Politics › Re: Boko Haram Rejects Ceasefire Pact With Govt by OAM4J: 10:46am On Jul 14, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Boko Haram Denies Cease-fire With Nigerian Government by OAM4J: 10:45am On Jul 14, 2013 |
Politics › Re: B/haram: Shekau Denies Ceasefire •threatens More Attacks by OAM4J: 10:42am On Jul 14, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Boko-haram-denies-cease-fire-agreement-with-fg/ by OAM4J: 10:41am On Jul 14, 2013 |
Politics › Re: SHEKAU Denies Ceasefire, Claims Responsibility For Yobe Students Massacre by OAM4J: 10:40am On Jul 14, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Boko Haram Denies Ceasefire With FG, Threatens To Burn More Schools by OAM4J: 10:40am On Jul 14, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Kebbi: Petrol Tanker Loaded With Arms Intercepted By Army by OAM4J: 10:37am On Jul 14, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Photo: Al Mustapha Visits TB Joshua Immediately After Release by OAM4J: 11:11am On Jul 13, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Al Mustapha Visits TB Joshua Immediately After Release by OAM4J: 11:10am On Jul 13, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Photo: Al Mustapha Visits TB Joshua Immediately After Release by OAM4J: 11:10am On Jul 13, 2013 |
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) › Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by OAM4J: 6:14pm On Jul 12, 2013 |
Higuain Still Wants Arsenal Move, According To Madrid’s ‘Mouthpiece’
With all the rumours concerning Luis Suarez flying about, talk of Gonzalo Higuain has quietened down somewhat in recent days. However, he was back in the news over in Spain today with newspaper Marca claiming that the striker is still looking to leave for Arsenal despite Real Madrid wanting him to remain at the Bernabeu.
You should know the story by now. We were reportedly close to sealing a £23m deal for Higuain last week when Madrid upped the ante at the last minute, demanding we paid nearer £27m. We backed off and have since switched our focus to Luis Suarez, leaving Higuain’s future up in the air.
Marca – who are known to have close ties with Madrid and are regularly called the clubs ‘mouthpiece’ – claim that new Real boss Carlo Ancelotti is happy for the striker to remain in the Spanish capital and fight for his place, but the player is understood to be adamant he want’s to leave in search of a new challenge and is keen to move to the Emirates having held positive talks with the club.
When a player is determined to leave, it’s rare they don’t get their way, so the signs are that Higuain is still very-much on the market. The only problem being that Marca claim that Madrid are still demanding £27m for his services. So unless Arsene Wenger is prepared to up his bid, we’re still stuck in limbo.
Although the Spaniards have just splashed out over £30m to sign midfielder Asier Illarramendi from Real Sociedad, so there is a chance they may now be prepared to lower their expectations in order to get some money in and balance the books.
Perhaps Madrid have seen us step up our interest in Suarez and have now ‘leaked’ this story of Higuain still wanting to leave to Marca to get our attention again?
Whatever happens, I just hope we hurry up and get something done quickly. If we really want Higuain, just go all-out and get a deal done. If Suarez is our No.1 target, then do all we can to make it happen. No more messing about, just go hard for your targets and pay the going rate. We expect clubs to pay top whack, so we can’t complain when clubs do it to us. If Adebarndoor was worth £25m, Higuain is most certainly worth £27m!
http://www.arsenalstation.com/2013/07/12/fellaini-fears-wengers-priorities-will-scupper-23-5m-arsenal-move/ lol @ Adebarndoor  Fellaini Fears Wenger’s Priorities Will Scupper £23.5m Arsenal Move
Everton midfielder Marouane Fellaini is concerned that his ‘dream’ move to Arsenal won’t go through because Arsene Wenger is more concerned about signing a striker, so say the Independent.
The Belgian was strongly linked with a move to the Emirates during the early weeks of the summer transfer window with some reports claiming we’d triggered his £23.5m release clause and a move was understood to be close.
However, those reports ultimately proven incorrect and no deal has been struck, and rumours linking Fellaini to Arsenal have died down in recent weeks with most of the talk centered on us bringing in a world class striker.
Instead of Fellaini on the back pages, it’s now Gonzalo Higuain and Luis Suarez and it does appear as though Arsene Wenger’s priority is to sign a striker before moving on to other areas of the squad, and this has supposedly got Fellaini worried that a move to the Emirates isn’t going to happen this summer.
The Independent claim that Fellaini’s £23.5m release clause expires on the 15th August and the 25-year-old fears that if Arsenal haven’t signed a new striker by that point, then he’ll miss out on what they say is his ‘dream’ move to north London. There is also a concern that Wenger is prepared to use the majority of his £70m kitty to buy TWO top-class forward’s this summer, leaving little left over to sign Fellaini.
Judging by how thin our options are up front and how desperate we are for a world class front man, I agree that our priority should be to sign a player like Luis Suarez or Gonzalo Higuain, but I don’t understand why a club like Arsenal can’t multi-task?! Surely we have enough resource within the club to be able to negotiate two deals at the same time?
Although saying that, it seems we don’t have anyone capable of closing a deal at all, which is a worry in itself. We heard all the talk from Ivan Gazidis about how we had money to spend and wanted to do our business early in the summer, yet here we are already in pre-season with no big name signings through the door.
But we have to stay positive and trust things will eventually start to happen, but I’ll be hugely disappointed if we pass up the opportunity to sign Fellaini because we couldn’t get our business done in time.
http://www.arsenalstation.com/2013/07/12/fellaini-fears-wengers-priorities-will-scupper-23-5m-arsenal-move/ These guys are eager and willing to come to Emirates, Wenger should do something and quick jare and stop chasing Suarez' shadows |
Politics › Re: BREAKING NEWS: Appeal Court Acquits Major Hamza Al-mustapha by OAM4J: 4:51pm On Jul 12, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Major Hamza Al- Mustapha Discharged And Acquitted. by OAM4J: 3:57pm On Jul 12, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Al-mustapha Freed by OAM4J: 2:44pm On Jul 12, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Al-mustapha Released by OAM4J: 2:43pm On Jul 12, 2013 |
Politics › Re: BREAKING NEWS: Court Of Appeal Frees Al-mustapha by OAM4J: 2:42pm On Jul 12, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Al-Mustapha Discharged And Acquitted By Appeal Court by OAM4J: 2:41pm On Jul 12, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Let's Have Your Complaints, Suggestions & Enquiries Here by OAM4J(op): 9:41pm On Jul 10, 2013 |
donchris9999: Imagine a thread on Gej's reception in china's airport hit the front page sharp sharp, but, a counter thread on the welcoming reception and inspection of gaurds by Gej and the chinese president after 7pages is yet to hit front page. This is why seun continues to suffer from lack of patronage and extreme poverty while linda ikeji keeps on growing by the day. When a man decides to go tribal and partisan he only suffers in poverty like seun. Seun look at your advert spaces they are empty, then, go to linda ikeji's blog you will just cover your head in shame. Even bellanaija is smiling to the bank everyday, while seun who is a pioneer(since 2005) is just far behind this newbies in the business just because of tribalism. You might be the one needing to visit your opticians. The thread "Welcoming Ceremony For President Jonathan In China" has been on home page since 3.58pm. |
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) › Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by OAM4J: 8:20pm On Jul 10, 2013 |
[quote author=Nairaland=info]^^^only gullible & delluded arsenal fanz wud believe dat SUAREZ wud choose them ova title-winnin klubz lyk city, madrid, bayern, etc...i laff in igbo[/quote]I wonder how many Arsenal fans are eager to see Suarez at Emirates, even at that, how many "title winning" clubs have made an offer for him?
The guy is more of a liability. |
Politics › Re: All Progressive Congress (APC) Nairaland Chapter by OAM4J: 3:13pm On Jul 10, 2013 |
Rather than PDP supporters disturbing the formation of the new APC Nairaland chapter with their sentiments and reservations; how about you PDP supporters start your own thread and create PDP NL chapter to harmonize your thoughts, ideas and vision.
I might even make sticky the 2 threads in politics section.
I will love to organise many debates between the two groups in the nearest-future as soon as your structures and leaderships are put in place. Also provide avenue for NL members to meet and discuss with major stakeholders and candidates made available by each camp.
Personally as I have always said, the coming on board of APC is good for the polity. Whichever party in power knows it has to perform else there is a strong and capable opposition ready to take over. Overall Nigeria and Nigerians can only be better with the coming on board of APC.
- Moderator |
Politics › Re: I Made Mistakes As President, But They Were “successful Mistakes” – Obasanjo by OAM4J: 10:00am On Jul 10, 2013 |
Politics › Re: I Made 'successful' Mistakes As President --obasanjo by OAM4J: 10:00am On Jul 10, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Obasanjo : I Made ‘successful’ Mistakes As President by OAM4J: 9:59am On Jul 10, 2013 |
Politics › Re: 4 Boko Haram Members Get Life Sentence by OAM4J: 7:19am On Jul 10, 2013 |
Politics › Re: VIDEO: Rivers Assembly Crisis: How Amaechi Escaped Attempted Murder by OAM4J: 7:18am On Jul 10, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Mayhem In Rivers State House Assembly! Shame! by OAM4J: 1:37am On Jul 10, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Appeal Court Sacks Olofa Of Offa by OAM4J: 1:20am On Jul 10, 2013 |
Politics › Re: VIDEO: Pro-amaechi Lawmaker Attacks Inside The House Of Assembly by OAM4J: 1:19am On Jul 10, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Rivers State Assembly Mayhem Video by OAM4J: 1:18am On Jul 10, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Video of Fighting in Rivers State House of Assembly by OAM4J: 1:18am On Jul 10, 2013 |
Politics › Re: Let's Have Your Complaints, Suggestions & Enquiries Here by OAM4J(op): 7:55pm On Jul 09, 2013 |
Jack Baueress: OAM4J, i sent you 2 pms last week and you didn't bother to reply me? it's not fair at all!  Sorry I didn't get the PMs. Prolly they went to my spam box. Can you please send them again and be sure you also have access to the email of your profile for the reply. Cheers. |
Politics › Re: Let's Have Your Complaints, Suggestions & Enquiries Here by OAM4J(op): 7:53pm On Jul 09, 2013 |
Demdem: Should I assume that u guys have set up a committee to look into my question? lol. What committee? abeg free me jare.  We will do what is necessary according to the rules. |