Stats: 3,153,217 members, 7,818,743 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 11:52 PM

My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved - Family (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Family / My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved (42366 Views)

Nigerian Who Relocated To UK In 2022 Beat Wife To Death With Skateboard / My Father-in-law Is Making My Wife To Disrespect Me! / My Dad Gave N3m To His Boss' Wife To Buy Vehicle For Him, Now He's Dead (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (14) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by rosalieene(f): 12:21pm On Oct 14, 2019
ginaolo:
I met her randomly on the road it wasn’t in a social setting. But how do I deal with her not wanting to meet family and friends? It’s disrespectful to me. As a wife you have to be open to meet my family atleast, when they are always asking about her, I can’t keep on making excuses for her na. People think there’s something wrong with my gf even though I’ve told them she is the shy type.
you're seeming to me as a domineering person from your write ups, must it always be about your family? how close are you to her family too?
Somepeople are naturally very shy and its difficult to snap out of that nature, even if she tries, its going to be based on pretense. Dont force her, you don't have to explain anything to anyone. Not mingling with people wouldn't make her a bad wife. dont force her pls. Accept her the way she is.

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by bluebay(m): 12:21pm On Oct 14, 2019
Ikem11:

Listen young man, the problem with we humans is when we think we better off than others and try thinking they should change.

Don't try changing humans cos u didn't create them... All u can do is learn to cope with them and if you feel is something you can adopt to quit and life goes on.

That girl got a good heart I can imagine from you write up... But never try changing her and thinking your marriage will be healthy.

How your family of friends thinks or see your partner shouldn't concern you as long as she suites you close doors... The worse marriage is the close door fight marriage don't ever get your self involve in it.

Best of luck.
I disagree with you in some areas. At times, what your friends and Family thinks should bother you too. 2 wrongs cannot make a right Man. If family opinion isn’t a matter, why do we always take our girl to see our parents ?

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by petitejolie(f): 12:22pm On Oct 14, 2019
Ermmm....oga she’s 24 that means she’s still young enough to get into another relationship. She can’t change pls leave alone so another man that wants her type can start making his way. Go and look for your extrovert type. Don’t marry her Nd b giving her unnecessary wahala. Cos this type of woman if u push her to d wall ure finished.

13 Likes

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by JJOF(m): 12:23pm On Oct 14, 2019
Fountainofyouth:
Truly, men are confused diverse, some people are looking for her type, while some get her on a platter of gold but are not contented.
Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by BlueAir: 12:23pm On Oct 14, 2019
So ..ur point is what?? I should throw away what I believe suits me because there might be negativities im yet to see? Oga gimme space grin.im not with an indoor mama
thesmallgod:

You are only viewing things from the advantages that suit what you are looking for. If you are the kind of person that like cheating, you may be planning your early grave.

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by philip0906(m): 12:24pm On Oct 14, 2019
saucecoder:
This thread just confirmed my suspicion that nairaland is a gathering of people who are mostly introverts, socially awkward, and can only fight and curse behind a keyboard. cheesy

See as everybody dey claim to be like the OP girl
Aswear!

Only behind the keyboards can they spit fire and brimstone, but in real life, they're like water leaf grin grin

The case of this lady, is quite extreme and I can't deal...

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by Fragility6: 12:24pm On Oct 14, 2019
Fountainofyouth:
Truly, men are confused, some people are looking for her type, while some get her on a platter of gold but are not contented.
Every mallam with e kettle o. We all cannot like the same thing. Na every woman dey like loud men?

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by Ikem11(m): 12:26pm On Oct 14, 2019
bluebay:

I disagree with you in some areas. At times, what your friends and Family thinks should bother you too. 2 wrongs cannot make a right Man.

You agreeing or disagreeing is not my problem. mine is to give out personal opinion like I just did.

I guess you still single which you may counter by lying you married.

The day u will get married because your friends and family enjoys the company of the girl is the beginning of your end as a man.

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by merits(m): 12:26pm On Oct 14, 2019
ginaolo:
Hi

I’ve been with a lady for some time now but I’m starting to have doubts about this girl.

My main concern is that she is too reserved and she doesn’t like to do anything that involves people. I come from a big family unit and she’s always avoiding family get togethers, outings, even to meet my friends and socialise with them is a huge problem. We’ve gone out very few times, she’s met my mum and a few friends, but she avoids meeting them most time. I addressed it to her and she claims she has social anxiety but for how long can I continue like this? All she wants to do is be at home. My family are already starting to get the wrong impression of her and they believe she is proud. I know my older sister is not too fond of her because of her quiet nature and I think this will take a toll on us in the future if we get married. I don’t want a wife that cannot do basic things like go out with me to events or represent me well. I don’t want a wife that will be hiding in the house 24/7.

Another thing is that she has some stubborn traits in her. She’s a lovely woman, she’s very kind, compassionate and she motivates me a lot. When she’s around me alone she’s very cool, but when it comes to going out and doing things, she starts acting up. I cannot deal with her shy nature as it’s too much and it’s becoming embarrassing. She’s 24. What do I do please?

Give her time she will change,especially when she started giving birth to your babies.
Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by emonis88: 12:27pm On Oct 14, 2019
ginaolo:
I met her randomly on the road it wasn’t in a social setting. But how do I deal with her not wanting to meet family and friends? It’s disrespectful to me. As a wife you have to be open to meet my family atleast, when they are always asking about her, I can’t keep on making excuses for her na. People think there’s something wrong with my gf even though I’ve told them she is the shy type.
Give her time, when gets to know them better she il ease up it just a matter of time.

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by philip0906(m): 12:27pm On Oct 14, 2019
kayzat:

Your wife attitude is exactly like mine. I hardly go out meeting people and my families inclusive. Some people are like that and you just have to accept that fact or let her go. Many people see us as proud or something else but we are what we are.

BTW, I am a man
Then you and that woman can be a fit...Lock yourselves away from civilisation, what you think? grin grin
Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by janeedema(f): 12:27pm On Oct 14, 2019
In my opinion, your priorities are wrongly placed. You seem to be more concerned about how your woman is perceived by people, than on how much she impacts you.

So, let her go and go marry a woman of the people.

I know it could be really frustrating when a lady or guy is overly reserved; especially if you are very outgoing. But who says there aren't always prices to pay in love?

There are definitely reasons she is acting that way. Low self esteem, lack of trust in people, etc. These are reasons why some people yield themselves from people. They are scared of being hurt or judged.

So, maybe your cross is to ensure that you make her know how special she is, and how much the world needs to enjoy her warmth as well. Build her emotional bank account.

As she begins to get familiar with your family and friends she will loosen up. If you love her that much, then you should walk her through her fears of shielding from people.

She must have had a difficult childhood void of love. Don't just say she is reserved; find out the root cause of this. For there always is.

Albeit, if you feel this is one cross you aren't prepared to carry, kindly let her go. Because if you aren't ready to defend her and shield her from friends and family, while you help her come out of her phobia for people, then you truly don't deserve her.

quote author=ginaolo post=83099057]I met her randomly on the road it wasn’t in a social setting. But how do I deal with her not wanting to meet family and friends? It’s disrespectful to me. As a wife you have to be open to meet my family atleast, when they are always asking about her, I can’t keep on making excuses for her na. People think there’s something wrong with my gf even though I’ve told them she is the shy type. [/quote]

14 Likes

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by sweetrace(f): 12:28pm On Oct 14, 2019
ginaolo:
All I’m trying to say is too much of everything is bad. I want her to loosen up a little, because her nature is worrying

Please men don’t complain this much. She is nervous around people she’s not used to. You make her comfortable enough to open up. I used to be extremely shy. I dated a guy who was my complete opposite. Very outgoing and mature in behavior even though we were the same age. He never mentioned my shyness. He just acted like I was the best thing to happen to him. Meanwhile, he was the best thing to happen to me. His friends and family took their cue from him and seemed excited to meet with me. Since I did not feel like anyone was being critical of me, I was comfortable enough to be me.

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by Funkybabee(f): 12:28pm On Oct 14, 2019
hmmmmm

they are the type that won't want a visitor to stay in their house.
reason very well

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by Christafarian(m): 12:28pm On Oct 14, 2019
baby124:
By the way, I am not someone that goes to party everyday. In fact hubby is more social. But I don’t joke when it comes to family and mutual friends function. I show up, decked up and come out of my shell.

She can make the effort if she wants to, there are no extremes in life. If something is important to who you love as long as it does not compromise your health and safety, you will try to make them happy. Any extremist is a no-no in any situation. Run from extremists, they will destroy you.

How can someone be reluctant to meet your family and friends before marriage, is she mad? It’s even for her own good to see if she can belong to such a family or even marry you.

How will she feel if you refuse to meet her family members at all? If you act like her you won’t even meet them for introduction and you will never attend her family functions. Women can’t take that you know? Please and please flee from this woman. This one will not want to see anybody in your house. Trust me.
Finally we gat someone who is in touch with reality.

The OP narrated a disturbing case of a manifest sociopath and some omni-know-it-all Nairalanders went advisorial, instead of offering medical or psychological counsel to the poor guy.

Dear OP, I align myself with the above clear thought and adopt it as if same were mine; I kindly advise you to accept it hook, line & sinker.

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by fredopareto(m): 12:28pm On Oct 14, 2019
Simple matter..teach her how to drink gin or beer..her self courage will b back.d best at of all,Indian hemp..tank me later
Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by 2dice01: 12:29pm On Oct 14, 2019
theButterfly:
She sounds exactly like me.
oya let's get married asap cheesy

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by philip0906(m): 12:29pm On Oct 14, 2019
Blinkers:

Then, leave her the fûck alone and go date a social butterfly who will attend every event and parties including the ones she is not invited to.
Easy no be war...What that man described there, is an extreme.

I can assure you, except you're also as extreme as she is, if you marry such person, e go tire you.

No one is saying a woman should be too extroverted, infact I like my woman reserved too, but not to the point of hiding from family & friends & people in general, which is what the @op described there.

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by bonnyhope: 12:30pm On Oct 14, 2019
ValCon888:
One man's meat is another man's poison.
If you know how many men are looking for a reserved homely wife like that you will thank God for many blessings.

It is your duty to explain to them she's the shy type so they can meet her half way.

dont mind the guy, he wants someone that would be dragging him from one club to another

men dont know what they want in women

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by 2undeee(m): 12:32pm On Oct 14, 2019
A beg give me her contact my type of wife material pls and pls me I want her like that make she no change

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by Herrmes: 12:33pm On Oct 14, 2019
What I see is a guy that can’t handle situations, I’m sorry for the harsh evaluation, tell your family that they are going to have to be patient, that she’s shy, and they might see her once in a while in these events only, but in the future she’s always going to be present, that they are going to have to be patient because it’s her you chose, it’s non negotiable,

Then go ahead and work on your woman, take her shopping, I’m sure she’ll love that all women do, just get her comfortable with going out with you, take her to places she likes, then slowly introduce her to your family, maybe a few of them at first, one or two, make sure you guys spend quality time, can be at your place, get the females of your family to come along with the males, 2 couples at most just take everything so fucking slow, then get her to meet your parents and remember to tell everybody you’re introducing her to, to try their utmost best to make her comfortable and welcome, and to take things slowly, she might not still get used to crowds, so spend little time at them at first then increase the amount time you spend, if it’s a good time she might not even notice, if at anytime she gets anxiety attacks then take her away to a place she loves again and still stay with her.

It’s a lot of work but the way I see it you have a gem but you don’t know what to do with it and it will be worth it.
It’s a commitment man. ginaolo please read this.

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by mudiana(m): 12:33pm On Oct 14, 2019
ginaolo:
Hi

I’ve been with a lady for some time now but I’m starting to have doubts about this girl.

My main concern is that she is too reserved and she doesn’t like to do anything that involves people. I come from a big family unit and she’s always avoiding family get togethers, outings, even to meet my friends and socialise with them is a huge problem. We’ve gone out very few times, she’s met my mum and a few friends, but she avoids meeting them most time. I addressed it to her and she claims she has social anxiety but for how long can I continue like this? All she wants to do is be at home. My family are already starting to get the wrong impression of her and they believe she is proud. I know my older sister is not too fond of her because of her quiet nature and I think this will take a toll on us in the future if we get married. I don’t want a wife that cannot do basic things like go out with me to events or represent me well. I don’t want a wife that will be hiding in the house 24/7.

Another thing is that she has some stubborn traits in her. She’s a lovely woman, she’s very kind, compassionate and she motivates me a lot. When she’s around me alone she’s very cool, but when it comes to going out and doing things, she starts acting up. I cannot deal with her shy nature as it’s too much and it’s becoming embarrassing. She’s 24. What do I do please?
you didn't mention anything about her family or her relationship with them, you sure say no be ghost she be

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by ehix89(m): 12:34pm On Oct 14, 2019
baby124:

Exactly my point. Normal person whether shy or not will want to know who she is marrying. How do you know who you are marrying without getting to know his family and friends?

Something is not right and the OP obviously cannot see it because, he can’t understand it. Everyone presents their best selves to an extent before marriage and if this is her best self. Then LOL grin. I pray the real self is not worse than this.

Personally, my brothers did not marry any girl that did not like their family. All my in-laws and our spouses are like siblings. We all have our character traits but one thing that we take seriously is our family bond. That’s because family is important to us.

The family you marry into is so important. One should be very very interested in knowing them and the type of friend your husband keeps.

Introverts are naturally cautious and analytical. Always interested in reading unexpressed thoughts and understanding situations. This woman here is not introverted.
How do you judge a woman you have not even met

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by Nobody: 12:34pm On Oct 14, 2019
:PEverybody mustn't be outgoing.

My brother was like that and he struggled with relationships because girls also thought he is weird and maybe psychopathic.

Even my parents complained. They felt he was docile for a man- meaning they probably wouldn't have complained that much if it were me.

However, I understood him and so many times I had to speak when words failed him at occasions and all through our days in secondary school. That is what you should do, carry her along in public events that she agrees to attend, don't leave her all to herself. With time she might outgrow it, if she doesn't- it is still not as bad as you make it.

Or just leave her for a man that'll appreciate her type.

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by seanjy4konji: 12:35pm On Oct 14, 2019
Leave that lady alone...

Later in life?she will find a way of making your avoid your own family and then you are doomed...

By the time your family have access to youthe slow poison would have had effect and your elder sister will fight her way into the house to pick you up to hospital cos of the love where you will probably give up the ghost..

she might come to hospital then asking if you have done your will...

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by philip0906(m): 12:35pm On Oct 14, 2019
Christafarian:

Finally we gat someone who is in touch with reality.

The OP narrated a disturbing case of a manifest sociopath and some omni-know-it-all Nairalanders went advisorial, instead of offering medical or psychological counsel to the poor guy.

Dear OP, I align myself with the above clear thought and adopt it as if same were mine; I kindly advise you to accept it hook line & sinker.
I was just laughing at the comments...Shows that many of these guys in here, are sociopaths like the @op's girl, who are internet warriors behind keyboards but in real life, are water leafs.

I am attracted to calm, reserved & maybe shy women, but not anti-social humans who are at the extreme...I can assure you, many of the men in here screaming that's their type of woman, when they get into such relationships, will get bored and tired when they see what they will be dealing with

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by nnomeh(m): 12:36pm On Oct 14, 2019
Just pass her to me... I enjoy people of such nature.

Next paragraph pls!

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by Mariangeles(f): 12:37pm On Oct 14, 2019
ginaolo:
Is she sluggish ? undecided
If she's not, then decide if you love her enough to accept her personality or you let her go.
Once you've accepted her for who she is, others will respect that .

Again, give your family and friends time to get to know her more, so they'll come to accept her the way she is .

Don't overindulge her or she might get worse.
If she truly loves you and want to be with you, she will be willing to work on herself to please you.
Don't expect too much change at a time.
You both can meet each other half way.
Whenever you notice she's putting effort, acknowledge and praise her for it. It will make let down her guard a bit more and will be willing to do more .

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by philip0906(m): 12:37pm On Oct 14, 2019
ehix89:
How do you judge a woman you have not even met
From what the @op described. undecided

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by Blinkers: 12:37pm On Oct 14, 2019
philip0906:

Easy no be war...What that man described there, is an extreme.

I can assure you, except you're also as extreme as she is, if you marry such person, e go tire you.

No one is saying a woman should be too extroverted, infact I like my woman reserved too, but not to the point of hiding from family & friends & people in general, which is what the @op described there.

I'm not angry at the OP at all. His girl is my type though. I'm only pissed that he seems like a weak man with no options, and is wasting too much time with her instead of breaking up ASAP and moving on to an outgoing type

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by xangerar: 12:37pm On Oct 14, 2019
You seem to be more concerned about Family PR than what fulfils your own private home. It should first be about what complements and fulfil you before how a goddam elder sister thinks. Marriage is primarily between couples and not families.

If I were you I will easily let my family know this is who my wife is and if a family reunion cannot commence until she arrives maybe we could delay it until Christ returns.

Re: My Wife To Be Is Too Reserved by zhuche(m): 12:39pm On Oct 14, 2019
If you truly love her, help and stand by her.. you can try organizing mini party in your house that won't cost much, ofcourse you should let your friends know the reason for the gathering. If your woman keeps recieving guests, over time she will be comfortable with it...

Invite few friends and increase the number as you observe her reaction and adaption. There is no problem without a solution, but how you go about it is very important. Feel free to Google some tips on how to help her too.

Shalom.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (14) (Reply)

15 Reasons Every Nigerian Grew Up With Trust Issues(pictures) / Dad Upset After Babymama Let Their Daughter Sit On Her Uncle's Lap - Video / Father Of Two Wanted One More Child, Then Got Triplets (Photo)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 71