Stats: 3,151,879 members, 7,813,994 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 11:43 PM

Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 (24147 Views)

Senate To Invite Emefiele Over Naira Devaluation / Rising Food Prices, Serial Naira Devaluation Compound Nigerians’ Woes / Naira Set To Hit N500 At Parallel Market After CBN Devaluation (2) (3) (4)

Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by ednut1(m): 7:39pm On Dec 23, 2019
Drkingjames:
I don't think devaluation is a move in the right direction
they should keep defending the naira with scarce fx
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by mistijude: 7:40pm On Dec 23, 2019
Vortex369:
There will be Global Depression and Recession in 2020.

Relocate to the nearest villages and grow your own food.

It will be worse. Because all Sovereign Savings and External Reserves will be zeroed and US Debts, written off.

You will drink your oil and Fulanis will hoard their produce.

Prophetess of doom

Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by VeeVeeMyLuv(m): 7:42pm On Dec 23, 2019
ednut1:
Nexxxxt level suffering.
UPPERCUT level of suffering LOADING

Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Emissary1(m): 7:42pm On Dec 23, 2019
Where is this country heading to?

Nigeria needs help.

Lord have mercy.
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Nobody: 7:42pm On Dec 23, 2019
mistijude:
Prophetess of doom
It is not a prophecy, it is a revelation of a blueprint.
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Homers123(m): 7:44pm On Dec 23, 2019
How many times dem go remove Subsidy sef?
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by 2nattie(m): 7:47pm On Dec 23, 2019
Hmmm
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by OsuigboFIathead(f): 7:47pm On Dec 23, 2019
itsme01:

Buhari wouldnt dare.. but then again it is his last term and he seem to be unpredictable

a subsidy would die a natural death when Dangote refinery becomes functional, we can simply rich an agreement on crude oil swap for refined products and save scarce forex

Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by nextstep(m): 7:47pm On Dec 23, 2019
Drkingjames:
I don't think devaluation is a move in the right direction

I would agree.... devaluation (or undervaluation) helps countries that export value-added products (e.g. manufactured goods). However price of oil (which is the largest commodity we use to obtain dollars) will not change based on our Naira, yet we will need more Naira to pay for imports.

Because imports become expensive, locally produced goods will also become more expensive: even a toothpick seller will have to increase their prices so they can in turn pay for (imported) tshirts (a contrived example, but not too far off).

Devaluation has not once helped the Nigerian economy, in my opinion.

What individuals should do is save as much as they can, ideally into dollar accounts to hedge against devaluation and inflation. Spend as little on extravagant expenses this season.

Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Louisananda7(m): 7:51pm On Dec 23, 2019
Yeye country
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Sholaco: 7:55pm On Dec 23, 2019
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Saintp(m): 7:56pm On Dec 23, 2019
Chai. 5 yrs almost gone and no solution in sight. At the end of the day Buhari will waste 8 years while problems of Nigeria he inherited remains plus the additional ones. Too bad

Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by dalass(f): 7:57pm On Dec 23, 2019
risos:
Really depressing to know PMS imported on subsidy is sold outside our borders. Kudo to the federal government on the border control.
Bloody criminals everywhere.

Your mumu never do.. Smugglers will always find their way.

BTW, how has this border closure bettered the life of Nigerians especially you?

Instead, it has led to astronomical increase across all consumables... God punish wicked people.. Even common rice has become something else.. Just shut up already

Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by vineyardfarms: 7:59pm On Dec 23, 2019
[quote author=dre11 post=85162087]The nation’s subsidy on petrol may be around N417 billion in 2020

https://m.guardian.ng/news/devaluation-subsidy-removal-among-biggest-predictions-for-nigeria-in-2020/
0 T WHY REMOVED SUBSIDY THEY - APC GOVT LIED AND SAID IT DOES NOT EXIST?? A P C, BRING IT ON, CURPSE IS NOT A NEW THING TO THE SOIL, WE ARE READY, BRING IT ON.
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Nobody: 8:00pm On Dec 23, 2019
Hello, Nairalanders please I'm still crying for help please � Now the man came back to the house to ask me to leave by tomorrow. Please anyone in Abuja pleases to accommodate me till Sunday please I beg of you. I take God beg anybody staying or has a connection in Abuja to help me out from tomorrow till Sunday, please. If you don't understand my post please kindly read my previous posts. I'm still crying because of my kids please.
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by MOSICATED5(m): 8:02pm On Dec 23, 2019
Thank God say even the people when reelect Buhari go buy the fuel the same price with us lol

Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Godhatesodomy: 8:08pm On Dec 23, 2019
Wow
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by badman007(m): 8:08pm On Dec 23, 2019
One thing is certain, you cant deny Nigeria has great potentials.
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by badman007(m): 8:11pm On Dec 23, 2019
[quote author=Jovon11 post=85163038][/quote

How subsidy take favor niger delta?
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by badman007(m): 8:14pm On Dec 23, 2019
itsme01:

Buhari wouldnt dare.. but then again it is his last term and he seem to be unpredictable

Subsidy would die a natural death when Dangote refinery becomes functional with the modular refineries springing up and the NNPC refineries working to atleast 50% installed capacity, we can simply rich an agreement on crude oil swap for refined products and save scarce forex

The truth about devaluation is if we can fix Power and get Ajaokuta steel plant running to service industries, we wouldnt be needing dollars as much as we do

I think Ajaokuta steel is a fools mission.

Why has Almangiri cabal government failed to simply refine our oil?
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Bighead9: 8:15pm On Dec 23, 2019
mrvitalis:

What do the Fulani's produce ?
Middle belt and hausa never talk na Fulani ...even goat and cow na from Niger

What does the South East contribute to the economy? As it stands now, all the Region's contributes alot to the economy except, the South East. This simple implies that, the South East is a parasite Region.

Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by cooooooks(m): 8:16pm On Dec 23, 2019
I don't think there'll be a devaluation but there might and should be subsidy removal.

The biggest drag on the federal reserves is the purchasing of oil products. With Dangote's refinery coming online, I seriously doubt that they'll devalue the naira.
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by gurunlocker: 8:18pm On Dec 23, 2019
The subsidy they removed in 2016 or the one they called scam?
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by itsme01: 8:18pm On Dec 23, 2019
badman007:

I think Ajaokuta steel is a fools mission.

Why has Almangiri cabal government failed to simply refine our oil?

ajaokuta isnt a fools mission but the only game changer fustrated by the west, but be rest assured with russia firing thing up we a good to go,

Buhari built the 3 refinery but babangida abacha and pdp couldnt do a simple turn around maintainace cos of stupid corrup mentality now its is being done so expect it fully running soon

Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Raalsalghul: 8:18pm On Dec 23, 2019
mistijude:
Prophetess of doom
She's not a prophet of doom.

I've come not to expect good news from this shit hole
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Raalsalghul: 8:22pm On Dec 23, 2019
nextstep:

I would agree.... devaluation (or undervaluation) helps countries that export value-added products (e.g. manufactured goods). However price of oil (which is the largest commodity we use to obtain dollars) will not change based on our Naira, yet we will need more Naira to pay for imports.

Because imports become expensive, locally produced goods will also become more expensive: even a toothpick seller will have to increase their prices so they can in turn pay for (imported) tshirts (a contrived example, but not too far off).

Devaluation has not once helped the Nigerian economy, in my opinion.

What individuals should do is save as much as they can, ideally into dollar accounts to hedge against devaluation and inflation. Spend as little on extravagant expenses this season.
How easy is it to convert a savings to a domiciliary?
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Olukoso1: 8:22pm On Dec 23, 2019
Aldous4:
Na wah ooo

Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Olukoso1: 8:24pm On Dec 23, 2019
Aldous4:
Na wah ooo

Show us the size of your own dick first before we patronize you cheesy
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by mrvitalis(m): 8:25pm On Dec 23, 2019
Bighead9:

What does the South East contribute to the economy? As it stands now, all the Region's contributes alot to the economy except, the South East. This simple implies that, the South East is a parasite Region.
Firstly the east contribute a lot of human recourses in this country

Without Igbo's many town in the north would be without pharmacist and doctors
When it comes to business I don't need to tell you that one

Human recourse >>> natural resources

East host Nigerian crude oil reserves and Nigerian largest gas deposit

As for foreign investment ,god forbid ,we don't need that ...someone invest 20 million makes profit of 100billion and take it away

If there are any need for investment the Igbo's would do it

Obi Jackson is handling our gas pipeline lope
We are seeking Igbo's to invest in out rail line project ...people like me are ready to buy shares

Keep depending on foreign investors thats why Africa won't grow
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by xpmode(m): 8:27pm On Dec 23, 2019
Lies on rampage.

HATES SPEECH
Re: Devaluation, Subsidy Removal Among Biggest Predictions For Nigeria In 2020 by Debaiz: 8:29pm On Dec 23, 2019
itsme01:

Subsidy would die a natural death when Dangote refinery becomes functional with the modular refineries springing up and the NNPC refineries working to atleast 50% installed capacity, we can simply rich an agreement on crude oil swap for refined products and save scarce forex

The truth about devaluation is if we can fix Power and get Ajaokuta steel plant running to service industries, we wouldnt be needing dollars as much as we do

You captured everything nigeria needs in this comment.

I’ve been telling people about the importance of Ajaokuta steel to a country under construction for a very long time. How can a huge country with massive structural gap be importing steel. I still want to know anything that doesn’t involve iron. Just Anything from start to finish that doesn’t involve iron and here we are importing everything iron.

People keep saying power is the key to our development. I believe the key to our development is Ajaokuta.

The steel China used for construction in the 21century alone is more than what the whole west used in 100years. The fact report is online.

The price we used to construct all those new rail, trains to be used on it, Dangote refinery and most of our projects would’ve been more than halved if we had Ajaokuta running. Not to talk of the export potential to west Africa, whole of Africa and beyond.

Food Prices In Governor Sanwo-Olu's Subsidised Market Higher Than Actual Market' / News Break :rivers State Civil Service Commission Chairman Shot Dead / Cable Car Project On The Verge Of Completion – Fashola