Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,963,791 members, 7,191,394 topics. Date: Monday, 28 November 2022 at 09:55 PM

Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. - Religion (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. (24118 Views)

Why Daddy Freeze's Mockery Of The MFM Pastor Who Died In Church Is Wrong / I Want To Leave My Father's Deeper Life Church. Is It Right? - Pastor's Daughter / My Church Is Aware I’m Member Of Ogboni Confraternity —ogunfuwa, Remo Chief. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by maputohq(m): 8:52am On Aug 30, 2015
yetunsbay:
& Muslims don't give d Bleep. But u're invited
Y D Mention? Since U Dont Giv A Bleep, Leave Me To My Thought. Btw, Dis A Xtian Thread.
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by vamsexy: 8:55am On Aug 30, 2015
Orikinla:


What blessed saint Timothy and others said on women being quiet was based within the custom and tradition of the Jews and Gentiles of their period and not based on the command of Jesus Christ. And lest we forget that the first person to break the news of the resurrection of Jesus Christ was Mary of Magdala who was named least 12 times in the four gospels more than most of the apostles.

Only what Jesus Christ says is final.

No need to argue.
THIS MATTER SHOULD BE CLOSED.
33 For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace, as in all churches of the saints. 34 Let your women keep silence in the churches:
for it is not permitted unto them to speak; but they are commanded to be under obedience, as also saith the law. 35 And if they will learn any thing, let them ask
their husbands at home: for it is a shame for
women to speak in the church. 36 What? came the word of God out from you? or
came it unto you only? 37 If any man think himself to be a prophet, or
spiritual, let him acknowledge that the things
that I write unto you are the commandments
of the Lord....plz read ur bible well...1cor33-37

8 Likes

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Abumenre(m): 8:56am On Aug 30, 2015
pass111:
In Christ there is no such thing as slave nor free born, there is no Jew nor gentile, no Woman nor man , all are equal before the lord remember The grace is available to ALL ... even the grace to preach, minister etc.
pls give us reference from the bible

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Dexema(m): 8:56am On Aug 30, 2015
5starmilitant:
@op......it's forbidden?
Seriously?
So you mean joyce Meyer, Beth Moore, Shirley Caesar, and others that have been touching millions of life positively are threading on the forbidden part?


Screw you bro.........
Screwest him not,it is written plainly for us to see and Digest,women SHOULD NOT be pastors,bishops etc.
This dosent mean God cannot use women,but not as pastors as some call themselves.
NB: this needs to be broken down,i believe woman can help evangelise and spread the good news but not to lead a church or carry out duties meant for annointed men of God.
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Nobody: 8:59am On Aug 30, 2015
dazzlingd:


I guess that's why Jesus taught by example by choosing women among the twelve disciples.



receive............ complete it


Mary Magdalene.
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Lordkratus(m): 9:00am On Aug 30, 2015
vamsexy:
33 For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace, as in all churches of the saints. 34 Let your women keep silence in the churches:
for it is not permitted unto them to speak; but they are commanded to be under obedience, as also saith the law. 35 And if they will learn any thing, let them ask
their husbands at home: for it is a shame for
women to speak in the church. 36 What? came the word of God out from you? or
came it unto you only? 37 If any man think himself to be a prophet, or
spiritual, let him acknowledge that the things
that I write unto you are the commandments
of the Lord....plz read ur bible well...1cor33-37
mr orilinka would not read this one
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Nobody: 9:00am On Aug 30, 2015
leofab:
you mean the bible is now the word of Paul and not the word of God again as we were convinced to believe?




Every one should believe what they want to believe.
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Dexema(m): 9:00am On Aug 30, 2015
shaddoww:
so why didn't Jesus himself have a female disciple even wen Marry Magdalene
I was just thinking about that,jesus had women around him helping him but never made them part of his inner circle...women can work for God in this vein.
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Nobody: 9:00am On Aug 30, 2015
shaddoww:
so why didn't Jesus himself have a female disciple even wen Marry Magdalene


Mary Mangdalene was a part of d disciples.
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Lordkratus(m): 9:11am On Aug 30, 2015
chuna1985:



Mary Mangdalene was a part of d disciples.
bros na,since when?or i dnt know his disciples again

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Appleyard(m): 9:13am On Aug 30, 2015
softapples:
The Word of God proclaims, “A woman should learn in quietness and full submission. I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man; she must be silent” ( 1 Timothy 2:11–12). In the church, God assigns different roles 2 men and women. This is a result of the way mankind was created and D way in which sin entered the world ( 1 Timothy 2:13–14). God, through the apostle Paul, restricts women from serving in roles of teaching and/or having spiritual authority over men. This precludes women from serving as pastors over men, which definitely includes preaching to them, teaching them publicly, and exercising spiritual authority over them.
There are many objections to this view of women in pastoral ministry. A common one is that Paul restricts women from teaching because in the first century, women were typically uneducated. However, 1 Timothy 2:11–14 nowhere mentions educational status. If education were a qualification for ministry, then D majority of Jesus’ disciples would not be qualified.

you are spot on. The word of God can not be broken. Many people simply don't want to take what is explicitly stated by the bible, rather they will chose to believe what man tells them, what their bishops and reverends tells them to do. This has been, and is still the problem with christianity of today.

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by ApexTitan(m): 9:17am On Aug 30, 2015
I've always been curious as to how Christains interpret those verses. (1 Timothy 2:11-12)

Funny how many say that those verses are Paul's opinions and are not from the Creator but in other matters the same opinions of Paul are taken as divine edicts. It all smacks of intellectual dishonesty if you ask me.

3 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by portable86(f): 9:22am On Aug 30, 2015
Op must be a member of the seventh day adventist church, they are the ones with such twisted belief about women. For them, women are just objects and tools to satisfy and do the biddings of men, not to be heard, only seen.#devilbedeceivingthechurchsince1900#
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by XYZADIGOR7: 9:25am On Aug 30, 2015
pass111:
In Christ there is no such thing as slave nor free born, there is no Jew nor gentile, no Woman nor man , all are equal before the lord remember The grace is available to ALL ... even the grace to preach, minister etc.
Corinthians 15:33 says : for God is not the author of confusion, but peace, as in all churches of the saint... 34 says : let your woman keep silence in the churches, for its not permitted unto them to speak, but they are commanded to be under obedience as also saith the law. 35 says: and if they will learn anything , let them ask their husband at home : for its a shame for a woman to speak in the churche... thank you

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by shaddoww: 9:25am On Aug 30, 2015
Orikinla:
[size=18pt]OP, show me where Jesus Christ said women should not preach the good news of His gospel.
You are just both historically and spiritually ignorant.



What blessed saint Timothy and others said on women being quiet was based within the custom and tradition of the Jews and Gentiles of their period and not based on the command of Jesus Christ. And lest we forget that the first person to break the news of the resurrection of Jesus Christ was Mary of Magdala who was named least 12 times in the four gospels more than most of the apostles.

Only what Jesus Christ says is final.

[/size]
so please can u give me names of female pastors, apostles or prophetess in d bible, or have u even heard of a female angel b4?
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by XYZADIGOR7: 9:26am On Aug 30, 2015
Corinthians 15:33 says : for God is not the author of confusion, but peace, as in all churches of the saint... 34 says : let your woman keep silence in the churches, for its not permitted unto them to speak, but they are commanded to be under obedience as also saith the law. 35 says: and if they will learn anything , let them ask their husband at home : for its a shame for a woman to speak in the churche... thank you

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by shaddoww: 9:27am On Aug 30, 2015
portable86:
Op must be a member of the seventh day adventist church, they are the ones with such twisted belief about women. For them, women are just objects and tools to satisfy and do the biddings of men, not to be heard, only seen.#devilbedeceivingthechurchsince1900#
But is that really wat d bible said or not?
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Nobody: 9:31am On Aug 30, 2015
Lordkratus:
bros na,since when?or i dnt know his disciples again


D church gave u d info they want u to have...

Look for the original last supper, Mary Mangdalene was there n she was lying on Jesus's shoulders.

Why do u think d church keep labeling Mary Mangdalene as a sinner n prostitute...... wHile the bible never recorded such.
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Nobody: 9:34am On Aug 30, 2015
Earth,A place where ignorance is common sense and senseless is the norm.

So yall tryna tell me to believe in a bible people am smarter than wrote with no proof or authorization of a dog oppss I mean god.
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by pass111(m): 9:36am On Aug 30, 2015
Abumenre:
pls give us reference from the bible
Gal 3:28
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Appleyard(m): 9:44am On Aug 30, 2015
pass111:
In Christ there is no such thing as slave nor free born, there is no Jew nor gentile, no Woman nor man , all are equal before the lord remember The grace is available to ALL ... even the grace to preach, minister etc.

The place you are trying to quote is Galatians 3 vs 28, which has nothing to do with the preaching of the Gospel or the position of authority. The whole of the chapter 3 of Galatians was primarily talking about the concept of righteouness brought about by salvation through grace by faith in Christ Jesus-the fulfilment of the promise of Abraham.
The verse 28 of the said chapter simply finalized that the whole concept of grace-justification, sanctification, and Baptism- the finished work of salvation, was made available to all, regardless of sex, age, colour, or status.

It does not have anything to do with the issue of officiating, authority or preaching of the word in the church.

We must understand that when it comes to worship, there are rules for Divine Worship, otherwise, we will be worshiping God in His Anger; doing God a service without His will.

1 Like 1 Share

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by menxer: 9:46am On Aug 30, 2015
softapples:
The Word of God proclaims, “A woman should learn in quietness and full submission. I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man; she must be silent” ( 1 Timothy 2:11–12). In the church, God assigns different roles 2 men and women. This is a result of the way mankind was created and D way in which sin entered the world ( 1 Timothy 2:13–14). God, through the apostle Paul, restricts women from serving in roles of teaching and/or having spiritual authority over men. This precludes women from serving as pastors over men, which definitely includes preaching to them, teaching them publicly, and exercising spiritual authority over them.
There are many objections to this view of women in pastoral ministry. A common one is that Paul restricts women from teaching because in the first century, women were typically uneducated. However, 1 Timothy 2:11–14 nowhere mentions educational status. If education were a qualification for ministry, then D majority of Jesus’ disciples would not be qualified.

Did you notice the emphasis on the first person singular pronoun "I"?
It was Paul's idea and teaching. A man that probably grew up in dysfunctional home with a warped idea about the role of women.
Ask yourself, who was Deborah in the Bible?

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by luvprince4real(m): 9:48am On Aug 30, 2015
Modernization of churches thereby changing the original rules of God is a major problem with this day christianity. There was no woman among the 12 disciples of Jesus and there was no woman prophet from Gen to Rev.
It is so clear in 1cor 14:34 & 35
" 34. Let your women keep silence in the churches: for it is not permitted unto them to speak; but they are commanded to be under obedience, as also saith the law. 35 And if they will learn any thing, let them ask their husbands at home: for it is a shame for women to speak in the church"
It even went futher in verse 35 to say that "IT'S A SHAME FOR WOMEN TO SPEAK IN THE CHURCH"

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by freecocoa(f): 9:51am On Aug 30, 2015
Why are you people acting like the Op hasn't said the truth? That's what the bible instructs.

A misogynistic sh1t of religion and trash book, mschew.

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by chichriso: 9:53am On Aug 30, 2015
let me read comments Abeg












TO GET MORE TRAFFIC TO YOUR BLOG, CLICK MY SIGNATURES TO ADD YOUR BLOG LINK/URL


.
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Harfisco(m): 9:53am On Aug 30, 2015
Yeah,islam even condems it
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Lordkratus(m): 9:56am On Aug 30, 2015
chuna1985:



D church gave u d info they want u to have...

Look for the original last supper, Mary Mangdalene was there n she was lying on Jesus's shoulders.

Why do u think d church keep labeling Mary Mangdalene as a sinner n prostitute...... wHile the bible never recorded such.
chuna1985 stop discreditting christianity with ur misguided statement.if u dnt have a valid point pls dnt comment.did anybody snap them in that dinner or a man drew it after 1000 years or are u saying the bible was incomplete because her name was never mentioned in the bible as a disciple.dnt say things just to give value to ur doctrine
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by inimes(m): 9:58am On Aug 30, 2015
It is true that GOD is neither Jew nor Gentile,neither circumcised nor uncircumcised,neither male or female, neither slave nor free,for we are all one in Christ Jesus. However,this does not mean that both men and women have gotten equal right. It does not mean that everything men do women should also do. It does not in any way condemn or set aside the Word of God through Paul the Apostle,which says that women must not teach men in the Church. Galatians 3:28 simply means that as many (both men and women) who have received received Christ by faith,got baptized into Christ,and have began living a righteous life,are the sons and daughters of God. It has nothing to do with conflict of right between men and women or Church administration. It simply means no matter who you are or where you come from,once you accept Christ by faith,get baptized into Christ, and dwell in holiness and righteousness, then you become a Son or Daughter of God. Paul the Apostle did not speak vain words. He spoke as he was inspired by the Spirit of God. Those who feel otherwise as regards Paul's injunctions concerning 'teaching' in the Church may be lacking in good understanding or perhaps they are also the false teachers. As Christ is the head of the Church so is the man the head of the woman. The Church is not a place without rules and regulations;it is not a place where people conduct themselves anyhow just because it is a place of liberty,NO. It is a place of decorum, orderliness,modesty and guiding principles. It is a place where people are taught by those with spiritual gift of teaching on how to modify their behaviours to conform with the Word of God. In summary,it is known that certain rules in the Bible are despised by certain teachers or "christians" because such rules do not please them. Like cogently noted by this writer, women have several roles to play in the Church. But they are restricted from teaching the men or exercising authority over them. Like I always say,we are all at liberty to believe whatever we choose to. But let us pray that what we believe will not hinder us from making heaven;let us pray that what we believe will not be used against us on the day of judgment. Happy Sunday and God bless.

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by haul: 9:59am On Aug 30, 2015
portable86:
Op must be a member of the seventh day adventist church, they are the ones with such twisted belief about women. For them, women are just objects and tools to satisfy and do the biddings of men, not to be heard, only seen.#devilbedeceivingthechurchsince1900#

Woman relax, this is not a matter of women being used as sexual object or slaves to do the biddings of thy husbands but what your bible says.

Left to me, I don't have any religion, I've learnt to believe God,trust and have faith in him, worship him, and let my conscience be my guide. Atleast my conscience have been able to tell wrong from right.

I don't need confusion from pastors twisting the books around. I'm not some pastors specimen in a biology laboratory.

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by portable86(f): 10:23am On Aug 30, 2015
shaddoww:
But is that really wat d bible said or not?
What about the original mandate given to us by christ, to preach the gospel of salvation to the unsaved, have you converted or even try to convert all the pagans around you?
What am I saying, we should leave God to be the judge of if its right or wrong to have women preachers and concentrate on those who are yet to accept Christ as the only way to salvation. Op please don't let the devil distract you from the original mandate given us.winning souls should be ur pirority as a Christain
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by pass111(m): 10:26am On Aug 30, 2015
Appleyard:


The place you are trying to quote is Galatians 3 vs 28, which has nothing to do with the preaching of the Gospel or the position of authority. The whole of the chapter 3 of Galatians was primarily talking about the concept of righteouness brought about by salvation through grace by faith in Christ Jesus-the fulfilment of the promise of Abraham.
The verse 28 of the said chapter simply finalized that the whole concept of grace-justification, sanctification, and Baptism- the finished work of salvation, was made available to all, regardless of sex, age, colour, or status.

It does not have anything to do with the issue of officiating, authority or preaching of the word in the church.

We must understand that when it comes to worship, there are rules for Divine Worship, otherwise, we will be worshiping God in His Anger; doing God a service without His will.













Acts 2:17
“‘And in the last days it shall be, God declares, that I will pour out
my Spirit on ALL flesh, and your sons and your DAUGHTERS shall
prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men
shall dream dreams;
Re: Opinion: Women Preaching In The Church Is Not Biblical And Its Forbidden. by Nwanna2588: 10:28am On Aug 30, 2015
pass111:
In Christ there is no such thing as slave nor free born, there is no Jew nor gentile, no Woman nor man , all are equal before the lord remember The grace is available to ALL ... even the grace to preach, minister etc.
Gal 3:28

That passage summarises discrimination in the church. Stay on subject. Don't digress.

1 Like

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (Reply)

The Day I Faced Police Brutality For Preaching The Gospel On The Street Of Abuja / King James Version Of The Bible Is For Homosexuals And Rastafarians–ghanaian Rev / Apostle Suleman Speaks On Stephanie Otobo’s Confession, Reveals How Wife Reacted

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2022 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 218
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.