Stats: 3,330,933 members, 8,447,799 topics. Date: Sunday, 19 July 2026 at 02:17 AM

Insight04's Posts

Nairaland ForumInsight04's ProfileInsight04's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 10 pages)

AutosRe: From Cotonou - Rover 600 series for N650k and N700k by insight04: 12:59pm On May 24, 2010
Femi,

What is the spare part situation with Rover cars, are they easily obtainable in Nigeria? Are mechanics quite aware of how to maintain the Rover car?
Jobs/VacanciesRe: How Much Does Procter And Gamble Pay Msc Holders by insight04: 12:54pm On May 24, 2010
jay bee:
Looks like everyone is being invited for dis same interview.
Back in the days ('04) when careers in Africa used to be d hitch you can be rest assured of getting real interviews and outcome from such interviews.
Nowadays, it's more of drop your CV and we'd get back to you.
All I'm saying in a nutshell is don't get your hopes to high and just attend the thing with open mind.

Advice for y'all is too focus more on applying directly to 'em multinational coys i.e chevron, mobil, shell et al as they have a more structured recruitment process for UK and US graduates
There is nothing wrong in attending the Career in Africa interviews. Most of the companies do make on the spot recruitment if they are impressed with anyones's CV or interview performance. My friend dropped his CV and after one year was asked if he'd like to work in Saudi Arabia with an Oil company (and he had no UK qualifications ). My advise. Make the best of every opportunity life presents or alternatively, create your own opportunity-ask questions there, drop your CV, insist on getting a one-to-one interview with Recruiters. It could be your day.
Jobs/VacanciesRe: How Much Does Ecowas Commission Pay ? by insight04(op): 12:46pm On May 24, 2010
Bump
Car TalkIs The Rover Car Market In Nigeria Lucrative ? by insight04(op): 12:17pm On May 24, 2010
Hello Folks,

I wanted to start acquiring lots of under 10 year old Rover Cars with a view of exporting and selling them in Nigeria. I wanted to find out if the market for Rover cars in Nigeria is every robust/lucrative? Are the cars easy to maintain and are the spare parts easily accessible in Nigeria? Can the RHD be easily converted in Lagos ?

Car TalkRe: Tincan Port Congestion by insight04: 11:26pm On May 23, 2010
Bumped up
Jobs/VacanciesRe: How Much Does Ecowas Commission Pay ? by insight04(op): 6:32pm On May 22, 2010
bump
BusinessRe: Cost Of Living In Lagos, Nigeria by insight04: 6:27pm On May 22, 2010
Marcelmona:
Hi everybody,

I'm from Italy, I work in the investment sector in Monaco, I've a nigerian girlfriend and we've a baby girls.
I live 9y in Usa back in the 90, and with all the respect for your country, with all this talk about 1° NIGERIAN-2°AFRICANS-3° AND SO ON Nigeria is at risk to become like ITALY (and this is orrible ),

- WE DON'T WANT FOREIGN!!
- WE ARE THE ONLY BEST!!
- WE CAN DO EVERYTHING
That's why my country it's so poo and will be poor, we are an old country, because we burn all the youth, we don't give a chance to our pepole, but in the same time we don't want FOREIGN, it's a deadly mix.
OUR YOUTH they are brain wash and RACIST, complain about everything and blame the foreign, the politics are corrupt. We are complan that foreign they come only for prostitution and criminality, BUT WE DON'T OFFER ANYTINGHELSE TO THEM, when foreign graduet come, they escape, because the can't stand the corruptions.
The difference between NIGERIA AND ITALY is not BLACK AND WHITE, is that you are 150m and YOUNG, AND HARD WORKER, YOU could be a giant.
But is not enough to say we are the best, you have to prove it, and in business TODAY NO COMPANY TAKE ANY RISK BECAUSE THERE IS NO MONEY AROUND ANYMORE, EVEN IN THE USA, THERE IS NO TIME TO WAIT SOMEONE THAT WILL LEARN THE JOB, COMPANY NEED THE RESULT QUICK, OTHERWISE THEY LOOSE MONEY.
To end I believe NIGERIA has what it takes to become important, but needs also to learn how the world turns and then can ruled.
DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE THAT MY COUNTRY DID

Best regards to every body
Couldnt have said it better. We shouldnt fall into this Xenophobic trap in this era of globalisation and economic integration. Any company has the right to employ anyone they want in order to accomplish their organisation objectives and meet their business needs.
AutosRe: Straight From U.S. - 2010 Toyota 4runner Limited ***PRICE REDUCED*** by insight04: 5:59pm On May 22, 2010
Pelpelly:
N8.75m

REMEMBER, WE ARE A MEMBER OF THE NIGERIAN CORPORATE AFFAIRS COMMISSION.
Might like to know that all the companies that defaulted on their bank loans and caused 9 banks to be taken over by the CBN were fully registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission. Being registered doesnt guarantee the corporate governance or solvency of your company.
RomanceRe: How Do I Get A Naija Boy To Love Me? by insight04: 5:48pm On May 22, 2010
If you are really concerned about SUBMISSION  or SUBMITTING to your Man then you need to listen to this Woman and hear what she has to say about it . Compulsive viewing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQ0xH28YL9k
AutosRe: Quick Sale: 2005 Toyota Avensis For Sale(registered): 1.3m by insight04: 1:01pm On May 22, 2010
viperman:
Owner supposedly bought it Brand new here.
I know but the car is a LHD conversion. Toyota Avensis cars are manufactured in Derby, UK.
AutosRe: COTONOU CARS BUYERS FORUM, ORDER FOR YOU CAR(S) NOW @ AFFORDABLE PRICE by insight04: 12:57pm On May 22, 2010
Bump
AutosRe: BUY VERY CLEAN AND PERFECT CAR(S) FROM COTONUO AT AFFORDABLE PRICE by insight04: 12:54pm On May 22, 2010
Bump
AutosRe: TELL US YOUR BUDGET 4 YOUR DREAMZ CAR(S) AND LETS GET IT 4 YOU FROM COTONUO... by insight04: 12:53pm On May 22, 2010
Bump
AutosRe: M by insight04: 1:05am On May 22, 2010
Bump
AutosRe: LIVE NIGERIAN SOIL PICS**03 Infiniti Qx4. Divine Pre-order By JIDEWURA of NL**>> by insight04: 11:52am On May 21, 2010
How much for the 2001 Toyota Camry ?
AutosRe: CUSTOMS CLEARING AGENT ( ADEXFEM ) by insight04: 10:30pm On May 20, 2010
How much would it cost to clear a Nissan Primera 2000/2001 and Toyota Avensis 2000 ?

AutosRe: SOLD!SOLD!SOLD!Clean Reg 2001 Honda Civic For N650k by insight04: 10:25pm On May 20, 2010
Obviously this car has lots of mechanical faults. Honda Civic 2001 for N650k ? Give me a break
CareerRe: Human Resource Professionals: by insight04: 10:23pm On May 20, 2010
The so-called Labour Act in Nigeria needs to be upgraded. Its far behind modern day employment realities.

By the way does anyone know what is the minimum wage is in Nigeria ?

Under what employment law do staff of ECOWAS Commission in Abuja operate ?
BusinessRe: Passenger Transportation Business ? by insight04: 8:01pm On May 20, 2010
Kafin:
^^^^ Two diverse views from Harakiri and Insight04.

@Harakiri, If the drivers will make =N=5000, before delivering =N=1000, and bank financing can make it work (as you said), then the issue is not with the business but the business manager.

@ Insight04, I am looking at this business and will like to have an idea of the "clauses" that you have inserted into your contract with the drivers, and some ideas of the "early signs of driver misconduct.
@Kafin,

You can draw up whatever clause you want to so far as its not illegal. You need to do a "dry trial" of the business yourself (become a bus/taxi driiver or conductor for a day) and know the route the bus will be used for. Know the estimated mileage being used every day by taking records. Have an idea of the estimated daily returns you expect. If you set it too high, they will over use your vehicle. If you set it too low, you will end up funding the drivers other business.

One clause to insert is, if the driver does not make the agreed daily return then the agreement is void. In that case the driver will even borrow money to make returns to you whenever he gets a shortfall. Dont take " I beg sir" if he dafaults. Be shrewd and end the contract and look for someone else. As a business man you need to make tough business decisions and understand human psychology

Periodically take the vehicle off the road and take it for servicing/ diagnostic testing to reveal any latent defects. get a car tracker and monitor your car from your laptop or iPhone( i.e. the speed being used, and the areas and distance being covered).

When the driver see's how much attention to detail you input to your transportation business he will take heed to himself and re-adjust his greed guage. Each of my vehicles produces enough income to buy another one within 5-6 months-thats why i dont do hire purchase agreements with drivers. Each vehicle is a Cash Cow and you should be able to milk enough profit from the cow till it gets old.
Jobs/VacanciesRe: How Much Does Ecowas Commission Pay ? by insight04(op): 7:43pm On May 20, 2010
Bump
Jobs/VacanciesRe: Free Oil Company Test Format Part 2 by insight04: 7:42pm On May 20, 2010
Why are you diverting customers from this site to yours just to download a free Test format. If you really had genuine intentions you would have attached the form here for people to download. You have made enough money from people here through Club Freedom and Nospecto already, we are now wiser
AutosRe: Pre Order Your Car From The Usa, 40% Deposit, 21 Days Guaranteed by insight04: 7:37pm On May 20, 2010
[quote author=inspired_m link=topic=158762.msg6067322#msg6067322 date=1274376910]
The Nissan Primera was replaced with the Infiniti G20 in the US, I sell mainly US Specs Vehicles, If youre interested in those, i can give you an accurate landing cost.

cool cool[/quote]Kindly give me the cost for the Infinity model then.
AutosRe: Quick Sale: 2005 Toyota Avensis For Sale(registered): 1.3m by insight04: 12:44pm On May 20, 2010
Is the car a UK model ?
AutosRe: A Fiat 2003 For Sale 650k ! by insight04: 12:40pm On May 20, 2010
Which car workshop helped you with the LHD conversion? Kindly send the details to insight2004@yahoo.co.uk

AutosRe: American Spec., 2005 Toyota Camry by insight04: 12:35pm On May 20, 2010
What are the aforementioned issues you had had with the car ?
AutosRe: Coming Soon: Orobo Choose how You Want It.... Cotonue Or Lagos by insight04: 12:30pm On May 20, 2010
Hit me with your final price at insight2004@yahoo.co.uk and lets close the deal today.
AutosRe: Pre Order Your Car From The Usa, 40% Deposit, 21 Days Guaranteed by insight04: 12:25pm On May 20, 2010
Whats your price range for Nissan Primera models from 1999 to 2002 ?

Jobs/VacanciesRe: Free Oil Company Test Format Part 2 by insight04: 12:20pm On May 20, 2010
Stop wasting your time here and concentrate on your money making blog
Jobs/VacanciesHow Much Does Ecowas Commission Pay ? by insight04(op): 12:17pm On May 20, 2010
I have been invited to attend an interview for a senior position with ECOWAS Commission at a Recruitment summit in London but have no idea about their salary structure. Do they pay in USD? or Naira equivalent? Do they have good fringe benefits for their staff? Any ECOWAS staff to give tips about the job expectations?
BusinessRe: Passenger Transportation Business ? by insight04: 11:23am On May 20, 2010
[quote author=G-reycells link=topic=331369.msg6054632#msg6054632 date=1274186506]Transportation business is profit in Nigeria (almost all businesses are, except for manufacturing cos of power and policy somersaults).

Tis better u fund it with bank money if u run a limited liability coy grin grin grin[/quote]
harakiri:
Really? Which ones? Is it local, interstate or cross country? Have you ran a transport business before? I have. . .both okada, local and interstate transport and right now, i cannot advise my enemy to venture into such.The stories they will be telling you will raise your blood pressure above normal.It doesn't matter if it's daily delivery or hire purchase.There are only very few that will use your bus and honor the agreement.I once had a driver who agreed to a hire purchase agreement where he would deliver a specified amount weekly and within a year, own the bus.This guy used this bus recklessly, raised money to buy his own bus in 7 months and started giving me one story or the other.The agreement broke down and he showed disinterest about continuing driving the bus (which had become a wreck by the way).It was later i discovered the reason why.

Most (if not all) drivers in Nigeria are outrightly dishonest.Before they give you N1,000, they will make sure that they have N5,000.They will ensure they make more money out of the bus that yourself.I am telling you this from several experiences.TRANSPORTATION BUSINESS IN NIGERIA IS A NO-GO AREA unless it's a bank assisted project.

End of!
Fallacy of generalisation. You shouldnt use your personal business failure as the standard of how profitable a transportation venture would turn out to be. There are also lots of people with success stories too. If you entrust your 'daily delivery' or 'hire purchase' to the right kind of person it becomes a 'win-win' situation. If a driver starts to show signs of misconduct, you drop them instead of over-looking their short-commings. As a Business manager you should take the blame for your hindsight and naivety instead of the 'crooked' driver. As a Manager you need to be in control and shrewd. The vehicle is your asset and your 'cash-cow'. I have inserted clauses in contracts with drivers that allow me to sack them for any alleged breach. When each vehicle breaks even (i.e has generated enough funds to replace itself) you change your strategy. Drivers are smart. Once they notice that you aare just relaxed and waiting for your daily take-away without close supervision/monitoring they will take advantage of your aloofness. Wake up and smell the coffee.
Jobs/VacanciesRe: Careers In Africa Uk Summit by insight04: 10:59am On May 20, 2010
Bounce714:
What is this guy talking about
Some of us that sent ou application as far back as Feb 2010
We no get reply
Abeg go joooooooooooooo cool
If you had no reply then it means that no recruiting company showed interest in your CV. However, you can still attend the summit and seize the chance to get a one-to-one meeting with the recruiters during the summit. You can never tell if you can make a good first impression on them.
AutosRe: Pre Order Your Car From The Usa, 40% Deposit, 21 Days Guaranteed by insight04: 6:51pm On May 19, 2010
Can you give me your price range for Toyota Avensis models for 2000 to 2005

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 10 pages)