Stats: 3,150,604 members, 7,809,199 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 04:36 AM

Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. - Literature (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. (10846 Views)

Which Book Are You Currently Reading? Share Some Thoughts! / Nairaland Literature Section Awards 2014..... Your Thoughts. / What Are Your Thoughts On This? (2) (3) (4)

Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by chiogo(f): 9:01pm On Aug 28, 2009
Well, it depends. I'd love to be a Doctor but let's be honest to ourselves; In as much as we might enjoy whatever career we decide to delve into, we also care about the paycheck, yes we do. Why spend many years studying medicine if not to be stanky rich in the long run? I do care about children, don't get me wrong, after all I plan to have some in the future so pediatrics would be beneficial in so many ways. But If I run into some big-time fortune, hmm I'd invest invest. . .I'll continue with medicine for sure but it'd be easier anyway with the money. I won't have to worry about work-study and all that stress, as well as loans, tuition, and other personal needs such as clothing(shoot!! I'll be the flyest on campus lol). Lest I forget, I won't have to actually finish school to build my parents a mansion. Yes!!! And one for myself too. grin But I think I'll continue with medicine, yeah? I think so. I guess I'll have to land this fortune to know really. haha

Basically, we do most things in life because they're necessary. who here likes school? I sure don't; Left to me, I'd shop till I drop, party till dawn, and vacation in every island possible but a girl gotta do what a girl gotta do. cool
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by ravenzord(m): 11:12pm On Aug 28, 2009
@ Chi: My feelings exactly. . .my work would be made far easier knowing I had a coupla hundred millions waiting 4 me in d bank. I'd prolly kip on studying 2 be a doc. . .or I'd take d lazy man's way out,drop out,build some really tyte hospitals nd become d Chairman of deir BOTs. Being a hedonist at heart I'd definitely go on vacs a lot,flirt a lot,n do lotsa wild stuff,lyk run with d bulls in Pamplona. . .Ok,maybe I won't try dat. But it seems lyf's all about necessities,prolly why God doesn't giv everybody 2 much money;cos if he/she did no work would get done.LOL
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by chiogo(f): 6:54am On Aug 29, 2009
LOL you don't need money to flirt, Raven. tongue Hedonist at heart? that's a first.
Well, I think most people feel pretty much the same way though some will not admit it.

Argh, why am I still up? I guess I caught your insomnia. hehe
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by bluespice(f): 7:27am On Aug 29, 2009
rave i honestly still cant believe u remembered my programme!
this even feels better than when i screamed like the ultimate groupie when i saw omarion on tv yesterday tongue
and y'all think your weird? well, i listen to metal, so think about the looks i get when people yank my ear phones out n the uber loud 'brain banter' (oooh i just heard this n i love it! ) comes pouring out in waves tongue

chiogo, i can bet u ive read more than people my age a reason i dont tell people my age initially is cos i so hate to be judged by what i supposedly am rather than what and who i really am. i did indeed go to college shoot! im in my 3rd year already  cheesy and i still got a lot of reading left in me
know what would be my dream? if there could be a course or program that incorporated all my passions and loves i know it culdnt ever exist seeing as i'm just too weird that weird looks normal around me, but what a thought that would be. . . .

as to your question rave, im sure im a bigger hedonist tongue as much as i have the utmost disgust for many things, i believe i should do only things that make me happy and cause me pleasure.
i once asked on facebook why i never had a long lost aunt who dies n willed her estate to me with no catch, majority of my friends laughed at me but i really want that to happen. my journies around have spoiled me or wired me silly (whichever floats your gondola) i cant stay in a place for long so ill travel the whole world AND still do what it is i do. sure life would be a whole lot easier and better but il do what i do.
i want to own something that i built with my own hands. i want to climb that ladder n seat at the highest rung and know i have money (yes i love money tell me who doesnt) and i derived satisfaction getting that money
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by semid4lyfe(m): 12:12pm On Aug 29, 2009
Na wa o! Everybody dey claim 'weirdo'.
E be like se na em be the cool thing now.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by ravenzord(m): 6:17pm On Aug 29, 2009
@ Chi: Yeah,hedonist at heart. . .I jst can't help it.N 2day my Mom told me when she gave birth 2 me she said I was gon' be a pastor,LMAO. I agree dt I dn't nid money 2 flirt(since I'm doin pretty well without it tongue) but U must admit it would take me 2 more places I could flirt in,enabling me 2 meet more flirtable-with females. N as 4 d insomnia thang,welcome 2 my world. . .I think I'v found a cure BTW: Next time U wanna sleep n it ain't comin,search around 4 all dose old Mills&Boons novels (I'm sure U guys will hav'em,every house does),try reading one n U'l be asleep by d 3rd page,believe me.

@ blue: I guess dat's one of my weirdnesses;I remember stuff,d lil things U don't expect me 2.

@ semid4lyfe: Yeah,weird is the new cool.

I'm sori I can't type more at d moment,but I'm positively pissed ryt now.I hate Arshavin,Gallas,n d whole Arsenal team,that I do.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by ravenzord(m): 9:26pm On Aug 29, 2009
Ok now I'm happy,my fave team one. . .at least my viewing fee wasn't waste. Talkin bout happiness,what d'u guys define it as? I'm havin thoughts on dat right now. . .I'l be back 2 write'em down,4 now my dinner calls.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by chiogo(f): 10:07pm On Aug 29, 2009
@Bluespice, I loff you already. I feel you on the age thing. But eh, I dare not tell my parents I'm not going to college. Only God knows what they'd do. SMH!!
But college=freedom for me so I can't complain. Good thing you decided to go, after all.

@ Raven, LOL, what team is that? I guess soccer. Most Nigerian parents make that 'pastor' comment. My mom said that about my brother too. undecided
I gave up on reading again embarassed Naw, not really. Just busy, I guess. And who told you you're doing pretty well with flirting? lmcao.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by chiogo(f): 10:36pm On Aug 29, 2009
The definition of happiness is twisted. Some see love as happiness but I disagree. Others see financial buoyancy as happiness, not always. Anyway, love and wealth do bring some level of happiness. I think happiness = a sense of security, peace, hope and optimism. Most unhappy people are pessimistic or so I think. tongue Then you can add love and riches. bingo!
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by ravenzord(m): 2:15am On Aug 30, 2009
@ Chi: Really I'v never thought of myself as a flirt,just a very friendly guy,but EVERY ONE person who's known me 4 a while tells me I flirt a lot;all my friends,even folks who don't know me,hell I'v been tagged by 5 friends on facebook as d flirt in dat 'tag ur friends' picture.So I'v been forced 2 believe it's true. . .poor me grin
Nd yeah it was a soccer match: Manchester United,I knw soccer's not rily a big thing in d US,but it's THE thing over here,U shoulda seen me sweating when I thought dey were gonna lose.

As 4 d topic raised,unfchun8ly I'v not been able 2 resolve my thoughts on happiness,but I might stil write one of my long 'essays' on it. 4 now let it suffice me 2 say dat I place a large emphasis on money and my happiness (dat Igbo thang rearing it's head again). . .I believe dt even if cheese can't buy me happiness it would be a pretty good down payment. Now I'v read lotsa writers n heard lotsa speakers on dis n I knw my happiness shldn't be based on material wealth,but I just can't help it. Other stuff also make me happy;like reading a good book,or listening 2 good music,or strolling under trees all alone,but me living a happy life without money? I just can't imagine it. . .yet. I guess I need redemption huh?
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by chiogo(f): 2:35am On Aug 30, 2009
Hmph, I'm jealous. I always get tagged as 'the geek'. buncha losers!! yes, they are angry grin I even confronted one of my friends who did it and he said he did so because I'm so smart that he never met anybody that smart so it was more like a compliment. Dude didn't understand that the word, 'geek' is no compliment haha I can't shout. Your friends lied to you big-time, LMCAO.

I get all tensed up too when I watch a b-ball game with my team playing. I wonder why, not like I'm getting paid. sheesh chiogo.
Well, I found somebody in you who loves money than me. LOL, but yeah money sure solves a LOT of problems. In fact, money is my first love ***day dreaming**
oh snap! I'm just kidding tongue
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by ravenzord(m): 7:32am On Aug 30, 2009
@ Chi:I really wouldn't mind being tagged as the Geek sumtyms. . .it's not dat bad is it? I like dat you think my friends are wrong,now I know beyond reasonable doubt that u're smart cool. N u're not s'pozd 2 say U love money,u'r s'pozd 2 say U like it a lot,LOL.Remember that the LOVE of money is d root of all evil,while d lack of it is what gets d seed planted in the first place. I'm off 2 church.
BTW,what does d C in LMCAO stand for? Bin tryna figure it out; Cocky? Crazy? Conscious? Cocooned? Tell me please.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by bluespice(f): 9:36am On Aug 30, 2009
rave, the C in  LMCAO stands for cute wink
chiogo, lol i didnt tell my folks i just stalled tongue
and yeah i did wild out in my first 2 yrs of college lol im still a party animal i better accept it tongue
rave, i dont neccesarily think about happiness, i do have intense emotions some might call happiness, joy, anger, whatever u wanna call em
happiness might be that giddy feeling we all write and read about, but to me, its that feel-good ummph i get that makes me smile (even for a short while) like a fool.
again i'm rambling. . .
let me try to explain what i mean,
people generally have emotions,
a few have their emotions transcend the metaphysical into things they can actually see
another few display their emotions in exaggerated ways that we term a display of passion
whatever has the power to create this display of passion must have a value to the person displaying . . .
hence, when people display exactly how they feel in whichever mode they feel aptly makes for the full expression, i believe they must have a sense of satisfaction and release if u will,.
okay i know i lost u a long time ago,
happiness is the feeling generated from an intense display/feeling of (an) emotion(s).
It's forcing the 'accepted' definition of happiness into a cart wheel, but u asked for my definition. . .
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by chiogo(f): 2:46pm On Aug 30, 2009
@Raven, It's not that bad being tagged as a geek only if it's meant as a compliment. Americans think geek = smart, can't blame them. But I'll like to be other things other than a geek. LOL. I hear ya on the love of money thingy haha, I wrote it on purpose. I don't even like money.  tongue And yea like Blue said, the C in LMCAO stands for cute but I interchange it with 'crazy' sometimes, depending on my mood. Hope you prayed for me in church, I can't even go.

@Blue, oh so you didn't tell 'em? LOL that's more like it. I dunno any naija parents who would condone such.  grin
I hope I don't become a party animal too but hey, it can't hurt so long as I'm getting the work done. hehehe
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by bluespice(f): 7:48pm On Aug 30, 2009
chiogo aint none wrong in being a party animal
f'real college for me means stoopid early classes, wild parties, crazy fun, waking up with weird memories tongue
okay might be an extreme lifestyle
but seriously college is for fun and a bit of studies (better work on that GPA blu wont be with u at that exam seat tongue )
the real work comes in grad school tongue
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by ravenzord(m): 9:41pm On Aug 30, 2009
@ blu: Nah U didn't lose me,I read with my compass right beside me,LOL. I get ur point sha;whateva could cause d expression of a strong emotion should be defined as happiness. Interesting theory,U mean if I'm so angry I carry my TV and break it I can be said 2 be happy. . .hmm. So dat's d feeling I get whenever I listen 2 Gothic rock and the lead singer's screaming,never knew.

@ Chi: I take it u'v gotten 2 skool,so how's it? Any freshman parties around?

As 4 d partying thingy,I used 2 party a lot especially during my gap year,gatecrashed lotsa 'A' levels n SAT lesson parties since in Naija dose are d hottest(4 teens),continued in my freshman year in Uni,but ever since my 2nd year d partying's reduced drastically cos of d increased workload,now I only do very boring Medical dinners,so sad. . .so very sad.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by ravenzord(m): 9:48pm On Aug 30, 2009
@ blu: Nah U didn't lose me,I read with my compass right beside me,LOL. I get ur point sha;whateva could cause d expression of a strong emotion should be defined as happiness. Interesting theory,U mean if I'm so angry I carry my TV and break it I can be said 2 be happy. . .hmm. So dat's d feeling I get whenever I listen 2 Gothic rock and the lead singer's screaming,never knew.

@ Chi: I take it u'v gotten 2 skool,so how's it? Any freshman parties around?

As 4 d partying thingy,I used 2 party a lot especially during my gap year,gatecrashed lotsa 'A' levels n SAT lesson parties since in Naija dose are d hottest(4 teens),continued in my freshman year in Uni,but ever since my 2nd year d partying's reduced drastically cos of d increased workload,now I only do very boring Medical dinners,so sad. . .so very sad.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by chiogo(f): 10:17pm On Aug 30, 2009
@Blue, my classes aren't that early, the earliest is 9-ish, not doing that 8-ish. . .high school is over lmao.
LOL go and tell my mother college=partying. I know it's inevitable anyway, my school is a big 'party' school
But the big idea is med school, I'm not tryna be jobless after college so I wanna get into a top-class one. haha
College=freedom for me wink

@Raven, I already explained the moving in thing on FB, should I reiterate? lol
And hey, medical dinners shouldn't be boring. You meet high-class chicas into medicine too and have a stimulating conversation. tongue
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by oyinda3(f): 10:35pm On Aug 30, 2009
chiogo:

And hey, medical dinners shouldn't be boring. You meet high-class chicas into medicine too and have a stimulating conversation. tongue

i can just imagine the subject of conversation. carbon polymers and formaldehydes lol tongue jk
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by chiogo(f): 10:38pm On Aug 30, 2009
oyinda.:

i can just imagine the subject of conversation. carbon polymers and formaldehydes lol tongue jk
LMFAO!! you're bad! I don't see myself having such conversation, medical school or not. tongue I get bored easily.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by oyinda3(f): 10:52pm On Aug 30, 2009
lol that's good to hear. if i were a medical student i wouldn't want to talk about science stuff outside of the labs either. but then i'm not too passionate about the subject to begin with so. . . lol
some guys n gals are so into the stuff though. always try to explain the science of everything u do. from sipping water to eating fries to laying in the sun. it's can be very interesting though.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by chiogo(f): 12:00am On Aug 31, 2009
LOL I wonder what your major is. I always thought you were into medical stuff. You'll probably not answer as you're secretive tongue
But umm, school work bore me outside of school. For real.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by ravenzord(m): 12:13am On Aug 31, 2009
@ Chi: Yeah I've seen ur explanation,no need 2 repeat. D problem with d medical ladies is dat most of'em wanna hav stimulating convers8ion,which is prity gud on it's own,but at a party? Puhleaase! D only thing on d guy's mind (or at least my mind) is dirty dancing,nd believe me dere are lotsa dirty-danceable songs in Naija,so why should we let'em go 2 waste. Very few female med students know how 2 have fun,prolly cos dere's lotsa pressure on them.Deir loss if U ask me.

@ Oyinda: Nah,it's chemistry students dat would discuss dat,d topic of conversation amongst med students would prolly be sumfin as boring,like biopsies,or adrenergic and cholinergic receptors,LOL.D convos are kinda interesting. . .up 2 a point,den dey just get damn boring.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by chiogo(f): 12:47am On Aug 31, 2009
LMAO, so sad.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by sino(m): 2:18am On Sep 01, 2009
My thoughts, they can be crazy,wild,foolish and they can be nice,good and productive.
Nice post raven.Sino's thoughts coming soon. . .
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by ravenzord(m): 7:31am On Sep 01, 2009
@ sino: Thanks bro,we await ur thoughts.

Sup everyone,why's d thread quiet,inspiration running dry? Keep'em thoughts coming.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by ravenzord(m): 3:45pm On Sep 09, 2009
Hmm. . .s'been just about a week nd it seems like ages already,my last week has been a very bad one. . .first my system crashed,then I lost 10000,then 2 crown it all up MTN disabled my Opera Mini settings,I was so angry I shoulda been venting on the book of rants thread,but since I couldn't browse I couldn't do that either. I'm not yet back sha. . .still tryna convince my system repairer 2 repair it 4 less than he's asking me for but d guy no wan gree,citing Credit crunch. . .tschew.

@ Chi wasup how's college like? Hectic ryt? Happy slogging.

How's everybody jare? Or better yet,where's everybody?
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by OnoEdosio(m): 8:28pm On Sep 09, 2009
THE WORLD IN MY HEAD
The earliest memories I have are those of being on my own, of cherishing my own company and my quiet, carefully creating a perfect universe on the vast expanse of my head. I grew up in a house littered with books, lots and lots and lots of books, but the parents hid them before I could lay my unsteady hands on them. I learnt to steal the books from their hiding places, devour them rapidly and continue the creation of my world. Looking back, I realize now that those early books opened my mind to immense vista light years ahead of my fellows. Primary school was basically a walk over although I showed an intense dislike for the school environment: crying unnecessarily and even running away! Eventually, I grew to love school because it was a superficial revision of the world under construction in my head. I never had to read much, it just came.I remember being extremely quiet, (I'm still very quiet), withdrawn and shy. I intensely disliked anyone who intrud ed. I had gone through a good number of the classics by the time I was 12, consumed practically every work of detective and adventurous fiction halfway into my teens and was at the top of my class. I was also the weirdest kid for miles around. To be continued.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by sino(m): 8:59pm On Sep 09, 2009
Wow @raven i feel ur pain,my machine has been bedridden for the past 2weeks! To say im also a techy, nah dont wanna go there.
My thoughts. . .
Was in a bus waiting for it to be filled, i was drawned to the utterance of a street urchin.Is it a must for them to talk the way they do? Slow,sluggish,unnecessary sounds and a horrible accent.It seriously piss me off and some younglads in my hood are following their trail.I know most of em finished high school, non can make a complete sentence in english! This speaks volume of our educational system in dis country.Who is to be blamed for their lot; the parents,the gov,the school or themselves?I attended same school with some,sat together in class and wrote same exams but why are we different?
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by ravenzord(m): 4:42pm On Sep 14, 2009
Sup everyone

@ Onoedosio: Weird guy huh? Welcome 2 d club. . .around here weird is the cool thang.

@ Sino:Nna men,we dey d same cat O,lotsa my mates back in sec school are Y-boys now,with no intention of going in2 tertiary institutions,nd ASUU isn't helping matters with this stryke.All I can think is 'Where did we go wrong?'

The Thoughts of A Reformed Reprobate: Schadenfreude

Schadenfreude: It's a German word for that feeling of delight people get at seeing other people's misfortune. It's derived from the two German words Schaden which means adversity and Freude which means joy.
I've not always known this word,matter of fact I just heard of it about a month ago,on TV of all places(and of course I was like 'Aah! See big grammar,make I quickly learn am go use am impress'),but I've always known the feeling. I don't necessarily revel in other people's pain,but I've always loved Charlie Chaplin comedies cos bad stuff's always happening to him, I see a lot of it in our society,especially when it concerns d celebrities in our midst. Have U ever noticed that there always seems 2 be news about a bad thing happening 2 one celeb or the other? It's either their marriage is crashing,or their boyfriend beat them up,or they are going bankrupt. And have U noticed that people seem 2 get sum kinda perverse thrill outta this sorta news? If u're being truthful to urself U'l admit that U've prolly laughed at sum piece of bad news U read in the papers,or saw on TV(I know I have). The most recent piece of big news in the Nigerian media is the story of how our Bank CEOs had secretly been using our money 4 fraudulent purposes,loaning money 2 themselves,n posting bogus talks of huge non-existent profits. I read in one of the dailies that Cecilia Ibru had fainted when arraigned,was losing weight,and was on a diet of pap, and I laughed. I was contrite 5 mins later but the truth is that at the moment it seemed funny to me that such a seeming great woman had been reduced 2 drinking pap(which I really think is for Ajepakos lyk me).
Recent research has shown that this schaden-whatever is a human trait,lotsa humans actually laugh when they see other people fall,not just you and me. I'v tried 2 analyse it and I'v come 2 d conclusion that we laugh cos we're glad 2 see that these people are fallible also. We lyk 2 see that their life isn't perfect,everything isn't coming their way,in effect that they are human just lyk U nd everyone else. Well they are human just lyk U,and they don't have 2 go through public pain just to prove it. I do not seek to proffer advice to anyone on how to react to news cos to me proffering of advice presupposes superiority of thought on the part of the advice-giver,and I really don't hav any claim to wisdom,all I ask is that the next time U'r tempted to laugh at someone's misfortune,U put urself in the person's shoes and try to feel his/her pain. As the National Lottery's slogan goes: 'E fit be you O'.Think about it.
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by chiogo(f): 10:18pm On Sep 14, 2009
Hey, Y'all. Missed this thread.
Have so many thoughts, just don't know where to start from.

'Sup, Rave. Sorry about the internet thingy. I know I can't do without my laptop. smiley College is all good and dandy.  undecided Nah but it's been iight so far. Got a job on campus working fridays and saturdays - pretty hectic and fast-paced. But hey, I need the money well not really. I just wanna work.  cool

More thoughts?
I've been doing lots and lots of reading since I got here, not too fun. Especially for psychology, made a 90 on my first quiz - not bad.
Making friends too  smiley Really love the food down here, Yes I'm a fat-ass. And the cafeteria is right in front of my tower. Anywayz, enough of the rambling.
Gotta go do more reading. toodles~
Re: Your Thoughts ,my Thoughts,our Thoughts. by chiogo(f): 10:37pm On Sep 14, 2009
@Raven, love that last thought of yours. I actually laughed when I heard the Cecilia Ibru(whoever she is) story. Having to endure mosquito bites and whatnot. LMFAO!!! lipsrsealed You gotta admit that the story "take style funny". chei. Anywayz, yeah I try not to laugh at people's misfortunes especially when they're that way due to an inevitable situation.

Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows: Book 7! / 6 Missed Calls!!!! A Must Read! / Naruto Chapter 593 (pidgin English)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 81