Stats: 3,153,153 members, 7,818,487 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 05:10 PM

Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data - Phones - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data (69276 Views)

For Those Using MTN / New Setting For HTTP Injector To Power All Apps Using MTN Mpulse Data / Its Time To Stop Using Mtn For Browsing.. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)

Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by GeoAfrikana(m): 4:02am On Jun 17, 2020
I'm so angry right now. As you can see, I'm creating this post in the middle of the night.

There are many negative things people say about MTN. Sincerely, I've always given them an open mind but tonight I discovered something very terrible about them

Summary:
When you subscribe for night data, MTN doesn't only deduct from your night data balance, they also deduct from your main balance.

Explanation
For long I've been using the MTN pulse plan. I buy 1.5gig weekly. But because I usually need to download tutorials from YouTube I support my data with their 500mb midnight plan.

I've always noticed that my 1.5gig doesn't last long. Within five days (sometimes three days) my data would have finished.

I spend a lot of time online but there's no way my daily usage can reach 400mb. Most of my time online is on WhatsApp, searching google for information and staying up to data with industry gists on Twitter.

This night I subscribed to the MTN night plan, then used their app to check my balance before browsing. If you use the mtn night data regularly then you know there's no way to check your balance with USSD.

Luckily for me, the MTN app shows the night balance. So I was able to monitor both my main data balance and the midnight balance.

Guess what I found?
MTN was deducting from both accounts simultaneously.
No wonder, this is the snake that has been stealing eggs from my poultry.
I was so angry that I wanted to remove the SIM but I decided to collect evidence before removing their SIM.

Below are two screenshots. I took the first before downloading a video from YouTube. The video is 48mb.

Then I took the second screenshot after the download had completed.

As you can see, MTN didn't even touch my night data again. They deducted virtually everything from my main balance.

This is so painful. I feel cheated.

93 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by sanemind2(m): 4:09am On Jun 17, 2020
Are you on Beta talk?
Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by GeoAfrikana(m): 4:20am On Jun 17, 2020
sanemind2:
Are you on Beta talk?

No, I'm on MTN Pulse. The midnight data plan is only available on MTN Pulse.

I lost almost not less than 300mb data.

The way they deduct the data is ambiguous. From my calculations, all what I've downloaded isn't more than 400mb; just 6 videos that are an average of 40mb. Then I updated three apps from playstore; 9mb, 12mb and 22mb.

But look, I have just 500mb left. This is freaking crazy.

58 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by Denovan: 5:10am On Jun 17, 2020
mtn dey wicked, I don't do night plan with my mtn sim
until I drain my entire main data. I think that is the best option. To avoid all this thier illegal deduction

194 Likes 10 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by Vulcanheph(m): 5:27am On Jun 17, 2020
What you guys don't realise is that MTN is very trickish and deceptive, so you have to use your head when dealin with them......best thing to do is use another network for your main monthly Subscription and use them only for night plan, since i discovered that this is what they do, I don't do night sub when i already have an existing sub, so i just sub with my 9mobile and browse during the day , then i Switch over to night sub on MTN and use it at night.

171 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by possibilita(m): 5:37am On Jun 17, 2020
This has been going on for awhile now
If you use the same sim for your normal sub and night plan mtn will not deduct the night plan,

45 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by whemmytopsy(m): 5:45am On Jun 17, 2020
MTN is a very terrible network provider, I was angry the night this same shit Happened to me and even more angry when the customer care representative had to hang the call on me... I felt embarrassed, it was obvious they did it intentionally... MTN is devilish, now my AIRTEL sim does the midnight work, I'm cool.

But come to think of what they take us for, They were so sure that nobody is gonna protect the right of we consumers and so they can do and undo... I'm sure they dare not try that in saner climes.... Being a Nigerian is not cool at all... If saying that is a sin, May God forgive me.

179 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by Godfrey858(m): 6:20am On Jun 17, 2020
next time ,switch off your data, or put ur fone in flight mode ,
wait for 30sec switch off flight mode and enjoy ur midnight data

48 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by GeoAfrikana(m): 6:32am On Jun 17, 2020
Vulcanheph:
What you guys don't realise is that MTN is very trickish and deceptive, so you have to use your head when dealin with them
Exactly

......best thing to do is use another network for your main monthly Subscription and use them only for night plan, since i discovered that this is what they do, I don't do night sub when i already have an existing sub, so i just sub with my 9mobile and browse during the day , then i Switch over to night sub on MTN and use it at night.

I already decided not to use their sim for midnight data again but tonight I got uncomfortable with removing sim every night.

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by GeoAfrikana(m): 6:33am On Jun 17, 2020
Godfrey858:

wait for 30sec
switch off flight mode and enjoy ur midnight data

How sure are you about this sir?

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by McClean573: 6:36am On Jun 17, 2020
Please report them to NCC. Sharing on nairaland is good but will not result to anything.

If you want something done. All of you that have experienced this have to simultaneously report to the relevant agencies.

Modified:
Here is the NCC toll free number
0800-CALL NCC (0-800-2255 622).

You can also fill a complaint form online here ==>
http://consumer.ncc.gov.ng/submit-a-complaint/

93 Likes 12 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by GeoAfrikana(m): 6:42am On Jun 17, 2020
McClean573:
Please report them to NCC. Sharing on nairaland is good but will not result to anything.

If you want something done. All of you that have experienced this have to simultaneously report to the relevant agencies.
Thank you very much for this. But what's the right channel to report to NCC?
Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by Xristars(m): 7:10am On Jun 17, 2020
Chai! Me i normally use night plan when I have no data at all. This is the best option.

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by Obakashdee(m): 7:17am On Jun 17, 2020
I use a different sim entirely for night plan, I no wan hear anything

17 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by McClean573: 7:24am On Jun 17, 2020
GeoAfrikana:

Thank you very much for this. But what's the right channel to report to NCC?

You can either call the NCC with this toll free number 0800-CALL NCC (0-800-2255 622).

Or fill a complaint form online on this url

You will need to have at least contacted MTN, only if they fail to resolve the issue do you contact the NCC.

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by Nobody: 7:36am On Jun 17, 2020
Godfrey858:

wait for 30sec
switch off flight mode and enjoy ur midnight data
Exactly you just said my mind, when you subscribe to any data night or normal plans, switch off your phone and power it back

16 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by DarkJeddi(m): 7:46am On Jun 17, 2020
GeoAfrikana:

How sure are you about this sir?
That is the issue you are having,switch off and on before using the night subscription.

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by Whois(m): 7:47am On Jun 17, 2020
Fear mtn. Pulse tariff is like robbing Peter to pay paul. Best mtn tariff is the new better talk or yafun yafun for new Sim. For night data chg Sim to airtel for peace of mind.

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by Apappy: 7:49am On Jun 17, 2020
Sometimes you would subscribe for d night plan, they'll deduct but it won't even browse, and don't even bother with NCC I think they are being settled by dis network providers, we are living in a failed country sadly

17 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by GeoAfrikana(m): 8:05am On Jun 17, 2020
DarkJeddi:
That is the issue you are having,switch off and on before using the night subscription.

Okay then I'll give it a try. Anticipate my feedback.

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by GeoAfrikana(m): 8:05am On Jun 17, 2020
McClean573:

You can either call the NCC with this toll free number 0800-CALL NCC (0-800-2255 622).

Or fill a complaint form online on this url

You will need to have at least contacted MTN, only if they fail to resolve the issue do you contact the NCC.

Thanks so much. I'll give it a go.

Edit
I didn't read the last sentence before. So, it's if they fail to resolve it. Aren't they supposed to make refunds? Or my data has gone down the drain just like that.

Actually, I don't need their refund but I fear that if we don't put them on their toes for small things like this, they may get used it and even commit greater ones. Let alone this could happen to someone who spent his/her last card to purchase data for a very important purpose.

16 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by Olamyyde(m): 8:17am On Jun 17, 2020
Mtn is a disgrace. What you are complaining of has been happening for over a year. I stopped using my main mtn data sim for midnight plan because of this.

It's a very useless network . The worst part is the 500mb midnight plan is actually 420mb. After you use 360mb, mtn will automatically disconnect your network and throttle the speed. So you will have to connect and disconnect to use the remaining 60mb.

71 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by freshkpomo(m): 8:17am On Jun 17, 2020
freshkpomo:

If them never dey receive sue from left, right, front and back them nor go get sense.. If them Don pay big and get multiple court cases them go change.

They came to Nigeria, saw how corrupt the country is and how the rights of the citizens don't matter and so they decided to take advantage of it like a seed planted on a fertile soil.

Together we can make Nigeria better.

God bless Nigeria.

If Nigeria was a sane country where things work well, you could have cashed out millions off this.. If you can get a good lawyer, na your time to blow be this.

Me just dey arrange my own wait Airtel and their disturbing text messages even after joint do not disturb.. Glo worse, but I nor plan kill indigenous company..

God bless Nigeria.

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by Elvis8236(m): 8:25am On Jun 17, 2020
This is confirmed. I subscribed your 1.5GB every two days. Was worried why 1.5GB will finish within 2days not knowing it's from night plan. One of those nights I did the night plan again, so I decided to check my balance around 4:30am, guess what? My 1.5 is remaining 500+ while my night bundle is still 500MB nothing was deducted, and this has been happening almost a week before I noticed, just like a user suggested, it's better you get a SIM without any subscription for the night plan.

16 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by sureteeboy(m): 8:29am On Jun 17, 2020
It's a common thing for MTN. Recently, I did a 2000 for 9GB plan for monthly usage, then I subscribed for the night plan to download some few videos. Surprisingly, everything I downloaded was deducted from the main plan and the Night bundle wasn't touched at all. That's one of the reasons I don't even use any sim I'm having monthly sub on for night plan. I just made a mistake that night

20 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by sweetveek(m): 8:40am On Jun 17, 2020
mooojy very soon they will reduce the odd to less than 1.5odds,i advice u create a group to avoid all eyes on that market
Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by Jayson504(m): 8:43am On Jun 17, 2020
This has been happening for while now. The last time I did the MTN night plan, they deducted my main 2gb data before deducting the night plan. So basically now I use Airtel for night plan because I can get 1.2gb in a night, unlike Mtn's 500mb.

25 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by GeoAfrikana(m): 8:51am On Jun 17, 2020
freshkpomo:
If Nigeria was a sane country where things work well, you could have cashed out millions off this.. If you can get a good lawyer, na your time to blow be this.

Me just dey arrange my own wait Airtel and their disturbing text messages even after joint do not disturb.. Glo worse, but I nor plan kill indigenous company..

God bless Nigeria.

Lol... They should just fix the crap.

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by Kendollar696(m): 8:53am On Jun 17, 2020
My guy, they did same to me. I was more than furious. this guys are big thieves....

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by kristian98(m): 9:02am On Jun 17, 2020
Lalasticlala
FP material

Re: Why You Should Stop Using MTN Midnight Data by GeoAfrikana(m): 9:10am On Jun 17, 2020
Kendollar696:
My guy, they did same to me. I was more than furious. this guys are big thieves....

I really wish I could deal with them. It's becoming too much of them. Are they the only network provider?

MTN today, MTN tomorrow... They're freaking annoying.

Do you know what? Only God knows how many millions of Nigerians lose at least 100 naira worth of data every night. You can image the unethical profit they'll be making from this dubious act.

19 Likes 1 Share

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply)

Airtel Free Call Codes [100minutes Free] / Two Ways To Know An Original SD Card / Memory Card / Blackberry Phones Are Coming Back In 2021, With 5G And Physical Keyboard

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 54