Stats: 3,194,196 members, 7,953,720 topics. Date: Friday, 20 September 2024 at 12:46 AM

CenturyCoder's Posts

Nairaland Forum / CenturyCoder's Profile / CenturyCoder's Posts

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Programming / Re: I Would Build You A Beautiful Portfolio Site Starting From Only #10,000 by CenturyCoder: 11:40pm On Oct 02, 2021
You know you want this �
Programming / I Would Build You A Beautiful Portfolio Site Starting From Only #10,000 by CenturyCoder: 11:33pm On Oct 02, 2021
I will build a personal or portfolio site from the starting price of #10,000. Pretty cheap, right?. I also offer other services like blog site, e-commerce site, etc.

Contact me on Whatsapp: 090 1671 3660.
Programming / Re: Building A Web Framework With Python by CenturyCoder: 6:25pm On Apr 03, 2021
I was thinking and doing some research, do I need my server to be the kind of client server architecture or make it a bit better by making kinda two way connection.

My idea is where a client server or something of at sort makes a Tcp connection to the server which at first connection will run some author check to know if it is a bot or not so has to remove the need for reCaptcha because reCaptcha annoys me every time I visit a site that uses it.

But one of the problem is that how can I implement that on all routes or does the client server have to connect to the main route before checking a new route.

Please if you understand all this. Please can you please place your suggestions
Programming / Building A Web Framework With Python by CenturyCoder: 6:20pm On Apr 03, 2021
Yo niggas. I opened this thread to talk about my progress on building a web framework with Python and how it feels and it works. I would love as I deliberate on this, that I will get contributions from mega boss programmers here on Nairaland.

I want to build a web framework that can work just like Flask and Sanic and Django but functions better.
I want to know the under hood of these web frameworks and then create my own based I them. Thanks as we all put our contributions.

First of all, how does the web server handle requests.
Programming / Re: Who's You Role Model(programmer) by CenturyCoder: 5:22am On Mar 09, 2021
SegFault:
Elon wetin?
Yeah! He was the one wrote PayPal before it was called X.com

Programming / Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners N20000 by CenturyCoder: 7:48pm On Mar 06, 2021
sisqology:
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:https://www.nairaland.com/1770447/programming-challenge-beginners-n20000

We have our contestants and they have submitted their final project(Entry is closed) but opened for those who have not submitted till Wednesday 12noon. However, due to the great loss we had (www.nairaland.com), I don't know where to start from again. We have lost a lot, but our contestants that have submitted will be posted here alongside how they are graded and the winner shall be announced.

Hello fellow designers and developers,

**Update**
Another Favorite and key member of this section has offered an extra 5k, so we will be choosing 2 winners(One from design, and one from development)

And again, another humble member has added 10k, so we will be choosing 4winners, (First and second in Design, First and Second in Development). Since we have just 2 members in Design now, we can admit 3 more, kindly register if you want to participate.
First in both fields(6k each), Second in both fields(4k each). Let us all see this as a learning curve. We know the money is small, but who can tell? It's just by doing what you love for fun and make small "Bread and Akara" money from it grin grin grin grin grin grin

There is someone in our midst who appreciates the effort and tenacity of programmers on Nairaland Programming and willing to encourage them in their field by making them smile with a whooping N5,000 only monthly. The amount of course may be small, but it is for a start for now and let's see how people(beginners turn up). Like a challenge been started on https://www.nairaland.com/1741838/beginner-challenges-web-projects-beginners , this will be more serious.

How do you get this N5,000?

No strings attached, no conditions, no sentiments. There is going to be a challenge which by 28th of the month expires for submission. The winner of the challenge will be the one to take the mentioned amount in Nigerian Naira into their bank account. Runner up atimes may receive some recharge card/airtime.

Is it for only developers?

No, I don't know yet, in this case, we may need the review/comment of you all to let us decide if we should open this for designers as well(by making it a designers' competition)..

What programming Language can I use?

As it has been seen that most programmers on Nairaland are mostly web programmers and since web applications can run on every platform so far an internet browser is installed on the platform. This should be a GO. So, so far you are a web developer; .NET, PHP, Python, Java, Ruby, etc.. you are qualified.

How do we know the winner?

Their will be some judges which their names will be mentioned here, our judges will be rating your application (over 100%) according to:
1. Code neatness
2. Glitches of the Application
3. Followed rules for the challenge
4. Code consistency
5. More to add

How do I register for the competition?

1st - 10th of every month, the challenge will be posted(here in this post, to be updated), programmers that are willing to participate will the comment in this thread by specifying:
1. Their full name
2. Language to be used
3. Sex, so atleast people like DHTML can catch 'Mrs Right' *winks*

Deadline for registration?

This will be on 20th of every month; 12:00 noon. So we will be updating this post with the names of people that have registered so we can know how many of us are in the bus.

Is this opened for Pro Programmers?

No! *straight face*

Where will the project be hosted?

You must be registered on Bitbucket, like I said earlier, this is going to be a learning curve for beginners, I may be posting some tutorials here(if needed) on how to post the project on Bitbucket. Atleast, some of you can know how to do versioning.

Are corrections allowed?

No! so you can learn fast, learn how to test your application. Corrections will be posted when the winner has been announced

Are Frameworks allowed?

Yes, but specify which Framework you are about to use while you register for the competition.

Do we care about good designs?

No, for developers. For designers, yes.

Advantages

This challenge will serve as a very opened class and learning curve for everyone here whether you are a beginner or not. From the comments by the judge(s), you will add one or two things to your experience. The only way programming can move forward in Nigeria is to share knowledge known in which we are lagging behind. Some people may be watching behind the scenes too, so you may be employed from here. Impossible is Nothing.

Disadvantages

None for now.

When will the first challenge be out?

Soon when we reach a conclusion, so our deadlines may not be strict for now smiley.

Our Judges are as follows;

HTML, CSS, JavaScript
spikes C, Sisqology

ASP

PHP
spikes C, *dhtml

Python
Sisqology, webcalculator

Ruby
Sisqology

Java
Javanian

Competition 1

We will start grading by 25th of this month (submission closes by 12noon).
Extra points will be awarded as shown below

First Person to submit for each field(Design or Development): 10% point each (we add this to you total achieved point)
Second Person to submit for each field(Design or Development): 5% point each (we add this to you total achieved point)

Grading Stats:

Code Neatness: 15%
Code Indentation Consistency: 15%
Rules Adhering: 15%
Official Rules(by language) Adhering: 10%
Project Features: 20%
Extra features as mentioned in competition: 10%
Unbroken Code and Links: 10%
Successful Check in: 5%

Can I still register and if yes, how can I register
Programming / Re: Who's You Role Model(programmer) by CenturyCoder: 4:44pm On Mar 06, 2021
Elon Musk Nd Mark Zuckerberg
Web Market / Re: Building A Website Like Facebook Is Easy by CenturyCoder: 12:05pm On Oct 31, 2020
Please guy why would you say that coding a website like Facebook be easy. I think it is bciz u don't know anything about SOLID or KISS or DRY principles, you don't know design patterns or data structures and alogrithms ...
You don't know what it means to build large and scalable applications or systems or websites like Facebook
and that is why you think it is easy..

You piss me bro

Programming / Re: See My Awesome Python And Django Website, Pls Review It by CenturyCoder: 7:30pm On Oct 04, 2020
your website is beautiful
Programming / Re: Python Programmers, Pls Help Me Out? by CenturyCoder: 3:41pm On Sep 27, 2020
I think this code is much more better

class Restaurant:
def __init__(self, restaurant_name, cuisine_name):
self.restaurant_name = restaurant_name
self.cuisine_name = cuisine_name

def get_restaurant_name(self):
return self.restaurant_name

def get_cuisine_name(self):
return self.cuisine_name

def describe_restaurant(self):
restaurant_description = f"{self.restaurant_name} serves {self.cuisine_name}"

print(restaurant_description)

def open_restaurant(self):
restaurant_welcome_message = f"{self.restaurant_name} is now open \n Come \n Have your favourite {self.cuisine_name} food"

restaurant_name = "Mr Biggs"
cuisine = "Eba"

firstRestaurant = Restaurant(restaurant_name, cuisine)
print(firstRestaurant.get_restaurant_name())
print(firstRestaurant.get_cuisine_name())
firstRestaurant.describe_restaurant()
firstRestaurant.open_restaurant()

Programming / Re: Help Please... Css Animations Giving Me Probs by CenturyCoder: 9:22pm On Sep 22, 2020
I don't think display is animatable and even if it is, that animation might look weird.

why not reduce the opacity to 0 and then set the pointerEvents to none, that way, the element will appear gone and its functionality if it is a button would not work, you would not be able to tap it. sorry I wrote like this, I couldn't just read through the post, didn't look clean..
Programming / Where Can I Learn Software Engineering For Free by CenturyCoder: 3:29am On Sep 17, 2020
Please fellow programmers, please do you know where I can learn software engineering and design patterns in Python or do you know any resources that I can check out. Please if u do so, u will be of great help
Programming / Re: Why It's Important To Be Very Well-rounded Today by CenturyCoder: 3:23am On Sep 17, 2020
Please where can I learn about design patterns and their implementation please�
Programming / Re: What Made You Pick Interest In Programming by CenturyCoder: 3:10am On Sep 17, 2020
I caught my interest in programming after watching a TV show named Game shakers, I was inspired by the way games were made and apps and websites, and I then joined the world of programming

Programming / Re: Node Js Gurus @nswer This Biko by CenturyCoder: 1:47am On Sep 17, 2020
Taofeekdboy:
you have said it all brother... Most importantly, learn how to structure your code.. Structural programming is always advisable because it improves your coding ability and as you have said, working on production environment requires a good knowledge of design patterns as well. Working with other devs or senior devs will you get there.

Please do you know any resourcesthat I can get that will help me learn how to write code for large scale applications. Please I would like to improve on my self
Programming / Re: The Best Method To Learn And Master Javascript as a broke boy/girl. by CenturyCoder: 10:51am On Sep 16, 2020
squash47:

Did you read where I said as a broke girl/boy ?

Yes I did, I didn't just finish.. I would make sure I save up money in a mid term so as to download videos and resources

Programming / Re: Programmers: What Project(s) Are You Working On Now? by CenturyCoder: 6:48pm On Sep 15, 2020
Currently on an IMA app with python and java which is so stressful, still working on the server
Programming / Re: The Best Method To Learn And Master Javascript as a broke boy/girl. by CenturyCoder: 6:44pm On Sep 15, 2020
To the guy who started this learning process stuff, I got something to tell you. The way I learn can never be the same you learn. I am in ss2 and I have been programming since 2015, but I got serious about it in 2017.I program in Python, PHP and I have little experience in dart and java and I too know JavaScript but not to an expert level. I learnt mainly by videos on YouTube, following channels like Tech with Tim, Traversy Media, Clever programmer and even Dev Ed. I love learning by pratical and visual than reading but I have a friend who prefer to read PDFs than watch videos but still he is a great programmer and that was how he learnt. So pls stop this shit of the best way to learn

Programming / Javascript Wahala by CenturyCoder: 3:54pm On Jul 14, 2020
Is it possible to call a PHP function with JavaScript, if it is pls can you tell me how and also is it also possible to send data between two different programming languages
Programming / Re: I Am Having Troubles With PHP by CenturyCoder: 3:15pm On Jul 14, 2020
Thanks to everyone who contributed except Presh900
Programming / Re: I Am Having Troubles With PHP by CenturyCoder: 12:51pm On Jul 14, 2020
To Presh900, bro I ave tried but to no avail, if I had not tried first and it work out well, would I have brought the problem to Nairaland programmers. Please think before you talk
Programming / Re: I Am Having Troubles With PHP by CenturyCoder: 9:45pm On Jul 12, 2020
This is the table, I would like to grab each of them and use each of them in a frontend

Programming / I Am Having Troubles With PHP by CenturyCoder: 6:28pm On Jul 12, 2020
Can I please get help, I want to grab all the records in a database, I have about 6 records and I want to grab them and place them in an array
Programming / Re: Please I Don't Really Understand Foreign Keys In MySQL by CenturyCoder: 4:02pm On Jul 12, 2020
I just want to say thank you to all who contributed to this page, thanks a lot
Programming / Re: Hi Guys! Created A Signup Form Using HTML5/CSS3. Source Code Available. by CenturyCoder: 3:57pm On Jul 12, 2020
chrisUmendeche:
Which of these tag is used to give browsers more additional information?

A. <title>

B. <meta>

C. <link>

D. <src>

<meta> tag of course

Programming / Re: How Much Should I Bill For A Local Government Website? by CenturyCoder: 3:09pm On Jul 09, 2020
Squillaci:

How can you say 15k when the government is involved. Please ohhh
Programming / Re: Please I Don't Really Understand Foreign Keys In MySQL by CenturyCoder: 3:05pm On Jul 09, 2020
Karleb:
Foreign are the primary key of related tables.

Let's say a Users table and Posts tables has a one to many relationship i.e. A user can have one or more posts. In the post table, you'll have these columns.

user_id //this refers to the id on the user.
text
pictures

In the users table, you'll have.

Users
id - primary key
name

The work of foreign key is to reference that a particular user is the owner of certain post(s).

When you insert values into the posts, it'll be in this format:

id - 1 //the ID of the post also the primary
//in posts table
user_id - 1 //this is the primary key on users
// table which refers to the user of
//id 1, but in posts table here it is
// called the foreign key.
text - "SQL is SQL"
pictures - "/pictures/sql.jpg"

So now, a user has a post.

There's a bit more to this though.

Is there an website where I can visit to understand more or maybe a YouTube video
Programming / Re: Please I Don't Really Understand Foreign Keys In MySQL by CenturyCoder: 3:03pm On Jul 09, 2020
Karleb:
Foreign are the primary key of related tables.

Let's say a Users table and Posts tables has a one to many relationship i.e. A user can have one or more posts. In the post table, you'll have these columns.

user_id //this refers to the id on the user.
text
pictures

In the users table, you'll have.

Users
id - primary key
name

The work of foreign key is to reference that a particular user is the owner of certain post(s).

When you insert values into the posts, it'll be in this format:

id - 1 //the ID of the post also the primary
//in posts table
user_id - 1 //this is the primary key on users
// table which refers to the user of
//id 1, but in posts table here it is
// called the foreign key.
text - "SQL is SQL"
pictures - "/pictures/sql.jpg"

So now, a user has a post.

There's a bit more to this though.

Thanks a lot for your help

Programming / Please I Don't Really Understand Foreign Keys In MySQL by CenturyCoder: 2:25pm On Jul 09, 2020
Please help me out.

So I just started a project and I would be using PHP and MySQL and Python for this project and then I came across the need of foreign keys which I don't really understand much.

Please can someone explain foreign keys and show me a way I can use them.

Thanks.
Programming / Re: Which One Should I Focus Between Android App Development And Web Application On by CenturyCoder: 1:53pm On Jul 09, 2020
Coder2Client:
I am really at crossroads here. I have strong knowledge of Android app development but I discovered that the pay for Android developer is low compared(considering the fact that Android development is difficult compared to Web) to Web application developer.
Therefore, I want to start spring framework development but before I start I will like you to help with your advice as market is concerned.

I personally would say that you should go for the web development but it would be easier if you go learn HTML, CSS and JavaScript than using Spring Framework
Programming / Re: 100 Daysofcode Challenge by CenturyCoder: 1:50pm On Jul 09, 2020
DevGenius010:
Today i decided to start my 100 days from tomorow .My goal is to focus on frontend development.

I will be sharing my resources and project here.

My goal is :

1. Become a junior frontend developer .

2. Build Three Frontend projects using the design of theme from themeforest.

3. Obtain Three Certificates From Freecodecamp Which Are
Responsive Webdesign
Javascript And Datastructure
Javascript Framework

4.Build slack clone,Udemy clone ,personal websites .

I thought you were focusing on front end, sorry but with what this is, you have failed

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 68