Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 2:33pm On Sep 21, 2024 |
teeshet: If I knock your head. Mikel does not have one percent of both talents. He was just a peripheral ball passer and was lucky to play for chelsea. He didn't do anything spectacular Lucky? This is ridiculous |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 2:30pm On Sep 21, 2024 |
TheGoodJoe:
I don't understand why you want to blame Osimhen. PSG came with a fantastic deal and his club sabotaged it. The club attacked him racially with him being their best player.
I don't know anyone in the history of football being treated this way. The reason Osimhen is in Turkey is because he did not want to work with the slave terms of Napoli.
When Osimhen does wrong, I will support any critique against him but in this case, you are off tangent. Don’t mind them, some folks are just damn ignorant, but for colour of their skin, osihmen and Lookman have no reason playing for the clubs they currently are now. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 9:09pm On Sep 20, 2024 |
zicky: yes he won so many laurels at Chelsea but as at when he came second to Messi, he was someone we expect to at least get an APOTY. He did came close to APOTY but for yaya toure. I think there were just too many good African players in his time, drogba, toure, essien, etc. still tried to hold his own. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 8:39pm On Sep 20, 2024 |
zicky: Mikel was very good, I do see him as someone with the talent of jayjay and kanu combine. Unfortunately he didn't attain that height we all expected him to reach. Height as in what? I don’t understand |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 8:38pm On Sep 20, 2024 |
Joezinho: Lol. We all know he’s not 23 and that shouldn’t be a debate. I ain’t there o  |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 4:23pm On Sep 20, 2024 |
Joezinho: This victor boniface talks too much and end up silly. Man is a baller but he talks too much.
Make he nor let Social Media put am for wahala. Does he know the year them collect N30 for viewing center?  man know thyself (make una play that video to this boy o) |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 4:05pm On Sep 20, 2024 |
[quote author=charlesemeka85 post=132086002]Marcel Desailly speaks about how good Mikel was when he trialed with Chelsea as a 16 year old kid straight from 9ja forward this video to Oliseh  |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goke7: 3:56pm On Sep 20, 2024 |
Goodenoch: Seriously though, it's a nice quip but it's not logical.
The question is not about that person. It's about someone else in a specific dilemma. It doesn't make sense to imply that the person is being hypocritical without knowing how much they earn, what their circumstances are, what their spouse is doing (and earning), if they have children etc.
Even when I answered I said "I would stay back" implying that if I was in that person's shoes that's what I would do. Doesn't mean that 5m would make me move back today but I surely have my own figure. I still maintain that band 5 salary with kids of that age and a spouse who'll likely not be able to get work in his field for years is a much less appealing proposition than some are making it seem, but of course it's a matter of personal preferences.
People are still living and living very well in Nigeria in spite of all the challenges, and 5m will enable any family to live very well and overcome many of those challenges easily. Private Healthcare insurance, living in a very secure area, childcare, other household help, etc. that will very likely be inaccessible here in the UK on that salary.
I just checked and apparently the take home of a band 5 staff in the NHS is actually 1900 ish and not 2300 as I previously estimated. Accommodation for the family will very likely take half that. For those saying london extra pay, the cost of living in or near London will also take the same proportion if not more. And as for overtime - every hour overtime work is another hour that childcare needs to be paid for (or that the husband will need to cover and not be working).
Maybe the UK still makes more sense for some, but it's certainly not as clear cut as some seem to think. It's not really about logic, we all speak due to our different personal experiences and I do respect that. But the issue of emigration is a matter of time and chance and despite all the difficulties associated with a band 5 salary what about the chance of career progression over time, the international work experience, and some other positive opportunities that might come in respect of the hardship around childcare and others. My major concern is that a band 5 job directly from Nigeria does not happen every day and I hear some saying here that nurses will continue to be in demand, really? with the way countries are gradually closing their doors and politicians leaning towards the right? The Uk is truly not eldorado but might be a door to greater things that can easily be missed on the altar of living costs and others. And just to add again. Nigeria has truly changed, Nigeria of 2023 is even different from 2024, You can spend just 20k on electricity units in just a week so let's be careful as we advise people back home. An aged relative back home had a stroke and was rushed to a general hospital (public hospital o) and we ended up spending well over 500k on treatment costs. The only time I can advise someone not to come at all is on a student visa because of the chances of switching to a work visa which is almost becoming impossible everyday. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goke7: 2:53pm On Sep 20, 2024 |
revived2: Why haven't you comeback to Nigeria to stay sir/ma😐😐 😂 in fact this is the best response so far 3 gbosa for you. I hope all the patriots won’t dodge this question. Just like those who came in years ago will complain that immigrants are becoming too much in uk but will never volunteer to leave to reduce the number 😜 |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 8:20am On Sep 20, 2024 |
robosky02: ⚽️⚽️⚽️ The Moroccan FA believes that "Brahim Diaz" will win the African Footballer Of The Year award.
Ahead of Nigeria Super Eagles and Atlanta winger "Ademola Lookman"
Morocco dreams of having an African Ballon d'Or again, something that has not happened since Mustapha Hadji won it in 1998.
Brahim Diaz last season
- 12 Goals - 9 Assists - Laliga winner - Champions League winner - Joined Morocco 6 months ago - Never participated in AFCON - Was not remembered by Ballon d'Or
Ademola Lookman last season
- 21 Goals - 11 Assists - Europa League final best player - 16 MOTM awards - Atlanta Player of the Season - AFCON best 11 - Europa League winner - Ballon d'Or nominee - AFCON silver medalist - Coppa Italian medalist - The first player to score a hat trick in a UEFA Final.
Your think about this #football #PremierLeague When did Diaz started playing for Morocco? Which kind ojoro these people wan play, if olise just agreed to play for us will he have gotten nomination for APOTY. Let everyone be guided o |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 11:24pm On Sep 19, 2024 |
Ihenzy: He wasn't happy but I noticed how he walked away without causing drama Dude na gentleman if na osihmen na so wahala go start with teammates |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 10:02pm On Sep 19, 2024 |
LoverOfEvil: He was standing close to the spot It looked liked he wanted to take it I don't think Retegui who just came to the club will be the one taking spot kicks Guy I was just political with my earlier response, don't tempt me further me to say what's on my mind, let's allow this to pass  |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 9:59pm On Sep 19, 2024 |
charlesemeka85: good point made but still there is nothing wrong with reaching out to the boy first
The team wasn’t stable when the duo of lookman and fisayo agreed to play for us One of the reasons I will always appreciate Lookman. But let's not forget that if England had not snubbed him at the senior level, would he have bothered? takes me back to what Mikel said about such players. Every case looks different though for each player like who influences who (Iwobi) and other factors. I do think if we can manage what we do have currently, we should be attracting more than ever before. Again does the NFF even have such an arrangement or setup to reach such players? |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 9:44pm On Sep 19, 2024 |
LoverOfEvil: Why didn't Ademola Lookman take the penalty I don't think he's the one delegated for spot kicks for the club |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 9:42pm On Sep 19, 2024 |
charlesemeka85: they hv to reach out to him first. You can’t assume such sitting in your house Until there's more stability in the Eagles' setup, we have to manage our expectations. We can't continue to change coaches like diapers and expect every Nigerian-born kid anywhere to play for us. We need to put our house in order, and these kids will even be the ones eager to play for us. If we can consistently qualify for the World Cup and I think we can like Cameroon does, these kids will be dying to play for us. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 9:01pm On Sep 19, 2024 |
Joezinho: What have you used to judge Osimhen so far? Is it his goals against bums like CAR, Lesotho , São Tomé and Liberia? Or was it by scoring against those carpenters that made him win the afcon player of the year? Or what impact does he have in the all the afcons he has participated in so far?  I can't even remember sef if we ever got to the Afcon final with Martins as our striker so rest bro, besides martins with all his exploits in Europe never became APOTY, oya talk another one.  |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 8:24pm On Sep 19, 2024 |
AlhajiDanladi: Plus the comparison is rather baseless, Obafemi had a solid head-start to his career in Europe when he moved to Italy at 16 years of age and came through the ranks of Inter Milan. Emenike was one of those random players who was discovered while playing his football in Turkey in his mid twenties and wasn't even a Super Eagles player up until he got a late call up to international football in 2011.
Obagoal was clearly the more talented player and had an overall better career, but Emenike scored more vital and clutch goals for us WHEN IT REALLY MATTERED (Afcon win and WCQs). You know why we still feel the 94 eagles set were the best ever? It’s because we didn’t have access to watch European leagues back then like we have been doing from the mid 2000s so we strictly judged them based on their national team performance cos that was more relevant to us meanwhile that particular set had just very few players doing so well at club level but who cares then what you do for your club if you didn’t deliver for the national team. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 8:12pm On Sep 19, 2024 |
charlesemeka85: I will start Yak, bench Osimhen and Martins , won’t call up Emenike and arrest Ighalo  You be wicked person o arrest Ighalo ke make Oga quintessential no go give you blow o my hand no Dey there |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 7:22pm On Sep 19, 2024 |
Joezinho: Lol. His name is not obagoal for nothing.
Martin’s shadow was a better footballer than emenike. I have no recollection of any highlight moments from emenike’s career aside the afcon 2013. Good player but largely forgettable. Won the afcon but it is not a trophy counting exercise. If that is the case, then fegor ogude > seyi olofinjana.. Just say you forgot the player and you personally adore martins. Emenike apart from winning Afcon also won the golden boot at that competition. Yes his goals was that key. Can’t remember whatever martins did at Afcon. We can’t continue to use epl or European leagues to judge our players alone without their immense contributions to our profile as a soccer nation. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 6:38pm On Sep 19, 2024 |
Joezinho: Start Obafemi martins. Bench Osimhen and ighalo. Don’t call up emenike. Arrest yakubu for missing that goal at the WC!!!  An Afcon winner, issorite |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goke7: 7:44pm On Sep 17, 2024 |
Lexusgs430: [/b]
1 - Corruption sector.... 2- Bad governance sector..... 3 - Gbajue sector....... Agbero sector nko aka owo mi da |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 5:29pm On Sep 17, 2024 |
Mujtahida: What of our own Oliseh? Gattuso nko, Edgar Davids them. I thought the idea was to pair them with a creative player like the ones you mentioned. But gradually the creative players are moving into the background while the destroyers occupy front place. My brother this modern football do us strong thing o those days when France Dey play Portugal you know it’s going be a beautiful game in the middle with zidane and figo come add Rui Costa join am. Abi na Netherlands with Davids and seedorf for middle Abi na Italy with gattuso and pirlo omo the game don dry today o. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 1:24pm On Sep 17, 2024 |
Mujtahida: Exactly. When they were praising Kante, it used to baffle me cos me I come from a football template where it is the 10s that earns plaudits. Kante is good oo but I'm saying that in times past such players don't earn praise as much as was showered on him. Only underlines how football has changed.
So we too after crying and crying that modern football is barren, we clean our eyes and chop the eba without soup that is modern football. Truth is both Roy Keane and Patrick Viera are such players too but in that era we still saw that creativity from the middle from the likes of Zidane, Figo until till the Xavi era but Kante come scatter the table kpatakpata 😂 |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 10:31am On Sep 17, 2024 |
Mujtahida: Na them dey praise efficiency. Well, creativity requires some bit of slowing down pace to dribble, to create space, to give that pass. Modern football is fast paced, space is closed and you want creative players in the mould of Maradona or Zidane or Ronaldinho? Manage your De Bruyne. That's the best you can have. The midfield has been taken over by workhorses. Yes o from the days of Makalele to Kante beasts and bullies don take over |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goke7: 2:35pm On Sep 16, 2024 |
NurseGrace: He is a civil engineer . No other skill asides that. And he is of the opinion that I should accept the job in the UK mainly because of the kids. If he has all his professional qualifications and experience as a civil engineer and he can check the UK equivalent, he's got some good prospects in the transportation and construction industry in the UK. Let him dig further, he could hit gold. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goke7: 2:03pm On Sep 16, 2024 |
Zahra29: So I recently helped a family member apply for a Nigerian passport from the UK and I was shocked at the cost - £200 for a standard 10 years??😳 Wow! But it's actually more when you add in the £50 they had to pay to get the prerequisite national number and the £20 mandatory postal order. That's almost £300 for one person....add in travel for people coming in from outside London and it could be nearer £350.
I think it's an outrageous cost for the service (which isn't even a priority service - they have to wait over 2 months for their biometric appointment!). And don't get me started on the near insurmountable challenges we faced trying to upload a compliant passport photo. In the end we had to pay for an app which bumped up the overall cost even more 😵💫(why,oh why, in 2024 can they not embed a face scanning or similar technology to make the process easier for their customers citizens?)
How can families of 4 or 5 afford to renew their passports? I'm surprised there isn't more outrage about this tbh.
(For context a British passport is £88.50 for 10 years and a standard service which takes less than 3 weeks).
Sorry for the rant lol, but it was a very stressful process 🫠 sorry for all that you had to go through, perhaps we can all begin to appreciate the huge challenges of living in the UK as a Nigerian. So when you see us shout about the UK visa costs, ihs fees, and taxes all you can see on display is a conglomerate of all our burdens as a people. No matter the outrage and in this current inflationary world, who will blink? none from either back home or where we are so you just have to carry your cross and keep hoping. Good to know you got it sorted. I even had a colleague who just told me today she had a biometric appointment for December, I had to tell her to re-check as some weeks back all appointments had been cancelled with everyone expected to reschedule, she never knew until today that her appointment like we say in Nigeria has entered voicemail and there was no email or announcement whatever to notify anyone. Welcome to our world sis. |
Travel › Re: Nigeria, UK Battle Over Air Peace Landing Right In Heathrow by Goke7: 1:19pm On Sep 16, 2024 |
The UK is only protecting its own local content  make una no blame them o na sapa things. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goke7: 12:59pm On Sep 16, 2024 |
NurseGrace: Please I need to make an important decision in my life and I need opinions expecially from people in the Uk. I am a Nurse in Nigeria who just got 2 job offers, the 1st is with an oil company in Nigeria with a monthly pay of 5million monthly and the second is a job in UK with the NHS. Please I need suggestions please, if you were in my shoes which will u choose. This decision is very important to me. And by the way I am 35yrs with a husband who is a civil servant here and 2 children (5years and 7years). you have two great opportunities, you and your hubby need to sit down and consider the pros and cons. But in my own opinion, the continuous devaluation of the naira will make me prefer the NHS option but be warned the UK is no tea party, the culture shocks and peculiarity of the UK society will surely take their toll on your entire family (are you ready for this?) but if you can have a roadmap on what you'll like to achieve in the long term, I will say use the UK as a launching pad for your nursing career to land in North America as your final destination where your nursing career will find more expression and better value for your family. Are you ready? If you are then give it a go. You won't regret it. More importantly, get the 100% buy-in of your spouse before you make the move. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 12:40pm On Sep 16, 2024 |
charlesemeka85: The NFF should reach out to Werder Bremen’s German born Justin Njinma. Will be a good addition to the team’s attack
He reminds me so much of Osaze Odemwingie. Blessed with pace, skills and in addition he shoots with both legs effortlessly is he willing to play? we no wan hear another story o |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 10:34am On Sep 16, 2024 |
charlesemeka85: Victor Boniface ⚽⚽🅰️ Ademola Lookman ⚽🅰️ Wilfred Ndidi 🅰️🅰️ Victor Osimhen 🅰️ Frank Onyeka 🅰️ Moses Simon 🅰️
The Eagles ate good this weekend 😋 No surprises they were all in form during the international break. For the first time we might have got our national team selection right on merit. No passengers or extra luggage |
Foreign Affairs › Re: Gunshots Fired In Trump's Vicinity At Golf Course by Goke7: 11:17pm On Sep 15, 2024 |
uunwanaobong3: DEEP STATE REALLY WANT TO KILL MR. TRUMP.
THEY HAVE TRIED TO KILL HIM 2 TIMES BUT GOD SAVES HIM.
I AM AFRAID THAT THEY WILL TRY TO KILL HIM THE 3RD TIME AND THEY MIGHT SUCCEED. THEY WILL NEVER GIVE UP UNTIL THEY KILL HIM.
TRUMP NEED GOD FOR REAL.
AND IF BY GOD GRACE HE GET TO THE WHITE HOUSE, TRUMP SHOULD BE MERCILESS WITH THE DEEP STATE, HE SHOULD DISBAND CIA, FBI AND SECRET SERVICE.... HE SHOULD CARRY OUT CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION OF DOJ, JUSTICE DEPARTMENT, PENTAGON AND HOUSE AND SENATE. A LOT OF PEOPLE MUST GO TO JAIL..... POWER MUST BE RETURN TO STATE THROUGH STATE POLICE.
HE MUST REDUCE THE POWERS OF THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AND FORM A VERY SMALL GOVERNMENT AT THE FEDERAL LEVEL.
AMERICA IS BECOMING MORE DANGEROUS FOR AMERICANS. 😂 Make he just finish America kpatakpata can you read again what you just wrote here |
Foreign Affairs › Re: Gunshots Fired In Trump's Vicinity At Golf Course by Goke7: 11:14pm On Sep 15, 2024 |
RaptorX: The FBI just described this as a second assassination attempt, so all the people dropping dumb comments about how this is staged or it was just two people shooting at each other know more than the FBI.
He who have ears let him hear, Trump WILL be elected and sworn in and you can take that to the bank. But he will not finish his term before they use a black assasin to take him out leading to a very bloody race/ civil war in America and Europe.
This is going to pave the way for the beast, the man of perdition of Revelation 17 11 to become America's president and basically the One World government leader in a special election. And if he doesn’t win, what will happen? Who is chasing him, is he the only one that has aspired to be president? When last did you hear any American politician being chased with guns even in recent elections cycle? There’s nothing special about Trump, he’s been president before and it ended in chaos cos that’s who he is. The man is chaos personified. |