Politics › Re: #occupylekkitollgate: The Guy In The Middle Is Me - Photo by afroniger: 4:19pm On Feb 13, 2021*. Modified: 6:01pm On Feb 13, 2021 |
PrinceOfLagos: I won't give more details
The outcome of this peaceful protest will shock the world
Wait for it .
I am ibile to The core , and I mean every word I say . Oh, I guess you are the one that was being chased by the police while running for your life then? You be coward o. You come allow make dem catch the poor girl, while you pick race? |
Politics › Re: #occupylekkitollgate: The Guy In The Middle Is Me - Photo by afroniger: 4:14pm On Feb 13, 2021 |
PrinceOfLagos: The guy in the middle is me, and together we shall liberate Lagos from the strangle hold of Tinubu and also make sure that those killed at lekki toll gate by Tinubu boys at The Endsars protest gets justice insha Allah.
Cc onetemplate Are you typing from prison? Because if you are not, then you are lying. Because that girl next to 'you' is currently under arrest and in jail as we speak.
Politics › Calm At Lekki Toll Gate As Police Stop Planned Protest by afroniger(op): 2:19pm On Feb 13, 2021 |
…Police arrest some suspects
By Olasunkanmi Akoni
In compliance with the security directive, organisers of the planned protest scheduled to take place at Lekki-Epe Toll Gate failed to show up as armed policemen are currently patrolling the axis to ensure the safety of lives and property of the citizenry.
However, at about 11 am, some suspects were picked up by the police for loitering without cogent reasons.
About five suspects were arrested and taken into the waiting Black Maria vehicle stationed at the toll gate.
A man who drove in his private car with a placard bearing inscription, ” One Nigeria,” was immediately intercepted by the police and after brief interrogation was whisked into the Black Maria vehicle before taken away to an unknown place. His motion camera was also seized in the process.
Meantime, the state Commissioner for Police, Hakeem Odumosu, responding to the development, assured residents of adequate security of lives and property.
Odumosu, while acknowledging the rights of the people to protest as enshrined in the Nigeria Constitution, but should not debar others from going about their normal businesses.
Recall that two opposing groups, #EndSARS agitators, under the guise of #OccupyLekkiTollGate and another group, #DefendLagos, to hold simultaneously, protest at the toll gate.
In a swift proactive step, Lagos State Government warned the two rival groups to shelve the plan and stay away, as every arrangement has been concluded to prosecute violators.
Also, the state Police Command threatened to deal decisively with any form of protest in the state as the command is ready to arrest and prosecute any violator(s).
The planned protest was in reaction to the Lagos State Judicial Panel’s decision permitting the Lekki Concession Company (LCC) to repossess the Lekki Toll Gate which caused a social media storm on Tuesday with two groups threatening counter-protests at the plaza.
Opponents of the panel’s decision, mainly youths, expressed their outrage on Twitter with the hashtag #OccupyLekkiTollGate.
They resolved to stage another protest at the tollgate on Saturday, February 13, 2021, from 7 am to ensure that the tollgate remains shut until justice is served to the victims of the Lekki shooting.
Their outrage was matched by proponents of a counter social media campaign with the #DefendLagos and #DemNoBornDemPapaWell.
The promoters lamented that Lagos State witnessed massive destruction of public and private properties during the #EndSARS protests, warning that further protest that will lead to destruction will not be tolerated.
Last November Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu estimated about N1 trillion for the reconstruction and repair of the properties and infrastructure that were vandalised and destroyed by hoodlums during the period of protests which was later hijacked by hoodlums. https://www.vanguardngr.com/2021/02/planned-protest-calm-at-lekkitollgate-as-protesters-comply-with-security-directive/
Politics › Re: Nigeria Police Force Are Now Helpless In Lekki Tollgate by afroniger: 1:39pm On Feb 13, 2021 |
Op, those particular protesters have been arrested.
Politics › Re: Woman Arrested For Brutalising, Locking Own Son Up For Months by afroniger: 4:51am On Feb 13, 2021 |
Smh. This is inexplicable wickedness. They should check very well to confirm if the boy is truly her son. |
Politics › Oyo Risks Losing ₦76 Billion World Bank Funded Project To Another State by afroniger(op): 4:20am On Feb 13, 2021 |
EXCLUSIVE: Oyo Risks Losing N76 billion World Bank Funded Project To Another State Over Undue Influence From Makinde
The World Bank has queried the Oyo State government on the proposed award of contract for the construction of the ‘Second Pool of Long Term Investment for Flood Control’ project to companies allegedly linked to the state governor, Seyi Makinde, and other top government officials, SaharaReporters has gathered.
The state government, through the Ibadan Urban Flood Management Project (IUFMP) headed by one Dayo Ayorinde, had lobbied the bank to undermine its procurement strategy and award the project to companies linked to Makinde and his cronies over N12 billion above the lowest bidders in the four lots.
SaharaReporters gathered that government officials' role in the corrupt contract award poses significant hidden risks for the release of $200 million (N76 billion) financing agreement by the World Bank.
Inside sources said the contract process, which was meant to have been concluded by the end of 2020, is being stalled because of the greed of some top government officials in imposing their chosen contenders which is contrary to the bank's procedures.
“About four different petitions were written to World Bank with respect to the manipulation of the process by the state government headed by the commissioner for finance, Akinola Ojo. So some representatives of the bank decided to meet the governor but were shocked when he told them to leave the project and go to another state if they are not ready to give the contact to companies he nominated,” a source told SaharaReporters.
“He fears that his political opponents may have influence over other contenders for the project, thereby empowering them financially to compete with him during the 2023 election. We are talking about $200 million here, that’s over N75 billion.
“Currently, both the state government and the World Bank are at loggerheads over this contract and this could lead to the bank cancelling the funds if the government refuses to comply with its procurement strategies. They have told Makinde this already.
“Imagine, a governor playing politics with a project that will have an impact on the lives of his people.”
Meanwhile, a non-governmental organisation, Ibadan Ko 'Ya Anti Corruption Coalition, has expressed fear over the government’s delay in approving and releasing the names of contractors to handle the project.
The group in a statement seen by SaharaReporters called on well-meaning Nigerians, especially the people of Ibadan and Oyo State in general to prevail on the government from further delaying in announcing and submitting the names of qualified contractors to the bank sponsoring the projects before it is too late.
The statement read, “The government has refused to name the qualified contractors who participated in the bid advertised on August 6, 2020, and opened publicly on Friday, October 2, 2020, to handle the project tagged ‘Ibadan Urban Flood Management Project’.
“The contractors who participated in the bid were more than 28 and from their quotations and bid prices alongside their bid security amount, it is clear and without ambiguity the companies who should be awarded the contracts.
"As stakeholders in Oyo State project and among those who are interested in the development of the state, we are so concerned about the government of Engr. Seyi Makinde insistence on forcing his chosen contractors on the World Bank.
"We gathered however that the delay from the government was not unconnected to greediness and the fact that the government is out to manipulate the outcome of the bid and the contract process, while imposing their own chosen contractors which is contrary to World Bank procedures and standard.
"We fear that there are already several petitions written to World Bank with respect to the manipulation of the process by the state government. This we can assure Nigerians may lead to the cancellation of the loan facility and make Oyo State and the communities benefit from the flood management project the losers."
Calls put across to Taiwo Adisa, spokesperson for the governor were not answered nor returned. https://saharareporters.com/2021/02/12/exclusive-oyo-risks-losing-n76-billion-world-bank-funded-project-another-state-over-undue
Politics › Re: COVID-19 Has Killed More People Than Insecurity - Obaseki (VIDEO) by afroniger: 8:18pm On Feb 12, 2021 |
What's this one saying? And so? Must we wait until the herdsmen balance the equation? |
Politics › Re: Jakande Thread Vs Tinubu Thread by afroniger: 8:17pm On Feb 12, 2021 |
Gandollaar: He is your leader and leaders are not usually liked by the led. Ok madam. |
Politics › Re: Jakande Thread Vs Tinubu Thread by afroniger: 8:02pm On Feb 12, 2021 |
Damn. Na so you hate Tinubu reach? Seems this Tinubu of a man is like the Oxygen that some of you live on, on this forum. |
Politics › 2023: Ladoja’s ZLP, APC Consider Merger by afroniger(op): 7:08pm On Feb 12, 2021 |
February 12, 2021
2023: Ladoja’s ZLP, APC consider merger By Yinka Adeniran, Ibadan
Indications emerged on Friday the All Progressive Congress (APC) and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) in Oyo state may have begun merger talks ahead of the 2023 general elections.
The move, according to sources, is aimed at wrestling power from ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state.
ZLP, under the leadership of Ex-Governor Rashidi Ladoja, spearheaded the coalition of ZLP, PDP, Social Democratic Party (SDP), African Democratic Congress (ADC) and a faction of Alliance for Democracy (AD) that snatched the state from the APC government in 2019.
Sources within ZLP confirmed that Ladoja approved the meeting with the APC which held at Premier Hotel, Ibadan.
The 2019 governorship candidate of ZLP, Sharafadeen Alli, led a team of Ladoja’s loyalists to the meeting, which was attended by notable leaders of APC and ZLP.
The ZLP team members also included former Oyo Speaker Adeolu Adeleke; Mr Bimbo Adepoju; Mr Waheed Amanda and K.K. Raji.
The APC team was also led to the meeting by the Caretaker Chairman of the party in the state, Chief Akin Oke.
The team also had Chairman, Senate Committee on Local Contents, Teslim Folarin (Oyo Central Senatorial district); two serving members of the House of Representatives, Segun Odebunmi (Ogo-Oluwa/Surulere Federal Constituency) and Akeem Adeyemi (Oyo federal constituency).
Others on the APC team at the meeting include former Commissioner for Environment Chief Lowo Obisesan; 2019 APC governorship aspirant in the state, Dr Olusola Ayandele, Minority Leader of Oyo House of Assembly, Asimiyu Alarape; former PDP chairman in the state, Yinka Taiwo; Secretary, APC Caretaker Committee in the state, Mojeed Olaoya; Secretary, APC Registration/Revalidation Committee Olawale Sadare and a chieftain of APC, Wale Ohu, who is a staunch loyalist of former Governor Adebayo Alao-Akala.
Speaking with journalists after the meeting, Ohu said there was nothing new about the meeting “because this is a season of consultations, party consultations.
“The ZLP symbolised by the Ladoja group and the APC led by our own party chairman, Chief Akin Oke, are here for deliberation and consultation. That is why we are here.”
Asked to comment on the outcome of the meeting, Ohu stated: “It was a nice one. We are looking at the possibility of working together as politicians that we have been in Oyo State. The faces are not new. We know ourselves.
“We looked at the possibility of making Oyo State better if we can now work together, that is the paramount thing in our mind and that is the essence of the sitting. So, that’s what we did today (Friday).”
Fielding more questions on the subject of discussion, Ohu responded: “Why don’t you wait till then. I think we are progressing. The meeting was a very nice one.
“Old hands met, threw banners and we did consultations. We discussed how to move these parties forward to move the state forward and the signal is very impressive.” When asked why Alao-Akala and Ladoja were absent at the meeting, he said: “The meeting is not about Alao-Akala and Ladoja. The meeting is about the APC as a party, which happens to have former Governor Alao-Akala as a member and ZLP, which happens to have former Governor Ladoja as a member.
“So, the meeting was strictly between the APC and the ZLP. But the APC might be symbolic with Akala while the ZLP is symbolic with Ladoja.”
Speaking on the outcome of the meeting, Adeleke said the parties are consulting to have a better and more secure political future.
Apparently referring to Ladoja with the use of ‘Bodija’ (the location of Ladoja’s residence in Ibadan), Adeleke said the meeting is about consultation and consideration of a coming together of political interest in the overall interest of the state.
He said: “We are in the period of consultations. So, we came together to consult on the political future of the two political parties.
“While it is true that ZLP and APC met, I can say this right that it is the Bodija; which is the umbrella of ZLP, is bigger than the party.
“There are many people that belong to Bodija in APC and PDP. So, it is just a conglomerate of ZLP and other loyalists of Senator Rashidi Ladoja. So, we came together to consult.
“We have not taken any decision to that effect. Then, in a couple of days to come, I believe the meeting will also come up with other political parties, that is PDP.”
Answering reporters’ questions on whether Ladoja sanctioned the meeting or not, Adeleke said: “It will be extremely difficult for me to answer that question. But one thing that I can tell you authoritatively is that I can never engage myself in such a meeting without the consent of Senator Rashidi Adewolu Ladoja.
“So, I cannot tell you whether he gave the directive or not but one thing I know very well is that I cannot involve myself in such a meeting without his consent.
“But I am not telling you and I am not confirming to you and I am not denying it. I know I cannot engage myself in such a meeting without his consent.”
Asked why the ZLP held the merger meeting with APC and not PDP that Ladoja supported to power in 2019, Adeleke stated: “This is a period of consultations. We are not members of PDP. We have met with APC at the state level. In a couple of days, we are going to meet with PDP also.
“The final decision would be taken on a particular party we will work with. So, we are just meeting ourselves. So, this will not be the last meeting, I can rightly say.
“We have not taken the final decision. We are going to meet other political party and that is PDP. But one thing I can tell you on a good note is that, at least, for now, from a human perspective, it is either we belong to the PDP or we belong to APC at the end of the day.” https://thenationonlineng.net/2023-ladojas-zlp-apc-consider-merger/
Politics › Re: Tinubu Cannot Stand To See A Woman Cry, Deserves To Be President - Group by afroniger: 11:32am On Feb 11, 2021 |
Wait a minute. Is Tinubu the only interested participant in the upcoming presidential election? Aren't there other interested parties that could also be promoting their candidacy? Because na only Tinubu name I dey see everywhere like say na him be consensus candidate. |
Crime › Re: 57 Communities In FCT Kill Twins, Triplets, Albinos – Actionaid by afroniger: 7:28am On Feb 11, 2021 |
In our very own FCT?? Na wah o. Bizarre things are happening in some parts of this country. |
Romance › Re: I Will So Sue Him If This Was My Child. See Pictures by afroniger: 10:06pm On Feb 10, 2021 |
thesicilian: Teenage girls are very difficult to manage. You got right. Especially when their hormones are raging. |
Crime › Re: Lagos Police Arrests Landlady's Daughter For Beating Male Tenant To Death by afroniger: 9:54pm On Feb 10, 2021 |
Smh. Nigerian men are becoming endangered species. |
Crime › Gunmen Shoot At A Crowd In Anambra, Three Killed (Graphic Pix) by afroniger(op): 9:28pm On Feb 10, 2021 |
Three men have been shot dead after two unidentified gunmen stormed the Civic center Eke Nkpor in Idemili local government area of Anambra state and opened fire at persons gathered at the center today February 10.
A statement released by the spokesperson of the state police command, Haruna Mohammed said at about 1.30pm today, the police received reports of an alleged shooting of one Izuchukwu Idemili 'm' aged 32 years of Nkpor, Chidi Oforma 'm' aged 31 years of Nkpor and Bongo Muoghalu 'm' aged 45years of Umouji.
Haruna said the incident allegedly took place when two unknown boys drove a black unregistered Mercedes "V Boot" and opened fire at the crowd shortly after the inauguration of Nkpor Community tax force at the Civic Centre.
''Following the report, Police detectives attached to Ogidi' Division led by the DPO CSP Ekuri Remigius visited the scene and rushed three victims who sustained gunshot injuries to Crown hospital along Nkpor-Umuoji road for medical attention where all the three victims were certified dead by the medical doctor while receiving treatment.Corpses deposited at the hospital mortuary for autopsy.Two expended ammunition of 7.62mm were recovered at the scene as exhibits.''Haruna said The police spokesperson added that the case is currently under investigation to unravel the circumstances surrounding the incident and efforts are being intensified to apprehend perpetrators of the heinous act in order to bring them to justice. https://www.lindaikejisblog.com/2021/2/three-killed-after-unknown-gunmen-opened-fire-at-a-crowd-in-anambra-graphic.html
Celebrities › Re: Iyabo Ojo Poses With Her Daughter, Priscilla’s Mercedes-Benz (Photos) by afroniger: 3:34pm On Feb 10, 2021 |
Wow! I don begin fry beans on top this news. |
Politics › Re: MC Oluomo's Book 'My Service To Humanity' Goes Viral (Photos) by afroniger: 1:40pm On Feb 02, 2021 |
Looks fake/photoshopped. |
Politics › Re: Enforcement Of Anti-open Grazing In South-east Begins Soon – Nnamdi Kanu by afroniger: 1:35pm On Feb 02, 2021 |
Like play, like play. Nnamdi Kanu has turn to the supleme leader of all igbos states. He now controls the security apparatus in the region. SE governors are lame ducks so Kanu had to step in to fill their vacuum of incompetence. |
Politics › Re: Tinubu’s Support Group To Ask Youths Be Involved In Party Politics by afroniger: 11:08am On Jan 31, 2021 |
Wiseandtrue: I know people like you! When you don't have any meaningful to say, you throw tantrums here and there but I will still educate you!!!
This message is coming from the wrong platform!!!
Will you wait and listen to a mad man even if he's preaching about sanity
He Tinubu should have given up for the youth to take charge!!!
Believe me, I don't take people who do not practice what they preach seriously Your wahala. Those that will find the message useful will act on it, while your likes will stay ranting like werey. |
Politics › Re: Tinubu’s Support Group To Ask Youths Be Involved In Party Politics by afroniger: 10:20am On Jan 31, 2021*. Modified: 11:17am On Jan 31, 2021 |
Romance › Re: Queens Of Sex: Nigeria’s Multimillionaire Aphrodisiac Sellers by afroniger: 10:05pm On Jan 30, 2021 |
Kanyamata pipo.  |
Crime › Re: Attack On Sarkin Fulani: My Silence Not Cowardice — Gani Adams by afroniger: 7:02am On Jan 25, 2021 |
Gani Adams has grown mature with age, unlike in his youthful and destructive OPC days. All those on all sides beating the drums of War with inciting rhetoric should calm down. |
Politics › Re: Attack On Sarkin Fulani: My Silence Not Cowardice— Gani Adams by afroniger: 6:43am On Jan 25, 2021 |
Gani Adams has grown mature with age, unlike in his youthful and destructive OPC days. All those on all sides beating the drums of War with inciting rhetoric should calm down. |
Politics › Re: Attack On Sarkin Fulani: My Silence Not Cowardice— Gani Adams by afroniger: 6:43am On Jan 25, 2021 |
Politics › All Those Expecting War Over This Fulani Issue Will Be Disappointed. by afroniger(op): 9:20pm On Jan 24, 2021 |
In the end peace will reign, and we will all learn to tolerate one another. The South should be thinking of how to strategize to get to Aso Rock so that they can effect their own version of change.
TV/Movies › Re: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by afroniger: 11:52am On Jan 24, 2021 |
AlabiJ: Omo, Monarca na bad ass series. Was sceptical about it initially but mehn, I am left impressed. Season 3 go rugged. If Ana Maria and Andres think they would have it easy getting Joaquin to relinquish Monarca, e go shock dem. If anything, Joaquin would be more motivated and determined to hold on to the company upon learning about the history between his real father and Fausto. Who knows if he already knows the history sef, and is merely trying to claim what he considers to be rightfully his? Maybe las las none of them will get the company. Solid analysis. |
Politics › Re: Makinde Warns Sunday Igboho, Others Against Fueling Ethnic Crisis by afroniger: 8:34pm On Jan 20, 2021 |
NextD18: Oyo State Governor Seyi Makinde is the only reasonable Governor we have in South West Nigeria.
The rest are Fullani toys Would you have said this if it was an APC governor that said what Makinde just did in response to the situation? Your likes are the same ones hailing Akeredolu for his hard-line position. It is obvious you hold Makinde/PDP governors to different/lower standards. Hypocrisy. |
Travel › Re: Nigerian Man Begs To Be Deported After 5 Years In Italy/Germany (Video) by afroniger: 6:15pm On Jan 14, 2021 |
Eiya. Na now he know say no place like home. |
Politics › Re: Seyi Makinde Flouts Quarantine Act, Attends Event A Day After Returning From US by afroniger: 6:13pm On Jan 14, 2021 |
Yimu. He is above reproach and can't do no wrong in the eyes of his fans, so don't expect much. |
Politics › Re: Fashola: Third Mainland Bridge To Be Open By February 15 by afroniger: 2:37pm On Jan 14, 2021 |
Omo, Lagosians will breathe a sigh of relief if na true. |
Celebrities › Re: Instagram Deletes Tunde Ednut's Page Again After Hitting 1M Followers In 3 Days by afroniger: 11:49am On Jan 13, 2021 |
Omo. E be things o. So dem don block hin new handle as well? |