Stats: 3,326,875 members, 8,428,449 topics. Date: Wednesday, 17 June 2026 at 12:39 PM

Joebie's Posts

Nairaland ForumJoebie's ProfileJoebie's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 (of 621 pages)

SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 8:45pm On Sep 15, 2017
I just said wrongly. But I gave you examples of names that were spelled differently by relatives.

Consider this name, Alexis Olympia Ohanan Jr. -- Serena's daughter.
Strange but true.
My sister, a name is just a name. Call people what they want to be called. And spell it the way they spell it.

Modified
Actually I said differently, not wrongly.

safarigirl:
is Adamu Hausa or Muslim? Cause Gambo is Hausa, but not Muslim.

Why will they wrongly spell a native name? Is the boy a diaspora baby or born and bred in Nigeria.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 8:40pm On Sep 15, 2017
Mikel was wrongly spelled.. so?
My last name is spelled in other ways by some of my relatives. My mother's maiden name also spelled differently by some of her relatives.. I can go on.
And why can't the boy also be Hausa?

safarigirl:
First, Chikwubike is either wrongly spelt, or my knowledge of Igbo is pretty limited

Second, Adamu usually doesn't follow names like that....maybe Ishaya or Gambo, yes, but Adamu? Odd undecided
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 8:29pm On Sep 15, 2017
Wetin do the name? Why you go question the name?
safarigirl:
what kind of name is Chikwubike Adamu though? undecided
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 8:08pm On Sep 15, 2017
A good Golden Eaglets prospect

Modified
Well he'd be 18 by then

tbaba1234:
A relatively unknown 16 year old Nigerian "Chikwubuike Adamu" made the bench for Austrian club FC Liefering today.

Source: @Supereaglescomp
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 6:36pm On Sep 15, 2017
Leicester City's Ndidi Is The Top Tackler In The Premier League Ahead Of Kante, Matic
Published: September 15, 2017
Leicester City's Ndidi Is The Top Tackler In The Premier League Ahead Of Kante, MaticLeicester City Young Player of the Year Wilfred Ndidi is the joint-top tackler in the English Premier League after the opening four matches, according to the official website of the Premier League.

The Nigeria international has clocked up more tackles than Chelsea midfielder N'Golo Kante and Nemanja Matic, who is Manchester United's top tackler.

Ndidi has made 17 tackles, level with West Ham United's Pedro Obiang, 4.25 tackles on average since the start of the season.

Cédric Soares (Southampton), Idrissa Gueye (Everton), N'Golo Kante (Chelsea) and Christopher Schindler (Huddersfield Town) round of the top six tacklers in the English top-flight.

Despite Ndidi's all-action style, the Super Eagle is very disciplined as he has received only one yellow card, which he was shown in the 84th minute of Leicester's 2-1 loss to Chelsea last weekend.

Top Six Tacklers In The Premier League

1) Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City) - 17
2) Pedro Obiang (West Ham) - 17
3) Cédric Soares (Southampton) - 15
Idrissa Gueye (Everton) - 15
N'Golo Kante (Chelsea) - 15
Christopher Schindler (Huddersfield Town) - 15

19) Nemanja Matic (Manchester United) - 10

Ifeanyi Emmanuel

--ANS
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 6:35pm On Sep 15, 2017
hahaha...
No sentiments here.. Let's put SE behind now.. na here we dey take dey chop, says Ighalo

TheSuperNerd:
Odion Ighalo is a very wicked man.... haba! You dey play your national team captain's club and you know say u dey bad-ass form... yet you still shine like fire... haba!

One goal and One assist for Ighalo in his team's (Changchun Yatai) 5-1 away trumping of Mikel Obi's Tianjin Teda.... wink

My people, that is from the land of Kung-fu and Shaolin .. grin

#ChineseSuperLeague
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 6:33pm On Sep 15, 2017
I totally agree my brother.
Icon79:
Very well said, Joebie. knowing Mikel as I know him, he's not the most ambitious person in the world. So you made a good point ... I won't be surprised if Mikel decides to end his career at Teda, if they don't get relegated. After all, this is the same dude was contented to retire at Chelsea's bench even when less talented players like Romeu (sp) were being played ahead of him.

O pari
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 6:32pm On Sep 15, 2017
BascoVanVeli:
lol I agree with u sha
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 5:20pm On Sep 15, 2017
Costa should have this in mind. Moses is still a winger. Nothing wrong having both play at the same time.

femianski:
#copied
saw this on a Chelsea facebook page
Despite being such a key performer in Chelsea’s title-winning side last season, it would be little surprise if Moses were to lose his place to the exciting Zappacosta this weekend, and perhaps for much of the rest of the season.
The 25-year-old looks a real talent and one who could do real damage to Arsenal with his pace, energy and quality going forward on that right-hand side.

Of course, Arsenal are an entirely different calibre of opposition, but Conte hinted he would continue with the Italian after being thoroughly impressed by his performance in midweek.
‘I’m really pleased with his performance,’ Conte said. ‘Now we have to continue to play with him and the other players. He played a really good game. Now he has to continue to work to improve, but for sure, Davide knew very well my style and idea of football. For this reason I decided to start with him. He was prepared to play, and played very well.’ [Metro]
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 5:18pm On Sep 15, 2017
I would like to see Teda relegated. Else Mikel would love to retire there..

I want to see Mikel move to a different league (France, Spain, Germany maybe). He still has 5 years or more years left.

BascoVanVeli:
Mikel might be getting relegated.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 11:32am On Sep 15, 2017
FIFA SHAKES UP WORLD CUP DRAW METHOD

image: https://images.cdn.fourfourtwo.com/sites/fourfourtwo.com/files/styles/image_landscape/public/world-cup-trophy-cropped_xkn3t0x5oxw01ec684xvzo7ji.jpg?itok=xRyGb1f-&c=87b6d99828d88c1b8ffe17a08d24fc7d

All four pots for the World Cup finals will be determined by FIFA world ranking, the governing body has decided.
Published
16 hours ago
FIFA has confirmed all four pots for the 2018 World Cup finals draw will be allocated based on the governing body's world rankings.
The move represents a change from previous editions, where only Pot 1 was determined by teams' positions in the standings with the remaining grouped by Confederations.
But the decision taken by the Organising Committee for FIFA Competitions means all 32 teams will be seeded based on their positions in the October rankings.
FIFA, though, will continue to insist no more than one Confederation is in a single group.

Hosts Russia will be automatically seeded in Pot 1 alongside the other top-seven nations, while Brazil's spot is also guaranteed given they have already qualified and are guaranteed to be ranked in the top seven.
Germany, Argentina and Portugal will also take a place in the main group should they qualify, but the race to join that quintet looks set to go down to the wire.
Pot 2 looks set to be equally strong, with England, France, Spain and Italy among those likely to be involved.

Read more at https://www.fourfourtwo.com/news/fifa-shakes-world-cup-draw-method#rxxUPmcxHUy8EBqt.99
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 11:39pm On Sep 14, 2017
Europa League Commentary Highlight:
Young Boys 1-1 Partizan Belgrade

87' Theophilus Solomon (Partizan) zig-zags his way into the box and fires the ball towards the middle of the goal, but the goalkeeper makes a great reaction save to stop the effort.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 11:35pm On Sep 14, 2017
I think with our fast forwards, Iwobi can be really helpful in our build up. Definitely one of our star players of the future, if he doesn't cement his place at AM/CM/LW/RW now.

TheSuperNerd:
Alex Iwobi put in a pretty decent shift in central midfield I must say before being taken off for Wilshere.... even picked up an assist for his endeavors. Had an 88% passing accuracy in the final third of the pitch for Arsenal and even created three chances (of which one was an assist). Well done Iwobi... gradually working his way back.

I think Rohr should watch this game again to see that Iwobi's future in our Super Eagles lies more in the CAM (CM and AM) Role(S)... he is not perfect yet ofcos.. but he is gonna grow into these roles as he is still young. Out wide he can still be effective but we know his biggest potentials lie in central/attacking midfield.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 11:33pm On Sep 14, 2017
That was my observation before the second half. You agree with me... see how it played out.

TheSuperNerd:
Lol... you are right... Iwobi created three good chances and picked up an assist before he left the pitch sef.

Also had three successful take-ons... he really threatened and was very productive when he had the ball and when Arsenal played thru him a few times.... smiley
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 10:07pm On Sep 14, 2017
Haha.. that would have been an Olayinka goal. Ball already heading for the net.

TheSuperNerd:
Looolll... Peter Olayinka won't stop assisting people ooooo.... hahaha

He has picked up another assist... as Zulte Waregem trail OGC Nice 1-3 at home...
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 10:04pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA League Update:

Zorya 0-2 Ostersunds

Alhaji Gero seals it for the visitors in extra time.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 10:02pm On Sep 14, 2017
I don't know if it's just me. Sometimes I feel our players are not fed with the ball enough.
Arsenal will do be better if they utilize Iwobi.. The several times he was involved, Arsenal threatened.

TheSuperNerd:
Like I kinda rightly deducted... Iwobi starts in central midfield.... very interesting... wink

Arsenal trail 0-1 to Koln though (15 mins gone)
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 9:09pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA League Update:

Arsenal VS Cologne

Game finally starts after skirmishes from Cologne fans

Iwobi starts.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 8:23pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA League Update:

Zorya 0-0 Ostersunds

Alhaji Gero on the visitors bench. 18 mins gone
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 8:13pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA League Update:

Hertha Berlin 0-0 Ath. Bilbao

Torunarigha in bench for Hertha. 7 minutes played.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 8:12pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA League Update:

Marseille 0-0 Konyaspor

Imoh Ezekiel in Konyspor's bench. 7 minutes gone
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 8:11pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA League Update:

Real Sociedad 0-0 Rosenborg

Samuel Adegbenro start for the visitors. 5 minutes played
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 8:08pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA League Update:

Beer Sheva 1-0 Lugano

Nwakaeme and Ogu both start for Sheva. They are already ahead after just 3 minutes.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 8:07pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA League Update:

Waregem 0-0 Nice

Olayinka starts for the home side. 2 minutes played
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 8:04pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA League Update:

Austria Vienna 1-5 AC Milan

Vienna's new acquisition, Muazam, missing.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 8:03pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA League Update:

Dynamo Kiev 3-1 Skenderbeu

Little known James Adeniyi starts and lasts 76 minutes for Albanian side, Skenderbeu
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 7:58pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA League Update:

Rijeka 1-2 AEK Athens

David Nwokolor of Rijeka unlisted
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 7:56pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA League Update:

Zlin 0-0 Tiraspol

21 year old Ubong Ekpai starts and lasts till the 68th minute for Zlin.
He was cautioned in the 66th.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 7:54pm On Sep 14, 2017
EUROPA Cup Update:

Young Boys 1-1 Partizan

Theophillus Solomon make continental debut as a 66th minute sub-in for Partizan.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 7:47pm On Sep 14, 2017
I THINK it won't unless it's a CAF tournament.

libero808:
smiley
Now Mali draw, if WAFU counts.
Make this home based behave o
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 7:46pm On Sep 14, 2017
Hopefully before the mundial we would be able to boast of a bench that can beat average teams.

Icon79:
I think we will. The only thing I am worried about is injuries. If our players can avoid injuries, I don't expect anything less than a 2-0 trashing.
The first 20 mins is gonna be the key. If we can get a goal or two within the first 30 mins then we will run away with the game. However, if we don't score within the first 30 mins then we should sit back, soak up their pressure and hit them on the counter thru Mikel/Ndidi's long range passes.

O pari
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 7:34pm On Sep 14, 2017
Something tells me we will beat them silly like we beat Cameroon in Uyo.
Can't you see we are not even boasting as they?

Icon79:
Don't mind them!

The same thing I say to those folks telling us that this isn't the same Zambian team we defeated 2-1 at their backyard. My response is: is this the same Nigerian team that played Zambia? gosh, at that time, Rohr was just about 2 months in charge and doesn't even know whom his best team is. Hence, if they have improved .... so have we!

O pari

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 (of 621 pages)