Stats: 3,155,681 members, 7,827,518 topics. Date: Tuesday, 14 May 2024 at 12:59 PM

Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me - Politics (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me (25397 Views)

Gauck Advised Buhari To Use Illegal Means To Recover Looted Funds -PremiumTimes / Awolowo's Daughter To Achebe: We Are Disappointed / Awolowo Was Driven By An Overriding Ambition For Power-chinua Achebe (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (22) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Katsumoto: 2:23am On Jan 25, 2010
Mekusxyz:

Katsumoto,

Yoruba was a special adviser to Nnamani (Enugu) and to Orji Kalu (Abia). An Edo fellow is an adviser to Ohakim (Imo). There are Igbo and Yoruba advisers in Kano govt. Whatever Fasola is doing in this regard has a precedence and is not a big deal. Enough of this pettiness. Thanks

You are very good at digging out information; why not supply names and links?
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Mekusxyz: 2:45am On Jan 25, 2010
^^^^^^
I do not have time for that now. The one that is however glaring is the case of Nnamani because his Yoruba media special adviser was defending him against looting charges by EFCC (like another Yoruba special media adviser is defending YARADUA now against incompetence and ill-health). His name is FESTUS ADEDAYO. Google up this name, pls. The rest I can find when I have time. Really Fasola is doing nothing that has not been done before, in this regard.
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Mekusxyz: 2:50am On Jan 25, 2010
Festus had held two different positions in Enugu govt. Here he was Special assistant on Public Policy Analysis. Then he became Chief Press Secretary to the Gov.

http://www.ebeano.org/articles/governors_legacies.html
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Mekusxyz: 2:52am On Jan 25, 2010
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Naija-news/message/4276

Festus Adedayo as Chief Press Secretary

Senate President, Onoh, Ojukwu Move Against Nnamani

Launch Books On Alleged Looting, Killings
FROM LAWRENCE NJOKU (ENUGU) AND ABIODUN FANORO (LAGOS)

THE political ante in Enugu State was yesterday raised with a gathering of Igbo leaders accusing the governor, Chief Chimaroke Nnamani, of large-scale looting of the treasury and murder of opponents.

But the Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Mr. Festus Adedayo told The Guardian that the allegations were a "cache of lies." He said the "lies" were told by people who had become desperate because Nnamani, whom the Igbo leaders used to refer to as "that little boy" had "survived all their landmines."

The leaders had gathered for the public presentation of two books by a former governor of old Anambra State, Chief Christian Chukwumah Onoh, entitled: "The Nnamani Loot of N42.8 billion in Enugu State" and "Governor Nnamani's Harvest of Murders."

The event, which was held at the Modotels, Enugu, had in attendance Onoh; Senate President, Ken Nnamani; Igbo leader, Dim Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu; and Chancellor of the Eastern Mandate Union (EMU), Chief Arthur Nwankwo.

Also present were Senator Fidelis Okoro, and former presidential aspirant, Chief John Nnia Nwodo.

The speakers took turns to condemn what they called the reign of impunity in Enugu State and urged the citizens to reject the "excesses of the administration."

Senate President Nnamani, who described most actions taken by the Enugu State government since 1999 as "anti-people", said the book was a compendium of the series of murders and illegal wealth acquisition by officials of the current government.

The Senate President said: "These books are for posterity and should be made available to the libraries in the state. The reign of impunity in Enugu State is something that every right thinking person in the society should condemn."

"For fear of being hounded, the people are afraid to speak. Those who were outspoken enough before now were either chased away from the state or had their properties destroyed. We have had unexplained murders of various kinds since 1999 and that is more reason why the author of these books should be supported," Senator Nnamani stressed.

He recalled the struggle that led to his emergence as the Senate President, alleging that efforts by officials of the administration to use money to stop his election failed.

Agreeing with the author that Enugu had witnessed a "harvest of murders since 1999", Chief Nwankwo in his six-page statement, said one of the victims of the horrific bloodletting was his younger brother, Victor, who was killed in cold blood on August 29, 2002.

The list, Nwankwo added, also included about 14 Christian faithful, who were killed at the Adoration Ground in the state and the repeated attempts on the life of a fiery cleric, Rev. Father Ejike Mbaka, stressing that the government should be held responsible for the misfortunes.

He said: "To have been reckoned as having looted N42 billion from the treasury of the state of which one is the governor, may perhaps, be viewed with some levity because money stolen may be recovered, especially by a regime that prides itself on its anti-corruption crusade. Should we also view with levity the governor's penchant for taking the life of innocent citizens which Chief Onoh speaks of in both books, seeing that life lost can never be recovered, that murder is the grossest violation of the sacredness of life, and the murder of citizens by a ruler charged with the responsibility of protecting them -the chief security officer of their state, to adapt an apt epithet that has recently gained currency among us -is arguably the worst possible form of betrayal of a people's trust by their ruler?"

Nwankwo, who described his invitation to the book launch as a call to join in the struggle against "misrule and anti-people policies," stated that he had taken the hard stance as a call of conscience to speak against the "treachery implicated in the acts of misrule and exploitation."

Chairman of the book presentation, Senator Okoro, while applauding Onoh for his courage to publish the two books despite his old age, said the days of reckoning had come for "killers and looters of Enugu treasury".

Okoro, while asking the people to resort to God to provide for the state a good leader, promised to step up the fight against the injustice of the people of the day, assuring that "atrocities" of the past would be revisited.

Odumegwu Ojukwu, who said that he attended the event particularly because Onoh was his in -law, however, told the crowd at the presentation that he was solidly behind the former governor in his crusade against bad leadership and oppression of the people of the state.

He urged the people to give Onoh the support, stressing that the fight was a just one.

Earlier, Onoh said that he was motivated to write the account following the failure of Governor Nnamani to live by the oath of office which he swore in 1999, "to do right to all manner of people according to law , without ill-will."

He expressed regrets that the Governor had, according to him, "arisen to govern with hatred and employed government resources and apparatus to murder dozens of innocent citizens whom he is under constitutional obligation to protect."

Onoh alleged that so much resources had been looted by officials of the government.

Turning to Senators Nnamani and Okoro, the former governor challenged them to ensure that the nature of government witnessed so far in the state was never repeated in Enugu State. Over N10 million was raised at the launch.

Onoh accused the governor of illegally buying over all the housing property of the defunct Nigerian Coal Corporation (NCC).

In a petition dated November 7, 2006, to the Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Nuhu Ribadu, the former governor alleged that Nnamani persuaded the management of NCC to sign an irrevocable power of attorney, allegedly prepared by Nnamani, with the Bureau for Public Enterprise (BPE).

Onoh alleged that the governor used his companies, one of which he named as Hillgate, to purchase the property located in G.R.A and Onitsha road, in the state. Onoh said the sale of the property was in defiance of a pending suit instituted by the people of Ngwo, the alleged owner of the land, restraining NCC from disposing of the property.

The former governor urged the EFCC chairman to investigate the sale and the purchase prices, noting that justice would be done by revoking it.

But denying the allegation Adedayo, the governor's media aide, urged Nigerians to ask the former governor if NCC claimed it sold the property to the governor.

The Chief Press Secretary said that the allegation was part of "desperate efforts by some people to run down the govenor, who to their surprise was performing and had survied "Their landmines."

Adedayo said: "Onoh should be man enough to acknowledge that he and his fellow travellers have lost on all fronts. Nigerians and Enugu people are too sophisticated for this kind of lies."
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Mekusxyz: 2:57am On Jan 25, 2010
http://www.imostate.gov.ng/enlarged%20exco.php

http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=47825427892&comments
18 Tito Asekhame SPECIAL ADVISER Housing and Urban Development

This man is from Edo State but officiates in Imo govt.
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Mekusxyz: 3:00am On Jan 25, 2010
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by eyesonyou: 3:52am On Jan 25, 2010
Mekusxyz:

http://www.imostate.gov.ng/enlarged%20exco.php

http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=47825427892&comments
18 Tito Asekhame SPECIAL ADVISER Housing and Urban Development

This man is from Edo State.

Appointing a non-indigenous person as a special adviser is not a biggie because the position of a special adviser is not viewed as being sensitive.
Special Adviser appointment is more of embellishment than substance.
As far as I know, Lagos state is the only state that has appointed a non-indigenous person as a commissioner, Tinubu
was the first to set the pace, followed by Fashola.
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Mekusxyz: 4:04am On Jan 25, 2010
eyesonyou:

Appointing a non-indigenous person as a special adviser is not a biggie because the position of a special adviser is not viewed as being sensitive.
Special Adviser appointment is more of embellishment than substance.
As far as I know, Lagos state is the only state that has appointed a non-indigenous person as a commissioner, Tinubu
was the first to set the pace, followed by Fashola.

Sagamite, you are talking rubbish. Some of these special advisers, chief press secretaries and senior special assistants wield more power than commissioners. They are closer than the commissioners to the govs in most cases. In particular, a chief press secretary is far more visible than a commissioner. Take that to the bank.
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by naijaking1: 4:35am On Jan 25, 2010
Katsumoto:

You are very good at digging out information; why not supply names and links?

Mekusxxy has actually supplied the name and the link, above. I'm impressed shocked
I too remember Mr. Adebayo during Nnamani's regime.
Katsumoto are you dead there
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Mekusxyz: 4:40am On Jan 25, 2010
naijaking1:

Mekusxxy has actually supplied the name and the link, above. I'm impressed shocked
I too remember Mr. Adebayo during Nnamani's regime.
Katsumoto are you dead there

Thanks. The Yoruba special adviser to then Gov Orji Kalu will be unveiled too. Need time to get that.
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Mekusxyz: 4:53am On Jan 25, 2010
There is something on Orji Kalu's appointment of a Yoruba to his govt here, but not exactly what I am looking for-concrete info. I have read the concrete news with names somewhere on the net in the past.

http://www.thisdayonline.com/ncomments.php?id=68102
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Dede1(m): 6:14am On Jan 25, 2010
By the period the Yoruba people were using juju to round non-Yoruba folks out of town from the regional house of assembly in Ibadan, Ndigbo had elected an Hausa man as the first mayor of Enugu.
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by akigbemaru: 6:17am On Jan 25, 2010
[q]
Here you go again. Let me be brief, if the akigbemarus of yorubaland (and they are many) have their way, Igbos won't be living in any part of yorubaland. Mind you they are living there as part of the problems of surviving after the war. If Enugu or Owerri had an international airport since after the war, I doubt there would be this number of Igbos in yorubaland. So, we stay in Lagos not because we want but because we don't have a choice for now. If we had the same number of yorubas in anambra, we would appoint one of them to cabinet too. It doesn't show we love them. It is called window dressing.
[/q]

You da.mn right! Cos your M**********r make laugh.
1) Yes, Ibos are ingrate for trying to claim Egba people as there people. First of all, you know Ibo people always laugh about our precious tribal marks. If you look at different Yoruba disparate groups, Egba people have most complicated and deluxe pattern of tribal marks. Besides that, Egba is located in western part of South West, why would you come from down East to claim Egba? If you claim Ekiti or Ondo, it might be reasonable. Remember we codify your ibo language for you. We didn’t include stress pattern for you, because of your fatuous cave men mentality as of then. That is why your language is plain and ours is coded. Don’t get it twisted son, Egba in my language means many things though.

2) The main reason I don’t want ibo in Yorubaland, you are all intruders and saboteurs. You left Nigeria and went down to South America to convince our MORE than 75 million Yorubas that they should go and do DNA test. They asked your people which empire did they own before? Since they couldn’t give any concrete answer they chased them with baseball batons
3) They went to Jamaica and asked why are you watching Legba when we ibos were the one that liberated you from slave masters? They asked which power did you possess to liberate us? They said they were liberated by power of Legba, so ibo people can sh.ut the f.uck up!
4) Then, Ibo people turned snitches in USA, especially in Detroit, Michigan. This is a state that has most Yoruba deities worshipper. They people were originally from Cuba, Brazil, Guayanna, Venezuela, Trinidad and Tobbago, Mexico and so on. They made Yoruba religion known in USA.
Because, they killed animals for sacrifice, ibo people always snitch on them. At the end of the day, Yoruba people won, Michigan State Law states, since there is freedom of religions in USA constitution, my people can practice their religion but don’t let the whatever animal they are killing to go through too much pain before it dies. We won again from coward, saboteurs, and backstabbers.
5) It amazes me when ibo people think of us as a great threat to them, to us, you are just inconsequential. Believe me b.itch!
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by akigbemaru: 6:19am On Jan 25, 2010
We have to watch out for the antics of Igbo people nowadays. They are for no good! I told them many time "you don't the fingers that feed you."
These envious people want to re-write history and take away our superior culture!
They traveled to South America back and forth to convince our more than 70 million Yoruba people. These people have already established with Orisha and they want to introduce Ani or Chukwu to them. Guess what? They chased them away!
They (Igbo people) should know better that “if lies fly thousand years away, it’s just one day that the truth shall prevail,” that’s exactly what happens to Yoruba culture. Because we (Yorubas) are unaware about the great impact our religion had in New World. Now, there is increasing touring to Nigeria to Ife, since some intruders are trying to pollute our peoples’ mind over there. They come in multitude to trace their lineage. They said many Igbo people have been coming over there in the past and urged them to do DNA test; but they asked “would that change their perception about Ifa, Oshun, Oya e.t.c.?
Igbo people claimed they help Haiti and West indies to push a revolt for independence, but at the end of the day. Haiti had already established with Ogun, Shango and Obatala, while West Indies had established with Oshun and Oya. This should speak volumes about this Yoruba religion. The only religion that made it out of Africa! Check your Wikipedia if you doubt me.
We did not travel to South America to preach about our religion, they embraced it because that’s what most western world hates most (and Ifa divination module is the best gift to mankind)! It became a tool over there to equip communists and socialists to fight hegemony power of capitalists. The then Cuban president, Fidel Castro (publicly announced that his religion is Santeria—blending of catholism with Orisha). I don’t care if anybody hates, Orisha is the movement right now!
They banned it during slavery in America and even banned Bata talking drums. Before America lifted the embargo on Cuba, there were 8 million South Americans in USA practicing Santeria—blending of catholism with Orisha. Now, that there is no restriction; they envisaged that before 2030 there will be 50 million people practicing Santeria in just USA.
Abiola has left a giant step on the sand of time.
Igbo people boost of being rebellious, even they categorically stated it on their Bia-failed website, but at the end of the day, they always lose.

Just watch out on this forum, they will be the first to post anything sensitive about other tribes and be the first-ten to comment with scolded diatribes. Then, if you lashed back at them, they would come out in multitudes to jump on you.
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Nobody: 6:31am On Jan 25, 2010
akigbemaru:

1) Yes, Ibos are ingrate for trying to claim Egba people as there people. First of all, you know Ibo people always laugh about our precious tribal marks. If you look at different Yoruba disparate groups, Egba people have most complicated and deluxe pattern of tribal marks. Besides that, Egba is located in western part of South West, why would you come from down East to claim Egba? If you claim Ekiti or Ondo, it might be reasonable. Remember we codify your ibo language for you. We didn’t include stress pattern for you, because of your fatuous cave men mentality as of then. That is why your language is plain and ours is coded. Don’t get it twisted son, Egba in my language means many things though.

Why is Ekiti and Ondo always in the Igbo vs. Yoruba threads?

We are our own ppl. . . .
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by aloyemeka2: 6:42am On Jan 25, 2010
Akingbemaru writes like Becomerich. Are they the same? lipsrsealed lipsrsealed lipsrsealed
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Onlytruth(m): 6:42am On Jan 25, 2010
This retard akigbemaru is also the worst coward from his land. He always waits until his opponents log out before he tip toes in to vomit trash. What a pathetic i'd'iot'. angry

Like I said in another post, I wish the Becomrich scheme succeeds minus the theft of mid west and delta. I know for a fact that no Nigerian will miss you guys, you and your empire across the sea. All you have done since independence is to fleece Nigeria and create enmity among peoples which enables you to continue making hay. Our eyes are opening and you just completed your two terms under Obasanjo. The future is looking very interesting. grin
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by naijaking1: 6:48am On Jan 25, 2010
@akigbemru
Is Orisha(Orisa, Olisa) Igbo or Yoruba?
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by akigbemaru: 6:59am On Jan 25, 2010
Onlytruth,
You know you can't match because history and advantage never be on your side. I may start quoting from now till tomorrow. I have all my source of information intact. Your brain is vague, you can never provide link or source for anything you say.
You said your forefathers fought for national cake? Which one is that ooooo. Please, let your Biafran nation come through. No more oil Oyel money like your say for you again moochers.
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by akigbemaru: 7:01am On Jan 25, 2010
naijaking1:

@akigbemru
Is Orisha(Orisa, Olisa) Igbo or Yoruba?

You are asking me f.ool? Before 1900 ibos lived in dark age, where did you people come from?
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Onlytruth(m): 7:11am On Jan 25, 2010
akigbemaru:

Onlytruth,
You know you can't match because history and advantage never be on your side. I may start quoting from now till tomorrow. I have all my source of information intact. Your brain is vague, you can never provide link or source for anything you say.
You said your forefathers fought for national cake? Which one is that ooooo. Please, let your Biafran nation come through. No more oil Oyel money like your say for you again moochers.

And your source is wikipedia, right? How retarded.
What source do I need to teach me Nigerian history which continue even as we speak? Your brother Obasanjo just betrayed  the same man he imposed on Nigeria using the most diabolical methods.
Today he is scheming for relevance and survival, and I'm looking and laughing at him. Your time is getting closer and closer in Nigeria. Like we say in Igboland, anyi ga anu mkpu unu - we shall hear your cries soon. grin
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Onlytruth(m): 7:15am On Jan 25, 2010
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by prankster(m): 7:16am On Jan 25, 2010
@akigbemru who gives a Bleep what you think? Now i see that the saying is true and it  apply's to you "NEVER ARGUE WITH IDIOTS.THEY WILL BRING YOU DOWN TO THEIR LEVEL AND BEAT YOU WITH EXPERIENCE" You are highly experienced in idiocy.
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Onlytruth(m): 7:16am On Jan 25, 2010
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Remii(m): 7:21am On Jan 25, 2010
akigbemaru:

We have to watch out for the antics of Igbo people nowadays. They are for no good! I told them many time "you don't the fingers that feed you."
These envious people want to re-write history and take away our superior culture!
They traveled to South America back and forth to convince our more than 70 million Yoruba people. These people have already established with Orisha and they want to introduce Ani or Chukwu to them. Guess what? They chased them away!
They (Igbo people) should know better that “if lies fly thousand years away, it’s just one day that the truth shall prevail,” that’s exactly what happens to Yoruba culture. Because we (Yorubas) are unaware about the great impact our religion had in New World. Now, there is increasing touring to Nigeria to Ife, since some intruders are trying to pollute our peoples’ mind over there. They come in multitude to trace their lineage. They said many Igbo people have been coming over there in the past and urged them to do DNA test; but they asked “would that change their perception about Ifa, Oshun, Oya e.t.c.?
Igbo people claimed they help Haiti and West indies to push a revolt for independence, but at the end of the day. Haiti had already established with Ogun, Shango and Obatala, while West Indies had established with Oshun and Oya. This should speak volumes about this Yoruba religion. The only religion that made it out of Africa! Check your Wikipedia if you doubt me.
We did not travel to South America to preach about our religion, they embraced it because that’s what most western world hates most (and Ifa divination module is the best gift to mankind)! It became a tool over there to equip communists and socialists to fight hegemony power of capitalists. The then Cuban president, Fidel Castro (publicly announced that his religion is Santeria—blending of catholism with Orisha). I don’t care if anybody hates, Orisha is the movement right now!
They banned it during slavery in America and even banned Bata talking drums. Before America lifted the embargo on Cuba, there were 8 million South Americans in USA practicing Santeria—blending of catholism with Orisha. Now, that there is no restriction; they envisaged that before 2030 there will be 50 million people practicing Santeria in just USA.
Abiola has left a giant step on the sand of time.
Igbo people boost of being rebellious, even they categorically stated it on their Bia-failed website, but at the end of the day, they always lose.

Just watch out on this forum, they will be the first to post anything sensitive about other tribes and be the first-ten to comment with scolded diatribes. Then, if you lashed back at them, they would come out in multitudes to jump on you.

The fact the there are Yoruba are dieties worshiped in the Americas was not a sign of any superiority or deliberate export. It was due to slave trade. There were more Yoruba slaves than most of sub Sahara tribes towards Trans Atlantic route, so they left with their religions. Jazz music has the same history. Ibo slaves were not easily cowed to accepting fate so they were not "popular" They were so stubborn that they either got killed in the slave castles or thrown overboard, so very few made it to the destination.
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by RichyBlacK(m): 7:27am On Jan 25, 2010
akigbemaru is the retarded angry cousin of becomrrich. grin
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by SEFAGO(m): 7:28am On Jan 25, 2010
There were more Yoruba slaves than most of sub Sahara tribes towards Trans Atlantic route, so they left with their religions. Jazz music has the same history. Ibo slaves were not easily cowed to accepting fate so they were not "popular" They were so stubborn that they either got killed in the slave castles or thrown overboard, so very few made it to the destination.

Bull.Poo and not true

Please do not rewrite history
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by SEFAGO(m): 7:29am On Jan 25, 2010
akigbemaru abeg I like the points u are making. Keep going and teach these omoibo a lesson
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by Onlytruth(m): 7:34am On Jan 25, 2010
If I were Yar adua, I would arrest this thief called Obasanjo, put him in jail and throw away the keys! That would be my first act as a "revived" president. grin Then I would move in on his loot. grin
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by RichyBlacK(m): 7:36am On Jan 25, 2010
SEFAGO:

akigbemaru abeg I like the points u are making. Keep going and teach these omoibo a lesson

akigbemaru's intellect is at fourth-grade. Just watch how he'll be disarmed.
Re: Chinua Achebe - What Nigeria Means To Me by SEFAGO(m): 7:37am On Jan 25, 2010
RichyBlacK:

akigbemaru's intellect is at fourth-grade. Just watch how he'll be disarmed.

LOL, and what's the intellect of his opponents? Anyways let me watch- knowing NL, everyone would just be making up stories to suit there own silly ends then claim intellect at the same time

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (22) (Reply)

2023: There Is Serious Corruption Going On In Labour Party - Abayomi Arabambi / Col. Ben Gbulie, One Of The 1966 Coupists Speaks On The Coup And Awo / I’ll Do Everything Possible For Jonathan To Win In 2015 – Lamido

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 86