Stats: 3,158,496 members, 7,836,940 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 May 2024 at 02:45 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (2157) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11790152 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2154) (2155) (2156) (2157) (2158) (2159) (2160) ... (16196) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 2:01pm On Nov 17, 2017
Chrismario:

Cool down. Don't be in haste to forget so easily that 2008 is not yesterday and 2002 was the year Enyeama debuted for SE. As far as football is concerned, 2 years is like 100 years not to talk about 9 or 15. It is also good to remember that Ukrainian team did not just made the final but won it in 2008. Who knows where and how you would rate them compared to Scottish.

Many 18s had been putting on good performances so I'm not a bit surprised. I'm just wondering what made Aberdeen not to renew his contract unless he turned it down but if not, it supports my earlier comments that he may not be so good.

He single handedly promoted them to EPL but he couldn't sustain himself to play for any kick and rush EPL teams. I Dare say that he lacks consistency.

Had fashamu, Agbonlahor or nedu onuoha played for us, you may be blaming SE for making them not to play dem Madrid, bayern and barca.

Irrespective of country he chose, a star is a star!

What is the meaning of all this story?

You claimed Sone Aluko played in below par league but facts on says otherwise.

It just like saying Finidi George played in below par league because of the Eredivise of today

The points still remains that he played in competitive league as at that time and he even played in the UEFA cup. Period

Your second paragraph stinks of ignorance but I will help a brother.

'Aluko went on to win the SPL Young Player of the Month award for November 2008.[19] In September 2009, the tabloid press reported that he had put his Aberdeen future in jeopardy by going to play in the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup, against the wishes of manager Mark McGhee.[20] He left the club at the end of his contract in July 2011'

Your third paragraph ooz of ignorant and needs a cure.

They say Rangers, Burnley, Bournemouth and Derby are also in the hunt.

Aluko has spent the last four years of his career at Hull City, here’s what Hull Daily Mail writer Phil Buckingham makes of him.

He had recovered by the start of the following Premier League season and he scored a superb goal at Newcastle but those Achilles problems dogged him for that whole of that season.

“By the time he got back properly fit it was almost as if the club had moved on, they’d spent big money on Shane Long and Nikica Jelavic and he was out of the picture a bit.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 2:11pm On Nov 17, 2017
Joebie:
TheGoodJoe , here it is:

"I keep asking him: 'When are you going to come and play for Nigeria?' and he jokes: 'Whenever you come and invite me I will play!" Mikel told Goal. "I think it is something that we would have to discuss.
"If he wants to play, we would have to speak to the federation and make sure that he really wants to play for Nigeria. If he is ready, we can talk about, but in the few times we have talked about it, he hasn’t given me a very positive, decisive answer to take back to the FA.
"I need a positive answer for me to take the case forward to the FA. We will see what happens."

The bolded highlights my point. We want those that are ready to play for us. Finito. When they are ready, they can let us know and they are welcomed to fight for places.

Finito.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 2:13pm On Nov 17, 2017
komekn:

Someone who has never been to Nigeria in his life has no connection with Nigeria. Should just jump on a plane with all the possible dangers true and untrue.

Is that what you are actually suggesting

Did you read some players even sent their tape? Did you not read some players contacting the NFF/Technical crew stating that they are ready to play for us. When they are ready, they will let us know.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 2:20pm On Nov 17, 2017
How would that discussion have been possible without a relationship?
Don't forget my earlier bolded. Mikel talked to him several times, and Aina joked..

Are you saying our current SE players should be the ones "begging"?
without a relationship first, how would Mikel have been able to talk to Aina several times. Wouldn't it be seen by you as "begging"?
Please highlight your system of making these players know that declaration is the easiest route to SE.

TheGoodJoe:

The bolded highlights my point. We want those that are ready to play for us. Finito. When they are ready, they can let us know and they are welcomed to fight for places.

Finito.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 2:22pm On Nov 17, 2017
Where did you read it? Is it secret?

Modified
Now you are canvassing for a system were these players will have to send tapes etc. in other words beg the NFF, and wait. wow!
when a man thinks in his head that he is important, and everyone around him sees the opposite. Fool's paradise.

TheGoodJoe:

Did you read some players even sent their tape? Did you not read some players contacting the NFF/Technical crew stating that they are ready to play for us. When they are ready, they will let us know.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by chrisooblog: 2:23pm On Nov 17, 2017
my World Cup List of Sure Bankers (barring injuries) as of today

GOALKEEPER

1. Francis Uzoho (for now he takes the 3rd rookie spot)

DEFENDERS

2. Leon Balogun
3. Troost Ekong
4. Chidozie Awaziem (rookie spot)
5. Shehu Abdullahi
6. Tyronne Ebuehi (i'm satisfied with what i've seen of him)
7. Ola Aina (he's an upgrade on elderson that i'm sure of might still lose his starting position to brian idowu)

MIDFIELDERS

8. John Obi Mikel
9. Wilfred Ndidi
10. Ogenyi Onazi
11. John Ogu

STRIKERS

12. Victor Moses
13. Alex Iwobi
14. Kelechi Iheanacho
15. Odion Ighalo
16. Simon Moses

with the above mentioned list this leaves 7 positions to be filled. GKs really difficult to say who will take it. enyeama? ajiboye, ezenwa and alampasu to fight for the final 2 spots. DF i would like to go with 8 so two spots are left. brian idowu (want another look at him before i make up my mind), elderson, omeruo, uche agbo, efe ambrose to slog it out for the final 2 places. MID 5 players for me so one more spot left. joel obi, etebo, sone aluko, josh onomah? to battle for the sole spot. STK 7 attackers get my nod so 2 places left. kayode, onyekuru, ahmed musa, dessers, awoniyi? osimhen? bonaventure to slug it out for the final 2 spot

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 2:24pm On Nov 17, 2017
People just refuse to be enlightened. Rather they choose to live in a cave. Cave way of doing things. Exactly why Nigeria is what it is today, and will continue to be so.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Napoleon55(m): 2:29pm On Nov 17, 2017
MetalJigsaw:
This your formation requires Ighalo to be on the bench.
Secondly ,I dondt think Rohr would allow Moses, the team's most lethal attacker to with his trickery and intelligence in the final third to waste in the wingback role. This can't happen.
as a matter of fact,no formation that excludes V.Moses should be adopted,unless perhaps he is injured(God forbids)
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 2:31pm On Nov 17, 2017
V. Moses can play in almost any formation.

Napoleon55:
as a matter of fact,no formation that excludes V.Moses should be adopted,unless perhaps he is injured(God forbids)
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Napoleon55(m): 2:39pm On Nov 17, 2017
forgiveness:

Let me borrow una words 4 here. I get am before no be property.

Iheanacho is now a bench warmer in a relegated threatened club. Let us say the thruth.

Which market value Iheanacho wan get pass Tammy and Solanke? Oga, em value son dive nose pata pata.

Statically speak, Tammy is one of the top goal scorers in the EPL while Solanke is still in a better club than Iheanacho. grin
u guys should stop mentioning TAMMY and SOLANKE on this thread,this is SE thread,the last i check,they have debuted for 3 lions not SE.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 2:41pm On Nov 17, 2017
Joebie:
Where did you read it? Is it secret?

Modified
Now you are canvassing for a system were these players will have to send tapes etc. in other words beg the NFF, and wait. wow!
when a man thinks in his head that he is important, and everyone around him sees the opposite. Fool's paradise.

It is old news. It is normal to send your tapes to coaches to study to see if they like what they see. Very normal.

When I wrote did you not see sending tapes, I am talking of my earlier points. Making tapes available is normal.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 2:43pm On Nov 17, 2017
Joebie:
Don't forget my earlier bolded. Mikel talked to him several times, and Aina joked..

without a relationship first, how would Mikel have been able to talk to Aina several times. Wouldn't it be seen by you as "begging"?
Please highlight your system of making these players know that declaration is the easiest route to SE.

Mikel talked, he joked. Mikel said when he is ready then a discussion with the NFF can take place. Mikel did not say, we must do our best to convince him to play for us.

Finito.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Napoleon55(m): 2:43pm On Nov 17, 2017
lexyman:
we need to play our next friendlies without mikel ... if we must do well in in the world cup ,its so obvious we lost lost a match and drew one without mikel , ... Rohr should look for someone to deputise him ... SHOPPING FOR A MIKEL DEPUTY SHOULD BE THE NEXT TASK FOR ROHR .

GUYS LETS MAKE A SHOPPING LIST FOR HIM ...

SO FAR I CAN ONLY THINK OF :
joel Obi
Sone Aluko
Azeez Ajagun
Chidiebere Nwakali

lets list players who can play in that role
nice suggestion,but i'm afraid only Iwobi can comfortably play that role Mikel is playing.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 2:56pm On Nov 17, 2017
Joebie:
Colin is not Collins. two different names.
Mikel is derived from Michael. In Mikel Obi's case, it was PROBABLY misspelled at a point in time, then it stuck to him.

Yea that's wat I meant
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 3:06pm On Nov 17, 2017
it's like most teams are now scared of being grouped with the super eagles...
even the Russians are calling Nigeria...Africa Germany....
I will like us play Brazil or belguim in one of our friendlies prior world cup

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by SerVik(m): 3:09pm On Nov 17, 2017
Napoleon55:
it's only forgiveness will tell u that Taye Taiwo is better than Babayaro.
not that he meant it,it's just to make sure he is at the opposing side
grin grin very funny

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by SerVik(m): 3:14pm On Nov 17, 2017
Joebie:

Very true. There is a Nigerian in Mainz and Balogun is already talking to him. However, not every foreign born have that luxury of playing with an SE player.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kingphilip(m): 3:15pm On Nov 17, 2017
komekn:

I actually feel we have not tested enough players we should be looking a lot more players than we have so far.

England will possibly go through upwards of 45 players before deciding on a final 23. How many players have we looked at some far do not seem to be enough.

Are there players who are possibly better in this regard Joel Obi, Sone Aluko, immediately come to mind as well as striking options in Obagoal who had better stats than Ighalo before getting injured.

Until tested we do not know. Give as many deserving players opportunities to be tested so we can get the best possible 23 we can find. No sentiment best players go.
when should the bolded be done
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 3:16pm On Nov 17, 2017
Sounded funny to me.

DI MARIA SCREAMED AT TEAMMATES DURING FRIENDLY – CAN’T YOU SEE HE (Ebuehi) IS FAST?

An Argentine journalist who covered the game between Argentina and Nigeria has revealed the outburst of Angel Di Maria when a teammate berated him for not delivering a cross on time.
Di Maria was on from the start in the game that saw Argentina threw away a two goal lead to lose 2-4 to Nigeria, leaving the Argentines frustrated as it was their first loss under coach Jorge Sampaoli.
”Di Maria was angered by a teammate after his inability to deliver a cross into the box. He reacted angrily by telling the person in question about the pace of the Nigerian who was on him. The number 17 ( Tyronne Ebuehi) “, the photographer said.
”His major statement to his teammate was the pace of the guy in 17 (Ebuehi) which made it impossible for him to deliver the cross that would
Source:http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/11/17/di-maria-screamed-at-teammates-during-friendly-cant-you-see-he-ebuehi-is-fast/

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 3:21pm On Nov 17, 2017
Humility017:
it's like most teams are now scared of being grouped with the super eagles...

even the Russians are calling Nigeria...Africa Germany....

I will like us play Brazil or belguim in one of our friendlies prior world cup
Let it not be that we win high profile friendlies and then go to the WC and be knocked out first round. The world needs to see this team go at least qtr final at the WC.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 3:29pm On Nov 17, 2017
SerVik:

Very true. There is a Nigerian in Mainz and Balogun is already talking to him. However, not every foreign born have that luxury of playing with an SE player.
Who's the Nigerian guy at Mainz? Seems our FB players are mainly in the UK and Germany.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 3:30pm On Nov 17, 2017
komekn:

No exaggeration but tell me three players who are clearly better than him.

Any player or attacking players?
Iwobi, V moses and Nacho
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 3:30pm On Nov 17, 2017
komekn:

No exaggeration but tell me three players who are clearly better than him.

Any player or attacking players?
Iwobi, V moses and Nacho

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 3:31pm On Nov 17, 2017
Napoleon55:
Yes
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Lucque: 3:32pm On Nov 17, 2017
Bros she started playing as a full senior international before sone even kicked a ball for us so how we take influence her decision, she debuted for England 2004...sone played for Nigeria 2009 so Wat gives?
forgiveness:

I don't know but it his sister rejected Nigeria after she saw the way we mistreated her brother.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 3:33pm On Nov 17, 2017
Yes Kareem Onisiwo.
Exactly!

SerVik:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by somehow: 3:41pm On Nov 17, 2017
North Africans aren't that strong physically though and they are Africans.

South Africans too aren't that strong physically.
junnyjake:
One thing I found consistent with the Argentines verdict on the game was that we were a very physical side. I love that. If you play against an African team and your body No tell you when you reach haz, which African team you play Biko?

But make we no sha go jam one kind ref wey de get joy only when him de share cards
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon79(m): 4:00pm On Nov 17, 2017
Thank you, my dear!

You don tok am finish. To add anything else would be most uncivilized.

O pari

safarigirl:
i actually beg to differ.

I hate it when European and South American sides blame physicality after losing to African opposition. It connotes that the black man can only win the whites when they exploit the basest of human traits. Why can't they ever acknowledge the fact that they were outplayed? They were outclassed, they didn't get the tactics? Why always blame physicality?

I watched the second half at least three times and while they held the ball more than we did, we certainly had the better game plan and that is how we won.

They were outplayed and outclassed, no need to add physicality to it....abi is it Ebuehi that is lepa like that that was physical? With what mbok?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by nelszx: 4:03pm On Nov 17, 2017
MetalJigsaw:
Hello guys.. Which African team do you think can perform most in the World Cup. Realistic predictions please

All 5 can and will with adequate preparations
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Lucque: 4:04pm On Nov 17, 2017
On the issue of rohr's team selection
I want all of us to understand that he will not make his decisions based on Wat u and I want,he has his own tactics and the kind of players he would prefer to fit his tactics.
football is not politics ,dat you go around campaigning ND making unrealistic promises to suit everybody.
I want to take our minds back to 2008/2009 season in Spain when guardiola was made d coach of Barcelona he dropped d following players
1-deco
2-zambrotta
3-ronaldinho(d world best at a time)
3-giovani dose santos(wonder kid tipped to be d next dinho)
4-edmilson.
5- wanted to sell thuram to psg for free before his health caused Him to retire
And he brought in players from
1) d academy(busquets,pedro)
2)lesser clubs(alves ,Keita)
3)infact d only player from a top team den was Pique and we all know how his Man Utd career was den...

Any on paper coach,or online analyst would fault ND blast his line of action but dat gave birth to d best Barcelona Team and an era of dominance dat stunned d world....
My point is simple if rohr makes a decision to play 5-4-1,3-3-3-1,4-4-2, or 10-0-0-...its no ones concern... He is d coach he makes d call ND gets stuck for it if it fails.... All we can do is support him... U look at ur stats to judge which players he should invite, but I believe he knows WATS best to suit his tactics.... On dat i rest my case...

On d issue of Mikel..

.its sad but Ders just some players dats indispensable... Or irreplaceable, take Xavi for instance...if we can't get a like for like ders d alternative option of having 2formational setup were if Mikel is substituted out or injured, d team structure adjusts to suit d change....

On iheanacho vs tammy+solanke.
..anyone dat continues to argue his value wit d tammy+solanke supporters club here is wasting valuable time, data, ND brain power,...the argument is like Fyting dat Aguero is beta Dan kayode... It's not relevant here cos Aguero wil Neva ND can Neva be a super eagle even if he wears only green for d rest of his life, ND follows a strict Nigeria diet.sentimental ppl will always sentimental..we are all sentimental as humans, but d worst kind is d ppl dat think they aren't wen they are.

ND to a certain sum1
.bets can only be placed on conditional situations... And "if" is d indication of a conditional statement, dats basic English.. If u have never heard of seen a double wager den I just feel sori dat i brought it upon u so hardly, grin
I am only responsible for Wat I say, not how ineptly u interpret, or how impossible it is for u to understand... cool

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by SerVik(m): 4:04pm On Nov 17, 2017
Mujtahida:

Who's the Nigerian guy at Mainz? Seems our FB players are mainly in the UK and Germany.
Karim Onisiwo. He's played in a friendly for Austria though.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon79(m): 4:05pm On Nov 17, 2017
Etebo is definitely going to Russia but whether he'll get a game is a different story, especially if Joel Obi gets called into the mix.
Etebo had his chances but he didn't exactly grab it with both hands. Two stellar performances and 2 poor performances under Rohr. I think the bad pitch in Constantine really impacted his game badly.

Verdict: the jury is still out on him, as far as Rohr is concerned.

O pari

safarigirl:
I've been offline most of the time for the last two days, the power situation here is woeful, I could barely read through the over twenty pages I met here.

Icon4s, sorry I haven't been able to respond to your list, I haven't properly read it and I may not get the chance to because of my battery situation, however I trust your judgment and that of those of us on this thread. I would probably not have advised opening the discussion to all NLers though. They have proven themselves incapable of taking the national team issues seriously most of the time.

I was thinking up a final World Cup list and a thought came to me, what do you guys think of Etebo's chances of making it to the world cup considering current situations?

(1) (2) (3) ... (2154) (2155) (2156) (2157) (2158) (2159) (2160) ... (16196) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Cecco90, Oasis007(m), elyte89, Philosopher1979, zuchyblink(m) and 13 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 72