Stats: 3,152,754 members, 7,817,085 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 04:07 AM

GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? - Career (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? (24326 Views)

Advice Needed:a Masters Degree To Aid My 2.2 Or A Life-changing Trip To Italy? / PGD Or MASTERS Without NYSC? / 40k Monthly Permanent Job Or 80k Monthly Contract Job. Which Would You Choose? (2) (3) (4)

Re: GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? by jidbeg1: 11:11am On Jun 05, 2012
Lol! Dnt mind me my bro. Wanted to say 'a prospective employee' it was a mistake. Ur really full guy!
tanimola22:

Is GTB looking to be recruited? Omo, you must be a very big man for making this assertion. We shall value GTB, including all assets and liabilities, and then let you know if it is something you can venture into.

Give more details, please.

T22
Re: GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? by WhyAWhy(m): 5:42pm On Jun 05, 2012
hayo: 1. A good MBA program shouldn't be admitting fresh graduates.
2. An MBA degree should have both theoretical and experiential learning. What experience would a fresh graduate bring to the class?
3. Good business schools use case studies. A fresh graduate will struggle to contribute to meaningful discussions that.are based on work experience.

If you finish from physical sciences or engineering degree from a good Nigerian uni, I won't advise you to take any job but get a MSC admission in The US or Canada with the option of going straight for PhD. U won't go wrong with that. Those countries are big on expanding their scientific n Engineering faculties. Apart from those programs, don't waste your time.

The safest way to get an MBA right now is if you are working in a country and can do part time MBA in a good school in that country or even block release in another country whilst still holding down your good job.
My advise for you- take the GTbank job, forget about MBA for now. Get some great skills. Do certifications relevant to where your career is heading. In 4 years, u can even start Manchester biz school block release MBA which takes 3 years. But gain mad skills from now. It will help u.

@Bolded Parts: My thoughts exactly!!!

Even MBA sef is now pure water
Re: GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? by ayoadeade1: 3:48pm On Jun 06, 2012
My dear friend, grab the GTB job as I am not sure 2:2 in Anatomy + MBA university of Hull with no work experience would fetch you any better both in Nigeria or in the UK. Having said that, It all depends on what drives you. It might be a bit early but have you also asked yourself what next after 5 years with GTB ? I remember writing an essay on the subject in my final year at the uni here in the UK. Degree in Anatomy + several years of experience with GTB? might be good for the Nigerian job market but certainly not for places like the UK am afraid. My piece of advice, don't rule out further study ( there is always an edge if you have a good degree+grade from a globally recognised univeristy). You are 23 ( still young from a Naija point of view) so please don't be too keen on the peanut banks in Nigeria pay. No knowledge is lost, Enjoy the moment with GTB, while you strive to make yourself more marketable internationally. Trust me, the sky is your limit.

Re: GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? by Kockane(m): 4:51pm On Jun 07, 2012
Thanks guys, I'm going for my medicals 2mao. Heard derz also HIV test... Not like I'm scared o, it just sorta gives me dis uneasy feeling. grin
Re: GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? by kristofa09(m): 10:24pm On Jun 07, 2012
Kockane: Thanks guys, I'm going for my medicals 2mao. Heard derz also HIV test... Not like I'm scared o, it just sorta gives me dis uneasy feeling. grin
"uneasy feeling"hmmmmm wetin u don do b4?i kinda suspect u oo lol.cngrats man.
Re: GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? by CR9R: 7:14am On Sep 21, 2012
Kokcane, hi, ow is training school? Pls I'll need you to help me with info of the training school as well cos I'll also be doin medicals soon, A̶̲̥̅πϑ pls when will Ʊ guys be rounding up @ Training school cos it seems we will be resuming after your batch. ⌣»̶·̵̭̌·̵̭̌✽̤̈̊Ŧђɑ̤̥̈̊п̥̥̲̣̣̣kƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇✽̤̈̊·̵̭̌·̵̭̌«̶⌣⌣ God bless you
Re: GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? by Nobody: 10:37pm On Nov 26, 2021
Almost 10 years later, here we are on the same cross roads. Our seniors in the house, please what's the situation like? Op, how has it been? Would be good to hear from you and your experience, please do comment.
Re: GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? by GingerbreadMen(m): 11:28am On Nov 27, 2021
I agree I'd love to read how this story ended
Re: GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? by Nobody: 2:25pm On Nov 27, 2021
Yes its almost a decade, some insight and first hand experience would be really great.
Re: GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? by Mayvinn(m): 3:57pm On Jun 12, 2023
Kockane:
Thanks guys, I'm going for my medicals 2mao. Heard derz also HIV test... Not like I'm scared o, it just sorta gives me dis uneasy feeling. grin

It's been over a decade since you made this post.
An update on your experience and a word of advice would be highly appreciated.

What Online Skill Can I Learn At 35 / Dangote Group Appoints Olakunle Alake As Its New Group Managing Director / President Buhari Appoints Orji Ogbonnaya Orji as NEITI boss

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 33