Stats: 3,151,617 members, 7,813,030 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 05:03 AM

CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board - Business - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board (23818 Views)

CBN May Not Clear FOREX Backlog — Report / New Note Crisis: CBN May Print Naira Abroad To Ease Cash Crunch / CBN May Devalue Naira Steeply After 2023 Elections - Bloomberg (2) (3) (4)

CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by ogododo: 8:17am On Aug 14, 2023
WHILE the government appeared distracted with the coup in Niger Republic, the naira plunged further in the foreign exchange markets last week, exchanging at a record high of N955 to US$1 on Thursday, and spreading panic through the business community and apprehension among Nigerians. President Bola Tinubu and the Central Bank of Nigeria need to move fast, creatively, and pragmatically to avoid losing control of the currency and the economy.

The omens are bad. Since Tinubu pushed the CBN to merge the exchange rates two months ago, the naira’s southward descent has accelerated. The twin goals of facilitating a “realistic” rate, and eliminating the wide arbitrage gap created between official rates and informal market rates have remained elusive. At the official exchange rate of N767.76/$, the gap, and hence, room for illegal arbitrage, raced from N100/$ towards N200/$.

Absent an economic management team, direction, or cabinet, and no accompanying reforms of the regulatory agencies, all colliding with high inflation and business contraction, the naira is on track to crest the N1,000/$ mark and beyond soon, raising real fears that the CBN could lose control with dire consequences. The IMF added to the anxiety last week, saying existing “loose fiscal and monetary policies” make it difficult for the naira to stabilise.

Wale Edun, Tinubu’s longtime economic adviser and ministerial nominee, signposted N700/$ as the realistic rate, saying the higher rates are not backed by the fundamentals of the economy. The Economist Intelligence Unit’s forecast of a N1,000/$ rate up till 2027 now appear overly optimistic. Things could get really nasty well before then.

This is not surprising. Supply is constrained by low non-oil export earnings. Demand is artificial, driven by speculators and hoarders, and massive, unchecked money laundering by state and non-state actors. Politicians, public office holders, bandits, kidnappers, and connected contractors, facilitated by lax oversight of the deposit money banks and the bureaux de change, are driving the market with ill-gotten naira, not producers or genuine commercial enterprises.

Tinubu must shift from his unfocussed, ill-planned, and uncoordinated decisions to strategic, well-planned, and comprehensive economic policies. He desperately needs an EMT and more economists and technocrats on board than the motley politicians he has nominated as ministers.

To avoid losing control of the naira and hyperinflation, the CBN should for a few weeks, fund the forex market; next, restrain the BDCs and errant banks from round-tripping and illegal arbitrage. There should be closer collaboration with other regulatory agencies, and the anti-corruption and law enforcement agencies to monitor operators and swiftly and firmly punish infractions and offenders.

An economy battling high unemployment, inflation, production contraction, and dwindling public revenues, needs strong stimulus to achieve recovery. These should target protecting strategic sectors – agricultural production, pharmaceuticals, transportation, and small businesses. Special attention should be paid to SMEs; how to subsidise their power supply, access to low-interest credit, and overthrow crippling taxes and levies.

Hard decisions lie ahead, but should be taken only after rigorous diagnoses and preparation. Shortage of dollars is leaving supply to the market in the hands of black-market operators, thereby effectively subverting the goal of reducing the gap between the official Importers and Exporters window and the parallel market rates. A temporary bolstering of the market to defend the naira for a very short period and funnelled to legitimate businesses is desirable to halt the naira’s downward spiral.

The economy requires very close attention and rigorous planning to avoid a collapse: Tinubu should, going forward, stop taking hasty measures without them.

https://punchng.com/cbn-may-lose-control-of-the-naira/

15 Likes 3 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by TheKingOfCrumb: 8:31am On Aug 14, 2023
1 dollar about to hit 1000
Awa lokan grin

106 Likes 8 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by SalamRushdie: 8:37am On Aug 14, 2023
I called this first many weeks ago and I never call Anything wrong..like I said then Tinubu had lost control of of the economy because of his poorly implemented fuel and Naira deregulation and remember I predicted that that naira will get to 1200 to a dollar and Petro 1050 per litre abd Tinubu will be forced to start regulating them again other to save his govt from a popular uprising....Nigerians will be the ultimate losers

130 Likes 10 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by Smithkafors(m): 8:42am On Aug 14, 2023
Wahala, the same set of people that made us go into inflation has regrouped again. You see them in APC and nairaland.

You see them hailing their oppressors. They can never support good governance.

113 Likes 11 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by ogododo: 8:42am On Aug 14, 2023
Tinubu no sabi how to run economy. Na tax and tariff be him specialty. See how Lagos wowo.

104 Likes 10 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by joyandfaith: 8:45am On Aug 14, 2023
Floating of naira is a bad idea. Forex restriction on 43 items doesn't make sense.

37 Likes 5 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by BoldBrainz(m): 8:47am On Aug 14, 2023
We've been shouting this on all threads since the last week of June, but APC supporters here on nairaland, said we're economic neophytes, therefore in no place to give counsel.

Let's now be quiet and watch their Chicago bred Exxon mobil accountant and seasoned economist, take the center stage.

105 Likes 5 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by papaeme: 8:59am On Aug 14, 2023
An ACCOUNTANT without certificate can only tax his subjects to abject poverty

Know this and Know peace

109 Likes 8 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by AsomughaChuks05: 9:09am On Aug 14, 2023
This is an opportunity for Nigerian entrepreneurs to start local manufacturing of most of the things Nigeria imports. It is the only panacea to reverse high rate of joblessness in the economy. It is an apt response to the current situation of the economy. Check out Japan. They became the second largest economy in the world until recently by heavily devaluing their currency against the dollar. Tinubu is on the right path.

7 Likes 7 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by Righthussle: 9:15am On Aug 14, 2023
which one is "CBN may lose control of the Naira ? something wey don already happen.

47 Likes 5 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by yesloaded: 9:16am On Aug 14, 2023
AsomughaChuks05:
This is an opportunity for Nigerian entrepreneurs to start local manufacturing of most of the things Nigeria imports. It is the only panacea to reverse high rate of joblessness in the economy. It is an apt response to the current situation of the economy. Check out Japan. They became the second largest economy in the world until recently by heavily devaluing their currency against the dollar. Tinubu is on the right path.

You need 247 stable power supply

Adequate security

Good government policy

To achieve what you suggested

81 Likes 2 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by helinues: 9:28am On Aug 14, 2023
May? When we are in August

undecided embarassed

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by SalamRushdie: 9:30am On Aug 14, 2023
AsomughaChuks05:

I am 100 percent sure you have never run a business

85 Likes 3 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by SmartPolician: 9:31am On Aug 14, 2023
For floating the naira knowing that Nigeria runs an import-dependent economy, Ebola no just get sense. $1 may reach #1k before December 2023.

21 Likes

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by Ikaeniyan0: 9:35am On Aug 14, 2023
Why is it taken tinubu this long to appoint ministers 😕

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by PARADIZEPRIEST: 9:40am On Aug 14, 2023
WHAT ABOUT ALL OF THE NOISE ABOUT DANGoTE REFINERY THAT BUHA GAVE NAIJA MONEY TO BUILD

19 Likes

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by SmartPolician: 9:41am On Aug 14, 2023
AsomughaChuks05:

Do you know what it takes to produce something in this country?

How will you power your machines? With diesel or petrol that's very expensive?

In fact, many people would prefer to import things than produce in Nigeria because importing from China is cheaper than producing in Nigeria.

Nigeria has no enabling infrastructure for driving businesses like steady power supply. If you run on diesel, you will incur huge losses.

65 Likes 4 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by ambale(m): 9:44am On Aug 14, 2023
AsomughaChuks05:

You talk as if you are not in Nigeria, businesses are closing down because of the harsh economy and you still advising new ones to join the fray.

What sort of right path are you on?

51 Likes 1 Share

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by ambale(m): 9:46am On Aug 14, 2023
SalamRushdie:

I am 100 percent sure you have never run a business

Person wey dey copy other peoples comment they use am do yanga

I have some of my partners who have stopped coming to their offices due to this hardship

Imagine expenses exceeding revenue, thats too bad now

35 Likes

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by EconomistXplain: 9:46am On Aug 14, 2023
tinubu's major problem in the economy management is dangote who has refused to begin operation of his long awaited refinery project....

if he (dangote) does, then petrol import will stop... foreign exchange will b saved..huge demand for FX will decline...supply of FX will begin by major private firm....then naira and everything else will stabilize

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by ambale(m): 9:48am On Aug 14, 2023
SmartPolician:

Do you know what it takes to produce something in this country?

How will you power your machines? With diesel or petrol that's very expensive?

In fact, many people would prefer to import things than produce in Nigeria because importing from China is cheaper than producing in Nigeria.

Nigeria has no enabling infrastructure for driving businesses like steady power supply. If you run on diesel, you will incur huge losses.

Many of them have never ran a business before, they think its the fraudulent activities they get involved with

Some business men already down tools as their machines starts to misbehave and no money for maintenance

29 Likes

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by leokid866: 10:04am On Aug 14, 2023
ogododo:
Tinubu no sabi how to run economy. Na tax and tariff be him specialty. See how Lagos wowo.
but you Still carry your head enter......

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by leokid866: 10:06am On Aug 14, 2023
yesloaded:

You need 247 stable power supply

Adequate security

Good government policy

To achieve what you suggested
There are pockets of those already in place. In fact several people have taken advantage already.....na you just no look
Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by yesloaded: 10:08am On Aug 14, 2023
leokid866:
There are pockets of those already in place. In fact several people have taken advantage already.....na you just no look

Where n when?

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by leokid866: 10:13am On Aug 14, 2023
yesloaded:

Where n when?
Try...Ogun....Ibadan...Rivers.....Delta......Kano and Kaduna but the last two you might want to focus in their capital.....the edges are not as safe.
Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by shox(m): 10:16am On Aug 14, 2023
SmartPolician:
For floating the naira knowing that Nigeria runs an import-dependent economy, Ebola no just get sense. $1 may reach #1k before December 2023.
na 45naira remain😀😀😀

E sure die to pass 1000 before December

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by Bizibi(m): 10:18am On Aug 14, 2023
AsomughaChuks05:
right path How

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by ChatterHouse: 10:24am On Aug 14, 2023
helinues:
May? When we are in August

undecided embarassed
Tinvbu has lost it

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by ChatterHouse: 10:26am On Aug 14, 2023
Ikaeniyan0:
Why is it taken tinubu this long to appoint ministers 😕

Ti ubu has run u handicap

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by orisa37: 10:46am On Aug 14, 2023
TINUBU MAY LOSE IT TOO IF HE DOES NOT DENOMINATE FAST. WALE EDUN IS HIMSELF SPURRING NONSENSE. THEY ALL HAVE FAT FOREIGN ACCOUNTS WHERE THEY STORE THE LOOTS.
TINUBU SHOULD AT LEAST DENOMINATE AT N180:$1 GEJ'S STANDARD.
MR PRESIDENT GIVES THE ORDER AND NOT AN UNSCRUPULOUS ADVISER OR SILLY SO CALLED GOVERNOR OF CBN.

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by 9jatriot(m): 10:57am On Aug 14, 2023
I think I did recall you opening a thread along this line sometime ago.
What do you think however can be done to remedy the situation, assuming you were talking from an economic point of view without any political undertone?

Coz, this matter affects us all, ostrict and rat alike.
SalamRushdie:
I called this first many weeks ago and I never call Anything wrong..like I said then Tinubu had lost control of of the economy because of his poorly implemented fuel and Naira deregulation and remember I predicted that that naira will get to 1200 to a dollar and Petro 1050 per litre abd Tinubu will be forced to start regulating them again other to save his govt from a popular uprising....Nigerians will be the ultimate losers

Re: CBN May Lose Control Of The Naira - Punch Editorial Board by ogododo: 10:58am On Aug 14, 2023
leokid866:
but you Still carry your head enter......
Who tell u so.

Flutterwave Shuts Down Barter / Woman Who Uses Wheelchair Complains About GTBank's Inaccesible Entrances / How To Earn $50 Per Week Selling Other People's Products - Online Business

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 41