Stats: 3,330,968 members, 8,448,014 topics. Date: Sunday, 19 July 2026 at 02:23 PM

Cixak95211's Posts

Nairaland ForumCixak95211's ProfileCixak95211's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 (of 13 pages)

ProgrammingRe: Why Can't I Use Emojis On Nairaland? by cixak95211: 3:33pm On Dec 10, 2020
Nairaland is an overflogged example of "do not kill the goose that lays the golden egg"
Technology MarketRe: SHOP ON EBAY & OTHER US ONLINE STORES - Doorstep Delivery In Nigeria by cixak95211: 5:06am On Dec 10, 2020
dietola01:
Sorry for whatever experience you must've had with them Bro! Stuff like this usually happens in this line of works.. I actually ordered for some items late last month (23rd) and it got to Nigeria last weekend, so stuff like this only happens once in a while... I'm guessing this is your first transaction with metrobox?
With metrobox, yeah, first time, , , but in the shipping scene, like my millionth time . . I never ever buy my stuffs in Nigeria unless i cannot help it
Amongst my items is a simple HDMI cable, which can be bought for 1k or less almost everywhere in Lagos, but i chose to pay $8+ (3k+) minus shipping for it. That's how bad the compulsion is.
I had contacted metrobox privately, very enraged and he can testify that i was very angry NOT BECAUSE OF THE DELAY IN DELIVERY, but because OF THE DELAY IN COMMUNICATING DELIVERY ISSUES PROACTIVELY.
And i specifically told him, even if they were gonna arrive in the year 2024, I needed to be informed duly so i can make informed decisions. That was my pain point , which he went on to thoroughly address to satisfaction. So he has been forgiven, at least for now.
ProgrammingRe: What Programming Language Did You Learn First? by cixak95211: 7:08am On Dec 07, 2020
Java
ProgrammingRe: Backend Software Engineers, Let's Talk About System Design by cixak95211: 6:58am On Dec 07, 2020
SilverG33k:
Honestly, let's just catch cruise here.

Now here's a quick question, you're to build nairaland backend, how would you do that?

What technologies would you use, how would you handle scalability issues. Note than, the expected traffic for this system is 1k req/s just for fun tho

No yabbing
NL say she has 2.5M members, if that is anything to go by then indeed it has to be a microservice. There must be very bad guys amongst these members, so an API Gateway is a must for the backend. I'll likely go with Kubernetes so it handles upscaling and downscaling for me without having me loose sleep. NGINX is very much ok as an LB for both frontend and backend, i prefer a round-robin as against weighted since the K8 engine will spin up equally weighted infra. For the DB, i'll likely go with Mongodb since it will allow me run a search engine without the need for Algolia . . oh well Algolia can come later , but at least I can do database sharding right out of the box. You dont expect me to dump 2.5M parent records which will span into hundreds of millions, imagine one user has 100 posts, which is way likely to be more each week. Fact is i cannot dump those in one single DB, no maatter hwo powerful it is, It has to be redundant. Redis is needed for caching frontpage topics, so i dont have to serve it all the time, for each request. I could cache with NGinx too but i prefer redis. LRU is powerful.
Choice of server infra . . a simple linux image will do, ssd based and most importantly, all servers, FE, BE and DB must be encrypted at rest. I'll use a KMS for that. I'll leave one bastion host available for maintenance work and make sure all servers only communicate via a VPC.
ProgrammingRe: Private Line by cixak95211: 6:40pm On Dec 06, 2020
movid:
Good morning guys pls a private number has been disturbing me for some days now. Please is there any way one can detect the exact number hidden?
Submit a court injunction to your network provider . . . and they will tell you who is calling you
ProgrammingRe: What's The Best Text Editor For Web Dev. by cixak95211: 6:36pm On Dec 06, 2020
You guys should stop mentioning notepad . . it sounds cool but is unreal
nowhere in the world is notepad using during programming as the de facto code editor, nowhere!
it is what it is, used for keeping notes, not writing codes
PhonesRe: Etisalat 4G(LTE) Live In Abuja. by cixak95211: 6:35am On Dec 06, 2020
^ faster than MTN, lol, come again
7 MB/s => mtn

ProgrammingRe: We Need Algorithms And Data Structure Section In Nairaland! by cixak95211: 5:48pm On Dec 05, 2020
You want 20k gang and wordpress gang to do DSA lol grin
ProgrammingRe: When Does A Beginner Become A Programmer, And Should Start Applying For Jobs? by cixak95211: 10:49am On Dec 04, 2020
Etinosa12345:
But is it only google and microsoft that give jobs?

is it bad if a person can create apps or websites but he is not too good in data structures
The reason why those coys emphasize on super-solid knowledge of DSAs is that they serve billions of users, so a little second wasted to bad algorithm can easily blow into minutes or hours of standby.
Take a look at the image I posted, about 186million result in less than half a second.
Do you feel that data is being kept inside a simple array and then a for loop is done.?
How would you feel having to do a search and waiting for about 3 minutes to get your results?
The short answer is , when an app will serve at least hundreds of thousands of people concurrently, you must pay strict
attention to advanced DSAs.
For a simple app, it doesnt matter, as the effect of bad code will not be felt.
ProgrammingRe: When Does A Beginner Become A Programmer, And Should Start Applying For Jobs? by cixak95211: 6:04am On Dec 04, 2020
logicDcoder:
Guys I need someone who will explain what time complexity(Linear time, quadratic time, logarithmic time etc.). It has been holding me back since. Learning data structures and its implementations + Algorithms are very easy.
shocked shocked shocked

ProgrammingRe: Funny Mistakes You Normally Make While Writing Programs by cixak95211: 4:54pm On Dec 03, 2020
lol . . funny but you should learn to use a debugger
instead of having to manually screen every line trying to find where you did a typo or didn't add a terminator . . .
ProgrammingRe: When Does A Beginner Become A Programmer, And Should Start Applying For Jobs? by cixak95211: 2:54pm On Dec 03, 2020
^ where shall i shoot this snake? head, mid-section or tail?
how many bulllets do i have? how many am i allowed to expend?
are the neighbors allowed to hear the shot? or should i use a suppressor?
do i bury the snake after killing it or leave it to rot?
what if the gun jams? what r my escape options?
the list is endless . .

u dont just take the shot, and walk away, at least, that's not how computer programs work
you must always think outside the box, for issues, popularly known as "edge cases"
ProgrammingRe: Why Is PHP Not Considered As A Best Backend For Web Development Again by cixak95211: 11:18pm On Dec 01, 2020
Omzie:
You just open your mouth waaaa to talk . . . Go out of the box would use all available threads on a machine right? Unless you wanna limit GOMAXPROCS. It does it implicitly. To make the competition fair (and not an apple-to-oranges scenario), you need to make node all available threads too, then it would be head-on pound for pound, cos by default node will use a single thread, and you need to specify explicitly what you want. You should know this already , unless of course, you havent written and tested any large-scale apps in Node . . .oh yea . . .
so kindly rework your benchmark to use either worker or cluster threads so it behaves similar to go and come back with the results.
Somebody earlier mentioned the difference will be very negligible, and that's exactly what you're gonna get unless of course
you want me to educate you how to spin up worker threads . . . do you?
ProgrammingRe: Help With Paystack by cixak95211:
stanliwise:
I don’t think you understand the danger of form injection. This is different from SQL injection. It means manipulating the form details before it is being sent over the network. For example you could place $50 for an item and a hacker would edit the form and transform it to $20. If your app don’t compare price before/after payment then this same hacker could buy so much goods especially virtual ones for as large as $100k for just about $10k
Exactly what I just posted above. when i mentioned split microservices. Even going by the documentation on all payment processors , paypal, flutterwave, stripe etc, they explicitly ask you never to provide value until payment is confirmed from your server. This means, you gotta have a server that confirms the payment using your secret api keys and only use the public keys to create the transaction. So if the hacker likes, let him modify the payment request to a million pounds, it will fail verification instantly.
Plus i mentioned ONLY and if ONLY the programmer is using archaic patterns.
The moment financials are involved, then you must have a server, and it doesnt have to be full blown, even a simple cloud function will suffice
The problem is having to create and, perhaps, verify transactions from the front, which itself is a security flaw
ProgrammingRe: Pls I Need A Tutor In Backend Dev.i Don't Know D Use Case Scenario. Getting Disc by cixak95211: 2:55am On Dec 01, 2020
FlackoJodye:
I'm getting frustrated with Back End Programming..I don't know what to do ..Every Tutorial I see only show examples of Rest APIs and JWT..Pls what's is d use case scenario for an average Back end project.. Can someone put me through on whatsappp. help a junior dev Pls
welcome to tutorial hell . . . grin grin
ProgrammingRe: Help With Paystack by cixak95211: 2:13am On Dec 01, 2020
stanliwise:
Check their documentation page but please be careful of form injection when making implementing your payment
Do people still bother about injection and other forms of xss these days? frameworks have reduced that to the barest minumum,
while the introduction of split micoservices killed it finally .... unless of course, the programmer is still using archaic patterns .. healthy discuss needed.
ProgrammingRe: Why Is PHP Not Considered As A Best Backend For Web Development Again by cixak95211: 2:02am On Dec 01, 2020
Omzie:
Oh i get it now, you're a stauch member of the copy-n-paste, aka they said, he said, she said group . .
when you're willing to show a practical demonstration, quote me. Till then, take care amigo.
Technology MarketRe: All Offerup, Letgo, Craigslist, 5miles, Ebay, Amazon Deals.*READ FIRST PAGE* by cixak95211: 2:00am On Dec 01, 2020
Hencred:
Omo.. your sig no Dey.. need your Xr contact on WhatsApp Biko or paste Digit
I swear i tried to understand what you said, but i couldn;t . .
could you kindly explain again in clearer terms . .
ProgrammingRe: Why Is PHP Not Considered As A Best Backend For Web Development Again by cixak95211: 6:51pm On Nov 30, 2020
Omzie:
I have said what I said and when i say stuffs i dont say them out of emotions . .
also please bear in mind that many coys do migrate their tech stack and yes, while some do so for better scalibility and performance, some also do so
to meet a specific use case only offered by that language in "convenience" . . .
And yes, people have called their apps shitty . . php guy said so
lets come down home a bit more . . to node packages . . even the creators of moment said you should probably not use it anymore
and offered recommendation . .but guess what, after practical test among the community, between stuffs like moment, dayjs, luxon etc . . they still found out moment held its ground . . only lacking for too much memory consumption cos it lacked tree-shaking . . .
But I'll like you to demonstrate to us on the same machine how a simple Go app will crush a simple node js app with it's ability to handle millions of routines and nodejs just being able to handle, uhmmn, 1,000 concurrent request? or 2,0000? right?
Technology MarketRe: All Offerup, Letgo, Craigslist, 5miles, Ebay, Amazon Deals.*READ FIRST PAGE* by cixak95211: 5:02pm On Nov 30, 2020
Horluwatobby:
ALREADY IN NIGERIA DEAL

IPHONE XR 64GB
PRODUCT RED
MINT AND EXCELLENT CONDITION 10/10
CHIP TO UNLOCK
91% BATTERY HEALTH
PHONE ONLY

IPHONE 6PLUS 128G
SILVER
EXCELLENT CONDITION 8.5/10
FACTORY UNLOCKED
85% BATTERY HEALTH

IPHONE 7 256GB
BLACK
MINT AND FULLY FUNCTIONAL 9/10
FACTORY UNLOCKED
91% BATTERY HEALTH
PHONE ONLY

IPHONE 6 16GB
GRAY
FACTORY UNLOCKED
85% BATTERY HEALTH
MINT AND EXCELLENT CONDITION

[/b]SAMSUNG S9[b]
CORAL BLUE
EXCELLENT CONDITION.
UNLOCKED (crack at the middle right side of the screen)

CONTACT IN SIGGY
Green light for this gentleman huh
Technology MarketRe: SHOP ON EBAY & OTHER US ONLINE STORES - Doorstep Delivery In Nigeria by cixak95211: 3:25pm On Nov 30, 2020
fibonacci2526:
Items are apparently undergoing clearance, I will come back to give a testimony.
No hard feelings but this is one of the longest clearing process I have seen in my entire shipping lifetime.
Its sad.
ProgrammingRe: Why Is PHP Not Considered As A Best Backend For Web Development Again by cixak95211: 2:23pm On Nov 30, 2020
Omzie:
Huh? Did I just read “on par or ‘just’ slower” than go?

No interpreted language would ever run as fast as or ‘just’ slower than a compiled language. Never!

Sure, in most basic stuffs that aren’t demanding, they’ll perform similarly. But, in major stuff, Go would kill it. I can spin up millions of goroutines to handle cpu intensive tasks concurrently at an extremely cheap rate (just around 4KB per goroutine). Wanna try that on node and watch the event loop choke?

Lol, what you're probably thinking is that the node event loop handles most of the processing whereas in fact, it is sent of for i/o computations at the cpu's thread . . .
Nodejs is probably a bad idea for cpu intensive work though, such as object modeling and 3d rendering
but ur Go will be the first to give up if it goes head-to-head in terms of malloc and garbage collection.
Car TalkRe: My Experience With A Man I Bashed His SUV Yesterday. by cixak95211: 1:20pm On Nov 30, 2020
visijo:
If you ever feel useless, think about the guy that writes Terms and Conditions.
Cliche . . if you don't know how important T&C's are, and believe nobody reads them . . then i'm very sorry for you . . .

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 (of 13 pages)