Stats: 3,153,324 members, 7,819,106 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 11:24 AM

Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year - Politics (10) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year (43279 Views)

Oil Producing states In Nigeria - The Facts and Figures / FG Reduces Oil Imports As Production Begins In Warri, Kaduna Refineries / Lagos To Join Oil Producing States In 2015 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by zendy: 5:50am On Jun 11, 2015
olusipimp:

Will ♈όϋ shut that ur useless mouth and think right with that ur flat head,where were ur tribes when da obas of lagos fought,where were ur flat head tribes when lagos war was fought and now γ̲̣̣̥ou̶̲̥̅̊ have da guts to say lagos was collectively developed,its ur tribe that's perpetrating evils in dis same sw....for all crimes in sw,flat head ppl caused 89% of it.......think bfor spill out trash.fht

Lagos was designated as capital of Nigeria for many years and taxes from all over Nigeria was used to build Lagos. If the British had not made Lagos Capital of Nigeria, Lagos would have just been a "Village by the coast"
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Nobody: 6:05am On Jun 11, 2015
Where is the oil located in lagos
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by docsholz(m): 6:16am On Jun 11, 2015
klevjey:

the truth is we r not yet serious in having it...when we are, then u and ur master will know...dis time, d battle will be like dis:

HAUSA/FULANI vs SOUTH SOUTH/IJAW

IBO VS YORUBA(SLAVE TO HAUSA)

Then we will sit down and count scores after 6 months
get serious and stop ranting online tongue

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by ba7man(m): 6:21am On Jun 11, 2015
zendy:

Lagos was designated as capital of Nigeria for many years and taxes from all over Nigeria was used to build Lagos. If the British had not made Lagos Capital of Nigeria, Lagos would have just been a "Village by the coast"
Lagos was already a thriving trade city before the emergence of the whites.

Slave trade made it witness a boom in West Africa and white men sailing to south Africa used to stop over to be hosted by Oba Dosunmu. They reported he was very westernized in his ways.

The waterways made transportation of goods easy.

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Waspy(m): 6:24am On Jun 11, 2015
Saurab:
I thought that man on radio Biafra said there is no oil in Lagos.
Is that the kind of fake gist they tell themselves? shocked

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by fulanimafia: 6:34am On Jun 11, 2015
njays24:
Could this chat basin not be the reason behind boko haram? Why are these terrorists so concentrated in borno state? Think about how cameroom took away bakassi peninsula,is it not possible the chadians are trying to claim the place? So an article some time ago on this.

You're right on the money. This is also why we should be very cautious of those western countries jumping to 'help' us.
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Nicepoker(m): 6:34am On Jun 11, 2015
bukster:

That's not true. The SW and SS are the only geopolitical regions that generate more revenue than the allocations they receive. All other regions depend far more on allocations.
osun ekiti even oyo don't generate a dime pls.
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by shidof(m): 6:56am On Jun 11, 2015
bukster:

SS
$75B

SW
$79B
SW without Lagos
$45B

SE
$37B

NC
$30B
NC + FCT
$35B

NW
$44B

NE
$22B
source: http://services.gov.ng/states

source: http://www.naij.com/401470-see-the-10-poorest-states-in-nigeria.html

The SW does well in both statistical data and is probably the region that is trying the hardest to reduce its dependence of oil. If the Yorubas contributed so little to SW GDP, why can't other tribes replicate the SW development in their own states? Why is it that 4 Yorubas are in the top ten richest Nigerian list when Yorubas only make up 21% of the population?
thks for dis grt research, may God continue to increase ur knowledge. Thumb up.

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Germanboi(m): 7:02am On Jun 11, 2015
Ok good
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by tonychristopher: 7:16am On Jun 11, 2015
Rose2014:
Hopefully this will make my ewedu brothers to stop peeing in their pants when they hear 'secession'
Ewedu consumers depending on oil for their daily bread since 1914. With this type of news, I expect them to feel safe enough to support Biafra or at the very least 'resource control'

Either way #Godwin#

Rember I was the 44 person that liked the post

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by ajayiopy: 7:22am On Jun 11, 2015
dayo23:
Ondo state single handedly can fixed the whole of south west to another level, with presence of massive deposit of crude oil, Gas, they also have the 2nd largest bitumen deposit in the world etc,and now Lagos having massive crude oil deposit...I luv my tribe, beside this is a very big boast to the Economy of the south west. Hopefully Nigeria would reversed back to through federalism.

God Bless President Buhari
God Bless Prof. Osibanjo
God Bless the South West
God Bless Nigeria

Ondo state has the potential but they need to get more serious, I could remembere that Agagu tried to partner with FUTA ( prof. Odeyemi of geology dept) but nothing much was achieved
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by meccuno: 7:33am On Jun 11, 2015
lastpage:

There you go again!
You want to join the conversation by all means and dont know what to say, right? Okay, you are welcome.

Having said that, "Sophistication" is not about travelling all over the place carrying drugs or selling fake, sub-standard goods or leaving your own land barren and unoccupied or boasting and acting without thinking FIRST!

Get this once and for all: The Sophistication we talk about is a Group of people who have evolved above primordial tendencies commonly found in lower animals.
This evolution is reflected in their "Decision-making and thought process", in general terms

*We have given the example of how Awolowo "checkmated" the Robbery of Benin CBN by Biafran robbers and collapsed their economy, not to mention how he ended the war "quickly" using sheer wit.
*We have mentioned somewhere else how Yorubas have been able to inter-marry amongst other tribes, showing that they have evolved beyond the level of "our tribe".
*We have seen how Lagos is the most Accommodating and Peaceful state in Nigeria, irrespective of where you come from, something you will only find in sophisticated economies of the Western world.
*We have seen what happened in the last election and how the Yorubas have quietly gone about achieving their aim, despite that Jonathan was an "incumbent" and the Ibos were too busy chest-beating and doing gra-gra!
*We have seen how over and over again, Yorubas have chosen "Peace and use of "Native Intellect", (something Ibos erroneously call "cowardice"wink to achieve their set-objective while Ibos are always baying for war, to achieve even the simplest things.

Now, l am speaking in "general terms" thus l am not ruling out the "odd-ball" from other tribes who can also get sophisticated probably due to exposure to Yoruba culture/Environment but they are in so "small and scanty" quantity.

I dont know how l can break it down for you, lower than this.

And FYI, it is not a "boastful thing", it is stating observed facts, not in nayway intended to put others down.
Even the Ibos l grew up knowing, were so scared of taking-on the Ijebus, as they fear their level of acumen. Just try and cheat an Ijebu person in business and see if you can get away with it wink wink
That is "sophistication", my friend! grin

Lastpage!

#Ijebus owe me a Beer!
the truth is you are one of the people I hardly read their comments..........u don't move me.....
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Orikinla(m): 7:42am On Jun 11, 2015
agabusta:
Dangote smart businessman has strategically positioned his proposed refinery in Lagos. With this development now:

-easily he will get his raw material
-large market is already waiting for him viz Lag, other part of Nigeria and the entire West Africa hub.
-Human resources is abundantly available in Lagos.
-port facilities is available in Lagos
-Lagos is relatively peaceful and ideal for business.

With the start of oil production, construction of this refinery, construction of the Ladol oil rig/other heavy metal fabrication yard at Takwa bay, construction of Lekki deep sea port and completion of the Lagos Atlantic City project, Lagos is about to firmly reestablish itself as the unrivalled commercial capital of Nigeria.

[size=18pt]And some idi-ots call Hausas born throw way. But an Hausa man is the richest and smartest black man on earth. [/size]

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by omojeesu(m): 7:44am On Jun 11, 2015
Congrats to Lagos and Ambode. I hope accrued revenue will be used for the people. What about adequate compensation for the displaced?

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by proxillin(m): 7:46am On Jun 11, 2015
[size=18pt]Now Igbo people are angry and envious!

You need a tissue?[/size]

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by lexy2014: 7:46am On Jun 11, 2015
dayo23:
Ondo state single handedly can fixed the whole of south west to another level, with presence of massive deposit of crude oil, Gas, they also have the 2nd largest bitumen deposit in the world etc,and now Lagos having massive crude oil deposit...I luv my tribe, beside this is a very big boast to the Economy of the south west. Hopefully Nigeria would reversed back to through federalism.

God Bless President Buhari
God Bless Prof. Osibanjo
God Bless the South West
God Bless Nigeria
its good 2 love your tribe but how did your tribe contribute 2d natural deposits in d southwest?
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by lexy2014: 7:53am On Jun 11, 2015
nationwide1:
True federalism is what Nigeria needs. It will solve 75% of Nigeria's problem.

More states with oil will be discovered but Nigeria can't grow until we stop being a federation by principle but in practice.
By true federalism what exactly do u mean?
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Nobody: 7:58am On Jun 11, 2015
nationwide1:
True federalism is what Nigeria needs. It will solve 75% of Nigeria's problem.

More states with oil will be discovered but Nigeria can't grow until we stop being a federation by principle but in practice.

You want more states to discover oil?

That will only further cause a crash in the international oil price.......and reduce incomes for all.

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by zendy: 7:59am On Jun 11, 2015
ba7man:
Lagos was already a thriving trade city before the emergence of the whites.

Slave trade made it witness a boom in West Africa and white men sailing to south Africa used to stop over to be hosted by Oba Dosunmu. They reported he was very westernized in his ways.

The waterways made transportation of goods easy.

The same Oba Dosunmu who signed over Lagos to the British in 1863.
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by muzzafar(m): 8:03am On Jun 11, 2015
erisegun:
woz dis1 sayin? Was it nt d igbos dat started d 1967 (1st)civil war. Mtchewwww
looks like you skipped history class. When Biafra was declared it was Nigeria that said no and started the agression. Ojukwu was just defending Biafra from your stupid youroba/fulani alliance
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Dollarboom: 8:04am On Jun 11, 2015
You guys are missing it,you are all sentimental. If oil is discovered in all the states of Nigeria and they breakaway to become nations on their own,without good management and peace, it will be same story of hell, South Sudan is an example.

Meanwhile,

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by voxpopp: 8:10am On Jun 11, 2015
Lemon12:
There is no oil in Lagos ....... And there will never be oil in Lagos

Jealousy grin

Now southwest has it all grin

Human and mineral resources, administrative and political acumen.

Haters from the Sad Beast can got to hell grin

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by deolumike(m): 8:27am On Jun 11, 2015
Rose2014:

There is also high presence of other tribes in Nigeria in Ibadan for example. I'm talking of average Yoruba man contribution to Nigeria GDP growth
Oh so you guys now own Ibadan too? Apply small logic to your argument nau. You don't seem to understand what contribution to the national economy means. it transcends the ethnic sentiments you're struggling so hard to whipp up.

You know, I was following your arguments and response in countering other posters until you ran out of ideas and resorted to puerile taunting. Try harder.

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by femliany(m): 8:51am On Jun 11, 2015
Tompolo,dokubo hope you dey hear?
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Nobody: 8:57am On Jun 11, 2015
Johntobi56:

That's the trurh that's why yorubas will never apologise to Igbos go and read history Ojukwu lied !
is it igbos that will now forgive yorubas?.... mumu
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by kritikali(m): 9:01am On Jun 11, 2015
klevjey:

the truth is we r not yet serious in having it...when we are, then u and ur master will know...dis time, d battle will be like dis:

HAUSA/FULANI vs SOUTH SOUTH/IJAW

IBO VS YORUBA(SLAVE TO HAUSA)

Then we will sit down and count scores after 6 months

Hausa vs s/s...lol,u want the average ijaw man to go into extinction..the only scores to count is btw yoruba and ibo.
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Cool83(m): 9:02am On Jun 11, 2015
Rose2014:

When u talk about SW you mean Lagos right?
All tribes in Nigeria contribute to Lagos revenue. Yoruba contribution may be insignificant sef

Well except if 'owoda' and 'Agbero' are put into consideration
lol, do we force you to contribute to the development of Lagos
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Nobody: 9:03am On Jun 11, 2015
Johntobi56:

That was democracy
This was war
Ojukwu killed Edo & delta people
And declared it a republic of benin undwr BIAFRA control
Is that how you seek support ??
The trauma Igbos face today they wanted to pass it to others
I'm even SUPRISED EDO and delta has forgiven you for your atrocities
also tell dem that the man dat the person who made sure there people was killed was a Yoruba man in d name Victor Banjo. smiley smiley
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Nobody: 9:05am On Jun 11, 2015
Cool83:

lol, do we force you to contribute to the development of Lagos
lol... do we force u to keep us in Lagos?...
Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Nobody: 9:06am On Jun 11, 2015
muzzafar:
looks like you skipped history class. When Biafra was declared it was Nigeria that said no and started the agression. Ojukwu was just defending Biafra from your stupid youroba/fulani alliance
don't mind dem,

Re: Lagos Set To Join Oil Producing States As Production Begins This Year by Nobody: 9:14am On Jun 11, 2015
Any oil produced belongs to no state but to all states.

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (Reply)

AEDC Slashes Power Bill By More Than 68% In Compliance With NERC's Order (Pics) / Onyekachi Okoro Is Dead: Arochukwu LGA Chairman Dies After Meeting In His Office / Sarah Luka 2nd Chibokgirl Rescued

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44