Stats: 3,329,404 members, 8,440,446 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 July 2026 at 03:46 AM

Enigma's Posts

Nairaland ForumEnigma's ProfileEnigma's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 (of 198 pages)

Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 10:43am On Sep 03, 2013
^^^

Are you a Roman Catholic?

How many insults and even damnation did I myself receive? wink
Christianity EtcRe: Welcome To E - Grace Convention 2013 (Day 3) by Enigma(m): 8:46am On Sep 03, 2013
My dear Sis

I think the spirit of this thread is friendliness, fellowship and appreciation of perspectives.

I personally think that we should avoid arguments on this thread. I think if someone feels strongly about anything in particular, they should just express it as a point of view i.e. state that "this is my own position".

Even in churches, when we hear a preacher --- I don't think we always agree with everything they say 100% but a regular service is for celebration and communion so would not be appropriate place to raise a challenge.

I think if anyone feels an issue should be "debated", it is advisable to open a thread for the purpose or to look at old threads (if any) on the topic.

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 8:33am On Sep 03, 2013
^^^ U no dey cry off again?

And obviously, you still need deliverance from that comprehension problem. Maybe try the people of Cutlass Sharp Sharp Ministry!

Oh and deal with how Jesus can be present in a Christian community and yet that Christian community is not Jesus' Church! wink

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: Welcome To E - Grace Convention 2013 (Day 3) by Enigma(m): 8:06am On Sep 03, 2013
Zikky Bros!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dat prosperity e-convention can only hold when our our good friend Joagbaje confirms that tithes, firstfruits etc are all up to date.

Nice to 'see' you, bros. smiley
Christianity EtcRe: Welcome To E - Grace Convention 2013 (Day 3) by Enigma(m): 7:06am On Sep 03, 2013
Bros, please let me excuse myself; I think it is better that I just make my own position known as I have done.

Specifically on 1 John 3:9, I suggest reading it in the NIV just for an idea of how it might be interpreted without taking anything away from 1 Peter 1:23. smiley
Christianity EtcRe: Welcome To E - Grace Convention 2013 (Day 3) by Enigma(m): 6:54am On Sep 03, 2013
Bros, I understand that presenters are not supposed to challenge each other's presentations. Also, I am interpreting that as meaning it is inadvisable to argue on this thread.

Nevertheless, I must make clear and I am making clear that I do not subscribe to an interpretation that says Christians cannot commit sin.

What Jesus and the apostles taught is to ask for forgiveness.

That is my own view.

God bless you too very much, my brother. smiley
Christianity EtcRe: How Can You Prove To An Atheist That God Exists? by Enigma(m): 6:48am On Sep 03, 2013
donroxy: Halamin is not the same as ''Amen'' !!

Halamin is arabic meant ''Universe and whatsoever therein'' !!! Or something close to such in interpretation !!!

::::::::::::::::: ............
You misunderstand me completely! I was not referring to "Halamin" at all but rather an indication of an "Ameen" said with Kun fa yakun and the "Subhana ......" etc.
Christianity EtcRe: Welcome To E - Grace Convention 2013 (Day 3) by Enigma(m): 6:13am On Sep 03, 2013
1 John 1

8 If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.

9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

10 If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word is not in us.

And John was writing to Christians.
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op):
Ubenedictus: go back and read ignatuis.
First of all: the Church to which the Ignatius that you are trying to rely on belonged is now "anathema" according to fraudulent and hypocritically two-faced Roman Catholics. wink (Edit: Deny this and I'll show you something else! smiley)

Ubenedictus: Just as there is no church without Jesus nothing should be done without the bishop.
When you find where Jesus Christ, the apostles or anywhere in the Bible says "nothing should be done without the bishop", call me! smiley

Ubenedictus: There is no fraud there, the writtings are there for you see.
What Roman Catholics are doing is actually worse than fraud. It is undermining and going directly against the teachings of Jesus Christ! Anyway, as I said before, Roman Catholics esteem their "Church" and their "popes" more than Jesus Christ or the Bible.

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: How Can You Prove To An Atheist That God Exists? by Enigma(m): 5:05pm On Sep 02, 2013
donroxy: ....

SubhAna Robika Robil Hizati,Ama Yasifuna wa salamun Ala l' mursalin,Wal Ahmdulilah Robil Halamin !!!
[Digression alert]

Funny enough, this "Ameen" is something I have been examining quite a bit recently --- especially when said at the end of/along with Sura Fatiha!

Disclosure: I am not a Moslem by any means; I am a Christian instead! cheesy

[/Digression alert]
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 2:54pm On Sep 02, 2013
Ciao, crybaby. grin

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 1:37pm On Sep 02, 2013
Look at this hypocrite saying "I bet you will not answer" --- after he earlier said "leave him alone bo"! grin

Yes, I will not answer; what are you going to do, call Police? smiley

Meanwhile, what have you called "two or three gathered in Jesus name"? A "shop" -- that is what you have called them.

Except you now say that Jesus is present in their midst. Oh boy, how happy am I that Jesus is present in my "shop". wink

Hypocrite kawai! grin

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 1:28pm On Sep 02, 2013
italo: It is Jesus that said "away from me" (which you call nonsense) to people who gathered in his name (which you call "church"wink not me. Take up your issues with him.
If you can find where He said it to the people ('two or three') gathered in His name, you should also be able to find where He said "away from me" to the Roman Catholic Church. And I do not call that nonsense. wink

italo: I just know my Jesus cannot neither deny nor desert his Church.
Of course the Lord Jesus Christ will not deny His Church of two or three gathered in His name. Hallelujah! wink

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 1:12pm On Sep 02, 2013
You are saying that Jesus is present in a community of two or three Christians gathered in His name, how can they then not be His Church?

And look at your self-contradiction with your "Away from me" nonsense!

How can He then disown the community among whom He is present?

The lies and fraud of the Roman Catholic "Church" have evidently clouded your reasoning and logic. wink

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 1:04pm On Sep 02, 2013
italo: Amen! Amen! We Catholics believe Jesus is present in any community that gathers in his name. But we know that that community is not necessarily his Church.
A community that gathers in Jesus' name and in which Jesus is present that is not Jesus' Church! huh grin

Utterly ludicrous and contradictory Roman Catholic idiocy! wink

italo: For how can Jesus say to his "church?": "I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!"--Matt 7:23.

"I don’t know you or where you come from. Away from me, all you evildoers!"--Luke 13:27.

How can Jesus (the bridegroom) deny knowledge of his Church (the bride)?

How can the head not know the body?

This Jesus you are talking about is certainly not my Jesus...and that "church" is definitely not his Church.

"AWAY FROM ME! YOU LAWLESS PEOPLE!"--Jesus Christ.
Of course He can be expected to say that to the Roman Catholic "Church" as I have demonstrated here and here

And I can yet produce more samples if/when required. wink

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 1:01pm On Sep 02, 2013
By the way, the Church to which even Ignatius belonged ---- is now "anathema" too. wink

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 12:52pm On Sep 02, 2013
Them even dey swear for us sake say we no accept the fraudulently claimed "authority" and "infallibility" (both rubbish!) of them Roman Catholic "popes"! grin

One I made earlier! wink

4. For this reason it has always been necessary for every Church--that is to say the faithful throughout the world--to be in agreement with the Roman Church because of its more effective leadership. In consequence of being joined, as members to head, with that see, from which the rights of sacred communion flow to all, they will grow together into the structure of a single body [48].

5. Therefore, if anyone says that it is not by the institution of Christ the lord himself (that is to say, by divine law) that blessed Peter should have perpetual successors in the primacy over the whole Church; or that the Roman Pontiff is not the successor of blessed Peter in this primacy: let him be anathema.

Oh and the other nonsensical claim of "papal infallibilty"

. . . we teach and define as a divinely revealed dogma that when the Roman Pontiff speaks EX CATHEDRA, that is, when, in the exercise of his office as shepherd and teacher of all Christians, in virtue of his supreme apostolic authority, he defines a doctrine concerning faith or morals to be held by the whole Church, he possesses, by the divine assistance promised to him in blessed Peter, that infallibility . . .

So then, should anyone, which God forbid, have the temerity to reject this definition of ours: let him be anathema.

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 12:43pm On Sep 02, 2013
Oh, by the way, let another "holy" man "counsel you"! wink

Chrysostom

"Almighty God, you have given us grace at this time with one accord to make our common supplication to you; and you have promised through your well-beloved Son that when two or three are gathered together in his Name you will be in the midst of them: Fulfill now, O Lord, our desires and petitions as may be best for us; granting us in this world knowledge of your truth, and in the age to come life everlasting. Amen"

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 12:40pm On Sep 02, 2013
italo: Amen! Amen! We Catholics believe Jesus is present in any community that gathers in his name. But we know that that community is not necessarily his Church.
A community that gathers in Jesus' name and in which Jesus is present that is not Jesus' Church! huh grin

Utterly ludicrous and contradictory Roman Catholic idiocy! wink

italo: For how can Jesus say to his "church?": "I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!"--Matt 7:23.

"I don’t know you or where you come from. Away from me, all you evildoers!"--Luke 13:27.

How can Jesus (the bridegroom) deny knowledge of his Church (the bride)?

How can the head not know the body?

This Jesus you are talking about is certainly not my Jesus...and that "church" is definitely not his Church.

"AWAY FROM ME! YOU LAWLESS PEOPLE!"--Jesus Christ.
Of course He can be expected to say that to the Roman Catholic "Church" as I have demonstrated here and here

And I can yet produce more samples if/when required. wink

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 11:56am On Sep 02, 2013
Let Jesus Christ Himself convict the Roman Catholic "Church". wink

(Matthew 18:20):

For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 11:37am On Sep 02, 2013
Crybaby can't read or demonstrate decent comprehension. smiley

Enigma: .....

However, even whilst still expounding/extolling the role of a bishop (possibly even questionably somewhat), Ignatius said another interesting thing .......
And elsewhere:

Enigma: ^^^ Any sensible person can see that: (1) I gave the backround of Ignatius' statement when he spoke about the role of bishops which I said is not even wholly accurate; and (2) that I gave two separate links to two separate translations of Ignatius' full let[t]er......
smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op):
Logicboy03: So, at work, there is a group of christians who sometimes meet and make arrangements to go to camp. Are they a church of co-workers
Yes indeed, they are "a church"; indeed, they are "the Church" where they are; they are also part of the universal Christian Church ---- according to the words of the Lord Jesus Christ Himself.

Go and study the origin and meaning of the word Church. Go and read and study the Bible and see references to the Church that meets in a {your} house etc etc etc smiley

Read also my second or third post on this thread and the explanation of "ekklesia".

Read also the posts of the Anglican friend that I quoted on this thread. wink

Ubenedictus: tell me a new joke. If the church didn't need bishop tell me why christ had apostle and why those apostle seem really interested in making bishop every city.besides u are the one with a quote of how the catholic church is a gatherinp around a bishop.
You take pleasure in contradicting yourself.
Jesus did not and does not require His Church to have "popes" or "ordained" (whatever you mean by that) bishops. Go and read The Didache where it instructs Christian groups to appoint for themselves bishops/elders.

By the way, this is what I first said about Ignatius statement:

First I return to Ignatius who was the one who coined and the first to use the expression "the catholic Church". While Ignatius was a strong supporter of the role of a bishop in worship, he also believed that each individual church was in itself complete and a part of the universal church.

However, even whilst still expounding/extolling the role of a bishop (possibly even questionably somewhat), Ignatius said another interesting thing in his Epistle to The Smyrnaeans:

. . . even as, wherever Jesus Christ is, there is the Catholic Church*
* another translation:
even as where Jesus may be, there is the universal Church
ETA http://www.jhu.edu/gcf/lessons/IgnatiusSmyrnaeans.pdf

Now where have I heard something similar before? Oh, here (Matthew 18:20):

For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 8:12am On Sep 02, 2013
Ubenedictus: that is because you simply do not understand the terms i use. A christian community is a coming together of people who believe in christ and are baptised in his name. Like a fellowship. When i use the word church i'm refer to that community under a validly ordained bishop and thus can enjoy the fullnes of the sacraments. As you are aware, i consider most protestant churches of having only valid baptism. I call them xtian communities not 'church'.
So be informed,
^^^ Of course you can choose to keep contradicting Jesus Christ because you must subscribe to the idiotic argument of the Roman Catholic Church. smiley

A Christian Community is a Christian Church and is Jesus' Church. wink

Jesus did not say His church must be subject to some "pope" or some "ordained" bishop. Thankfully! smiley

Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 9:02pm On Sep 01, 2013
Ubenedictus: i said christian community i didn't say christian church. Quit trying to look for fault where there is none
1. You contradict yourself again of course! How can a Christian community not be a Christian Church? Except in warped Roman Catholic logic of course. lol grin

2. This is what I said before: A person who says a "Christian community" is not Jesus' Church is talking of someone else's "contradictions"! lol grin

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 8:40pm On Sep 01, 2013
Pastor AIO: How does this change the role that the C(c)atholic church, Roman or whatever, has played in the history of christianity. How does this permit you and others of your ilk to make up stories condemning the RCC falsely one issues such as the use of Relics, the role of the Bible, etc? How does it make RCC the LovePeddler of Babylon? How does this divorce RCC from christianity? while you are the true christian?
Of course you are a liar! smiley

Find where I said anything about the Roman Catholics and relics, LovePeddler of Babylon or "divorce RCC from Christianity"

Pastor AIO: I can't remember the last time you actually answered any question that I asked you. I'll try again. What do you understand by 'in my name'?
I choose not to teach you what I choose not to teach you. smiley

Pastor AIO: Oh, it's the wikipedia that is doing you, okay I'll give you some other links. But the wikipedia definition is still accurate though and the symptom fits you perfectly.
I have said to you before to do whatever you like with Wikipedia. It is your problem, not mine. smiley

Pastor AIO:
Freudian Projection

Psychological projection or projection bias is a psychological defense mechanism where a person subconsciously denies his or her own attributes, thoughts, and emotions, which are then ascribed to the outside world, usually to other people. Thus, projection involves imagining or projecting the belief that others originate those feelings.

Projection reduces anxiety by allowing the expression of the unwanted unconscious impulses or desires without letting the conscious mind recognize them.

http://isstutter..co.uk/2011/10/freudian-projection.html

From a psychoanalytic viewpoint, projection is an intrapsychic process that creates or shapes a perception (or a collection of perceptions) with reference to an object in the outside world, which, although the subject believes he or she is perceiving it "objectively," is actually being perceived according to the subject's own characteristics; t

http://www.enotes.com/projection-reference/projection-188243

I don't know why no one will ask me to back it up, but I'll go ahead and do at a later date anyway.
Nooooo worry! When meself ready I will do your own 'psychoanalogy' for you. wink

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 8:16pm On Sep 01, 2013
Ubenedictus: just as i consider the lutherian church so do i consider the anglican communion. It is simply a christian community.
Weldone on ur contradictions
A person who says a "Christian community" is not Jesus' Church is talking of someone else's "contradictions"! lol grin

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 7:29pm On Sep 01, 2013
^^^ Crybaby don also become run run baby! grin
smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 7:23pm On Sep 01, 2013
Ubenedictus: i just reread ur earlier post where you said ignatuis described the catholic church as consisting of local church united under her bishops. Are we talking about that catholic church or ur idea of a church without bishops? Or do u love contradicting urself?
Abeg, leave me alone bo and just post whatever you like.

By the way you should let your Anglican friend know that you agree that the Anglican Church is not Jesus' Church as your colleague indicated here https://www.nairaland.com/1257440/catholic-catholic-back-catholic/1#17812520

smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 6:54pm On Sep 01, 2013
Ubenedictus: hahahah humour me!
Nope! wink

Afterall one of y'all "friends" don do me psychoanalogy (or whatever) ----- courtesy of Wikipedia. lol grin

smiley

Logicboy03: Fail. Pops and moms aint catholic........fail fail fail
Na so! smiley
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 6:44pm On Sep 01, 2013
Logicboy03: Lol.....the pig enjoys rolling in filth

Just like the op enjoys rolling in lies so that he can put his minstry on equal footing with the catholic church in the history of xtianity......I expected Italo not to engage.

Play with a pig abd you get filthy
Ah, you have to defend the faith of your papa and mama! Understandable. smiley

Ubenedictus: so u can't give d link that attributes that prayer to st chysostum? Hehehe
Of course I can; but I won't.

So you cannot do the simple task of using google. Hehehehehehehehehe grin

smiley
^^^ Like say that one concern me, lol grin

Nor be ya "friend" you dey talk to so?

Tell am now say Anglicans are "heretics" with no "apostolic succession" whose ordinations/orders are "absolutely null and utterly void"! grin
Christianity EtcRe: From catholic To "Catholic" And Back To catholic! by Enigma(op): 3:51pm On Sep 01, 2013
Make we dey look dem! grin

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 (of 198 pages)