Stats: 3,165,119 members, 7,860,041 topics. Date: Friday, 14 June 2024 at 01:46 AM

Aikuda's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Aikuda's Profile / Aikuda's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (of 7 pages)

Sports / Re: Oliseh : 'Odemwingie is the only world class player Nigeria has' by aikuda(m): 4:49pm On Jun 27, 2011
@prof, I think you should know that Osaze has apologised for what he said on Twitter. As for leaving camp early, I dont think he apologised because he doesnt believe he should. Its a matter of principle. He said he took permission to go get treatment instead of playing friendly in an empty stadium. But siasia said he didnt, so who do you believe.

Ypu guys should stop equating their relationship with that of a father and a son. They are not. The nff does the same thing. They are both professionals. Siasia is a professional coach while osaze is a professional footbaler. At some level they need to respect each other. I dont know what it is but its obvious they dont like each. Osaze has been probably looking for away to stop playing under siasia now he got his chance. Siasia has been looking for away to get rid of osaze too but its been difficult because osaze had a good season. Come to think of it if its not osaze and its some other not so glamorous player, would we be having this discussion? Idont think so. SIasia would have eeasily had his way. That is what I am afraid of.

Osaze has been outspoken lately because he believe someone has to. I will say it again, rightly or wrongly, he accurate in what he said about the coaches. By the way what is Yobo as the captain doing in all this issue?
Sports / Re: Oliseh : 'Odemwingie is the only world class player Nigeria has' by aikuda(m): 2:13pm On Jun 27, 2011
Osaze is a world class player, but he is nit the only one. My problem is why we are allowing this Osaze issue to become a distraction instead of focusing on the important games ahead? I do not think Siasia "issues" with Osaze has anything to do with discipline anymore. For some reason that remains to be clear they both seem not to like each other. Siasia is a good coach but i dont think he has managed this well at all. if he wants him to apologize before calling him back to the team why did he ban him for two matches at first. you cannot punish someone twice for the same offence. I was very happy with the ban because I also bought into this hype of siasia wanting to instill discipline, but after I read about him saying he has to apologize to him to the team and to the nff, i realised there was something more to this than they are telling us.

I know osaze has been running his mouth against coaches of recent, but i can forgive him for that because any patriotic nigerian would have been alarmed at the way the coaches were killing our team. Although i still believe he should have left the talking to the fans and others. Look you can instil discipline all you want but fear no be respect. If you want your players to be at their best you have to make them respect you not hate or fear you. Osaze is a proffesional that has been doing his best for the country for about ten yrs, he deserves a little bit of slack. After the public apology he made, a good manager would have called him to camp and make him apologise to his team for deserting them without making a big issues out of it. Siasia think the media is the one causing the distraction for continuing to ask questions about Osaze, but if you refuse to call someone like osaze to camp at his current form people will ask quetions, hence the distraction. I would even invite him and maybe not start him in tthe game or fine him or something. make him work his way back. That would have removed the attention he is getting now whether good or bad.

Again no one really knows what happeed btw them, osaze has claimed that sia1 is aware of his departure. if that is the case the nff is right for wanting to look into this becuase it can happen to another player. Just as we must guard against player indiscipline we must also ensure siasia does not become this own enemy because of his managerial approach.
Politics / Re: Hon Patrick Obahiabgon Apologises For Using Uncomprehendably Paposious Grammar by aikuda(m): 1:31pm On Jun 27, 2011
Hon. Obahiagbon is a very intelligent man. He obviously adopted this style to be noticed and he has been. How many other reps from obscure constituencies do you know of. The fact that we are talking about him now shows that his strategies  are working.

However, I think is time for him to tone it down now that he has been known. He was actually one of the few mavericks in the house.  But if I were him i woulld re-invent myself to reflect a more serious personality. I doubt if he can do that.
Family / Re: As Parents, Do We Buy Into This? by aikuda(m): 1:08pm On Jun 27, 2011
@stagger what a response you provided! I could not have said it better. Even if the op is right in many of his assessment. I know many people from rich homes who work really hard to sustain their family wealth. Infact many people will argue that it is sometimes the children of the poor that usually sit and wait for manners to fall from heaven. Many are waiting for that one big break through without thinking of the little things they can do to help themselves. And when they do get big breaks they cannot handle it because they are not ready.

Having said that there are millions and millions of nigerians youths both from rich and poor background that have worked really hard to succeed in life irrespective of their parent status. I don't want to brag but I am currently attending school at the highest level and I can count how many times I got transport fare to go to school from my parents all through my education not to talk of school fees. But I am proud of my parents because they did the best they could under the circumstances. I have also had school mates along the way who wear one shirt throughout a semester and hustle to complete their education against all odds - there are many of them in nigeria. Lets not discount such efforts.

My only problem is with many nigerian university/poly students. There is this believe that once you are in school, you should not do anything else. This is the part i agree with the op. Studying engineering does not mean you cannot get a camera and make money from photography or get a video to record weddings. there are a million and one things you can do to earn money (maybe not big money) while studying. I rarely see that happen in our society. This is what I want to teach my children: I may be able to afford any level of education, but you must work on the side even. it doesnt matter whetter you are studying law or or engineering, you must think of something to do outside that to make some change. Its not about the money its about learning the ropes of life.  That is how comapnies like google were built.
Sports / Re: Odemwingie, Siasia Hold Peace Talks by aikuda(m): 1:38pm On Jun 24, 2011
Wonder who is blinking first
Sports / Odemwingie, Siasia Hold Peace Talks by aikuda(m): 1:29pm On Jun 24, 2011
The lingering face-off between Super Eagles head coach Samson Siasia and West Brom striker Osaze Odemwingie is expected to be settled soon as the both men are set to meet to resolve in the USA.Odemwingie has been left out of the Super Eagles’ last two games following a spat with Siasia in the aftermath of the Nations Cup qualifier against Ethiopia in Abuja in March. The striker left the camp

http://www.completesportsnigeria.com/news/2011/06/odemwingie-siasia-hold-peace-talks
Sports / Re: No Apology, No Eagles Shirt For Osaze – Siasia by aikuda(m): 10:26am On Jun 19, 2011
@Baro
excellent observation
Properties / Re: Security Gate Needed by aikuda(m): 8:10pm On Mar 04, 2011
Thanks @ cinzo. what is the contact of the place, please?
Properties / Security Gate Needed by aikuda(m): 3:36pm On Mar 04, 2011
Hello Everyone,
I am about completing my house in Lagos. I am looking to  buy a security gate. Does any one have any idea who to contact, and perhaps the price range for a good one? Urgent help on this will be appreciated.
Politics / Re: Corps Members Disappointed Us – Inec by aikuda(m): 7:17pm On Jan 18, 2011
Can someone provide the name models of the computers and other equipments INEC is using for the registration? Then we can find the features of the equipment. That is what what Smart Corpers would do now that they say its the machine that is faulty. you have cell phones, take pictures and upload your experience online. Let other Nigerians see what you are going through. In other parts of the world, INEC's Ass would have been exposed by now.
Politics / Re: Corps Members Disappointed Us – Inec by aikuda(m): 4:04pm On Jan 18, 2011
Behold, let the blame game continue!
Politics / Re: Corps Members Disappointed Us – Inec by aikuda(m): 2:57pm On Jan 18, 2011
@WESLEY80: [color=#006600]But my point is we cant expect them to meet our expectations just becos they r "Graduates"[/col
I completely agree with you. I also think graduates should take atleast some of the blame for their computer illiteracy.
Politics / Re: Corps Members Disappointed Us – Inec by aikuda(m): 2:47pm On Jan 18, 2011
I wonda y dis our country is like dis. I saw an interview on a local channel where a guy waz been interview and he said the corper told them dat this was how the scanner was performing wen dey went for the training and dey were asked to use it dat way. Den don go buy fake chop the money now dey blame corpers.

I completely believe this is also possible. This is Nigeria. I pity us.
Politics / Re: Corps Members Disappointed Us – Inec by aikuda(m): 2:38pm On Jan 18, 2011
@ wesley80: What u call a baseline might be someone else's mountain. I knew people in school that were from remote villages and spent their holidays and spare times in the village, the only time they had for the city was while they were in school and Cyber cafes were not that attractive places to spend money, not when u had to cater for yourself or rely on your village based parents. So what r u talking about?    

There are a few of such people. Majoriy of our graduates can afford a basic computer literacy class, God! Moreover, if they see it as a priority, they will. What is the use of spending money for enginnering school, if you cannot afford to train yourself on the required program that will enable you get a job? its all waste of time and money, because you will end up in the same village that you were trying to leave. If you can't afford to be an engineer, be something else.
Politics / Re: Corps Members Disappointed Us – Inec by aikuda(m): 2:30pm On Jan 18, 2011
They didn't assume jack, they had 3 days of training just in case. They just didn't expect the corps members to be computer virgins.
Give me 20 mins with that laptop and i'll be up and running like a pro.

Atleast now you know that there are graduates who almost "computer virgins". With what I know about our system, there is nothing like expecting anyone to be computer literate. For such an important assignment, I will ensure proper training is provided, if we cannot find the people with the appropriate skill.

You can say whatever you want, the fact is that many Nigerian graduates are Coputer iliterates.
Politics / Re: Corps Members Disappointed Us – Inec by aikuda(m): 2:17pm On Jan 18, 2011
The problem I have with INEC is why they should assume that Corpers are computer literates. A competent organization should have anticipated such a problem and provide adequate training for those who will need it. This is the problem in Nigeria, we just complain, we just assume, and we don't take inititative.
Politics / Re: Corps Members Disappointed Us – Inec by aikuda(m): 2:04pm On Jan 18, 2011
@Violent: For crying out loud, there are cyber cafes littered all around costing just a little over 100 naira an hour, there are independent computer classes that cost less that 3000 naira a month, what you need sir, is initiative!. . . . it's shameful that even my 68 year old neighbor knows how to do common things on the computer, although he never had access to one as a student.  

Face it, Nigerian students are too sluggish and lazy. . .all they think about is how to get rich overnight, no one bothers to actually learn!

I am with you on this one. Even though I agree with people blaming the poor state of our schools for this problem. You can not go through life blaming the government for everything. You have to help yourself when the government cannot help you.   I went to take computer engineering from a provate outlet when I was doing a diploma in Theatre Arts at Uniben. It changed my life!

To be competitive in this era of information, you cannot just depend on what you are taught in school. You have to take initiative to get the knowledge that you think will help you. I wonder who is teaching yahoo boys how to use computers. They are finding ways because they are determined.

Many of our students are lazy, period. Almost everybody that can go through a four years program in the univiserty can afford a three months computer training class.

Stop blaming others, help yourself. No government will help you, if you dont. And no amount of complain will change the fact that you are not employable iif you dont have certain skills in this era.
Crime / Re: Mr. Nigeria 2010 Robbed And Shot Seven Times. by aikuda(m): 2:30pm On Jan 13, 2011
I understand why the pose may seem offensive to some people in Nigeria. Its not about being homorphobic, they are not just used to seeing full-blooded Nigerian male parade themselves in undies!
Having said that, I see nothing wrong with the picture, perhaps because I am so disensitized from seeing such image everyday on TV. Things are chaging, so is fashion.

I like to add that, many many years ago (still in some part of Africa), some men still wear very scanty under-coverings with bare chest. May be they didnt have enough to cover themselves or they were just showing off (lol). Just as it does not make them gay, I don't thing Mr Nigeria's pose speak any different. And who cares if he's gay, anyway?
Politics / Re: Cameroun To Supply Electricity To Nigeria by aikuda(m): 3:05pm On Nov 26, 2010
I am surprised at people calling this a shameful act. What is shameful about sourcing power from other countries that perhaps have better expertise in that area. This is the problem with us. We always think we are better than others in Africa. Its is because of this that we never see anything positive in Nigeria. If getting power from other countries will help, so be it. May be we can learn a thing or two from the process.

I am a little surprised that the federal government is going to allow this, though. This is what s true federation is all about. But in Nigeria, Abuja want to control every thing from afar. I hope this works so that other states can follow. In in the future, Nigeria decides to put to slove their onw power problems, such states can always return to the national grid.
Politics / Re: Nigerian Abroad Who Disgraced Compatriots (1): The Story Of Olu As A Case Study by aikuda(m): 8:52pm On Nov 17, 2010
Must every thread end in a free-for-all insults and tribal bickering? It actually takes some form of intelligence to express disagreement without being obnoxious. Geez!
Politics / Re: Nigerian Abroad Who Disgraced Compatriots (1): The Story Of Olu As A Case Study by aikuda(m): 4:57pm On Nov 17, 2010
@9ja Voice:  Correction accepted i really wish IGBO AND YORUBA will understand each other because i meet a lot of them abroad and i know the potent they are made of. so on the side of "hausa/fulani" i withdrew the comment that insinuates that they are Nigeria problem though i don't state it that way. but the truth is that i discovered a lot of Hausa/Fulani propaganda thread here on nairaland.

Again you have demonstrated what I believe about Nigerians- that deep down inside,  we are all decent human beings who sometimes get derailed  by the frustartions around us. I Applaud your courage and sense of responsibility. We can all learn from this gesture of yours.
Politics / Re: Nigerian Abroad Who Disgraced Compatriots (1): The Story Of Olu As A Case Study by aikuda(m): 4:47pm On Nov 17, 2010
@ragdolz: Nice one, but Olu is a human being first, then a Nigerian. And human beings will always make mistakes. I don't think he or any one will be considering nationality when they get tempted to break the law/misbehave. I think it's high time we put this patriotism thing to one side and just do good for our own sake and not for the sake of the country. Nigeria can take care of herself, haba.

I perfectly understand your reasoning. It makes perfect sense in explaining how we humans behave when faced with difficulties. I probably would have not fared better than Olu. And Maybe spaking of Nigeria is too broad. But my point is that sometimes its a good idea to think about your community (just as you would think about your family) when considering a course of actions (not that I normally do that-lol). I am just traying to make sense of the posters argument. I may be wrong.
Politics / Re: Nigerian Abroad Who Disgraced Compatriots (1): The Story Of Olu As A Case Study by aikuda(m): 4:38pm On Nov 17, 2010
@9ja voice,

I was buying your comment until your unneccessary rant about hausa/faulani being the problem of nigeria.

With all due respect, no one tribe is the problem of Nigeria. It is flatly wrong to suggest only Hausa/Fulani causes all the propbel we have in the country. We should all take resposbilties for our failures.
Politics / Re: Nigerian Abroad Who Disgraced Compatriots (1): The Story Of Olu As A Case Study by aikuda(m): 4:22pm On Nov 17, 2010
I understand why many people think this is not a digrace to Nigeria as a country. But I think I also understand why the poster consider this to be a digrace ( to Nigerians living in the small Utah community). Life is already hard for Nigerians abroad because people don't trust us. If any Nigerian is giving the benefit of the doubt, we should at least try to maintain our integrity. I am sure many other Nigerians who could have benefited from the generousity of the mormons but fail to get such support will consider this a disgrace. But if you live far away from this Utah community, you may also be right to say this is just another youthful indiscretion.

Nobody is perfect. At least Olu is trying hard to succeed. But we will miss the moral of the story if we only dwel on it being a disgrace or not to Nigeria. When you are in a foreign land, especially in a small community of that sort, what you do affect how poeple see you and your likes in that community. It is not suppose to be so, but that is how it is. This could happen even within Nigeria.

And please, stop playing the tribal jingle. I am sure the poster did not mean it to be a tribal bashing. I probably would have omitted that detail about Osun state though. But that is because I understand how some people are sensitive about tribal issues here on NL.  there is no need for the reference to his state of origin.
Politics / Re: Nigerian Abroad Who Disgraced Compatriots (1): The Story Of Olu As A Case Study by aikuda(m): 3:56pm On Nov 17, 2010
You are right, my comments were pretty ill-advised, and I apologize to you (and others here who I might have offended) for them. Especially the laziness comment.

However, to be completely honest. . . I grew up in a Christian home, but by no means am I the most religious of people. I'm not obsessed with religion one way or another. If you are Muslim/Christian/Hindu/atheist/Shango worshiper whatever, fine, I don't have a problem with it. But regardless of your religion, I want you to be a hard-working, contributing member of society. One who will hold onto views that are compatible with a modern democracy, one built on equality for all people (in particular, women and children.)

As much as it might be bigoted to say this, I don't think Islam as practiced in many countries is compatible with this vision I have. For many, their worldview is more of a throwback to earlier times, when women could not vote or hold political office, the constitution and laws of the land were defined by a religious book, etc. Again, this is not a criticism of Islam itself as a religion, just the way it is practiced.
Heck, Christianity in the 1200s and 1300s was extremely barbaric, just as bad if not worse than Islam today. But that in a nutshell is the problem. Christianity HAD its reformation, its religious revolutions. We've learned to keep religion as part of private life, rather than public. State and church are separated in almost every predominantly Christian country in the world. For Muslim countries, this is not generally true.

BTW, this is not to say this is true for ALL countries or all Muslim peoples. Turkey is for example a great counterexample showing that Islam and modern democracies are not incompatible. I also think that Yoruba Muslims (for example) are people you can build a healthy democracy and society with (or at least, I really, really, really pray that this is true. . . )

EDIT: And sorry to play the lame "my best friend is a" card, but truly in my (extended) family, there is lots of religious diversity. I have Muslim relatives, Jehovah's Witnesses, Protestants, Catholics, and even an aunt who became Mormon (my immediate family is all Christian, though.) I'm sure if I dug closely enough, I could find some cousins who worship the hill next to my town in Ekiti State

I wish more people on this thread admit to their mistakes like.  I  absolutely respect your honesty.
Politics / Re: GEJ At Silver Bird Anniversary! by aikuda(m): 5:27am On Nov 12, 2010
@ocho,
I am not sure why you called your grandfather d.umb- ofcourse, you alone will know that. May be you should practice putting your argurment accross instead of resulting to baseless insults and useless rhetorics. Afteral, you start complaing of leadership when you cannot string two sentences without insulting other people. I wonder what company will appreciates such communications skills.

Like I said maybe some people should step out NL and do a little research on issues before making ignoramus comments. I don't understand why many Nigerians' first instinct, when confronted with sound and probably superior ideas, is to get confrontational.

This topic would have been a good chance for people with good understanding of the issues of nollywood to discuss the issues why others can just may be read and learn something. Like the typical Nigerian system, if we can get our way we destroy everything. God help us if this the generation we hope to rely on in the future.
Politics / Re: GEJ At Silver Bird Anniversary! by aikuda(m): 9:16pm On Nov 09, 2010
I have been reading comments from many people here, and I cant describe how amazed I am to hear the responses. It is not just about the criticism of the $200million fund. There is nothing wrong with that. everyone is entitled to their opinion. But it is about the way some of (young generation). If my grand father in the vilage is vehemently against this funding, I will understand.

But I can't understand how the young people with access to the internet (and possibly higher education and more travel) can possibly continue to argue that it is wrong for governent to support nollywood.

Its ok not to know, but it is bad not to want to know or pretend not to know when you know.

Nollywood need help now. And I think this is good news. Same is done in other countries.
Politics / Re: Jonathan's New Explanation Of Abuja Bomb Blast, Worst Than The First by aikuda(m): 12:20am On Oct 14, 2010
I am disappointed at JEG communication skills. He has a doctorate degree, right? Maybe its the stress of politics, but the way the man chose his words is the reason why a lot of people are misunderstanding him. Otherwise his is the best of the whole lot currently contesting for the presidency. ITS NOT TOO LATE , HE SHOULD LOOK FOR A TEACHER TO TEACH HIM THE ART OF PUBLIC COMMUNICATION ON THESE KIND OF ISSUES SO AS TO AVOID PUTTING HIS FOOT IN HIS MOUTH ALL THE TIME.
Politics / Re: Gej's Latest Facebook Update by aikuda(m): 5:39pm On Oct 12, 2010
What is our 26yrs old doing?, waiting for Government to do everything for them?

Flawed Judicial system, is the President head of Judicial Council?

Is the President lecturers that sells Hand Outs instead of lecturing. Or Students that sorts instead of reading. Etc

Every Nigerian is busy blaming leadership( Not that they don't have the major share of the problem), but we are equally the problem. Presidency can not rig election if not with some( or better still a lot of) Nigerians help and input.

Let start from saying no corruption, short cut, selfish interest, chop I chop, National cake, Its my turn to eat. etc.

Lets try and Vote come 2011, and equally guide and protect our votes. Be good even when every other person is bad( Its not easy ooo, but we can try). I believe in the Nigeria project, what about you?

You took the words out of my mouth. Much as I understand the people blaming the leadership, we often forget that we the followers have a role to play.
Literature / Re: Lagos And Abuja: A Tale Of Two Cities. by aikuda(m): 11:47am On Oct 05, 2010
This is a well written piece.  Have you ever considered writing  professionally? maybe in your spare time, ofcourse. For once, I couldn't stop reading until the end. The grass is always greener on the other side. I live abroad, but everyday I miss home. I am sure with time you will understand the city, make friends, and maybe begin to call it home. Goodluck!

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (of 7 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 79