Stats: 3,151,796 members, 7,813,625 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 03:10 PM

BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED - Politics (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED (38754 Views)

Another Peter Obi Lie Busted. Twitter User Exposes Him And His Lie. / Peter Obis Lie Busted About His ICT Involvement In Anambra. Pic / "Lai Mohammed's Big Lie Busted" - By Reno Omokri (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (19) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Michael004: 1:02pm On Oct 31, 2017
bakynes:
I think I agree with the OP here, first of all those banks then we're British owned, the indigenization policy by Gowon came to be after the Civil War which made those British banks now Nigerian banks like Union Bank(which was Barclay's bank my Grandmother worked there)and First Bank, so even if Igbos had money in the bank, those bank were not Nigerian bank so there is no way the govt would have seized their monies.

Second, like the OP said the minority tribes in the defunct Biafra of old Eastern region,none of them have come out to say they lost money in the banks except the Igbos why is that?

Third, how is it possible to go back to Biafra (after Ojukwu asked everyone to come back home) without going back home with money to feed and survive? Biafrans must have withdrew their money in the bank.

Fourth, we heard ojukwu looted the bank branches in the East and collected donations from people, asked people to exchange their Nigerian pounds for the Biafran pounds so how did the Biafrans who came from Nigeria have money to exchange, I thought they had all their money in the Nigerian(British controlled) banks and came home with nothing?

Infact, the story of Igbos lost money in the banks before they left for Biafra was a big sham.
Very intelligent contribution. Make this a topic and see how they will be answering you with curse and baseless point. I wish this points should be made a topic here.

19 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by mpianya39(m): 1:04pm On Oct 31, 2017
Rotimik:

Thank you for this post.

We Yorubas have been the most kind to the Igbos of all ethnic groups in Nigeria, yet they are always looking for ways to malign us and cast aspersions on our character before the world.

It was on record that ACB, the bank with which most Igbos save their money's was bankrupted upon their leaving for the east.

Also, it took the intervention of Awolowo for the 20 pounds per person to be approved by the then military government.

It is only in Nigeria that you hear of such thing happening, that a government pays the others side like that after a war.

Oga stop begging for unity angry
Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by mpianya39(m): 1:11pm On Oct 31, 2017
Rotimik:
Have you noticed when someone comes from the east to the west for the first time. The look of suppressed anger or fear.

Over the years as a child, I've wondered why. Now I know. Anger at or fear of Yoruba people because of what they have been told.

They later get over it when they find out, we are not the dangerous people they perceive us to be when they were being fed lies about us back at home.

Tell that to your dog
Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by aribisala0(m): 1:11pm On Oct 31, 2017
You see there are so many lies about that time that people believe without questioning.

Some of it they believe because they WANT TO. This may sound strange but people can make a deliberate effort to believe a falsehood like the young lad who walks in and finds his mother in copulo with Pastor Koboko and persuades himself they were praying. The human capacity for self deception is astounding.

Now consider the story told about Awolowo and the indigenization policy. How he conspired as Minister of Finance to facilitate the acquisition of businesses by Yorubas.

The Fact is Awolowo left Gowon's government in 1971 in fact he sent is his resignation letter giving notice in 1970. This is public knowledge.
It is also a fact that the First indigenization decree was promulgated in 1972 With Shehu Shagari as Minister of Finance from 1971-1975. Still you will never hear Shagari's name but Awolowo.

WHY??

The reason is simple.

The civil war brought a new and profound sense of failure for these people and they remained in shock for a long time. They needed a narrative to explain their failure. For them the principal reason for their failure had to be Awo and by extension the Yoruba.Reality was irrelevant.
Well we differ. You lost out not because of Yoruba betrayal(we were not allies politically) but rather because of your tendency to act impulsively without planning or regard to consequences. Just like we have seen recently with Nnamdi Kanu

Essentially they are owned by a deep sense of self hate that is so corrosive internally it had to be externalized and Awo and the Yorubas are a ready alibi.
Till tomorrow they have not been able to confront and process or interrogate the pogroms of 66 and 67 and its perpetrators ,they cannot even look them in the eye. A case of collective Stockholm syndrome.
Well They are entitled to their hate. We are entitled to ensure the fidelity of any historical narratives.

Awolowo was VERY GOOD to them and they should make a big statue for him in Owerri

29 Likes 6 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by jpphilips(m): 1:12pm On Oct 31, 2017
JUSTICE4Nigeria:
propaganda at it best, igbo been business men have so much money in the bank before the war, after the war, whether u have equivalent or more than the aforementioned u will be given 20pounds just like given every igbo 20naira after all they have save in Nigeria bank, awolOwo took THE balance to buy shares in different company, due to they didn't laboured for it yorubas squandered the fund,

You must be a child when that policy was rolled out, igbos who still had money in the banks changed it to Biafran currency a worthless currency with no global recognition, under a policy called "Ahiara declaration"

As a matter of fact, the Biafran currency had no exchange rate so it is practically useless, except amongst Biafrans. Other Biafrans used Nigerian pounds for "Ahia attack" during the war.

After the war, the FG used that policy to mop up the useless currency from circulation by giving out those £20 notes of real value. So that was a huge favour in real value.

20 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Michael004: 1:14pm On Oct 31, 2017
JUSTICE4Nigeria:
ROMANCE SECTION IS BEST FOR YOUR LIKE, SEEMS U JUST STUMBLED INTO THIS SECTION WITHOUT BRAIN, U CAN GO BACK TO ROMANCE SEC AND GET IT, THAT THEY HAVE YEARS TO PREPARE FOR WAR OR TO COME BACK AS ORDER......... BLA BLA BLA, AS IF U DONT KNOW GOING TO WAR WAS THE LAST THING ON OJUKWU's MIND,

CAN U IMAGINE THE CALIBRES AM ARGUING WITH, THAT I
It is you that need to go to romance section cos he just asked you very intelligent and interesting question. Give intelligent answer to that and stop shifting goal post.

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Michael004: 1:26pm On Oct 31, 2017
Ngokafor:

Aww you have missed the plot bro..You dont implore this people from SW to be sensible or engage them like normal humans..you hit them below the belt without looking back...Match them propaganda for propaganda...That is their only medicine..
They have perfected the art of lies,false-hood,distortion of facts and history as well as delusions of grandeur that the devil itself will be green with envy...period.
This girl and stupidity should be from the same family. Were you not the same girl that called a Yoruba Muslim danladi? You are now a laughing stock. See above and see sensible and intelligent question being asked. Even though I know you cannot have and sensible answer to that. You such a big shame. Known that since the day your Yoruba Muslim friend is called danladi.

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by jpphilips(m): 1:28pm On Oct 31, 2017
obailala:
The FG didn't pay any money to Igbos, rather they returned a tiny fraction of the seized. If an Igbo man had £10,000 in his account, only £20 was returned to him; if the man had zero in his account, nothing was paid to him.

Your ignorance stink, what was the worth of 10,000 biafran pounds outside Biafra, I dont want to talk about Africa or the world, lets talk about Lagos.
What is the Biafran pounds worth in Lagos?
Give us exchange rates how the Biafran pounds exchanged at the time?

You had useless 10,000 Biafran pounds but recieved £20 of real value, yet you have mouth to talk rubbish.

19 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by jpphilips(m): 1:33pm On Oct 31, 2017
prodigy24:

You are insulting our intelligence with this nonsense.
My last post on this is, people lodged money into banks with hope of getting the equivalent, but was given a paltry of 20 pounds. My parents were victims, they told me that people contributed money across the village, but was disappointed when 20 pounds was given to them. Now answer me how much can 30 persons get from 20pounds? What ratio will you use to share it?
What happened? My parent forsake the money to the account owner, went home empty handed ,stared from the beginning and you are here .making conjectures. Why don't you go and ask people who are truly affected about their story, instead of you coming on nairaland to incur generational curses!

Ask your parents these questions;

Which currency did they have in Biafran banks?
What is the value of the currency they had in terms of exchange rates?

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Michael004: 1:34pm On Oct 31, 2017
braivheart:

Take this post down.

You don't have to twist history to justify anybody's actions.

Decide henceforth to be truthful, you'd be respected for it.
You people keep shouting twisting history, but none of you ever counter it. Aren't you people ashamed for a moment?

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by jpphilips(m): 1:36pm On Oct 31, 2017
aribisala0:

Factually do you have aa shred of evidence to back this claim?

It simply is not true. Many people may have CLAIMED they opened accounts. Have you got evidence of those who had papers and were denied

More importantly what you fail to tell us is assuming your claim is true what happened to the money.

Was their ever any legislation empowering government to take such money or did the banks benefit

Were Ikwerres affected ? Why not how not?

What about so called DElta Igbos?

Surely such a decree or law must have been gazetted
Surely it must have made it into ONE NEWSPAPER article somewhere ?

What was the size of Bank deposits in Nigeria in total. Surely there must be some evidence of something.

Did the Nigerian government confiscate the money? By decree or what mechanism?

Our laws are not secret!!
The banks were not government owned in fact one was British and the other partly British. They could not hand over money without a decree or gazette

Funny enough, the booming smuggling buisness in the east at the time was "Ahia attack", igbos used Nigerian pounds for it, the Biafra currency had no value beyond Owerri.

15 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by blackhinstan: 1:45pm On Oct 31, 2017
aribisala0:
In 1970 after the war the Nigerian government generally gave £20 of Nigerian money to every eligible adult but no one has ever done the math.

Let us assume their were one million of them =£20million Nigerian

We know that the Nigerian pound exchanged for £2 pounds sterling in 1970 so
that would be £40 million . What would that be worth today

according to this inflation calculator

https://www.moneysorter.co.uk/calculator_inflation2.html

Kid, 20 pound was paid to those whose money in the bank was above 20pounds not those with less . so stop calculating. the money paid was less than what they had in the bank. that was robbery by Awolowo

for your information kid op

it would be
£432612859. Sterling
Not sure what sterling is doing these days but @ 475

that is

205491108025 Naira

200 billion

Assuming it was 1 million people that received the money. No one has ever told us how many did but I think it could be double that.

For a country to pay that out immediately after a war of such devastation is a huge feat considering that Nigeria was not even a major oil exporter in1970 and in 1970 oil prices were under $4 which when adjusted for inflation in today's money is $21.

It is a testament to the prudent financial management of Papa Awo who also kept the allocation of East Central state for 3 years and paid it all after the war

But they are not grateful and feel entitled to that payment. What have we done for the NE . Imagine finding 200 billion to give them today when oil prices in real terms are 3 X what they were in 1970

The standard of living was much lower. Let me put it in Perspective our standard of living then, There was no Lagos Ibadan Expressway. No East -West Road. PH to Aba was a single carriage way.The Air assault camp was the main airport in PH Omagwa airport did not exist. There was nothing like presidential jet. Where were the airports?
The country was broke with very little compared to today but still gave generously in the spirit or sacrifice and reconciliation

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by bakynes(m): 1:47pm On Oct 31, 2017
obailala:
My grandfather is my source, he lost his entire wealth after the war.
You don't lose a War and expect everything to go back to Normal. Try to let it go, we understand the bitter experience Biafrans went through but you guys should stop looking for sympathy by twisting historical events.

Even people that had nothing then will lie to you they have millions of pounds before the war so you can direct your anger and hate to other Nigerians.

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Michael004: 2:05pm On Oct 31, 2017
horsepower101:
The problem with the OP is that he is yet to come to terms that his people, the Yorubas are the most incompetent humans that ever existed. He is in shock how the people given only 20 pounds 50 years ago came to surpass his people economically. His only reason of opening this useless thread is to propagate a false notion that the 20 pounds given to SOME igbos was a lot of money in order to make excuses for his people lack of drive and gross incompetence.

As ikechuob pointed out in a different thread, these people are the only region that didn't experience any war and should have all their cities highly developed. What is their excuse. That's why they would always run to backward Hausa Fulani because that's their only hope of stopping Igbo progress.
[/s]Mumu, this one think 20pounds then is like 20pounds of now. Such a daft human being. Spit.

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Malawian(m): 2:08pm On Oct 31, 2017
aribisala0:

Play? You folk are always sentimental and childish. So we should allow you rewrite and distort history unchallenged?
Just like your claim that 3 million people died? Which is another claim that has no basis in ANYTHING
Histoty is about establishing TRUTH
The idea that Bank accounts were taken over by the Nigeria State is one that needs examination.
Is it possib;e that this happened without any law,gazette or one single newspaper article.

As far as [ictures go who started the picture posting game? Scroll up and look for the first picture on this thread?

Please spare me the whining

Were orher Biafrans Affected or Just Igbos?
What about Ikwerres and Delta people with Igbo names
What of "abandoned property" am sure you will deny that too.
Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Igboid: 2:09pm On Oct 31, 2017
Lol!

What's new..
We have had tens of threads on this, on nairaland in the past.

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Igboid: 2:10pm On Oct 31, 2017
obailala:
The FG didn't pay any money to Igbos, rather they returned a tiny fraction of the seized. If an Igbo man had £10,000 in his account, only £20 was returned to him; if the man had zero in his account, nothing was paid to him.

Lol!

This one is crying too?

grin cheesy

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Igboid: 2:18pm On Oct 31, 2017
The 1966 was an Igbo coup, the Yoruba man Ademoyega was deceived by Igbos

There was no deliberate bombing of civilian homes, market places and hospitals in Biafra by Nigerian Egyptian air rade mercenaries,

There was no starvation policy or intent masterminded and carried out by Awolowo led FG

There was no Abandoned property

There was no 20 pounds policy

There was no indigenization policy that was aimed by Awolowo and Yorubas at enriching themselves.

What more did I miss? grin

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by aribisala0(m): 2:20pm On Oct 31, 2017
Malawian:

What of "abandoned property" am sure you will deny that too.
What of it?

What is your question? I am not a mind reader

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Michael004: 2:26pm On Oct 31, 2017
obailala:
[/s]Lie from the pit of hell.

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Malawian(m): 2:27pm On Oct 31, 2017
aribisala0:
What of it?

What is your question? I am not a mind reader
was there abandoned property or not?
Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by aribisala0(m): 3:14pm On Oct 31, 2017
Malawian:

was there abandoned property or not?
Was there abandoned property or not? I am sure in your mind what you are trying to say makes plenty sense. Communication is about sharing the content of your mind with other minds using a mutually comprehensible medium.

If you do not communicate clearly I am not prepared to make assumptions about what you mean.

Asking me whether there was abandoned property is like asking me

Was there fried egg or not .

What is the context or meaning of that?

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Malawian(m): 3:17pm On Oct 31, 2017
aribisala0:
Was there abandoned property or not? I am sure in your mind what you are trying to say makes plenty sense. Communication is about sharing the content of your mind with other minds using a mutually comprehensible medium.

If you do not communicate clearly I am not prepared to make assumptions about what you mean.

Asking me whether there was abandoned property is like asking me

Was there fried egg or not .

What is the context or meaning of that?
I though my question required just a "yes" or "no" answer.
Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by amachuk(m): 3:22pm On Oct 31, 2017
aribisala0:

Factually do you have aa shred of evidence to back this claim?

It simply is not true. Many people may have CLAIMED they opened accounts. Have you got evidence of those who had papers and were denied

More importantly what you fail to tell us is assuming your claim is true what happened to the money.

Was their ever any legislation empowering government to take such money or did the banks benefit

Were Ikwerres affected ? Why not how not?

What about so called DElta Igbos?

Surely such a decree or law must have been gazetted
Surely it must have made it into ONE NEWSPAPER article somewhere ?

What was the size of Bank deposits in Nigeria in total. Surely there must be some evidence of something.

Did the Nigerian government confiscate the money? By decree or what mechanism?

Our laws are not secret!!
The banks were not government owned in fact one was British and the other partly British. They could not hand over money without a decree or gazette
what do you need legislation for?, as if Nigeria works with it, were there no international legislations prohibiting soldiers from attacking civilian concentration? was there no legislation mandating the implementation of the 3Rs,? mind you, my father was a victim of the wicked awo policies that tormented awo till he drank Otapiapia and died.
Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by aribisala0(m): 3:32pm On Oct 31, 2017
Malawian:

I though my question required just a "yes" or "no" answer.
I am sure you think that .To me your question has no meaning.I have no idea what you mean

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by diadem10: 3:39pm On Oct 31, 2017
obailala:
My grandfather is my source, he lost his entire wealth after the war.

Your grandfather probably exchanged his money for the worthless biafran pounds. He was scammed by Ojukwu yet expected Nigeria government to bear the loss.

Ibo shoulda been happy they got 20 pounds each in return. That was enormous.

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by achi4u(m): 3:55pm On Oct 31, 2017
aribisala0:

Emotional stuff. Of no moment or value to Historians.
The job of the Historian is to establish FACTS not experience the history, which is an absurd proposition.

The issue here is if your folk left money in banks what happened to it? Who took it? Are not those legitimate questions?
Bros you have repeated this line too much not minding that government of that period can do anything under the sun punish his enemy (Igbos), you people can bomb hospitals, schools, Churches and even market where you know that children and women could be hiding, so what is there that you cannot do?
Just tell the banks to check those accounts that are dormant for the period of 3 years declare the Owner death... What's the big deal here

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Malawian(m): 3:57pm On Oct 31, 2017
aribisala0:
I am sure you think that .To me your question has no meaning.I have no idea what you mean

Do i think you are honest?

https://media1.tenor.co/images/1e94f8b2e14925314996a53060cd0003/tenor.gif?itemid=8123780
Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by SIRTee15: 4:31pm On Oct 31, 2017
The 20 pounds was for people who had biafra pounds in their bank accounts....
The strategy was to mop up the biafra currency in circulation...
The policy was to give 20 pounds to anybody who has biafra pounds in his bank accounts irrespective of the amount....
It doesn't matter if it's 1 million or just 100 biafra pounds....
So long u can prove u have biafra pounds in your bank account, the whole amount will be exchanged for 20 nigerian pounds....
Even if its one biafra pound...
Of course the igbos had hoped their biafran pounds will be exchanged for the nigerian currency at a fixed n reasonable rate....
Thus it's understandable if they were disappointed at the policy...
But the policy has nothing to do with those holding the nigerian pounds....
Let's not forget some igbos stayed back in Lagos during biafra....
Thus it would have been stupid if FG started confiscating bank accounts with ibo names...
Pls let's be enlightened....

10 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by aribisala0(m): 4:43pm On Oct 31, 2017
achi4u:
Bros you have repeated this line too much not minding that government of that period can do anything under the sun punish his enemy (Igbos), you people can bomb hospitals, schools, Churches and even market where you know that children and women could be hiding, so what is there that you cannot do?
Just tell the banks to check those accounts that are dormant for the period of 3 years declare the Owner death... What's the big deal here
That may be true but there is an interesting word called historicity.Check it up.

The fact remains that there is not a single shred of contemporaneous documentary evidence from a people as educated (at the time)the Igbos is telling. No newspaper articles,No cries to UN, even Frederick Forsyth had nothing to say. Chinua Achebe did not write a single contemporaneous paragraph anywhere about it? did they not keep records too?
Barclays bank was a British bank.Why

I don't buy it

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by achi4u(m): 5:03pm On Oct 31, 2017
aribisala0:
That may be true but there is an interesting word called historicity.Check it up.

The fact remains that there is not a single shred of contemporaneous documentary evidence from a people as educated (at the time)the Igbos is telling. No newspaper articles,No cries to UN, even Frederick Forsyth had nothing to say. Chinua Achebe did not write a single contemporaneous paragraph anywhere about it? did they not keep records too?
Barclays bank was a British bank.Why

I don't buy it
So because there's no historical fact or documentaries of the said act... We should assumed that such atrocities or incidents never happened?
Are you saying in totality that no Biafran person lost his or her money after the civil war, that no Biafran was given £20 in the equivalent of his or her fund in the Bank?

If the above questions were to be true, then what prompted the given away of £20 stipends?
Re: BIAFRA TWENTY POUND LIE BUSTED by Michael004: 5:30pm On Oct 31, 2017
prodigy24:

Your parents are the liars here, I can say it to their face! You low life think you have opinion on everything. Curse be upon you!
And curse be upon your household. You can keep ranting here. Idiot with a pathetic lying parents.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (19) (Reply)

Soldiers Celebrate Independence In Borno On Streets Of Maiduguri / Reps Clash Over Buhari’s Health Status / Picture Of President Jonathan In Aso Rock Villa

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 82