produce crops that are viable in the markets of Nigeria and Africa. So they can generate revenue for the state to fix those appalling roads or is Rochas planning on having people pay taxes via tubers of yams? People in the villages are not starving, they are surrounded by farmlands. They don't have money to do other things like access quality education, good healthcare and start manufacturing businesses. Farms in schools should be geared towards research, they can sell that research to companies (that is what is done in working countries). This governor is codedly trying to slash salaries. He should reduce his workforce in the civil service and offer them mechanized farming apparatus with the little money he has, reduce political appointees and aides and take a pay cut himself and the deputy governor and every single commissioner. Offer tax incentives to anyone with a viable manufacturing proposal (he has the manpower) and fix his roads partially.

Why is it that no governor is speaking of reducing aides and slashing their own salaries and those of political appointees ?

Osamede Adun Defects To PDP, Curses APC 'Spies' That Would Return / Odu’a Group To Begin Oil Exploration / Pundits Tip Buhari For Victory - Sun Newspaper

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 48