Stats: 3,324,995 members, 8,419,847 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 02:44 AM

Akingsqueen's Posts

Nairaland ForumAkingsqueen's ProfileAkingsqueen's Posts

1 2 3 (of 3 pages)

TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Akingsqueen: 5:01pm On Nov 19, 2019
Oh thanks for reaching out. I can't seem to connect with you. Can you please send your email or contact number to me on melankev17@yahoo.com

Thank you much.

sleekysoft:
i do ... what do you need??
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Akingsqueen: 1:08am On Nov 19, 2019
Guys anyone please? Help a sister o.
Akingsqueen:
Hello guys,
Does anyone here stay in Newfoundland or know if there is a Nigerian WhatsApp group for Newfoundland. I urgently need information about the place.
Thank you in advance.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Akingsqueen: 5:57pm On Nov 18, 2019
Hello guys,
Does anyone here stay in Newfoundland or know if there is a Nigerian WhatsApp group for Newfoundland. I urgently need information about the place.
Thank you in advance.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 3:29pm On Dec 16, 2018
Send your WhatsApp number to melankev17@yahoo.com

oluphilip2008:
Happy Sunday my dear Canny family. May I humbly request to be added to the Edmonton/Alberta Whatsapp group?
Thanks all.
@Mummyjaygirls
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 2:55am On Dec 13, 2018
Salford has actually put things in perspective for you. If you need to do exams and all to practice in your field and no major money coming from family, then I will advise you get Healthcare aid job which as a clinical person, you might be lucky to get without the certificate. That way you can choose the shift that works best for you and your family. Most of them pay $15 per hour. If you get full child care subsidy in Edmonton, you will have between 350 and 450 to pay for your little one which is ok if you are doing up to 30 hours a week. You can get a dayhome which is usually slightly cheaper as opposed to daycare.
Alternatively, when you come in, you can do a 3 month medical office assistant course with which you can get an 8 to 4 or 9 to 5 job that guarantees you your monthly income even up to $17 per hour with some added benefits. This you can do with students loan and you will still qualify for full childcare subsidy. When you sort out licensure, you can then go back to your field of practice.
In all, if you start getting child benefit, you can decide to squeeze out the money for the daycare/dayhome from there.
But just know that it won't be easy o however like Salford said, lots of people are doing it without breaking down.
You can get accommodation in a Nigerian neighborhood and join a Nigerian church/mosque, you might occasionally get some support from them but this is not something to base your plans on.

Adiepena:
Many thanks @ salford
My fear of option two is based on expiry of the medicals.
Am a clinical dietitian and it’s a long winding road ranging from various assessments to examinations to possible internships before I can practice. That aside, something close to it which doesn’t require a lisence is Dietary Technician or Aide and from the vacancies I have seen, mostly go on shifts.

That said, the struggle is real but my thinking is if the kids have assess to free education, twill be easier to handle them than paying for daycare plus after school hrs. And they are more likely to reason well when they are a bit older.

Am giving myself this Dec to think and put plans down and try and figure the best route to go based on advises too.
I really appreciate this.
Thank you.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 2:37am On Dec 13, 2018
It hasn't been bad so far. Adjusting to the cold. I sent a mail to you. Hopefully it works as my Nairaland email service hasn't been working.

MummyJaygirls:
hi, can u send me ur number via email? how are u enjoying edmonton?
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 2:28am On Dec 03, 2018
Welcome to white Edmonton. Hope you have joined the group on whatsapp.

sparkle2k3:
Landing gist!

My waka started from the city of Pitakwa.
I had planned to use Abj Airport when booking but I just don't know how I forgot and chose Lagos. I had heard stories about the Lagos airport and had to start praying I don't get to speak plenty grammar or part with a lot of money.

I used Airpeace from PH to Lagos. Domestic flights only give 20kg(which was like a drop to what I was carrying) for check in luggage, so I paid better money for excess luggage.. E pain me oh, but at least I felt more at peace than the other options I had in couriering my things to lagos which were cheaper.

I had asked around and was told I wouldn't get a hotel within my budget(8-10k) around or close to the airport but thankfully I found one - Presken Hotel at Allen jxn. Staff and service was cool.

I was traveling with a friend and colleague and we were heading to the same city. My friend's sister sent us a cab guy who was of great help to us.

We arrived the airport around past 9am, our flight was by 1:45pm.
When we got to the airport, he carried all our bags... Including my foodstuff bag which was weighing about 42kg( looking back, I wonder how I for manage with that bag). The guy was also a regular at the airport and knew a couple of the staff there so he helped us go through most of the motions.
Our bags weren't searched. He got food stuff clearance for us. And negotiated the extra luggage cost for us with Ethiopian Airline. I ended up paying 100usd.
I went to the BDC in the airport and changed some naira I had on me then proceeded to immigrations.
That went smoothly. I had forgotten about some N200 notes I had in my pocket, so while patting me down the officer there said I should bless her even if na 200, so I gave her.
I think arriving early (even if your flight is in the afternoon is better cos the staff are less cranky and there is also less pressure on you knowing you have enough time to do all you should do)

The flight to Addis was cool...
(The Addis airport make me weak for Nigerian Airports)
The flight from Addis to Toronto was cray! Too damn loooooooooooooooog. I sleep wake up taya. Plus I'm not so good with sleeping on a chair.. I nearly lie down for the aisle.
I was just thinking how I would have to go through this same thing when I have to go back to Nigeria. I sha decided I would have to save up more money so I can take flights with shorter flight time mbok.
Aside the long journey Ethiopian airline was cool.. Courteous airhostesses, The food no too follow sha but was manageable ( we were served 5 times or so), In flight entertainment was very cool.

We landed Toronto around 7am in the morning and our connecting flight to Edmonton was by 10:25am
Landing formalities were a breeze. Less than 30mins everything.
No luggage check
Wasn't asked for POF( was only asked how much cash I have on me which was just 900usd)
The officer cheerfully stamped me in, with congratulations bla bla bla, welcome to Canada... And I went to Service Canada to get my SIN.

I wished Toronto was my last stop cos I was now tired of the whole journey mehn. The flight to Edmonton by Air Canada seemed to take forever.

In this whole journey I realized I don't like flying. My fave moments now became when I hear "Ladies and Gentlemen we are now descending in preparation to land bla bla bla..... "
Edmonton welcomed us with snow and a temp of -3 C
Picked up my bags and waited for my sister to come pick me home where very hot jollof rice was waiting. grin
One of my bag didn't come from Toronto, but I was later sent and delivered to the house.

A few days later, I went into town to , get a sim card, phone,open a bank account.
This Edmonton weather hasn't been doing me well.. It's so cold.... and im feeling unwell embarassed. I'm wonder how I will manage when the 'real winter' comes.

It used to be sweet to be in Naija shouting winter is coming, as per GOT fan.... But now eh, I no want the winter to come. cry

Dear Santa, can I have a white Christmas, but with temperature at 20 degrees and above?

Anyway sha, I don land. cool cool
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 6:08pm On Dec 02, 2018
Why not ask in the Whatsapp group.

jelmusboy:
Anyone in Edmonton who can help me check a house, please? Edakun
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 12:01am On Dec 02, 2018
For some reason, my Nairaland replies don't get delivered.

I am not iphone savvy, but do you see an error message? What exactly does it say?

Dewys1:
Thank you so much. Please I sent you a pm. I want to ask you a few question on the usage of TextMe. I downloaded on iPhone, however it is not assigning a number to me.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 5:55pm On Dec 01, 2018
Textnow (free)
Dingtone (not free)
Talkatone (not free)

Dewys1:
Hello kindly help with such app I can use to provision a Canadian mobile no while in Nigeria. I used an iPhone. Thanks
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 2:35pm On Nov 30, 2018
No dairy product, meat or food with soil on it. Don't know about others. You can google that.

[quote author=nkay1888 post=73435062][/quote]
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 1:44pm On Nov 29, 2018
Excuse mehuh
What was that?
Is there something wrong with you?

Coast2Coast:
i shared his number freely here. no need for form too know.
07038556242, 08024534550
everyone please feel free to contact him on your own
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 2:31am On Nov 29, 2018
Hi mummyjaygirls,
Can we connect. I am also in Edmonton.

MummyJaygirls:
Cargo takes about a week max, fees per kg is about 1200, can be reduced if load is plenty. Most guys share cargo but pray to get someone whose head is correct, lol

Also theres a fee charged at customs when picking up, like $110, cant remember
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 9:48pm On Nov 28, 2018
There is a 3 bedroom townhouse with a basement located in the west end area of Edmonton, Alberta in a decent neighborhood.
The contact number listed is 780-757-3700.

If you are still in Nigeria, you might want to download apps that can give you Canadian numbers so that you can call with that.
You can send some one already in Edmonton to view on your behalf.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 9:10pm On Nov 28, 2018
In NGN and the amount is per kg.

Not sure again but I think it's 85K for 50kg and below then between 85-125k for 51-99kg.

Don't quote me as I am not sure.
You can contact the guy when I give you his number.

nnysmuse:
Is this in CAd or USd?

What about 50kg to 99kg
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 9:05pm On Nov 28, 2018
NGN

jelmusboy:
What's the currency stated here?
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 5:41pm On Nov 28, 2018
Hi,
This is what I have.

Rates to Edmonton:
100kg - 399kg = 1250

400kg and above = 1150

The higher the cheaper
Advise on how u pack your things: 1. Bring your things in just a simple Ghana must go bag.....no special bag is required.
2. if you have Red oil, Honey, Iru put, them in a 10L keg separately or lesser keg or Bottle water as d case may be.
3. Ogi starch water should be drained fully and put it in a nylon bag or transparent zip nylon double it.
4.feel free to ask questions...... Am here to serve u better

To contact me for the guys number, send a mail to melankev17@yahoo.com.
I have been unable to reply to Nairaland PM requests.

Guitarlife:
Hi please can you give detailed info about this cargoeing of a thing, surprisingly there is hardly any detailed info for those who have ? Please we need information about how much it cost and the contact of the agency or their name. What are the logistics et all all these will be very much appreciated for those who have succesfully cargoed things.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 5:17pm On Nov 28, 2018
Yes. Send your number to melankev17@yahoo.com and I will give to them to add you.

Fabmummy:
Hello landed seniors in Edmonton, please is there a whatsapp group for people living in Edmonton? We recently got ppr and Edmonton is our destination.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 5:04pm On Nov 21, 2018
Me too
uchepixy:
Me
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 4:37pm On Oct 02, 2018
Oh thanks a lot for this.
Just seeing it.

9jaincanada:
You have the option to open a US Dollar account, a Canadian chequing (known as current account in Nigeria) and savings account in most Canadian banks. You can change what you need to your Canadian dollar bank account and keep the rest in your US Dollar account.I have listed summaries of the types of bank accounts available here: https://www.instagram.com/9jaincanada/.

Most mobile network companies would sign you up for a contract as long as you have a Canadian credit card. The two main types of contracts are SIM only and SIM with phone contract. I have provided a link to the list of Canadian mobile networks companies on my blog: https://9jaincanada.com/blog/after-you-arrive-6-crucial-steps-to-getting-ahead . I use Fido mobile network, however the province you live in would determine which network you should go for. Shop around after you land and then make your decision from there.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 4:30pm On Oct 02, 2018
Oh no i am in Edmonton.
But I am sure you can get anything you want on rentfaster.ca or rentboard.ca or even kijiji

Download dingtone to get a Canadian line so you can contact the landlords when you find one. They tend not to pick up foreign numbers from my experience.

Expectantbee:
This wasn’t directed to me but I appreciate it nonetheless. Thanks a lot. Do you live in Mississauga? Can you help with finding a shared accommodation?
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 4:26pm On Oct 02, 2018
Check out Scotia bank. They have a program for newcomers that lets you open account from 9ja.

Guitarlife:
Hi Guys , how can I open a Canadian bank account from Nigeria ?
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 12:27am On Oct 02, 2018
Hi,
Not sure what the arrangement is but coming in December (when the cold is at it's peak and the temperature is in the minus) you might have to double check on that basement suite. If you do not have direct control over the heater, then I will say don't go there. The basement is the coolest part of the house FYI. The difference in price between a basement and a shared apartment may be insignificant when compared to the cold you would have to deal with.

My opinion though!!!

Lagertha:
Hi abbyode, I am landing in December will be grateful if you can share pointers on basement in Mississauga
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 6:48am On Oct 01, 2018
Welcome to Edmonton. I am here too. When you are settled we can connect.

Kwado87:
Grace Found Me....

Landed Edmonton yesterday night...

Left for Abuja airport by 9.30am, my flight was by 1.27pm via Ethiopian Airline. 2 adults, 2 infants.... Planned to carry 5 luggage of 23kg each and the rest as hand luggage, although I was entitled to 4 pics of 23kg and 2 pcs of 10kg... Already weighed my luggage with a gas sellers scale (those guys dey reap people off) and all my bags were overweight almost 28kg... Just said I'll take them like that and see how it goes at the airport.. At the airport discovered that none of my luggages was even up to 23kg!! Had to include some of my hand luggage as check-in. So in total 6 bags of all twenty-something kg.

The flight from Abuja to Ethiopia was good, not great food but twas constant... Had an empty seat by our side so we maximized the space... In-flight Entertainment was good, just that my son (1yr 11months) was a hands full... Dreaded the takeoff & landing and was running temp....

Arrived Ethiopia and boarded the one that's bound for Toronto via Dublin... The crew were very nice, changed my seat to one where I could use a bassinet (twas a life saver) they provided . Didn't know what a bassinet was but just responded positive when asked if I'll like to have one..lol. my 5 months infant was placed there so at least my wife had some space and that made the entire space in front of us ours, so we just converted it to a bed, na so my wife and 1st son lie down for ground there like say we dey "economic bizness class". After boarding, the flight was about to take off but just didn't go, we were later told there were some technical issues, na so we dey inside for more than 2 hrs for a flight that we will spend more than 15hrs on....

Finally we landed Toronto safely and I was completely EXHAUSTED.... I just couldn't fill all the forms I printed earlier to make the landing faster..... I just filled the declaration card we were given on the plane.... Traveling that distance with 2yrs old is enough stress on its own. Went straight to one of the officers I was directed to by one warri boy (he introduced himself and I said I be phc boy...lol) that works in the airport there, too exhausted to even know her position.. She asked if any accompanying goods, I said no, she just ruled my card and directed us to immigration.... Queue wast much, got to my turn and I just said I came for landing, presented our visas and copr, was asked how much cash I was with and I said 4000usd. We were asked to wait for our paperwork to be completed... After about 10mins we were called and asked some statoury questions like have you been convicted of any crime blah blah blah.... We provided our house address(already signed a 1yr lease for an apartment)., signed our copr, guess the agent was new cos she was asking her colleagues who should sign for the infants (PA or mother). After which we were told "welcome to Canada ". Purposely planned to miss my connecting flight cos twas another more than 4hr flight to Edmonton...so I went and processed our SIN numbers, claimed our luggages and proceeded to Air Canada where we we're rebooked, checked in our bags, grabbed something to bite....finally boarded after about 2hrs.... My son was still showing working by his constant crying.... Everybody around us offered assistance, they gave him color books, drinks, showed him cartoons on their phones, they were generally nice... Another grandparents loved the smaller boy (we couldn't get close seats) that stayed with us @ the airport when we arrived, introduced us to their children who we ended up having coffee with before they left... One of our bags was didn't come to Edmonton with us. They promised to deliver it to my house this morning, so I gave my sisters address instead since Im yet to move in......finally my in-law came and we drove home.

I remember reading landing gists on this thread, and wondering when I will write my own....

All in all, while leaving the airport,i just had a fear of this is for real, now the real WORK starts then it just dawned on me God's faithfulness to me and I realized that my AOR (JULY 3RD) to Landing (SEPT 28)was less than 3 months.....then I became confident again that that
GRACE WILL KEEP FINDING ME........
abeg make I sleep... IT HAS BEGUN IN PRAISE
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 6:40am On Oct 01, 2018
Thanks a lot. I appreciate this.

Naajjii:
You can open Canada cheque in account and also open US dollar account , so you have money in both cnd and usd with TD bank.
I think you should go for mobilicity/ Chatr network , no contract you pay like $35 a month. You can change to another network if you settle later on .
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 11:19am On Sep 26, 2018
Call Mr Deen on this number +234 802 453 4550
Where are you sending to?

Ifywhyteman:
Please any advise on how to cargo ones excess luggage , and also the cost and name of a good company one can use.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 3:37am On Sep 26, 2018
Thank you so much for this.

9jaincanada:
You have the option to open a US Dollar account, a Canadian chequing (known as current account in Nigeria) and savings account in most Canadian banks. You can change what you need to your Canadian dollar bank account and keep the rest in your US Dollar account.I have listed summaries of the types of bank accounts available here: https://www.instagram.com/9jaincanada/.

Most mobile network companies would sign you up for a contract as long as you have a Canadian credit card. The two main types of contracts are SIM only and SIM with phone contract. I have provided a link to the list of Canadian mobile networks companies on my blog: https://9jaincanada.com/blog/after-you-arrive-6-crucial-steps-to-getting-ahead. I use Fido mobile network, however the province you live in would determine which network you should go for. Shop around after you land and then make your decision from there.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 9:48am On Sep 25, 2018
Can someone please help with this. ��
Akingsqueen:
Hello every one.
Please I need your advice.
When one comes into Canada with US dollars and want to open an account, what is the best option?
Is it more beneficial to change it to CAD in the bank or not?

Secondly, it appears I need to get a new phone alongside a sim card as my 9ja phone is not compatible. So which network is more newcomer friendly that wouldn't require credit history and all and also not expensive to maintain?
Please I need advise urgently.
Thank you all.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 7:54pm On Sep 24, 2018
Hello every one.
Please I need your advice.
When one comes into Canada with US dollars and want to open an account, what is the best option?
Is it more beneficial to change it to CAD in the bank or not?

Secondly, it appears I need to get a new phone alongside a sim card as my 9ja phone is not compatible. So which network is more newcomer friendly that wouldn't require credit history and all and also not expensive to maintain?
Please I need advise urgently.
Thank you all.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 5:23pm On Sep 24, 2018
No meat or anything that has soil on it.

ICTBEYONDBORDER:
Please what food stuffs can I bring to Canada.I will be joining you guys by December. Please kindly advise me. Thanks so much
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 6:47am On Sep 17, 2018
Thanks for sharing. We are right behind you o. Landing Edmonton via Ethiopian air too on Saturday. So let's hook up so that you can guide us as per senior.

Pipes1759:
VERY LONG LANDING GIST!!!!(Directed by kunle afolayan)
So we decided to leave naija(via abj) on the 12th of september. Prior to that,packing wasnt easy as we had to dispose stuff, shed clothes and other unnecessary load we wont be needing. Went to the market to shop for foodstuff to travel with whick was very tedious cos my babe was heavy and i had to do most shopping. Let me advice those of u that are planning to come in october upwards, winter is not coming, winter is already here and it will disgrace all your naija clothings in one sweep.i went to fool masef with some jackets i bought thinking i was ready for the white walkers( if only i knew)...so fast forward to travel day. We flew Ethopian airlines. Take off was 1 pm so i decided to arrive at the airport by 8 so that i can deal with baggage early enuf before their eyes start to chuk for crowd and also to be able to get great seats for my people. Please you should have said all your goodbyes before going in for check in cos that matter na long process. We ddnt finish until past twelve( shedding excesses and negotiating on how much to pay for bag upgrades). By this time, hunger don dey blow, we decided to go outside to goan greet out people based on byebye finally (bad bad bad idea). Na so we start to snap, who dey cry dey cry.. we shaa entered airport and realised that there was queue for immigration and customs..by the time we were done, dem don dey board already so no time to even buy food (problem). We shaa entered plane and sat down hoping they will serve food asap only for me to notice that na so so alhajis and alhajas full the plane. I went to ask if we were on the right plane(make e no be say na saudi we dey go) and they said the plane will pass kano first. We got to kano and most of the alhajis and alhajas dropped (sigh) then new sets entered...all this one,dem still never serve food o..we shaa had a delay for 1:20 at kano before taking off to Addis Ababa...the flight was long shaa o..we slept and woke up when they were serving food..people of God, those people’s food no be here oo. If i had know, i for put one carton of gala for hand luggage, we just ate the chicken pieces on the food and the small bread on the side, the rest was history. Because of the delay at kano, we couldnt have a layover at addis, we had to immediately board the second aircraft to toronto (no time to stop and buy food again����)...but meanwhile, their airport and aircrafts are one in town, nigeria na learner by far if u want to hear the truth. We shaa took off and they served us the wakanda food again( we ate the chicken pieces and the bread only again)..by this time the hunger don dey finish out data..i just went to meet one of the hostesses and told her that we cant eat the wakanda food..people of God, dont be shy to talk when you need epp, you can just die..na so the aunty pack many bread and juice give us..we slept off and woke up almost at dublin. There was in flight entertainment so we had great movies to watch all thru. When we stopped at dublin to refuel, that was how village people attacked one passenger and they had to bring in paramedics to attend to the person. That one cost us like 2 hours..we shaa took off and landed toronto wch was very sunny and warm..as we landed, immigration documentation was long but smooth..they did not ask to check my pof (based on blood of God) and they were very nice to us..we then went to air canada to take out connecting flight to Edmonton but based on all the delay drama, we had missed the flight. They booked us for another one then we went to EAT������...when we landed edmonton, come and see ice freezing cold like say no be d same canada toronto dey...i activated my naija jacket but it was disgraced immediately..because of the delay, 4 out of out 6 bags ddnt land with us, so we gave them our landing address then proceeded home to eat some more..the following day, we went to get our sins, opem bank accounts and buy proper clothings..by monday we will register for health card and mans will start looking for work.. biko nu, anyone in Edmonton should pls reach out as i will like to meet people and know as e dey go..thank you and wakanda forever
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Akingsqueen: 6:38am On Sep 17, 2018
I also sent a message to you for the link. Kindly send to me on melankev17@yahoo.com
I will be most grateful.

esosa4real:
Bros, just imagine...I am just seeing your message after two months, very sorry, been away from naira land for a while now. I just sent you a PM.

1 2 3 (of 3 pages)