Stats: 3,165,394 members, 7,861,103 topics. Date: Saturday, 15 June 2024 at 12:28 AM

You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. (3902 Views)

If An Atheists Goes For Interview, What Will He/she Choose As Religion / Theists: Objective Morality, Why Is Something Good? / Sexual Orientations And Objective Morality. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (14) (Reply) (Go Down)

You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 6:47pm On Jun 08, 2023
You cannot be an atheist and have an objective morality meaning morality values that is true to everyone regardless of region, tribe, race or gender?

Meaning you cannot say murder, lying, fraud, cheating, or any vice is objectively wrong but that does not mean that atheists are not moral only that they have no basis to say this or that is absolutely wrong.
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by budaatum: 7:20pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:
You cannot be an atheist and have an objective morality meaning morality values that is true to everyone regardless of region, tribe, race or gender?

Meaning you cannot say murder, lying, fraud, cheating, or any vice is objectively wrong but that does not mean that atheists are not moral only that they have no basis to say this or that is absolutely wrong.

Nonsense! It is very objectively wrong for you to murder me or lie to me or commit fraud on me or cheat me or for me to do any of those things to others based on their religion, region, tribe, race or gender. And it is definitely not right for me to murder you or lie to you or commit fraud on you or cheat you regardless of your religion. Besides, if I do any of those things to you, I lack the privilege of excusing myself by asking some God to forgive me so I can go sin again.

Atheists, I'd say, would in fact mostly have an objective morality as opposed to the subjective morality that a religious person might have, especially since some religions approve of murder, lying, fraud, cheating where other religions, region tribe, race or gender are concerned. It is after all not atheists who pour petrol on thieves and set them alight on Nigerian streets, and being a pastor does not mean one may not lie or cheat others.

That said, a person's morality is always mostly subjective to the person regardless, though we can all accept that some things like murder, lying, fraud and cheating are objectively, and should be subjectively wrong too.

Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by MaxInDHouse(m): 7:36pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:
You cannot be an atheist and have an objective morality meaning morality values that is true to everyone regardless of region, tribe, race or gender? Meaning you cannot say murder, lying, fraud, cheating, or any vice is objectively wrong but that does not mean that atheists are not moral only that they have no basis to say this or that is absolutely wrong.

Of course they will claim there is basis but the problem is they don't know why there must be basis for morality since each of them want to be absolutely free without restraint! smiley
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 7:41pm On Jun 08, 2023
budaatum:

Nonsense! It is very objectively wrong for you to murder me or lie to me or commit fraud on me or cheat me or for me to do any of those things to others based on their religion, region, tribe, race or gender. And it is definitely not right for me to murder you or lie to you or commit fraud on you or cheat you regardless of your religion. Besides, if I do any of those things to you, I lack the privilege of excusing myself by asking some God to forgive me so I can go sin again.

Atheists, I'd say, would in fact mostly have an objective morality as opposed to the subjective morality that a religious person might have, especially since some religions approve of murder, lying, fraud, cheating where other religions, region tribe, race or gender are concerned. It is after all not atheists who pour petrol on thieves and set them alight on Nigerian streets, and being a pastor does not mean one may not lie or cheat others.

That said, a person's morality is always mostly subjective to the person regardless, though we can all accept that some things like murder, lying, fraud and cheating are objectively, and should be subjectively wrong too.
Why is it objectively wrong?
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 7:42pm On Jun 08, 2023
MaxInDHouse:

Of course they will claim there is basis but the problem is they don't know why there must be basis for morality since each of them want to be absolutely free without restraint! smiley
without the concept of God there is no absolutely right and wrong.
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Maynmann: 8:59pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:

Is something good because yahweh decrees it to be good, or does yahweh decree something to be good because it is in good in itself?
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by budaatum: 9:02pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:
Why is it objectively wrong?
Objectivity is not wrong. Subjective humans should however not claim objectivity when they are obviously subjective.
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by budaatum: 9:05pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:

Rubbish! Countries that don't do your God still have the absolute wrongs of murder, lying, fraud, cheating. We Nigerians had laws against those wrongs before your God arrived there.

Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 9:11pm On Jun 08, 2023
Maynmann:

Is something good because yahweh decrees it to be good, or does yahweh decree something to be good because it is in good in itself?
No Not just because yaweh decreed it but morality exist because we are all created by God and therefore has innate value, the atheistic world view does not allow for such.
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 9:13pm On Jun 08, 2023
budaatum:

Rubbish! Countries that don't do your God still have the absolute wrongs of murder, lying, fraud, cheating. We Nigerians had laws against those wrongs before your God arrived there.
that is because those countries are borrowed from Judeo-Christian world view.
The argument is that atheism has no basis for morality and so far no reasonable reply.
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by budaatum: 9:17pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:
The argument is that atheism has no basis for morality and so far no reasonable reply.

Nigeria did not borrow from Judeo-Christian world view before the so called Judeo-Christian world view was sold to you. In fact, the Islamic world view arrived in Nigeria before Christianity did, and we had laws against murder, lying, fraud, cheating before it arrived, which at this point makes me wonder what you know about this topic.

Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Maynmann: 9:18pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:
No Not just because yaweh decreed it but morality exist because we are all created by God and therefore has innate value, the atheistic world view does not allow for such.
So good exist without yahweh?
And yahweh is under this law as he is a good god abi

What’s the atheistic view?

Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by hopefulLandlord: 9:19pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:

what is objective morality?

Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Maynmann: 9:19pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:
“Judeo christian worldview”, When was judaism and christianity created?
There was no morality before then?

Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by budaatum: 9:20pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:

So, becoming an atheist removes what you claim is innate? Did your God not create the atheist?
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 9:21pm On Jun 08, 2023
budaatum:

Nigeria did not borrow from Judeo-Christian world view before the so called Judeo-Christian world view was sold to you. In fact, the Islamic world view arrived in Nigeria before Christianity did, and we had laws against murder, lying, fraud, cheating before it arrived, which at this point makes me wonder what you know about this topic.
But Nigeria and Islamic countries are theistic apart from that the argument is simple,
Atheism has no basis for objective morality.

Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by budaatum: 9:22pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:

But Nigeria and Islamic countries are theistic apart from that the argument is simple,
Atheism has no basis for objective morality.

What is objective morality?
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 9:22pm On Jun 08, 2023
hopefulLandlord:

what is objective morality?
It means what is having a universal morality.
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Maynmann: 9:23pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:

Is lying moral?
Is lying to save your life moral?
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 9:23pm On Jun 08, 2023
budaatum:

What is objective morality?
objective morality means what is wrong or right is not dependent on individual choice
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by hopefulLandlord: 9:26pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:
okay, so what's universal morality?
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 9:29pm On Jun 08, 2023
Maynmann:

Is lying moral?
Is lying to save your life moral?
It is wrong regardless
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 9:31pm On Jun 08, 2023
hopefulLandlord:

okay, so what's universal morality?
Adultery, taking innocent lives, stealing etc
My friend this is not the point, the point is atheism does not have any basis for morality.

Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Maynmann: 9:32pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:

It is wrong regardless
What makes it wrong?

Your yahweh was wrong when he asked abraham to lie then.
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 9:36pm On Jun 08, 2023
Maynmann:

What makes it wrong?

Because God is against it.
You are beating about with no bearing, atheism has no basis for objective morality,
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by budaatum: 9:36pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:
objective morality means what is wrong or right is not dependent on individual choice

The wrongness of murder, lying, fraud, cheating does not depend on individual choice. Before your Yahweh was created, Egypt, Rome, Greece, China and Yorubas along with most societies, all had laws against those wrongs. Most societies figured out for themselves that those things are detrimental to society and are therefore wrong and did not need any gods to tell them that.

Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 9:37pm On Jun 08, 2023
Maynmann:

What makes it wrong?

when did yahweh ask Abraham to lie?
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Maynmann: 9:37pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:
Because God is against it.
You are beating about with no bearing, atheism has no basis for objective morality,

You will be a rapist if your god told you to be, you don’t know what morality means

Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Steep(m): 9:38pm On Jun 08, 2023
budaatum:

The wrongness of murder, lying, fraud, cheating does not depend on individual choice. Before your Yahweh was created, Egypt, Rome, Greece, China and Yorubas along with most societies, all had laws against those wrongs. Most societies figured out for themselves that those things are detrimental to society and are therefore wrong and did not need any gods to tell them that.
We all agree it is wrong but we all cannot explain why it is wrong, and atheist cannot explain why something is wrong objectively, that is the case.
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by Maynmann: 9:38pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:
when did yahweh ask Abraham to lie?
Yahweh is going against himself ?
Didn’t you just say yahweh is against lying to save yourself?
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by budaatum: 9:44pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:

We all agree it is wrong but we all cannot explain why it is wrong, and atheist cannot explain why something is wrong objectively, that is the case.

I have explained why it is wrong for you to "murder, lying, fraud, cheating" me, and why it is wrong for me to "murder, lying, fraud, cheating" you. Kindly read it below for understanding.

There is the objective law of any land that will charge you for those crimes, and the prison you'd end up in is very objective indeed.

budaatum:
It is very objectively wrong for you to murder me or lie to me or commit fraud on me or cheat me or for me to do any of those things to others based on their religion, region, tribe, race or gender. And it is definitely not right for me to murder you or lie to you or commit fraud on you or cheat you regardless of your religion. Besides, if I do any of those things to you, I lack the privilege of excusing myself by asking some God to forgive me so I can go sin again.
Re: You cannot be an atheists and have objective morality. by hopefulLandlord: 9:44pm On Jun 08, 2023
Steep:

Adultery, taking innocent lives, stealing etc
My friend this is not the point, the point is atheism does not have any basis for morality.

stay on track my friend. so you're saying what makes these things wrong is because it's universally wrong?

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (14) (Reply)

Wish Nairalanders A Happy Easter/Long Holiday / Happy New Year Nairaland Pagans/traditionalists / Why Was Lucifer Weaker Than Archangel Michael?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 50