Politics › Re: I Don’t Deserve This From APC Because I Helped Them To Power, Says Ex-nsa Dasuki by EdCure: 4:23pm On Jul 18, 2015 |
bigiyaro: so u betrayed GEJ! Traitor. U deserve worefa comes to u. You read just the headline |
Politics › Re: Attahiru Jega Wins IFES Award by EdCure(op): 4:17pm On Jul 18, 2015 |
fkpboss: He deserves it...but I don't just fancy his ironed-face successor(Buhari's daughter ) She will (most likely) not be made the substantive chairman. Let the best and most credible have the job. |
Politics › Re: Attahiru Jega Wins IFES Award by EdCure(op): 4:10pm On Jul 18, 2015 |
Cc lalasticlala |
Politics › Re: Attahiru Jega Wins IFES Award by EdCure(op): 4:09pm On Jul 18, 2015 |
Where is Goodluck Jonathan's international award? TANoids need a long treck to New York, Zurich and Oslo in protest for their hero  |
Politics › Attahiru Jega Wins IFES Award by EdCure(op): 3:57pm On Jul 18, 2015 |
The immediate past Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Attahiru Jega, has been nominated winner of this year’s edition of the Charles T. Mannat Democracy award.
The International Foundation for Electoral Systems, IFES, based in the United States, administrators of the award, will present the award to Mr. Jega and other awardees at an elaborate ceremony in Washington D.C. on September 29.
Every year, IFES, a leading pro-democracy organisation that advocates improved electoral systems around the world, recognizes accomplishments of individuals in advancing freedom and democracy.
The organisation does this by bestowing awards on these outstanding individuals in honour of past chairs of its Board of Directors: Charles T. Manatt and Patricia Hutar, and Senior Adviser, Joe C. Baxter.
Mr. Jega would be honoured under the Charles T. Manatt Democracy Award category. Three individuals are honoured each year in that category: one U.S. Democrat, one Republican and a member of the international community who demonstrate unwavering commitment to democracy and human rights.
Mr. Jega is the international figure chosen for the award this year, and he is being honoured for leading INEC to conduct one of the most credible elections in Nigeria’s history, even in the face of intimidation and sabotage by some of his own staff and officials of the past administration. Democratic Leader, Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) and Congressman Ed Royce (R-Calif.) are to be honoured alongside Mr. Jega.
They will receive the awards at a special ceremony, co-chaired by IFES Board Director and Baker & Hostetler LLP Partner, Ambassador Tom McDonald and Manatt, Phelps & Phillips LLP Partner June L. DeHart on September 29, in Washington D.C.
“Chairman Jega’s leadership was instrumental to Nigeria’s successful general elections in 2015,” said IFES President and CEO, Bill Sweeney. “He deserves full credit for his efforts to increase the credibility and transparency of the electoral process under extreme logistical challenges, such as terrorist threats from Boko Haram, where failure could prove the catalyst for predicted election violence.”.
Mr. Jega’s expert management of the 2015 general elections positioned him as a credible election administrator, IFES said. “The complex Nigerian electoral environment consisted of 69 million eligible voters, 155,000 polling booths and 700,000 temporary staff deployed across the country. These recent elections resulted in the country’s first democratic transfer of power.”
“I am deeply honoured to accept the 2015 Democracy Award from IFES,” Mr. Jega said in response to his nomination for the award. “INEC’s long-standing partnership with IFES in preparation for the 2015 general elections resulted in a credible process accepted by Nigerian citizens and the international community. These elections have put Nigeria on the right path toward democratic stability.”
Mr. Jega, who left office as INEC Chairman on June 30, has returned to his lecturing job at the Bayero University Kano, where he was also a Vice Chancellor before he was appointed INEC boss in June 2010 by former President Goodluck Jonathan. Until his appointment as vice chancellor, he lectured in the department of political science.
He once served as national president of the Academic Staff Union of Universities [ASUU]. Mr. Jega remains the only chairman of the electoral body to organise two national elections – 2011 and 2015 elections. Sometime in March, Mr. Jega indicated he would not accept tenure renewal. “I am grateful to God,” he said at the time. “I was asked to come and contribute my own quota to the national development and I have done my bit to the best of my ability.” http://www.premiumtimesng.com/news/top-news/186879-former-inec-boss-attahiru-jega-wins-top-international-award.html?utm_source=&utm_medium=twitter
Politics › Re: Buhari Refuses Entreaties From IBB, GEJ Over Dasuki by EdCure: 10:14pm On Jul 17, 2015 |
SenseiX: This is a defining moment for Buhari's presidency, he is creating very powerful enemies too early, IBB and Aliyu Gusau are fuming I don't think this operation is personal. Dasuki obviously witheld vital info from Buhari's war on terror before he was sacked. And if you think it's personal, the enmity between Buhari and the so-called northern elite and power-bloc is not new. It has been for decades. They have never been favourably disposed to him. Despite all their so-called power and influence, they couldn't prevent him from emerging as president. The era of impunity is over. Nobody is above the law. No sacred cows. |
Politics › Re: Buhari Appoints New Civil Defence Commandant by EdCure: 1:13pm On Jul 17, 2015 |
My oga at the top may deny this. So nocomment for now.
...Dats all! |
Politics › Re: Abdullahi Gana Appointed As NSCDC Commandant By Buhari by EdCure: 12:59pm On Jul 17, 2015 |
Oga at d top may deny this. So nocomment for now. ....Dats all. |
Politics › Re: The World We Live In 2# Pic. For Intellectual by EdCure: 12:50pm On Jul 17, 2015 |
They send you to fight their battles while they feed fat at home and outlive you. The paradise of the rich is made out of the hell of the poor. |
Politics › Re: Ex-NSA Dasuki Refuses To Surrender, Say SSS Has No Arrest Warrant by EdCure: 12:36pm On Jul 17, 2015 |
StOla: So a good leader must be scared of the sacred cow and worship the sacred cow, right? Allegations seem farfetched? Do you know what the government and DSS knows? It seems you prefer a Nigeria were anything goes. Don't mind those PDPian TANkids. They want Buhari to be as weak, clueless and timid as Jonathan who was afraid of his own appointees -even the least among them. |
Politics › Re: The Questions Okonjo-Iweala Could Not Answer By Oshiomhole by EdCure: 11:12am On Jul 17, 2015 |
dioman: Asking and answering questions on the page of newspapers and social media ain't taking us forward. If Osho baba has concrete evidence against NOI, he should tidy up his panel report and submit to PMB who knows what to do.
The last administration was corrupt and we all know that, if Osho baba was a saint he should have echo this to us then or when NOI was busy telling publishing how much govs receives from the FG, the govs should have fought back in the interest of Nigerians by tell her to also published what the FG derives at the end of every month. Oshiomhole and some of his coleaugues (including Amaechi) did speak up earlier about all these. They have never been silent but the PDP-led Fed Govt used its power to create crisis and instability in those states in order to distratct and intimidate them. They were threatened. Mind you Gej and his chronies took over the media also. You actually don't know what a governor like Oshiomhole, (Fashola) and Amaechi went through under GEJ. |
Politics › Re: The Questions Okonjo-Iweala Could Not Answer By Oshiomhole by EdCure: 11:02am On Jul 17, 2015 |
formerlyMbulela: Arguing or debating with Oshiomole is like debating with NL's Coogar. you have lost even before the debate began. There staying power is legendary. NOI should just give up, Adams is not a man to be messed with in arguments and debates. He is not your average Nigerian politician. It is like arguing with El-Rufai. True said. Apart from that, Oshiomhole is not the type that can be easily blackmailed owing to his intelligence and commendable achievements in Edo State. NOI should just give up, come out clean and apologise to Nigerians. No one is perfect afterall. |
Politics › Re: The Questions Okonjo-Iweala Could Not Answer By Oshiomhole by EdCure: 10:54am On Jul 17, 2015 |
chuna1985: oshoumole - Ur trying to take away the public Eye from the fact that you have embezzled state funds and cannot pay workers salary. Stop showing your ignorance on Nairaland. Oshiomhole is not owing ANY worker in Edo State. He pays before month ends. And stop supporting corruption. Allow the Iweala woman to provide cogent answers to the pertinent questions...if she can. |
Politics › Re: PDP To Obama: Teach Buhari Tenets Of Democracy by EdCure: 10:25pm On Jul 16, 2015 |
seunmsg: Someone should please tell this Metuh to shut the fvck up. He keeps running his mouth and spewing gibberish everywhere. He has never said anything reasonable since PDP lost the election. He should go for the crash course that Lai Muhammed offered him so that he can understand how to engage the ruling party in a meaningful and issue based debate. @Bolded: I don't think that offer is still open  |
Politics › Re: PDP To Obama: Teach Buhari Tenets Of Democracy by EdCure: 9:51pm On Jul 16, 2015*. Modified: 10:07pm On Jul 16, 2015 |
Now I get the rationale behind Adeshina's labelling of the pdpians as the "Wailing wailers". These nuisance turn up each day with their incredibly ridiculous and irritably ludicrous rants in the guise of "opposition". One wonders why they declined Lai's offer for a crash course. |
Politics › Re: BREAKING: SSS Operatives Surround Ex-nsa Sambo Dasuki’s Houses by EdCure: 8:31pm On Jul 16, 2015 |
Obviously to account for his criminal acts. |
Politics › Re: What Killed Him? by EdCure: 9:17am On Jul 16, 2015 |
People self! Why dishonour the dead with such picture in an obituary anouncement? The people he left behind are even worse. What a legacy  |
Politics › Re: Fiyinfoluwa Osinbajo, Yemi Osinbajo’s Son (Photos) by EdCure: 8:19am On Jul 16, 2015*. Modified: 8:52am On Jul 16, 2015 |
MuguliciousMUGU: OH! The son of the vice president he should try to advice his father to stop taking too much pics, for God sake, he is a vice president and not a celebrity. Prof. Osinbajo is not taking too much picture. He is a very important public figure whom every Nigerian want to be kept informed on his daily activities and presidential engagements. You cannot force your love for ignorance on other well-meaning Nigerians. BTW, the son is a prophessional photographer. How can a photographer advice someone to take fewer pictures? Na so you get bizness sense We are still waiting for the change ooo, because right now, the population of mosquitoes is increasing at an alarming rate more than the population of nigeria, by 2016, they would discover that the population of mosquitoes in nigeria is getting to 1 billion. Following your line of arguement, it is safe to say that the "increase" in the population of mosquitoes in Nigeria is attributed to the PDP's 16yr reign of corruption, incompetence, & recklessness. Mugu, crawl back to your hole and rest there! |
Politics › Re: VP Osinbajo Delivering Speech In Addis Ababa, Ethiopia by EdCure: 6:17pm On Jul 14, 2015 |
Good. Even Jonathan was too timid to deliver a speech during the AU's 50th anniversary in the same city. No need to talk about Sambo. |
Politics › Re: POLITICS SECTION's NOMINATION THREAD FOR N.A.I.R.A. AWARDS 2015 by EdCure: 1:52pm On Jul 14, 2015 |
I nominate:
Mod: oam4j Organizer: Bleep :/ Individual: Gbawe
cc: Skypeople |
Politics › Re: Buhari Names New Service Chiefs by EdCure: 5:36pm On Jul 13, 2015 |
shalomm: Advanced Pupil, the one that you blamed GEJ If hearing the undiluted truth from me (your instructor) makes you bleed so profusely, it may lead to your demise. But i pray you live long to learn more lessons, hear more truth, and get more knowledge. |
Politics › Re: Buhari Names New Service Chiefs by EdCure: 5:08pm On Jul 13, 2015 |
shalomm: I bet you can't manage a class room. well, Some people Analyze Politics using the traditional method so i won't blame you. Modern pupil, which part of my post is causing your bleeding? |
Politics › Re: Buhari Names New Service Chiefs by EdCure: 4:37pm On Jul 13, 2015 |
Good step removing all vestiges of Jonathan's incompetence. Let serious-minded patriots start work.
BTW, Didn't see any ibo name there. Unfair! |
Politics › Re: Finance Perm Sec. Ignore Saraki's Invitation by EdCure: 1:21am On Jul 13, 2015 |
Whynotthetruth: bolded shows you're still in secondary school...go back and sleep and prepare for school tomorrow... smh... You can now clap for yourself for haven presented your lofty academic credentials by virtue of your uncommon analysis of the subject-matter. The greatest deception that users of anonymous sites like Nairaland have is from your own opinions. |
Politics › Re: Saraki Lacks Constitutional Right To Summon PS - Senator by EdCure: 9:20pm On Jul 12, 2015 |
IsraeliAIRFORCE: The article clearly stated that the invitation was made through Senate official correspondence represented by the Clerk. You can only learn from me as it regards institutionalized protocol. APC should stop insulting our collective intelligence and by experimenting with this regime. The same compromised Clerk who oversaw the illegality of June 9, you mean? Institutionalised indeed! |
Politics › Re: Saraki Lacks Constitutional Right To Summon PS - Senator by EdCure: 8:48pm On Jul 12, 2015 |
Saraki has so much contempt for the law to the extent that he doesn't refer to the law before acting arbitrarily. This kind of humiliation is what is needed to remind him about the concept of due process. |
Politics › Re: Saraki Lacks Constitutional Right To Summon PS - Senator by EdCure: 8:43pm On Jul 12, 2015 |
IsraeliAIRFORCE: Had it been Tambuwal who summoned the permanent secretary who functions as Finance Minister, APC will call for his sack if he declines and constitute the nuisance they represent.
I remember Okonji Iweala and NASS.
[...] What a shame Only the house plenary and committee have power to summon top government officials. Not an individual parliamentarian (in whatever capacity). Age comes with learning, Ngwakwe! |
Politics › Re: Finance Perm Sec. Ignore Saraki's Invitation by EdCure: 8:20pm On Jul 12, 2015 |
AshiwajuFoward: He should just brace himself for more of this sort of embarrassments. Even Allison Madueke sef defy senate invite severally. Serves him right. Lets see how he arrogate more power to himself same way he seized the Senate. I'll advice Buhari to go ahead and swear-in his ministers should the criminal Saraki try to pose a stumbling block. |
Politics › Re: Femi Fani-kayode: Aturu Mulu Ebunu Gba Aka Nwa, By Joe Igbokwe by EdCure: 9:33pm On Jul 11, 2015 |
Gboliwe: Like Fani Kayode, like Joe Igbokwe! Birds of same feather. Atulu muru ebulu gba aka nwa quite unfortunate for these two above 40 fools. There is No love lost in political party rivalry. And, trust me, one can only maintain his relevance and clout as the spokesperson of his party when they throw decorum to the air. It is one of the most difficult job in politics suited for those with the least moral compass and penchant for truth. |
Politics › Re: Apc Wins Round One At Rivers Governorship Election Tribunal by EdCure: 4:27pm On Jul 11, 2015 |
Politics › Re: Apc Wins Round One At Rivers Governorship Election Tribunal by EdCure: 3:59pm On Jul 11, 2015 |
Baawaa: The Returning officer made it worse How, pls? |