Stats: 3,327,499 members, 8,431,275 topics. Date: Monday, 22 June 2026 at 06:06 AM

Crayola1's Posts

Nairaland ForumCrayola1's ProfileCrayola1's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 (of 45 pages)

PoliticsRe: Lagos And Abuja Should Be Made Seperate Regions - Mike Akhigbe by Crayola1: 8:32pm On Dec 06, 2012
Lol from afar cheesy
PoliticsRe: Enugu, The Pride Of The East. by Crayola1: 8:27pm On Dec 06, 2012
ezeagu: Enugu is like a Boston. Onicha New York; Asaba Newark. Owere Atlanta. Aba Houston. Port Harcourt Los Angeles, and so on.
Lol you've spent time planing this out cheesy

Asaba is newark though shocked
PoliticsRe: Lagos And Abuja Should Be Made Seperate Regions - Mike Akhigbe by Crayola1: 8:24pm On Dec 06, 2012
You can have Lagos I dont want am grin

Who volunteers to be a prisoner?

Lagos will get there one day, but today...no thank you angry
The angry mosquitoes reflect the attitudes of the owners grin
PoliticsRe: Enugu, The Pride Of The East. by Crayola1: 8:20pm On Dec 06, 2012
Enugu could always be a suburb of the more livelier Eastern cities if Chino24 will allow it wink

The way Brooklyn is to Manhattan
Or Long Island or parts of NJ are to NYC.
PoliticsRe: Enugu, The Pride Of The East. by Crayola1: 8:14pm On Dec 06, 2012
So why again is it that Igbo people dont invest at home huh All these pics have been lovely so far smiley
PoliticsRe: Enugu, The Pride Of The East. by Crayola1: 8:12pm On Dec 06, 2012
ezeagu: You always see big-big cars in Enugu, why? Because Enugu is the base of the Igbo elite.

https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7203/6834637000_32824729e4_c.jpg

http://www.flickr.com/photos/56740556@N04/6834637000
You've started again lol
PoliticsRe: Lagos And Abuja Should Be Made Seperate Regions - Mike Akhigbe by Crayola1: 8:01pm On Dec 06, 2012
I will never understand the battle for this glorified dump. The only thing first class in Lagos are the first class mosquitoes that will bite your behind through the damn sheets in broad daylight.

I stayed in Lekki for most of my trip and didnt exprience any of the "magic" except long traffic, from the airport no less, touts at night, and even the then brand new mall the palms I only got to experience at the end of my trip (because of traffic) was lackluster it would be high standard for a mall in America circa 1970.

Please tell me what I am missing?

Next time i'll try Abuja.
PoliticsRe: U.S. Investors Plan Hospital For Anambra by Crayola1: 7:52pm On Dec 06, 2012
The same reason Fashola uses "mega" and "world class" grin

Even that new bridge looks like a poor man's second best.

I remember seeing one building Fashola was commissioning and that thing look dusty and still had wires exposed from the ceiling. World class indeed.
PoliticsRe: Enugu, The Pride Of The East. by Crayola1: 7:36pm On Dec 06, 2012
The interior of that mall is one of the nicest I've seen in Nigeria smiley

And the cute sign with Welcome written in Igbo grin

More construction like this please cool
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 10:35pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: Ok.. You're AmericoEuroIgbocentric... undecided
Nope cheesy
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 10:15pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: You're Igbocentric! grin
Nope. cheesy
PoliticsRe: Yoruba Groups Want Okada Banned In South West by Crayola1: 10:14pm On Nov 29, 2012
Negro_Ntns: They are setting up satellite camps in West.

There is a thread here on the Yoruba Kiriji wars and I believe every Yoruba sons and daughters need to read that thread and pay close attention to the grievances that led to these wars and the treaties that resulted from it.

In particular reference I would love to mention my beloved Ijebu people. In countless reports by the Portuguese and then later the British, we were told how the riverines and the creeks were monopolized by the Ijebus who on many occassions waged wars against neighbors, Europeans were not spared in the bloodshed, in a rivalry for trade monopoly. Whoever controlled the waterways ruled market and pricing and Ijebus gave their lives, not just for control of the waters but indirectly also to serve as the godfathers to inter-exchange between the coast and the hinterland.

If Igbos succeed, unhindered and unimpeded, in rooting satellite camps from which to network trade and market in entire Yorubaland, then they will be sitting in the same position that the Ijebus were many many years ago. Its not about war or open hostilities, its about posessions.......land and right of way concessions. There are many aspects of this and how to counter it which I cant even and wont ever dare write in a public forum, but we need to study the Ijebu strategy and how it spread its tentacles and became an empire in its own right.
Wow poverty is bad thing...
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 10:08pm On Nov 29, 2012
Katsumoto: You can't choose parts of European culture to adopt because they are convenient for you and accuse others of 'selling out'. The reason Europeans themselves became powerful during the middle ages was because they also copied from Asia and the middle east.

In any case, I expect that you will move straight to your father's village, discard all your European clothes, music, food,s etc and adopt your father's culture and lifestyle. grin grin grin grin

By this time next year, you should be wearing buba and sokoto, have 3 wives (am sure you will accept this easily), start eating Ijebu staple, etc. grin grin grin grin
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 10:08pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: You don't need to take notes from me, you can start by studying Christopher Okigbo since you're Igbocentric... He was probably the best writer to ever come out of Nigeria but he died young... wink

Achebe ain't got shyte on him... grin
I'm not igbocentric lol cheesy
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 9:55pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: Everything isn't black and white... Africans need to start being critical thinkers, rather than having a simplistic point-of-view....

Till then, enjoy your servitude and slave mentality! cool
We will start taking notes from you grin
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 9:52pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: ^^^^Hmmmmm.... Northerners and their culture remained intact... Benins never changed... Most parts of Yorubaland never changed....

I can start listing African cultures that remained the same....
The fact that you speak English not by choice is change enough.
Ethiopians choose to speak English, Nigerians speak it as part of its colonial legacy.

And Indiirect rule is something you should read up on
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 9:45pm On Nov 29, 2012
Which ones? If your country was once the property of another country, you need not apply grin

The British put their foot up all 250+ groups of Nigeria, stop kidding yourself grin
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 9:40pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: Liking it doesn't mean he would've written something like that - and the same goes for the late Christopher Okigbo...

The book is likable - however, it's overrated IMO...
Hey goal post has shifted far grin Lord you want to just drag it off the field all together cheesy
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 9:33pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: However, our culture was so inferior that the arrival of the Europeans ushered in a new dawn... grin

Conrad is a racist prick, anyway

Personally, I don't think a Christopher Okigbo, or a Wole Soyinka would've written "Things Fall Apart." That shows the book has its own flaws!
But Soyinka likes Things Fall Apart grin He wrote an article even, man this argument is DOA grin
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 9:24pm On Nov 29, 2012
stillwater: Naa, prior to Achebe's book, Africans were believed to be savages, and even less than human as depicted in Conrad's heart of darkness. Achebe's work depicted Africans as a people first, with organized structures in place that worked for them like any other civilization or set of people in the world.
Stop using logic you will confuse him cheesy j/k
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 9:23pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: Europeans are psychologists, hence why they're always two steps ahead of Africans...

Higher minds should be able to discern the underlying message in "Things Fall Apart" and why Westerners love the book... grin
Chinese too?
Arabs too?
Latinos too?

Its a conspiracy cheesy
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 9:18pm On Nov 29, 2012
You must have the never released edition grin
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 9:09pm On Nov 29, 2012
Katsumoto: This is not true

Activists were holding concerts all over the world for Mandela while he was in prison.

If you have read the book, I suspect you missed the message.
Lol I agree
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 9:09pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: Each to their own.... undecided
Ok, I guess you must be quite lonely on your own grin
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 9:03pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: Mandela became a worldwide hero after the compromise - before that, he was a terrorist in most western countries...

"Things Fall Apart" is/was a brilliant book, but that doesn't negate the fact that it promotes/promoted the culture superiority of the western culture..
Utter Bullshi.t in fact you would have flunked my AP class for that answer cheesy How can a book criticizing Heart of Darkness support colonialism, this kind of stup1d is deadly ooo grin
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 8:59pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: He failed to adapt because the "superior" culture eroded his culture... grin
He did talk about the ills of colonialism in Things Fall Apart cheesy, Christ shocked undecided lipsrsealed

That's the point of the title of the book, please don't tell me you missed that....
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 8:42pm On Nov 29, 2012
Aigbofa: Translation: They will smack you around with superior, intelligent and well articulated responses until you are dazed and confused.
I await for the day to happen wink
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 8:42pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: When a "new" culture wipes out another culture - that means the "new" culture is superior to the old one... That was what "Thing Fall Apart" was about - and higher minds should be able to discern that... Wonder why Okonkwo committed suicide?? grin

Let's focus on Achebe for now... grin
Wow you have no clue at all grin Christ go read sparknotes grin

He committed suicide because he failed to adapt to his constantly changing environment.
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 8:26pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: Being controversial and arrogant is more or less attention seeking and blowing your own trumpet...

Hell yeah, millions of mis-educated people around the world... grin
Dude now you are just being salty for no reason cheesy

Mis educated on what?
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 8:23pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: Nah, according to those who his "Things Fall Apart" book gave a sense of cultural superiority over African culture(s)... Wonder why "Things Fall Apart" is his only celebrated book to date??

That's the same way Mandela became the "Father of Africa" when sold out - before that, he was a terrorist to the same people... grin
What are you trying to say? Speak English man cheesy
How can it give cultural superiority over African culture when it was about an African culture...that makes no sense?

Mandela never sold out. huh Mandela was not perfect but he guided SA through a very tough period with success.

JK Rowling is known for Harry Potter, your point? cheesy
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 8:18pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: Yeah, it's obvious I copied his autobiography for wiki - where else do you want me to get it from? grin

Ben Okri is a better writer than Achebe, yet you don't see blowing his trumpet everywhere...

Achebe needs to take a chill pill and let "Okonkwo" rest in fictional peace - enough said! grin
Neither does Achebe, its others that trumpet for him cool

Tell that to the millions of schools that make his novels required reading, Achebe is not forcing them cheesy
PoliticsRe: Chinua Achebe At 82: 'We Remember Differently' - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Crayola1: 8:14pm On Nov 29, 2012
shymexx: Is Achebe the "Father of Modern African Literature" - YES, or NOhuh?

Be honest...
According to the rest of the world. Yes. cheesy
I prefer one of the most influential African novelists wink
As Achebe said he was not the first, so its wrong to label him as such but every article about him mentions that phrase cheesy

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 (of 45 pages)