Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 5:14am On May 16, 2024 |
fatima04: Lol because we like freedom of speech and food . We honestly need a hard stance on so many things but no one wants to be named the government that did a radical thing except it is aimed at Migrants. Perhaps reform party will be better, but they are all the same at the end of the day.
You have voiced my major concern about this labour party, I liken them to US Democrats This. But hard stance will get you cancelled. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 2:38am On May 05, 2024 |
Zahra29: I definitely agree there needs to be more resources to fight serious crime.
However, within the context of my previous post, lending your friend/family/acquaintance money and them not paying back is hardly the type of "crime" you'd expect the authorities to spend time on. I was not refering to the case per se just the principle - the gov majors on controversial issues and the issues that are most important to the people seem secondary as long as the high lords are not affected. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 1:08am On May 05, 2024*. Modified: 2:34am On May 05, 2024 |
Treadway: The other day folks were dropping lines that would make you think Russians hide under their beds from intense fear, but thankfully same day we saw the parade of destroyed tanks in same Russia and a ton of people having a blast, taking pics etc.
All the times I went to China I no see this forced labour wey BBC report, which has long been debunked but somehow has been seared into the hearts of many, despite no evidence. All the times I went to China I didn't see eerie fear in the people's eyes and somehow they still have over a billion of them living there.
Funny how mechanised China would opt to used hand pickers to pick cotton in the field in place of machines that are far cheaper and faster.
The west have really succeeded, people believe them without asking questions these days. So much for a democracy that still successfully conditions you to think ONLY the way they want you to think.
Can we call that autocracy in disguise...? Lol I lived in China for a year, given same conditions if I had to choose between living in China and the West, I'll pick china. Go to central Beijing CBD, it's almost like you are in central London very multi-cultural - bit exaggerated them too plenty for china so they population drown out population of foreigners. Night life is when you will see some sort of balance Westerners like the nightlife while the Chinese are mostly conservative. The UAE and KSA have lots of restrictions like China because of their religion but Westerners troop in by the day. And if you go to a some of their expar forums, a lot of them prefer to live in these places than back home. Some poster talked about child labour, the big Companies in the west are guilty because they outsource their 'child labour' to china and Africa and turn a blind eye and claim a moral high ground word for this hypocrisy. where are your iPhones and co manufatured, lithium for your EVs from child miners in central Africa. If it was a problem for the west, they would boycott these places and manufacture their goods in the west and not outsource manufacturing like they outsource their wars. No place is utopia, you create yours. a man just wants to be king in his own house, tend his field, attend his feasts, make love, drink and merry. What works for one does not necessarily work for some other. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 6:26am On May 04, 2024 |
Treadway: your bolded line, is one of the things we agree on.
Autocracy is an option, and does not necessarily have to be seen as evil. Democracy is an option, and does not necessarily have to be seen as good....and vice versa. If you're a one-way thinker, that's fine too, but it is rather shallow to say someone is deadly simply because he isn't a one-way thinker as you are, and considers autocracy as an option. “The common people pray for rain, healthy children, and a summer that never ends,” Ser Jorah told her. “It is no matter to them if the high lords play their game of thrones, so long as they are left in peace.” Sir Jorah Mormont GOT |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 6:21am On May 04, 2024 |
Zahra29: Oh dear, bring back the sunny, positive missjekyll I thought the labour wins would have cheered you...😊
The UK isn't a jungle, it just has limited resources and expects us to apply due caution to avoid certain situations. You can't expect the authorities to chase down people who owe us money when there are sword wielders and other crazy/evil people marauding about.
However there are legal steps you can take to recover money you're owed, including court action:
https://www.gov.uk/options-if-youre-owed-money#:~:text=You%20can%20use%20a%20statutory,a%20member%20of%20a%20partnership But a certain part of the UK has a law against :hate speech' where they commit large part of police resources to enforce in a country where you are supposed to have free speech. While no police resources to combat real crime. Note: hate speech in quote because I know lecture will come up on what hate speech is and what it is not. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 6:13am On May 04, 2024*. Modified: 6:36am On May 04, 2024 |
missjekyll: Indeed I have, Action Fraud will close the investigation, you will not hear back from his majesty's courts.
I ve lost all faith in everything. Nothing works You just have a crime reference number and that's it ba! And your case becomes part of the statistics - for the data people |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 6:12am On May 04, 2024 |
missjekyll: Oh sweet sweet summer child, I wish I had better news for you. There is absolutely noi ombudsman to tell about this. None.
The gentleman who had his door taken off the hinges by a landlord found no help .
I would buy a new bed and pack their broken bed for them till I move out.
Public service announcement for all of us here: The UK is a jungle now. Don't lend money to anyone, doublelock your doors, basically be on your guard like in Nigeria.
Sorry if this is pessimistic but this is the way I see the UK now. Does anyone have a sunnier view of things Winter has come ba! |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 2:37am On Apr 17, 2024 |
Adunnishugar: Well she doesn’t have a fixed salary, she’s self employed sometimes she make 800 and sometimes it could be more or less, but she wants to start paying her self a fixed salary (from her business account to savings) for the purpose of the visa application, so technically it’s not a lie. I just want to know how much salary would be reasonable considering that she’s planning to show a three months bank statement with a balance of 3 million. Does your mum make that amount of money monthly or her business. The two entities are different, the business makes 800k monthly is not your mum makes 800k monthly. Does she pay herself a salary from the business? If yes, that is her income. The best her business can do for her is establish ties to Nigeria. If there is any ambiguity in her finances even if the business makes £1million a month it is a rejection, chances are better for a stay at home mum with no income to get the visa who comes out clean about her financial situation with sponsorship than all this rigmaroling you are trying to do. |
Travel › Re: Living In The UK: Property,Mortgage And Related by deept(m): 7:39pm On Apr 02, 2024 |
Nemie: Thanks for your contribution. I really didn't know it was possible to get a discount on a new build. I'd always thought the best case scenario was a discount or some incentives as I understand that accepting a lower value may influence the valuation of other properties in the development. Would be useful to hear from others as well, so future buyers go into the market better armed and batter equipped with useful insight Someone I know was given more incentive than was advertised because they asked. They asked them not to tell the neighbours, because they know neighbours and buyers talk. They want to sell as much as people want to buy. If it is in an area with high demands, you might not get anything but as jedisco mentioned if they are not selling as fast as then you can get something off. It doesn't pay them to keep stock as they take loans to finance the builds. |
Travel › Re: Living In The UK: Property,Mortgage And Related by deept(m): 10:44am On Apr 02, 2024 |
Gloriouscrown: Hi Jedisco, do you mean you can bid on a new build that is off plan? If you don't ask you don't get. Worst that can happen they'll say no. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 4:40am On Apr 02, 2024 |
missjekyll: Did you see this lexus? Apparently not one fundmanager beat the market out of 2000 over 5 years. Index funds did beat the market consistently. https://www.nytimes.com/2022/12/02/business/stock-market-index-funds.html
To anyone interested in index funds, I recommend "my little book of common sense investing" by J. Bogle. forgot to add lexus, in the US Members of Congress must declare their stock trades within 1 month of trading them. Because they sit on committees which make decisions that ultimately affect stocks, they can trade stocks based on this information.
It should be illegal of course but they have refused to close this loophole. There is an app that allows you to mirror their trading . They also consistently beat the market.
The risk is that you will be trading based on 1 month old information.
( I have forgotten the name of the app,sorry people . It's still available for download)
You can tell, I had a rubber-neck, during my schooling days ........😜😂
Did you see this lexus? Apparently not one fundmanager beat the market out of 2000 over 5 years. Index funds did beat the market consistently. https://www.nytimes.com/2022/12/02/business/stock-market-index-funds.html
To anyone interested in index funds, I recommend "my little book of common sense investing" by J. Bogle. forgot to add lexus, in the US Members of Congress must declare their stock trades within 1 month of trading them. Because they sit on committees which make decisions that ultimately affect stocks, they can trade stocks based on this information.
It should be illegal of course but they have refused to close this loophole. There is an app that allows you to mirror their trading . They also consistently beat the market.
The risk is that you will be trading based on 1 month old information.
( I have forgotten the name of the app,sorry people . It's still available for download) Apps name is autopilot. Pelosi did 46% last year. Usually the stocks they do are for the long term so 1 month old info not necessarily bad. Think it's time we have the money thread, will try to open a new thread when I wake up so we don't lose all this info in btw topics here. |
Travel › Re: Living In The UK: Property,Mortgage And Related by deept(m): 3:05pm On Apr 01, 2024 |
profemebee: Signed sealed and delivered... jedisco
New build .. 12% deposit.. Barclays..
Thanks to everyoneeeeeeeeeeeee.. especially Lexus, Ticha, justwise, LagosismyHome, Deept, Estroller, Stevepop, Mohtunrahyor, Santa2, Zahra29, Solumtoya, Jedisco, Peerielass, bigtt76, newbie715, etc
I hope i didn't forget anyone...
Have a blessed day Yay,!!!!! Graduation at last. Congratulations. So did you move out and in on same day? |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 12:48am On Mar 30, 2024 |
Poanan: Yes we are getting there. Another thing people do is thay they enter forward contracts this gives them cover against any instability. But banks will want you to come with a ground breaking amount for them to want to enter a forwant contract That means there are people who know what we don't know with the recent influx of FX into the country to buy gov debt. How are these rates sustainable? Plus at some point these guys will have to take their money out, aren't we back to square one? |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 11:17pm On Mar 29, 2024 |
Poanan: Lol peopke collect loans from Japan by using Japanese men to front collect loan at a low rate bring it in earn a high amount on Tb. Return it and it continues. All those people u will just hear "e go japan" go do business next thing the japanese man may viskt naija if need be. Now foreigners are entering the market any how especially hedge funds. That is why we hear increase in forex turnover everyday. I was talking to somebody recently and said if the naira was stable, someone could just import capital and do this tb thing. There is a lot going on out there and if you don't know, you don't know. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 6:03pm On Mar 28, 2024 |
hustla: The 'builder' called it a bridge. Who am I to argue?
Abeg, I don go watch Shogun. I don't want palava anymore o. I just want to relax and be taken kiarof
 hahahahaha, dont we all. Enjoy your shotgun, just did kungfu panda 4 |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 5:53pm On Mar 28, 2024 |
hustla: London Bridge was built in 1914
Look at what Desmond Elliot built in 2020
 how can you compare river thames to what is that, is that a gutter? plus we still dey dump 'shit' inside river for this youkay o |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 10:02am On Mar 28, 2024 |
Poanan: Lol i am not a fan of Tinubu but thia is yhe best he can do. Ours was already falling wihout defending the naira. Lebanon defaulted on its foreign debt. They went and issued a bond in foreign currency and time to pay they couldnt pay. So there was nothing they could do than to devalue their currency. That is one of the downsides of issuung bond in a currency you do not own. Coming to exchange rate regimes practised by variious countries, they practice what works best on them. It is not cast on stone that it most be a free float to get things right. If u look at Saudi, uae and see what they practise u will understand. Nigeria gets nore forex from Treasury bill than crude oil. E shock u abi? Ask some people in certain dept in cbn from supervisoru grade above or even slme people u SEC who moved from cbn. They cant come out to say it. But even as an outsider u will see it that in recent times since the govt tried to reflect the interest rate in the money market to a great extent, that there receuved more forex in one month than what they received through out the previous year. The reason is because foreigners are invested in that money market which guatantees steady supply of forex that will be used to defend naira. Our problem is more of coruption than the economic model we practise. If naira is defended and fuel subsidised i dont think it is too much. Just watch bow those your very rich uncles will start travelling to japan to do business. Business my foot. If i enter that matter the post will be overly long . abeg enter the matter make we know whatsapp |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 3:57pm On Mar 24, 2024 |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 8:54am On Mar 17, 2024 |
ehizario2012: The worst is when you slide into comments and see those racist comments, X is indeed a mad space. They keep saying go back to your continent, as though it's not their government that opened their gates and invited blacks to come into the UK. Via slavery then, and now theough schooling, work and the various visas. Bunch of uneducated hordes. I wish it could just happen, we pack up and go. Then we would see how great great Britain is. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 7:41am On Mar 17, 2024 |
Lexusgs430: The lad was arrested yesterday...... 👍 This is just one case amongst the hundreds possibly happening around the country. Deserves to be given as much publicity and attention as the Dianne Abbot racism thing going on right now. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 6:46am On Mar 17, 2024*. Modified: 7:08am On Mar 17, 2024 |
[quote author=kaybee3 post=128950944]Sad scene 💔 eyes watered when I watched the video. If you can , send an email to your MP with the link, news station etc. till it gets the publicity and response it should be getting.
F the bots, this is the full link
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 11:46am On Mar 15, 2024 |
ehizario2012: Oh oh good, since you mentioned this, I'll now make my comment.
Looking at my previous posts, I'm always against people "hiding" even on a faceless forum whenever they come to seek for advice.. you hear things like my friend, my brother, my colleague etc. Most people don't come straight for fear of being mol*sted, mocked and picked on by the likes of @Lexusgs430 in the guise of providing advice. So if anybody is chasing people away from seeking advice here, it's not me but the likes of @Lexusgs430. Some people leave this forum more depressed whenever they come to seek for advice.
So, if I was to envy anybody, @Lexusgs430 is not in that league. I've seen people get top end jobs, I've seen someone buy a house after just 2 years in UK, I've seen guys get distinction, people pass practical driving tests at their first try and so many other motivating feats. The only thing @Lexusgs430 has is early mover's advantage and enjoying student loans, public funds. That's nothing to be proud of. By the time the smarter guys spend the number of years @Lexusgs430 has spent here, they would have achieved way way more than he could ever dream of. They'll be in the top echelon.
I'm tired of this discussion but I'm never tired of saying things as they should be. Greetings. I could also say its people like you that discourage other people from coming on here to give advice with the subtle jabs you give to those who try, the last one being 'those who sit and draft immigration policies with the home office' or something along that line. The information is out there then why do we come here? I read the gov.uk website and i don't understand sometimes and someone comes and explains in a way i can relate with. they come and say realities/facts but because it does not tally with your sentiments does not mean other people do not gain something from it. please lets live and let live. He who comes to equity must come with clean hands. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 11:34am On Mar 14, 2024 |
wallg123: Please recommend a good cooler or AC make we take turn down the heat  The UK does not just hate students who bring their money to come to contribute, we hate the middle class worker because we tax them to the teeth. We hate the Europeans who came here to work and contribute, we voted brexit. We hate corporations because they do not pay enough tax. We hate landlords, enterpreneurs with all the roadblocks and million regulations that does not encourage investment and productivity. We hate gen Z, we hate the consaervatives, we hate labpour, we hate SNP,. The hate is not reserved for any group.  Question is how do we thrive inspite of everything? |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 11:08am On Mar 14, 2024 |
Treadway: don't mind these simplistic people. Look at all the supposed accusations thrown at Lexus, most of which are solid advise to same minds o.
Anyone who has a different view from the simplistic mob is tagged the enemy. Just as some such as myself have been tagged anti-japa onto say I see things differently.
Who amongst you Lexus force his advice on?? Where is the bullying? These guys ehn fact does not care about feelings. Anyways temperature is always high here whenever the home office announces or implements a new policy. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 10:46am On Mar 14, 2024 |
[quote author=deept post=128930472][/quote]on a serious note o, where is justwise, its been 2 weeks....... |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 10:43am On Mar 14, 2024 |
[quote author=ehizario2012 post=128929306]At least three (3) people here have now shared their very thoughts on Lexusgs430's conducts and I am glad one is a naturalized British citizen (person wey see road well.)
I first came across this Lexusgs430 moniker on a Car thread years ago, had some respect for him but he's a totally different entity in this UK living thread. It's as though he wants to continually bully people and show off his citizenship... While many might keep quiet, jump and pass, I am not like that. I'll say it to his face, that's how I was made. Lexusgs430 moniker deserved to be seen for who he is.
He's also the one who called rent money dead money, almost pushing some people to see themselves as failures because they paying rent. I'm glad he shot himself in the foot and confessed he enjoyed student loans, public funds etc in his early days... Much like a grown cock preventing cockerels from growing. I like the response somebody gave on this thread last year saying something like "nobody can stop new immigrants from entering UK, the oldies should get used to it."
I am not tracking lexusgs430 or have any personal interest in him, but just as he has a right to say whatever, I have a right to challenge whatever. I'm not even asking him to stop, but he should be seen for who he is. He claims he helped people out of depression?? Is that not funny??[b][b] It's not only Lexus, the other ones who act as though they sat down with home office to draft the immigration policies too know themselves.
This thread is meant to encourage people, not discourage people and push them to depression! [/b]Come off it.[/quo[/b]te]
this is not fair. Also to tell us the truth irrespective |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 6:40am On Mar 14, 2024 |
Where is justwise? |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 3:27pm On Mar 13, 2024 |
jedisco: No need going adhominem. This is hardly about my take on the care sector which has always been consistent. British taxes should pay for British care. If we need to rely on external workforce, they should be appreciated. Rather than use the care route as another form of modern slavery, it should be scrapped. If that means income tax goes up 75% or council taxes has to increase by 10% annually to pay for the ever balooning adult social care, so be it.
The new rules only instutionalise that exploitation. For decades the sector has been supported by migrant labour. It has only just come to the fore thanks to Brexit. Finally, after 5 years of hard work on minimum wage with no family, they'd still become Brits and see that they've contributed more to the economy in 5 yrs than some of the folks they were waiting on did. Abeg o, everybody is appreciated |
Travel › Re: Living In The UK: Property,Mortgage And Related by deept(m): 12:46pm On Mar 13, 2024 |
profemebee: thanks for this example
in this example, why will management company's own quote be more expensive tho? We are waiting for your good news o.you suppose don graduate since. |
Travel › Re: Living In The UK: Property,Mortgage And Related by deept(m): 12:45pm On Mar 13, 2024 |
Lexusgs430: Since we're learning, I would give you a recent example........
I was chatted up by one of us here ........ He/She was about to buy a newish build....... The property in question had a parking space for about 3 cars ........
Now the clincher......... The property owner would not own those parking spaces, those spaces are owned by management company, you would have to pay, to park your cars, in front of your own house (not off street parking)..........😁😜 Case close to home, owner owned the land but not the rights to park. |
Travel › Re: Living In The UK: Property,Mortgage And Related by deept(m): 11:42am On Mar 13, 2024 |
profemebee: thanks for this example
in this example, why will management company's own quote be more expensive tho? You have them the power when you signed the terms of your purchase. That's why it's important to read the terms and ask your solicitors questions about what you do not understand. They are out to make money. Important rule in the UK, know what you are signing and it's implications. Tp1s for new builds is like a whole textbook. The ones for older builds usually a few pages. |