Stats: 3,153,117 members, 7,818,333 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 01:02 PM

Single Men On Valentine's Day. . - Romance - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Romance / Single Men On Valentine's Day. . (6384 Views)

10 Romantic Text Messages To Send To Your Loved One On Valentine’s Day / Things Smart, Single Men Look For In A Woman / Letter To Single Men From Single Ladies (2) (3) (4)

Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by topup: 3:48am On Jan 28, 2009
Q1. What do single men enjoy doing on Valentine's day?

Q2. However, if they can't do this, what do they often do/are forced to do instead?

Q3. Do men prefer to be single of Valentine's day?

Q4. Do single men think about their exs on Valentine's day?

Q5. What are single men most likely to be tempted to do on Valentine's day?

Q6. Is Valentine's day even significant in a single man's diary?
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by C2H5OH(f): 3:54am On Jan 28, 2009
i personally don't give a shit about it either way. just another drummed-up day.
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by topup: 3:59am On Jan 28, 2009
C2H5OH:

i personally don't give a shit about it either way. just another drummed-up day.

And why's that?
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by C2H5OH(f): 4:03am On Jan 28, 2009
Because it's nothing.

What are you doing?
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by topup: 4:40pm On Jan 28, 2009
C2H5OH:

Because it's nothing.

What are you doing?

I'm not sure what I'm gonna do, but usually my girlfriends and I have a sleepover, but I'm at the age where guys shouldn't be my first concern anyways. . even though sometimes they are.
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by smooooooth: 4:50pm On Jan 28, 2009
valentine isnt all bout spending time with your GF, its all about showing love, so a single man can show love to the motherless, family, even some other guy. its really no big deal.

but if your qustion is what a single man all alone at home wld do on vals day, i'd say prolly what a single man alone wld do an any normal day.
self-service!!!!!! grin
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by Nobody: 8:30pm On Jan 28, 2009
Too much hype about vals day. Another neo-colonial mentality forced down our throat.
People should learn to show love everyday, just my opinion though.
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by Magz(m): 8:39pm On Jan 28, 2009
Q#6: No.

Valentine's Day to me is a strictly a White man's holiday that holds no signifigance in my mind. I mean, who the hell is Saint Valentine anyways? I don't get it,

I do however celebrate Bob Marley Day, which is February 6. And I honor the Late El-hajj Mailik El-Shabazz (bka Malcolm X) on Malcolm X Day (May 19). But I dont honor any "Holiday" that dosn't hold any cultural signifigance.

What Val's really is is just a capitalistic scheme to boost retail and put more millions of $$ into the pockets of the so-called elite.

Not to mention the fact that it is all a part of Babylon's plans of Identity / Cultural Theft that is still being executed in so many ways and on so many different fronts. None of it is relevant to our people. Why not have a Nelson Mandela Day? Or Marcus Garvey Day? Or even a(n) (inter)nationally recognized Marley Day or celerate our ancestors instead of some fake pagan European "god" (saint)?  

But whatever though, undecided Don't want to hurt or offend no one.  lipsrsealed
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by MaiSuya(m): 8:54pm On Jan 28, 2009
topup:

Q1. What do single men enjoy doing on Valentine's day?  Ans: look for a single lady!

Q2. However, if they can't do this, what do they often do/are forced to do instead? Ans: look for [i]another [/i]single lady!

Q3. Do men prefer to be single of Valentine's day? Ans: Definitely NOT!!!!

Q4. Do single men think about their exs on Valentine's day? Ans: don't have one, so I wouldnt know . . .

Q5. What are single men most likely to be tempted to do on Valentine's day? Ans: lead me not into temptation.

Q6. Is Valentine's day even significant in a single man's diary? Ans: with a single lady, an emphatic yes!  grin

Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by IGWEUSA(m): 8:59pm On Jan 28, 2009
Dont even know the significance of valentines day, then to talk of remembering d date.
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by springss: 9:07pm On Jan 28, 2009
topup:

Q2. However, if they can't do this, what do they often do/are forced to do instead?

A1. Nothing special. It's just another day.

A2. Forced to buy flowers, cards, dinner dates, etc, because the lady expects it.

A3. It's just another day, shouldn't really matter. If a man is happy being single b/4 Vals day, he's probably won't care.

A4. Not really. If we do, it's not because it's Vals day, but because we thought of them.

A5. Hook up with a chick and hope to get laid

A6. No.

@Topup, Most guys I know really don't care too much about Valentines day and all its ritual. We send flowers, cards and set up dinner dates because our ladies expect us to. Ladies will generally think it's a bad signal if a guy does nothing on Valentine's day. Truth be told, left alone for most single guys, Valentine's day could be just another day, except that it's one day in the year with the highest prospect of getting laid if the guy acts romantic,
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by Okanran(m): 9:11pm On Jan 28, 2009
I spent a particular val's day wth a couple of friends(all male) at eats (PH Nairalanders shld be familiar wth this joint). Not like we didn't have date[b]s[/b] though, we simply decided 2 get crazy. We were getting skunk drunk and cracking jokes about what our respective dates must be thinking, when suddenly one of ma frnds called our attention 2 a group of young girls who just drove in. They had class no doubt and it was just four of them in their jeep, perfect for the four of us drinking all alone. They came, ordered some drinks and barbecue and were doing their thing. . . I actually started thinking, does it mean babes too do hang out on their own on val's day! And how did the night end for moi? Dat one na tory 4 another day! wink

My point is, peeps might find themselves single for a variety of reasons, I for one have a demanding work schedule, hell, I'm praying I won't be stuck on the hi seas wth scores of sea sick dudes this val. Add to that, the fact that my woman is in Lag wth one of these (slave drivers), New generation banks. Trust me, except those who wanno cheat on their loved ones, work demands alone will make many-a-peeps single on that day.

Like a poster rightly observed, we need not spend it wth our lover alone. One could actually take the time to reach out to less privileged ones. cool
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by ohaechesi(m): 9:15pm On Jan 28, 2009
topup:

Now i understood what your problem are: JOBLESS
try and get one soon so that you can think of something better with your file than val, i meant no disdain
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by cvibe: 10:49pm On Jan 28, 2009
They hunt.
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by darne(m): 11:37pm On Jan 28, 2009
They Go hunting, for new single ladies like them,

@q6,, NOooo,
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by RichyBlacK(m): 12:13am On Jan 29, 2009
Val Day is for women. cool
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by kayplus24(m): 12:55am On Jan 29, 2009
Another trumped up excuse to make us spend more money; male or female.
It is amazing how some women say they don't care about V-Day, Yeah, until you forget it.
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by follypimpi(m): 1:30am On Jan 29, 2009
Just an over hyped day,who give a fly monkey abt Val day,i show luv to my respective gf's everyday.
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by Treetop20(m): 1:31am On Jan 29, 2009
follypimpi:

Just an over hyped day,who give a fly monkey abt Val day,i show luv to [b]my respective gf's [/b]everyday.
oh really?
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by superstan(m): 3:03am On Jan 29, 2009
topup:

single men go out there to prey on vulnerable single women. simple!
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by bluespice(f): 3:26am On Jan 29, 2009
no offence topup n i am an admirer of some of ur views n write-ups
but i must say with this:
these questions,
u make 'single men' sound like another specie of the human race i they are humans at all
maybe when u(we) begin to see 'singleton' for simply wat it is- the state of being romantic-loverless-in humanbeings,
then the whole world would be a much nicer placer
certainly a lot quiter
darn where's my margarita!?!
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by na2day2(m): 4:24am On Jan 29, 2009

A1. no vex, what is valentine's day?  tongue tongue tongue tongue

A2. i try not to get myself into that situation, so i play video games  grin grin grin grin [size=3pt]they dont whine [/size]  wink wink

A3. logically yes!

A4. why? she ain't thinking about me  angry angry angry

A5. clubbing i think  undecided undecided undecided

A6. Nope! don't even think of it  embarassed embarassed embarassed
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by topup: 5:07am On Jan 29, 2009
The replies pretty much proved what I thought, I know no one will believe me when I say this, but as a single woman, I think Valentine's day is just another day, I've always viewed it that way. However, I am not saying men are different, I just wanted the men's point of view, I already know the women's afterall. .

If I was with a guy, I think I would expect something on that day, even though I know it doesn't mean much and it truly is yet another holiday to spend money, not even necessarily on someone you truly care and love.

I don't know how I'm going to spend Valentine's day, but last year's sleepover was really cool, just a girl's night in, no bitching or gossiping, just relaxing and enjoying. I thought guys didn't have the pleasure of sleepovers like that (makeup, spa, pampering), that;'s why I asked what the alternative was.

Anyways, I'm so glad I can keep my money this Valentine's day. . smiley
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by cvibe: 6:23am On Jan 29, 2009
topup

R u indirectly looking for a valentine? Cos Val day is still faraway, and you just don't have to keep your money yet, better start thinking of gifts you're gonna buy wink
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by folami86: 6:40am On Jan 29, 2009
sum men is lyke no went is happee. becauze they lyke many girls who is virgens. I will give mind a box ov hart cookies and colone
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by outlaws(m): 7:27am On Jan 29, 2009

I don't give a Zap. about valentines, don't even celebrate it. To me is just another day jokers make noise about love they know nothing about. As for me right now, there are very few legible ladies around here. Those that are legible either don't come out to socialize a lot or they are not attractive enough. Like they say Portland is a White city, most times it seems like the only option is White ladies. I know a lot of prety White ladies but the issue is I can't deal with their racist parents. Not all White parents are racist but based on my experience with White people, please I don't want any wahala with a racist inlaw. Take your daughter and let me have my peace, knowing that the Klans will not show up in the middle of the night at my place. By the way, my brother is marrying a White lady this year, I have nothing against her or her parents, but still I don't feel okay with her parents any ways.

I know this is a valentine issue not a race issue but I think U.S. will remain a racist state as long as Africans [Blacks] live with Whites.
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by outlaws(m): 7:32am On Jan 29, 2009

Magz:

I like your comments, is the truth. A lot of people don't ask questions they just go ahead and do what others are doing. What's the difference between a man and a goat. A man thinks for himself and a goat let others think for him. Is just that simple.
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by SeanT21(f): 7:37am On Jan 29, 2009
"A Pointless and worthless day invented by Hersheys Confectionary Co and Joining forces with Teleflora Florists and Corbans Wine Makers just so they can profit out of Wine, Cholocates and Flowers, while single people suffer at the clutches of the hands of this evil and corrupt capitalist-orientated day that is not even a fucking holiday period.
Valentines Day should be banned and all those celebrating it shot."

LMAO at what someone wrote!!
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by kcbaba(m): 8:00am On Jan 29, 2009
They Go in search for the single girls

they are forced to get a girl

Well if case permit no crime

Yes ofcourse so seriously

Well catch their fun

Well not quite
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by nigboy(m): 8:59am On Jan 29, 2009
What do you think Ideal Single Men should do on Val Day?

Guy why you just dey yab single men
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by koko777(m): 9:03am On Jan 29, 2009
Val is a love day. it's enjoyed or celebrated by both single and married couples. Single guys basically on this day renew relationships or starts one. It's a good day thou, but as someone currently without a babe i'm thinking seriously on how the day it's gonna be, meanwhile my birthday is in the same month. Pray God help me cos life without a woman is f**kin boring.
Re: Single Men On Valentine's Day. . by Lovelace: 9:10am On Jan 29, 2009
Here we go again.
What does it matter if you are single on the friggin' day.
Live your life,spend everyday with people that matter to you. Who cares about the 14th.
Just another avenue for some people to get dumped anyways.

We Met On Facebook Now I Dont Like Wat I Saw, How Do I Say I'm Sorry? / Weirdest Place (18+only) / Will You Continue In A Relationship With A Girl After Seeing This?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 55