Stats: 3,325,195 members, 8,420,761 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 10:48 AM

Olab059's Posts

Nairaland ForumOlab059's ProfileOlab059's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 32 pages)

Car TalkRe: The Rate At Which Fuel Burn So Fast Right Now Scares Me by olab059(m): 5:12pm On Jul 07, 2023
Dandat:
Most pipo here will think its the price that's bringing this up but hell no i run a bet store i fill my tank 15litres every morning without light the whole day i will use it till 10pm and it will still remain little but since this hike the same 15litres won't take me to 10pm so basically something is wrong with the fuel now it might not be all the filling stations but something has changed
Thanks for sharing this. I also base my complaint on the amount of liters I use, not on the money I am spending on the fuel. Journey that used to take me 5 liters is now taking me like 8 liters.
Car TalkRe: The Rate At Which Fuel Burn So Fast Right Now Scares Me by olab059(m): 5:05pm On Jul 07, 2023
bonnyhope:
Is because you don't buy enough
And your eyes always on guage when driving
lmao! This made me laugh.
Car TalkRe: The Rate At Which Fuel Burn So Fast Right Now Scares Me by olab059(m): 5:00pm On Jul 07, 2023
maxzzo1:
That was my initial thought, but I don't think is correct formally 5k fuel der near half tank but presently na 9litres (511) see d difference....b4 u move left and right na reserve light u go see[b][/b].....may God help us
LMAO! That reserve light dey annoy me ehn! I don't go out as much anymore.
Car TalkRe: The Rate At Which Fuel Burn So Fast Right Now Scares Me by olab059(m): 4:53pm On Jul 07, 2023
slowice:
Thought I was yhd only one who noticed... Had to even go for scanning omo grin grin

Was hunting for a fault to blame it on I no see I just weak
This made me laugh

Car TalkRe: The Rate At Which Fuel Burn So Fast Right Now Scares Me by olab059(m): 4:52pm On Jul 07, 2023
biggz82:
That's because the fuel has very poor octane number/rating
Abeg explain in layman terms.
Car TalkRe: The Rate At Which Fuel Burn So Fast Right Now Scares Me by olab059(m): 4:45pm On Jul 07, 2023
fineboynl:
I don’t know if its just me.

The way fuel burns now eh is so alarming.
BRO!!!! It is not just you o! I thought I was paranoid or going crazy. My fuel has been finishing so fast. Abi have they made the fuel lighter to make more money off of it something.
CrimeRe: Nigerians Recount Their Terrible, Gruesome Experiences With Armed Robbers. by olab059(m): 1:06pm On Jul 07, 2023
Taku555:
I find it hard to believe that you were not a member. Anyway, your blood is cold indeed.
You're responding to the wrong comment/person.
CrimeRe: Nigerians Recount Their Terrible, Gruesome Experiences With Armed Robbers. by olab059(m): 12:36pm On Jul 07, 2023
Buddha3:
I thought about it initially. But the guy who took me there, gave me the pistol for payback and later gave me my first gun, was actually respected by them all, even rival cults.

So I had that immunity due to his influence.
Okay. Now I understand.
CrimeRe: Nigerians Recount Their Terrible, Gruesome Experiences With Armed Robbers. by olab059(m): 12:35pm On Jul 07, 2023
drlateef:
“Una poor like this and una still they close door”— thats the ranting of a drunken lad not up to 18 years old in a group of armed robbers that raided our street on that fateful day. I was a newly wedded medic coming from NYSC discahrge. I managed a room and parlour for the starters with wify in a newly built house somewhere in Lagos. We were considering buying furniture and other things to make life a bit easy and settle down with family. The robbers struck in the midst of that. Practically nothing was in the house except a small TV and a mattress to rest in. We heard all the noise on the street and knew they were robbers. So, we were just waiting for our turn to be dealth with by children of devil. And soon they banged and brought down the front doors. They robbed our neighbours with merciless abandon. They beat the hell out of our female neighbour who had just a housegirl with her.
Then the loud bang on our door came. My heart was racing faster than that of Tobi Amusan when she was breaking the world records in 100 metres huddles. I opened the door and waited to the evil incarnate to enter. Wifey had cowered somewhere behind me, shaking like Christmas chicken. And there came the young devil carrying a stick and a bottle, half naked and sweating like salah ram going to the slaughter. He came in a little bewildered. I was wondering what was amiss. Then he uttered the words up there. I immediate became relieved inside me. I almost chuckled but kept my cool. The next thing he asked was “ where is my money?” I went into inner room and quickly brought out 300 naira. He took it without muttering a word and turned round to leave. I quickly proceeded to lock the door. I was wondering wether to laugh or cry or chuckle. I just couldn’t believe what happened. But I thank God for His mercy on us that night. I heard many people were raped on that street. It was a night blacker than the darkness of the night. Since then we started doing vigilante work every night, after coming from a hard day’s work. It was not easy. But thank God we survived that terrible incidence.
So the guy was okay with you giving him just 300 naira?
CrimeRe: Nigerians Recount Their Terrible, Gruesome Experiences With Armed Robbers. by olab059(m): 12:30pm On Jul 07, 2023
NACE13:
Mine happened years ago back in school. It was a close one though. Few guys came to my room to watch movies. So I left my place and went to my girl's place to have me some quiet. Of course, she'd travelled and gave me a spare key.
They robbed the guys in my room that night, took their phones and laptops they came to charge.
I was quite mad because they took my gold necklace which was gifted to me by my big bro and Rexona antiperspirant.
They also took someone's rechargeable clipper.
Those guys would be like, chai! Why I no kukuma stay for my house.
CrimeRe: Nigerians Recount Their Terrible, Gruesome Experiences With Armed Robbers. by olab059(m): 12:18pm On Jul 07, 2023
Buddha3:
Lol.

Where I wan even start?

[b]2011, I was doing my first year in Unical. Was hosting lunch at the back of the library with three other course mates. Three cultists walk up, slap us around some, take away my two android phones, wallet full of cash and my watch. They just sat two tables away afterwards, drinking with their girls from the content of my wallet. I was so enraged. Got a cab from the main gate to Eburutu army barracks close to Federal housing. A cultist friend with ties to the military lived there. Told him my ordeal, he drove me back to the school, gave me a revolver pistol and gave me a firm order to shoot the leader of the pack anywhere I pleased, once we saw them. Sure enough, these dudes were still on that table drinking with my money. I just stretched out, let one bullet loose to his left knee and the rest scattered. Took back my belongings from his pockets and we left him there, screaming and crying. Of course I was pretty shaken, but that experience left me with a lifelong memory. And I'm glad I had my flesh pound, there and then.[/b]

2013, I was out between 10pm and midnight, running my taxi services, since it was one of my sources of income then. This dude charters me to drop him at Nasarawa village around 8miles, Calabar. I always knew that place to be a rough slum with daredevil criminals, just didn't imagine I was ever going to encounter one. We get there, dude pulls a knife and tells me to kill the engine. First thought in my head was having to face the reality of losing my car to a robber. I turn it off, but as he makes to step out through his door, I quickly got my self-defence pistol from under my seat, and since it was quite dark, he didn't exactly get a detailed view of my movements. He walks over and I let one fly at close range. He got it at the shoulder and I quickly reversed and made out of that cesspit. Again, I was glad I learnt my lesson from that 2011 incident. I never went to uncomfortable places or drove at nights without my self-defence gadget I got from that my frat dude.

Got tons of these experiences, but meh! Welcome to Nigeria!
You get mind o! You didn't think they would come back for revenge? I mean the first story.
CrimeRe: Nigerians Recount Their Terrible, Gruesome Experiences With Armed Robbers. by olab059(m): 12:16pm On Jul 07, 2023
naijaboy756:
And some of the useless thieves will be here reading this chat and smoking..

wicked souls
So true.
CrimeRe: Nigerians Recount Their Terrible, Gruesome Experiences With Armed Robbers. by olab059(m): 12:10pm On Jul 07, 2023
Before I share mine, I remember one story I read here on Nairaland, where one guy talked about his brother and him being robbed at Mile 2 Bridge. He said his brother was stabbed in the neck...the brother was a big dude, so he struggled to carry the guy to the hospital, and the guy died on the way. That image stuck in my head. Some people bring sorrow to others because they are too lazy to work. Sad.

My own story isn't gruesome. I dropped along Lagos-Ibadan express, at Sagamu junction. I was going to Ijebu Ode...a friend was meant to pick me up at that junction. It was dark...around 7:30pm. I saw this full family of like 6 (wife, husband and 4 young kids) a few meters from me hurrying to cross the express. I was wondering why they were so scared till I felt a machete at my neck...I remember clearly, the thing was shining in the dark. The guy with the machete to my neck told me he would slice my neck if I moved, and then I felt hands in my pocket. They were kids mehn! Teenagers. The oldest one was the one with the machete to my neck, and he couldn't be more than 19.

After taking my wallet, phone, watch and everything I had on me, they asked me to go. I walked away, slowly, towards the bridge that went to the other side of the road. The guy with the machete hit me on the head with it and asked me to run. I ran to the bridge and was lucky to see someone stop and take me to Shagamu town. Luckily for me, I had one of my ATMs in my breast pocket.
CrimeRe: Nigerians Recount Their Terrible, Gruesome Experiences With Armed Robbers. by olab059(m): 11:59am On Jul 07, 2023
YungTemy:
Na only God dey help person.
Damn! How they going to remove that. Just looking at it gives me chills.
PoliticsRe: Governor Seyi Makinde Inspects Projects In Oyo State. by olab059(m):
He is trying. I hope he considers doing that Arologun road...the road beside Ojoo cantonment that runs from that Cantonment junction to Ajabo, to Idi Omo, to Igbo Oloyin, to Orita Merin. That road is a mess.
PoliticsRe: Governor Seyi Makinde Inspects Projects In Oyo State. by olab059(m): 10:22am On Jul 07, 2023
naptu2:
Oyo State Government @oyostategovt

https://twitter.com/oyostategovt/status/1676285465131884550
Conversation in second picture...

"Papilo my guy, how far na."

"Bros, I gently o."

"Which time dey post you come this side?"

"Na today I start work o."

"Ehen, no worry. You go enjoy this zone."

"Okay o."

"Papilo Papilo, how far with that your girl with big nyansh."

"Bros, you don start again."

"Papilo Pailo." (the two soldiers proceed to laugh and shake each other again)
PoliticsRe: Ayo Fayose Visits President Tinubu In Aso Rock (Photos) by olab059(m): 10:02am On Jul 07, 2023
Throwback:
shameless people like below abi?
Whoa! The switch up was crazy.
Jobs/VacanciesRe: What Is The Longest Distance You've Trekked In Search Of Work? by olab059(m): 9:55am On Jul 07, 2023
Back in the day, I trekked from Ikeja Along to Egbeda in Lagos...then I fell inside gutter with all my certificates when I was almost home...gutter water was all over my certificates. Thank God the NYSC certificate was laminated.

Man pikin don suffer for this life o. Chai!
CelebritiesRe: See Davido's 7 Baby Mamas - Meet The New Ones, Anita Brown And Ivanna Bay. by olab059(m): 8:52am On Jul 02, 2023
Pat081:
His uncle too is a governor of a state
Exactly.
CelebritiesRe: See Davido's 7 Baby Mamas - Meet The New Ones, Anita Brown And Ivanna Bay. by olab059(m):
ceejay80s:
What u sow u must reap,
Or is it the other way round?
He will put those kids in to poverty, he thinks he will be rich for ever.....I have seen richer men begging on streets now
I guess you don't know Davido is 3rd generation wealth...his father's father was rich, and his father is wealthy. Even if he wasn't doing music, he would still be rich as a director in his dad's company.

I don't support him having multiple baby mamas, but suggesting that his kids will know poverty is laughable. He has just four kids and one on the way. Even men that don't have 1% his wealth successfully raise 5 kids, so what are you talking about.
CelebritiesRe: Pendo Stacy Takes Davido’s Boxers To An Interview: Calls It Her Souvenir by olab059(m): 9:58am On Jun 29, 2023
More will still come out. Females love attention more than anything. See this girl, o, since 2014...almost 10 years ago...she is probably in her mid 30s now, but she wants to trend. SMH
CelebritiesRe: Pendo Stacy Takes Davido’s Boxers To An Interview: Calls It Her Souvenir by olab059(m): 9:55am On Jun 29, 2023
Enny2013:
His choice of women though...
When the Remy is in the system...

Most of the girls, he picked up when he was high/drunk. At a level of intoxication, you don't see beauty, you just notice breast and ass cheesy
CelebritiesRe: Davido's Fans Link Anita's Pregnancy Saga To Lyrics Of Davido's Song, Assurance by olab059(m): 2:23pm On Jun 28, 2023
Omoawoke:
Was she the first baby mama?

She wasn’t the first, so she knows what she was doing, she also snatched Davido from another woman

Na she wan marry king Solomon
grin grin You guys no go kill person for this Nairaland.
CelebritiesRe: Davido's Fans Link Anita's Pregnancy Saga To Lyrics Of Davido's Song, Assurance by olab059(m): 2:21pm On Jun 28, 2023
Dshocker:
I wonder what Davido had in mind before he laid with this ugly and old Anita that still did BBL.

Davido fall my hand.

Heard Chioma has treated several forms of infection, given to her on a platter 😂😂😂

It is better to cry in a Lamborghini, than to cry in a keke.... Shege is her second name.

This time, Chioma Rowland Adeleke will cry in a [b] Virgil Abloh Maybach, where she will open her Birkin Handbag and bring out a Gucci
Handkerchief
to blow her catarrh 🤐🤐🤐[/b]
LMAO! This was funny...and visual. I could see it as I read it. cheesy
Music/RadioRe: Burna Boy Wins BET Awards Best International Act For Record Fourth Time (Video) by olab059(m): 2:43pm On Jun 27, 2023
SangoOlukosoOba:
Davido performed on stage, Burna and Tems picked the awards

BET did not do Davido good…..
No they didn't. He didn't have any record out in the time frame the awards were given for. His Timeless album was released just 2 months ago.
Nairaland GeneralRe: What Was It Like Growing Up In The 80s And 90s In Lagos by olab059(m): 2:40pm On Jun 27, 2023
KingAzubuike:
There were no phones and Internet which meant there was more social interaction and physical bonding. Visiting a friend was 50:50. You could meet him at home or not meet him unlike today where you can easily call a friend to ask if he's home. Back then it was 50:50. I think that was what prompted people to hang plastic bottles in front of their gates or doors so you could drop a letter or notification. Fun spots were newspaper stands. You'll find people arguing about politics and sports.

Finding relationships was also kind of difficult. Going to find her at home was extremely dangerous coz of her parents. Dem go chop you raw. You and the girl will have to plan ahead of time where una go meet. Then on the d day na you go first reach there wait ahead of time. Na 50:50 too. grin either she shows up or she doesn't.
Exactly! grin
Nairaland GeneralRe: What Was It Like Growing Up In The 80s And 90s In Lagos by olab059(m): 1:01pm On Jun 27, 2023
80s and 90s...Hmm...Nostalgia.

First of all, there was more one on one interaction back then, nothing like social media...nothing like Nairaland, with people hiding behind a computer to say what's on their mind. Also, nothing like hookup girls back then. Yeah, they were prostitutes that stood around Sheraton Hotel Ikeja at night, and in Brothels, but nothing like the hookup epidemic we have right now...thanks to social media and the internet. Back then, if you liked a girl, you walked up to the girl and talk to her...girls were more attracted to looks, confidence, exposure, the way you speak...now it is all about money, money, money.

No phones, even till the late 90s. I remember back then, we would walk to our friend's house not knowing if we would meet him at home or not. lol! I remember a day I went to one of my female friend's house, and her sister was surprised to see me cos the girl had said she was going to my house. She used to lie that she was going to my house whenever she was going to her boyfriend's house.

Cable became a thing around the early to mid 90s, before then it was solely NTA, LTV, etc for entertainment, and ofcos video clubs. I remember Video Net, which was in many parts of Lagos. I used to be a movie buff back then, and all my savings went into renting movies. If the movie was in the VHS player when NEPA took light, and power wasn't restored till the deadline of when you were meant to return it, you have to pay extra charges. We had NITEL phone line in my house, and I remember the first time I called the video club to register around 9 years old. They said I should come in person, and I showed up this lanky 9 year old kid grin I wonder why the guy overlooked that and still registered me. Mehn! The first movie I rented was Arnold Schwarzenegger's Comando. Damn!!! Memories.

When ABG Cable came in the early 90s, we went to the video club less, cos we had SKY Movie channel and other movie channels I can't remember right now. Mehn! I can go on and on, but let me stop here. I don type epistle already. lol!
Car TalkRe: Where Can I Buy A Brand New Kia In Lagos? by olab059(op): 12:13am On Jun 26, 2023
Wisdom2003:
33M
Thanks.
Car TalkRe: Where Can I Buy A Brand New Kia In Lagos? by olab059(op): 12:13am On Jun 26, 2023
xperiencelove:
Got a KIA Picanto at Dana Motors Ltd, 54 Marina Lagos. They are your best bet.
They also have a show room around Adeola Odeku street, Victoria Island if you are closer to that end.
Okay. Thanks.
diportivo:
I for help u sha

but I be aboki undecided
lol! I also went through the guy's comments...such a negative mind.
Car TalkRe: Where Can I Buy A Brand New Kia In Lagos? by olab059(op): 11:24am On Jun 25, 2023
Draslo:
Dana Motors
Thanks.
Car TalkRe: Where Can I Buy A Brand New Kia In Lagos? by olab059(op): 11:00am On Jun 25, 2023
Muh247:
Coscharis Kia show room, Oshodi Apapa express way Lagos
Thanks a lot.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 32 pages)