Stats: 3,325,381 members, 8,421,656 topics. Date: Saturday, 06 June 2026 at 07:22 PM

Nowenuse's Posts

Nairaland ForumNowenuse's ProfileNowenuse's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 (of 219 pages)

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 10:28pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
Not absurd, trust me its for the love of country
It is absurd.

All Indians love their country, but they still proudly identify with their ethnicities. Likewise the Americans, the Belgians, Indonesians, South Africans et al.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 10:24pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
Very interesting how they have managed to keep the northerners out. If NL was kenyan, it would already be closed by now!! grin
Man, we seem to be infected with a virus when we politic online
Just like Jay254 said, it is mostly the far northerners that are not on nairaland. They are the fewest here.

We the central northerners are here in good numbers, just that a lot of us do not like to identify as northerners, and we can relate very well with southern culture.

The war between Yorubas & Igbos on nairaland is already enough problem for nairalanders.

Are you trying to say that they are no rules or moderations on kenyan forums? Take this forum for instance, not every thread makes frontpage. People are also banned for making very tribalistic comments sometimes, especially on a frontpage thread.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 10:17pm On May 25, 2017
Isahalbash:
I tink otherwise
It is very common to see Hausa and yoruba mosques different in some areas.

Hausas & yorubas sometimes celebrate Eid on different days.

Many hausas adress yoruba muslims as fake muslims.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 10:13pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
How is it embarrassing? Swahili unites us while English makes us globally competitive.
You guys mix it while speaking. You interchange it.
I watched a kenyan movie series and you sometimes see 2 people having a conversation, one is speaking english and the other swahili, and they can have a lengthy conversation just like that.
The code-switching is too much if you ask me.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 10:09pm On May 25, 2017
9jakool:
interesting...
Are Pyem found in Mangu lga?
is the religious breakdown for that ethnic group 50-50.
Yess !!

How did you know?
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 10:08pm On May 25, 2017
Jay254:
What!!! I thought it was only north and south... That is serious..
This is why Kenyans always emhasizing on tribalism looks absurd to me.

In Nigeria, even within the same tribes, you have divisions and sub-tribes who still sometimes have bloody clashes with each other.

Tribalism in Nigeria is no longer an issue. It's like part of normal everyday life.

We are only trying to be now united somehow due to the fact that a 'united Naija urban culture' is now developing and most youths can relate to this.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 10:02pm On May 25, 2017
Isahalbash:
Hahaha...even christians leave beards dis days... I have one heregrin
True, but muslim beards tend to look different, especially if they add islamic dressing to it.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:58pm On May 25, 2017
Isahalbash:
Why r ur people bearing Chinese nd Korean namesgrin
Oh, you mean names like JANG, DALONG, VUMPAK, CHUWANG, CHUNG, VONGJEN e.t.c. grin

Na so we see am o. At a time i even thought our people had a possibility of migrating from China grin

It's the nature of the native languages. But, not all languages are like that though.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:54pm On May 25, 2017
Jay254:
What!!! I thought it was only north and south... That is serious..
It was supposed to.

But the South and the North have their own internal divisions and will still have great divisions internally peradventure on their own.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:51pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
Pyem is not even on wiki. Man, create a page for them at least! I am telling you if I said my tribe here right now, you will be surprised. Kenyans are always lurking online. We have elections this August and I think I will tell you my tribe after elections cheesy

Just tune in to kenyan stations you will see how tribal we are. lol. Very tribal, but this time we are trying to tone it down.
Ooohh, it used to have a page. Something must have happened. I will try to work on this.

Your excuses on tribe are absurd.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:48pm On May 25, 2017
Jay254:
Thanks for the info..I believe you guys need each other.. If you guys ever secede 'God forbid' Abuja will most probally fall to the North, Right?
If Nigeria divides, it is most unlikely to divide into a North and a South. Hell no.

It is most likely to divide into 5 countries.

-Biafra republic (Igbos)
- Odua republic (yorubas)
- Niger-delta republic (Southern minorities)
- Arewa republic (Hausa-fulani-kanuri and some northern minorities)
- Central Niger republic (Central minorities and some northern minorities).

Abuja will most likely go with the 5th, or maybe 4th.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:43pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
Do you Know Kenya and the Kenyan coast were different administrative and political entities? The coast was a Sultanate under Oman that was added onto kenya after independence
Ok.

Then, they can be judged and assessed differently.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:40pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
Not necessarily. What if that country is harboring the terrorists?
Both countries must sign a united armed force treaty.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:38pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
Why don't you watch other kenyan stations aside from k24?
I also watch MAISHA MAGIC EAST....
Those are the only Kenyan stations available to West Africans on DStv
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:34pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
What is your ethnic group?
Pyem
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:34pm On May 25, 2017
Isahalbash:
But, covering ones face doesn't Mk hm a fanatics...hope u know that.
LoL
But it makes you look like one.

Just like a muslim man with long beards.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:31pm On May 25, 2017
Jay254:
Very few Kenyans will tell you there tribe on social sites like NL... You will always find kenyans United everywhere until Politics come into play..
Telling your tribes will not make you disunited.
I think it is more of inferiority if u ask me.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:30pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
They feature in many movies but the movies are mainly in Swahili and consumed mainly at the Coast and Tanzania. The Nairobi movie industry is more English.
Swahilis have no issue with marrying Christians. They are very liberal. Its actually the christians (kenya being majority christian) that are apprehensive of marrying muslims.
Ok.
Why are the christians apprehensive of dating muslims?

Seriously, the way you Kenyans mix english and swahili looks embarrassing.
I may be wrong, but i believe that if you guys want to speak swahili speak only swahili, if english, speak only english.
I sometimes watch MAISHA MAGIC EAST
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:27pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
Wat is it man, I am Kenyan grin
I am from a very small minority ethnic group in Nigeria. (we are barely more than 200k people).

Infact, if i call the name of my ethnic group, most Nigerians here will not know it.
However, i am still not ashamed of my ethnic group.

Why are u ashamed?
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:22pm On May 25, 2017
Jay254:
Nowenuse... Who wants a united Nigerian Southerners or Northerners and why?.. Is Abuja Part of the north or South?
I'd say northerners need a united Nigeria more because the major export rescource of Nigeria lies in the South.
The south also owns the ports, without them, we will be landlocked.

I think they (Southerners) only need the northerners for agriculture. Northern Nigeria has so much potentials and minerals, but we are not harnessing that, our leaders all focus on southern crude oil rescource which has made us look like parasites to the south who have nothing to offer.

Abuja is at the centre of Nigeria geographically. But that area is classified politically as North (north-central).

That is where i am from. We were politically classified as northerners, but many of us prefer to be adress as middlebelt people (Central Nigeria).
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:17pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
Is it the Shia vs Sunni thing?
No, it's more of a cultural thing. A liberal vs radical thing.

Most yoruba muslims are liberal while most Hausa muslims are extremist.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:15pm On May 25, 2017
NairobiWalker:
It is the same thing buddy. What you keep talking of is absurd and that's the point I want you to see. Nigeria is Nigeria and you can't boast because the most developed part of Nigeria has a higher HDI than the whole of Kenya. The most developed part of any country is of course way more developed than many countries that are ahead of the said country development wise. If I was to select Muthaiga alone from Nairobi and compare it with the whole of New York city it would be ahead if NY in all economic indicators. Does that make Nairobi more developed than New York? Go figure.
Look.

Nigeria did not have the same political history as most countries in Africa.
Southern Nigeria was a different colonial entity from Northern Nigeria. They have been different political entities to a large extent.

If you want to say the most developed states or geo-political zone in Nigeria, fine, but not Southern Nigeria which was initially meant to be a country of it's own independent from Northern Nigeria, if not for an amalgamation/unification.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:07pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
Kenya would still go in. There is a clause in the UN charter that allows nations to go into other nations in 'hot pursuit' of dangerous elements. That is what Kenya used and the UN could not stop it.
It must be in political agreement with the other nation.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 9:00pm On May 25, 2017
Muafrika2:
Or just Islam. Jihad this and Jihad that everywhere undecided
What ethnic group are you?
Taysermahiri did not answer my question on ethnicity.

Are Kenyans usually ashamed about their ethnicity?
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 8:56pm On May 25, 2017
fanficgirl:
@ababda Is this you? grin

http://www.lipstickalley.com/showthread.php/785098-Sudanese-the-Men-edition
Northern sudanese look very much like fulani in Nigeria
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 8:54pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
No they are not. The danger is with the younger generations. The older ones are really nice and hate radicalism
Ok. Do these swahilis feature in Kenyan entertainment industry?
Their women are beautiful, but seem too conservative.

In Nigeria, most of the very educated core-northern muslims are very liberal. Their ladies even agree to date christian guys (but marriage is very difficult).

Does this happen in Kenya btw the muslims and christians?
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 8:50pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
Somalis make up about 6 % of Kenya's population. I think they relate well being mostly muslims but their cultures are very different. Besides, they don't live in the same counties. Swahilis occupy about 4 or 5 counties on the KEnyan coast.
I see. Thanks.
Hausa & Yoruba muslims don't get on so well in Nigeria.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 8:48pm On May 25, 2017
fanficgirl:
But you emphasize how those around Nigeria like Niger are failed nations lol.
Niger is not a failed nation politically.

She is just a very very poor nation where you can hardly find any civilization outside the country's capital.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 8:46pm On May 25, 2017
Muafrika2:
Swahili natives are a minority tribe. All of them should be around 6 million. They are divided into five dialects and stretch from Tanzanian coast to Kenya to Somalia (Bajunis))

The Bajuni are split between Kenya and Somalia. They have some Somali blood so some of them look Somali. Thery also have alot of Arabic admixture. I think they get along just fine. Theory are mostly Muslim.
Ok, what about the counties?

Can you pls help me list the 46 Kenyan counties and the dominant indigenous ethnic group of each county?

Taysermahiri, u can also help out here pls
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 5:42pm On May 25, 2017
freshest4live:
So Mumbai alone would be third largest economy if it were to be in Africa? This is a cause for concern. Africa my Africa.
Mumbai is the financial capital of a country of over a billion people. ...... How won't it be so powerful?
The population of Mumbai is also very very high.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 5:36pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
Is that why BH has been succesful in killing thousands? Because you have armed drones ?
We hunt and kill Shabaab in their own country!
Your military can only hunt Al shabaab into Somalia because Somalia itself is a failed nation. None of Nigeria's neighbours are failed nation and it is against international to trespass into the sovereignity of another nation.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nowenuse: 5:18pm On May 25, 2017
TayserMahiri:
Al Shabaab has made kenyan army modernize. I think we can thank them for that
I watched Kenyatta on K24 yesterday, adressing people in Lamu......men, are you not sure most muslims in Lamu are fanatics? The women were too covered almost like those in Saudi Arabia.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 (of 219 pages)