Stats: 3,152,041 members, 7,814,556 topics. Date: Wednesday, 01 May 2024 at 02:56 PM

Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women - Family (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Family / Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women (8429 Views)

Why Do Men Find It Difficult To Ask Their Women For Money When They Are Broke?� / Men Have Become More Randy, Intolerant And Abusive Than Before. / Some Nigerian Men Have Low Self Esteem, Need Reorientation - Opinion (2) (3) (4)

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by descarado: 8:39pm On Jul 12, 2021
cococandy:
Which kinda brings us back to putting the blame on men.

There’s a reason why it happens. Through the ages, men strategically placed themselves in positions of financial power so that women will depend on them. Women were owned and sold by fathers for political and financial benefits. A woman would typically have nowhere and no options once she falls out of favor with her financial benefactor. So to survive, we obeyed and did what was expected of us. Those things get passed down. We pass it down. It will take a hot minute before we achieve a level financial playing field.

Until recently, women couldn’t own their own money unless men (fathers and husbands signed off in approval). Until TODAY. (You’re igbo and you know this too). Women aren’t permitted to inherit land from their families. This is beyond women being individually independent. All of us can work and provide for ourselves and it still won’t make as much of a difference in terms of how our society operates at the leadership level. Not when many of us are still misogynistic at heart. I understand that being independent cannot be over-emphasized and I encourage all women try. However, to affect leadership and chart our path as a nation, women would have to have more than money. We would need a society where people don’t inherently hate women. Where we can vote for a woman without assuming that she can’t be a good leader because of her womanhood.

U still don't get me. Women were sold in other countries, they have no say in other countries. Wives are treated less than concubines etc yet look at them now. Why can't we start fighting like them?
All Asian countries are more patriarchal than us. We don't have reasons .

Eg, how many married women among us Co Owen properties with their husbands?
Many have cars bought by their husbands but their husbands name on the particulars.

If something happen tomorrow, the woman will be thrown out like a piece of shit.
My sis, we know what to do but we are too relaxed to do that cos we are afraid or society.
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by crackhaus: 9:58pm On Jul 12, 2021
Descarado, e get why I dey like you sha... cheesy
Solid points so far.

Make your sisters do comot online and enter street with placard to fight for the better society which they so desire for women, same way their American and European counterparts did for themselves.

Abi are they still wating for men who will help them out with that one too? grin
Fvcking dependents forming strong women, lol..

Na only internet-based activism we dey see for snowflakes body.

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by crackhaus: 10:05pm On Jul 12, 2021
truthsayer009:

I can 100% guarantee that you can't do this, do you see the women on this comment section at all?

- if you wish, you dictate rules and what you want to be enshrined which would be followed by members of the household - YOU CAN'T

- You choose who you want as wife and can demand if she must be a virgin or within a certain age range - YOU CAN'T

- You can even set rules that your wife should dress like Deeper Life women, remain indoors and not speak back at you, she would mostly likely do these things because you have done your part - YOU CAN'T

- You can even marry another woman and she would not object - YOU CAN'T

If you like lay down you life for your wife, you still won't be able to do any of those things listed up there. I don't know if you time traveled from 1950 to 2021 but your brain is still living in 1950.

All the women who liked your post, I'm sure they did it out of ignorance. They didn't see this part.
LOL... The guy has been shooting himself on the foot from his very first post on the thread.

See the words he used – set rules, dictate, demand...

Whereas, it's the same pseudo-feminists supporting him here who have always had problems with those buzz words.
Something which they would usually refer to as toxic patriarchy every other day is getting a round of applause here.

This thread has been a comic relief mehn. cheesy

16 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by Hathor5(f): 10:13pm On Jul 12, 2021
descarado:

All I'm saying is what is our women doing to rise above this subjugation from men?
Women from other countries suffered more than us but we all look up to them and admire their system forgetting they fought their men to reach where they are today. Remember religion came from them. This is my argument only.
We can keep on blaming the men. Women in the West took the bull by the horn, what's stopping us?

The other day, I read a west African country where a woman was ordained Anglican priest. U need to see pages of insults hauled on her.
Should we stop trying simply because our men are fighting us every step?
That's why I said we are very lax and will settle for crumbs from the men. An average naija babe want gift from her boyfriend and is ready to flaunt it. That's selling her freedom. This continues as a married woman. A woman will rather sell akara and stay with the kids at home than insisting on getting high end job and then share house work with the husband. It's seen as unafrican for many men to work. Who said so. Western men don't enter the kitchen before. Chinese, Korean name them, they don't go near the kitchen, how come they can easily do that now? Why won't our men continue to dictate whatever happens to your life and society when we give them all the opportunities and armoury to use?

We are not ready yet. And we will never be ready.

You and cococandy live in the West, you know the diff. Their women fought and that started from the family. How we raise our kids, how far we can go for independence etc. When we get it right( like 40%), the society will hear our voice.

Yes but until then let the wanna be alpha leaders take responsibility for the wonderful zoo they have created. cheesy

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by cooooooks(m): 11:05pm On Jul 12, 2021
Parasite spotted?

memories1:
The self-acclaimed red pillers will soon come to call you unnecessary names; but you have indeed spoken[written] well.

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by memories1(f): 12:52am On Jul 13, 2021
cooooooks:
Parasite spotted?

Don't be silly. We do not know each other. Acquire some decorum, even if it's a faceless forum. Cheers.

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by cooooooks(m): 3:49am On Jul 13, 2021
So a parasite then eh?

memories1:

Don't be silly. We do not know each other. Acquire some decorum, even if it's a faceless forum. Cheers.

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by Nobody: 7:44am On Jul 13, 2021
I agree with the OP as regards men being in power.
Since inception,men have been the ones leading the country and it is clear they have failed,hence it is normal for the blame to be appropriated to them. Assuming the relevant/top leadership positions rotated between men and women,only then can both genders be blamed for the failure of the country.
Women should take over let's see if they'll do anything different.

Btw,giving women power or chance. Are women prohibited from contesting elections in Nigeria?NO. I usually see reports that females are more than males in this world,so how come males keep dominating them in all areas without them trying to change the status quo? I believe Nigerian women and other women in most parts of the world are suffering from Stockholm syndrome(probably inflicted by religion and culture,I keep saying it that those two things were created to control people mentally and otherwise. Until you're ready to ditch them you can't be free). If they're ready to lead or change the status quo they should do it and stop waiting for shit to be handed over to them on a platter of gold.

Cc
Cococandy
Hathor5
Gerrard59
Crackhaus
Pocohantas
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by pocohantas(f): 9:53am On Jul 13, 2021
Heads no wan be heads again?

Selective headship. Wahala no too much like this?? grin grin

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by Nobody: 10:58am On Jul 13, 2021
Plead:
Since inception,men have been the ones leading the country and it is clear they,hence it is normal for the blame to be appropriated to them. Assuming the relevant/top leadership positions rotated betw,only then can both genders be blamed for the failure of the country.

Btw,giving women power or chance. Are women prohibited from contesting elections in Nigeria?NO. I usually see reports that females are more than males in this world,so how come males keep dominating them in all areas without them trying to change the status quo? I believe Nigerian women and other women in most parts of the world are suffering from Stockholm syndrome(probably inflicted by religion and culture,I keep saying it that those two things we created to control people mentally and otherwise. Until you're ready to ditch them you can't be free). If they're ready to lead or change the status quo they should do it and stop waiting for shit to be handed over to them on a platter of gold.

Cc
Cococandy
Hathor5
Gerrard59
Crackhaus
Pocohantas

You know sometimes you don't have to jump into hot water before you'll know the repercurssion just a mere references of the victims is enough deterrence.
We don't have to imagine what women leadership would look like when we already have women occupying vital position .... whats their performance did they out do the men ... no be so so loan zainab dey initialize, what did diezani achieve as petroleum & aviation minister.
Lets even use the whole world since the inception of mankind as a case study ... was there any queen that ruled better than kings, presently is there any female president doing better than there male counterpart. Greece, kosovo, moldova, tanzanial all have current serving presidents, any difference
Americans are so civil, liberal, perfect n all, why did they pick trump over Mrs clinton. i think asking women to lead is moreorless an overload on their capacity you can't give what you don't have.
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by crackhaus: 11:05am On Jul 13, 2021
Plead:
Since inception,men have been the ones leading the country and it is clear they have failed,hence it is normal for the blame to be appropriated to them.
Assuming the relevant/top leadership positions rotated between men and women,only then can both genders be blamed for the failure of the country.

Btw,giving women power or chance. Are women prohibited from contesting elections in Nigeria?NO. I usually see reports that females are more than males in this world,so how come males keep dominating them in all areas without them trying to change the status quo? I believe Nigerian women and other women in most parts of the world are suffering from Stockholm syndrome(probably inflicted by religion and culture,I keep saying it that those two things we created to control people mentally and otherwise. Until you're ready to ditch them you can't be free). If they're ready to lead or change the status quo they should do it and stop waiting for shit to be handed over to them on a platter of gold.

I don't think anyone here has disputed the above.
The issue is about prostitution and the women who engage in it.

Is it men that have been in charge and should be held responsible for the state of the country? Yes!

Is it men that should be held responsible when girls/women sell their bodies through prostitution? Absolutely not!

If we start excusing every vice and blaming it on poverty, then we might as well not blame anyone for doing whatever they have chosen to do in order to earn their daily bread.
Ritualists, kidnappers, HK boys & girls, prostitution, armed robbery, etc. None of this is the fault of those who indulge in them.

11 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by angelfallz(m): 11:26am On Jul 13, 2021
Please what is HK boys and girls?

crackhaus:

Is it men that have been in charge and should be held responsible for the state of the country? Yes!

Is it men that should be held responsible when girls/women sell their bodies through prostitution? Absolutely not!

If we start excusing every vice and blaming it on poverty, then we might as well not blame anyone for doing whatever they have decide to do in order to earn their daily bread.
Ritualists, kidnappers, HK boys & girls, prostitution, armed robbery, etc. None of this is the fault of those who indulge in them.
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by Nobody: 12:10pm On Jul 13, 2021
larryjonze:

You know sometimes you don't have to jump into hot water before you'll know the repercurssion just a mere references of the victims is enough deterrence.
We don't have to imagine what women leadership would look like when we already have women occupying vital position .... whats their performance did they out do the men ... no be so so loan zainab dey initialize, what did diezani achieve as petroleum & aviation minister.
Lets even use the whole world since the inception of mankind as a case study ... was there any queen that ruled better than kings, presently is there any female president doing better than there male counterpart. Greece, kosovo, moldova, tanzanial all have current serving presidents, any difference
Americans are so civil, liberal, perfect n all, why did they pick trump over Mrs clinton. i think asking women to lead is moreorless an overload on their capacity you can't give what you don't have.

I don't understand this your argument. People said you've failed or not performing, the sensible thing to do is to allow them take over and see how they'll perform, if things will get better or worse.

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by Nobody: 12:14pm On Jul 13, 2021
crackhaus:

If we start excusing every vice and blaming it on poverty, then we might as well not blame anyone for doing whatever they have decide to do in order to earn their daily bread.

You're right on this part. Gerrard59 is yet to answer your question on women who engage in prostitution in the so called developed countries that their men didn't fail,why do they engage in prostitution? Is it still because they were failed by men?

The only part in gerrard59's write up that I agree with is the part where he said only men have been ruling the country so they're responsible for the fixing of the country. Every other thing he wrote is bullshit.
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by Nobody: 12:26pm On Jul 13, 2021
angelfallz:
Please what is HK boys and girls?

Yahoo boys and girls.

HK: hustling kingdom

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by angelfallz(m): 12:31pm On Jul 13, 2021
Thank you

Plead:

Yahoo boys and girls.

HK: hustling kingdom
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by Nobody: 12:58pm On Jul 13, 2021
Plead:

I don't understand this your argument. People said you've failed or not performing, the sensible thing to do is to allow them take over and see how they'll perform, if things will get better or worse.

Well i don't expect you to understand, if the female president in greece, moldova, tanzania could not do it any better i wonder why any man in his right mind would think of all race naija women will do better. reference is key when unraveling politics.
when you fail as a head he sensible thing to do is get up & restrategize ... not giveup
If you're so obsessed with female leadership why not start from ur home, be a pioneer of what you preach

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by Jman06(m): 1:29pm On Jul 13, 2021
I have never read a post as foolish and annoying as this in awhile!

And I used to rate this poster high on this forum, not knowing that he's such pussy wiped dunderhead! So disappointed!

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by Nobody: 2:40pm On Jul 13, 2021
crackhaus:
Descarado, e get why I dey like you sha... cheesy
Solid points so far.

Make your sisters do comot online and enter street with placard to fight for the better society which they so desire for women, same way their American and European counterparts did for themselves.

Abi are they still wating for men who will help them out with that one too? grin
Fvcking dependents forming strong women, lol..

Na only internet-based activism we dey see for snowflakes body.
Count me out I'm a hell of a dependent woman, its my right to be dependent on my future husband. Why haven't you quote me all this while, what are you feeling like,do I need to remind you that I like attention, be quoting me once in a while OK?
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by crackhaus: 4:24pm On Jul 13, 2021
Plead:

You're right on this part. Gerrard.59 is yet to answer your question on women who engage in prostitution in the so called developed countries that their men didn't fail,why do they engage in prostitution? Is it still because they were failed by men?

The only part in gerrard59's write up that I agree with is the part where he said only men have been ruling the country so they're responsible for the fixing of the country. Every other thing he wrote is bullshit.
No oo, those women probably enjoy the taste of díck, and are not indulging in it because they want food to eat or a roof over their heads... It's just harmless fun for them. grin

But watch how he will come here to explain how the number of prostitutes in Nigeria is more than those in developed countries, so this automatically makes it different.. lol.

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by crackhaus: 4:27pm On Jul 13, 2021
Rozcol:
Count me out I'm a hell of a dependent woman, its my right to be dependent on my future husband. Why haven't you quote me all this while, what are you feeling like,do I need to remind you that I like attention, be quoting me once in a while OK?
At least you're honest, not like some of your fellow Nigerian women that owe their current level in life to the generosity of a man/men... yet will still have mouth to talk shii. cheesy

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by Nobody: 4:41pm On Jul 13, 2021
crackhaus:

At least you're honest, not like some of your fellow Nigerian women that owe their current level in life to the generosity of a man/men... yet will still have mouth to talk shii. cheesy
Remember I said my future hubby ooo before you start mentioning men hian
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by emmaodet: 4:48pm On Jul 13, 2021
SeaTrade:
I've always known you were incoherent and very empty from travel threads but never for once did I think you were stupid as well.
So in the US were everything is supposed to be working,aren't there women who sell their bodies as well for food and shelter?
I guess their men failed too right?
He even said it is the job of men to make or build a society for women to thrive in lol.
When people fail in life,they try to drag down everyone around them to the ground and ridicule their efforts.
Nigerian men are doing very well,I mean very well.You are not just able to meet up with the productive ones because they wouldn't roll with a nonentity like you,hence you use your unproductive circle(your likes) to judge Nigerian men.

Hello bro.
How is business and life in general?
Missed you
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by crackhaus: 4:49pm On Jul 13, 2021
Rozcol:
Remember I said my future hubby ooo before you start mentioning men hian
All join...

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by SeaTrade(m): 5:02pm On Jul 13, 2021
emmaodet:

Hello bro.
How is business and life in general?
Missed you
Hi baba,
Dey alright ooo,just work dey stress person and all that.
How your side na?
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by emmaodet: 5:15pm On Jul 13, 2021
SeaTrade:
Hi baba,
Dey alright ooo,just work dey stress person and all that.
How your side na?

Fine too.
Life is good but biz as been up and down.
Human factor is really affecting my biz but am putting things in place to correct that.
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by SeaTrade(m): 5:18pm On Jul 13, 2021
emmaodet:

Fine too.
Life is good but biz as been up and down.
Human factor is really affecting my biz but am putting things in place to correct that.
Business is very hard bro ,I weighs down even the best.
Everyday is just a learning process and mistakes we make that need correction.
I'm glad you have identified your problem and is correcting it as well,kudos man.
Best wishes.
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by emmaodet: 5:22pm On Jul 13, 2021
SeaTrade:
Business is very hard bro ,I weighs down even the best.
Everyday is just a learning process and mistakes we make that need correction.
I'm glad you have identified your problem and is correcting it as well,kudos man.
Best wishes.

Thanks bro and you too
Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by armyofone(m): 6:17pm On Jul 13, 2021
Look deeper into those engaging in prostitution in developed countries - tentacles of dysfunction brought about mostly by a male.

For the family, society, community, country etc to succeed, we have to learn to work side by side with each other - giving anyone with the potential the needed support irrespective of their gender.

At Op, the Nigeria religion/culture is the bane of the society not progressing well.

Plead:

You're right on this part. Gerrard59 is yet to answer your question on women who engage in prostitution in the so called developed countries that their men didn't fail,why do they engage in prostitution? Is it still because they were failed by men?

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by crackhaus: 7:30pm On Jul 13, 2021
armyofone:
Look deeper into those engaging in prostitution in developed countries - tentacles of dysfunction brought about mostly by a male.

For the family, society, community, country etc to succeed, we have to learn to work side by side with each other - giving anyone with the potential the needed support irrespective of their gender.

At Op, the Nigeria religion/culture is the bane of the society not progressing well.

cheesycheesy

It never ends with you people, does it?

So anyone who engages in prostitution in developed countries is dysfunctional. It's not because they need the money to feed/house themselves huh?

You can't be serious...

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by crackhaus: 7:38pm On Jul 13, 2021
Armyofone, see dysfunctional women fighting to have their legal fuckability rights...

Guess what? Most of them are definitely feminists if you look deeper.

What your opinion means in simple terms is that anyone who supports the legalization of prostitution is clearly dysfunctional, and that will include a good majority of Democrats including one or two in the present White House.

Re: Nigerian Men Have Failed Their Women by Nobody: 7:47pm On Jul 13, 2021
larryjonze:

Well i don't expect you to understand, if the female president in greece, moldova, tanzania could not do it any better i wonder why any man in his right mind would think of all race naija women will do better. reference is key when unraveling politics.
when you fail as a head he sensible thing to do is get up & restrategize ... not giveup
If you're so obsessed with female leadership why not start from ur home, be a pioneer of what you preach

Your level of misogyny is very high. If female presidents failed elsewhere does that mean they'll automatically fail here? You wouldn't know until you give them a chance.
Let them fix the country since some think it's easy,if they take over and the country gets worse then they'll shut up.

Would You Go For A Low-key Marriage Ceremony? (you, Spouse, Parents And Siblings) / Please Help!!i Need Some Life Advice. / Why Are Boys Closer To Their Mother And Girls Closer To Their Dad?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 84