Stats: 3,147,973 members, 7,799,311 topics. Date: Tuesday, 16 April 2024 at 06:42 PM

Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? - Education - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? (63685 Views)

Some Commonly Mispronounced Words. / 21 Most Commonly Confused Words In English Language. / 10 More Pairs Of Commonly Confused Animals. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (12) (Reply) (Go Down)

Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by pocohantas(f): 12:09pm On Aug 06, 2020
It took me some time to know the difference between these animals, especially crocodiles and alligators. In fact, I used to call it anyone that comes to mind first grin. Sometimes you have to use their habitat to identify them, but that is if you even know a lot about them...lol

Some belong to the same family, some are not in any way related, but they have somehow succeeded in confusing lots of people.

Here is my list of some commonly confused animals and basic ways to distinguish them.

The text is mine, but images were sourced from google, natgeowild and various wildlife photographers IG pages.

92 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by pocohantas(f): 12:11pm On Aug 06, 2020
1— Leopard and Jaguar

I put this one first because a lot of people struggle with it. Someone called it a tiger on one thread sef. The difference between other big cats is clear to many of us. What of a leopard and jaguar?

The easiest way to differentiate both is from their coats (skin). While they both have rosettes with that of the leopard being more compact, the jaguar’s rosettes have black spots in them.

Both cats can be melanistic (black panthers), this would make it trickier to identify them. At this point you will have to rely on other things (e.g) size (jaguars are bigger, with bigger heads), habitat, attitude to preys and bigger animals...etc

Pic 1: Leopard
Pic 2: Jaguar

Pic 3: Black panther and his leopardess spouse. An article I read said they have been together for 4yrs. Some of you can’t even stay 1yr grin.

Pic 4: What is happening here?

174 Likes 10 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by pocohantas(f): 12:11pm On Aug 06, 2020
2— Turtle and Tortoise

Turtles are fully aquatic, semi-aquatic or mostly on land. Tortoise on their part are fully on land and not in any way equipped to survive in water.

Turtle feets are webbed, while tortoises have short stumpy feet, helping them in moving on land

Pic 1: Sea turtle (the only turtles with flippers)
Pic 2: Tortoise
Pic 3: Box turtle

72 Likes 10 Shares

3— Alligator and Crocodile

You can easily tell the difference by looking at their heads/mouths. The Crocodile’s head is mostly V-shaped. Alligator heads are U-shaped. Also, the teeth of the crocodile are never concealed.

I intentionally tried not to complicate the plot by adding caimans and gharials.

Pic 1: Crocodile
Pic 2: Alligator (Alligators are darker)
Pic 3: Boss moves
Pic 4: Somewhere in Epe, Lagos, Nigeria. Some people see premium meat, some Himalayan Birkin...conservationists would be enraged.

88 Likes 11 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by pocohantas(f): 12:12pm On Aug 06, 2020
4— Bison and Buffalo.

There was a travel thread on NL where the OP tagged a bison a buffalo and it took a sharp eye to spot the error. It is easy to tell the difference if you focus on the horn and beard.

Bisons have small sharp horns, while buffalos have longer protruding horns- not forgetting the arc. The bison‘s frame looks inappropriate and it spots a hump that the buffalo doesn’t have. Buffalos are beardless, unlike bison.

Pic 1: Bison
Pic 2: Buffalo

72 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by pocohantas(f): 12:13pm On Aug 06, 2020
5— Porcupine and Hedgehog

Despite how similar these creatures look, they are not closely related at all. Hedgehog(known as idiot by many Nigerians) is smaller in body size. It quills are shorter but fuller. Porcupine on the other hand is bigger, has visible tail and longer quills.

Courtesy: Kondomatîc.

Pic 1: Porcupine
Pic 2: Hedgehog
Pic 3: Leopard taking a chance with a porcupine, what do you think happens next?

Are there animals you struggle to tell apart or can easily tell apart? Feel free to add them. kiss kiss

55 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by squash47(m): 12:13pm On Aug 06, 2020
You're a very intelligent lady Sha...but u get wahala

203 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Froshloaded: 12:15pm On Aug 06, 2020
Nice list grin

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by DICKstractor: 12:31pm On Aug 06, 2020
All I see here is pepper soup

Catch any of them, cook with enough pepper and wash it down with chill sweaty bottle of origin or life.

That feeling is what heaven feel s like...

Op, Nice trend tho

Modified: Pocahontas, I don't know why those people naming this animal didn't save humanity the stress of trying to differentiate between them.

Like the croc and gator, why wasn't the croc named V-mouth crocodile while the gater name U-mouth crocodile. You see, it would have been easier cheesy

144 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by confistified(m): 12:34pm On Aug 06, 2020
Nice.... Am sure Dean Scheider can be friends with these animals and they won't hurt him cheesy

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Wakins(m): 12:35pm On Aug 06, 2020
highly informative

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Young03(m): 12:37pm On Aug 06, 2020
We been de call hedgehog porcupine.

26 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by dangermouse(m): 12:39pm On Aug 06, 2020
Nice and educative. Not bobrisky and bbnaija shit. Kudos bae!

111 Likes 1 Share

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Ningen(m): 12:41pm On Aug 06, 2020
So black panthers are actually jaugaurs and leopards and not like a real specie of a big cat??

But I thought.... And I watched...
Mehn I never knew but now I do. Interesting!!

57 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Karlifate: 12:54pm On Aug 06, 2020
pocohantas:
1— Leopard and Jaguar

Pic 3: Black panther and his leopardess spouse. An article I read said they have been together for 4yrs. Some of you can’t even stay 1yr grin.

This is true.
Many folks confuse Cheetah, Leopard & Jaguar with one another.
With careful observation, one can easily spot the differences.

28 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by pocohantas(f): 1:21pm On Aug 06, 2020
Karlifate:

This is true.
Many folks confuse Cheetah, Leopard & Jaguar with one another.
With careful observation, one can easily spot the differences.

That black line on the cheetah’s face is an easy expo for many people now. Once they figure that one out, they are okay. Na the jaguar and leopard still dey disturb many people.

Ningen:
So black panthers are actually jaugaurs and leopards and not like a real specie of a big cat??

But I thought.... And I watched...
Mehn I never knew but now I do. Interesting!

Yes they are jaguars and leopards. There is no real/separate specie of big cats called black panther. You are welcome.

39 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Millennialaku(m): 1:22pm On Aug 06, 2020
that bison reminds me of appa. of course the "indomie generation" will not understand me grin

modified: abeg ohh, i was just being sarcastic. cry

56 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by OYENIYIJK: 1:24pm On Aug 06, 2020
Millennialaku:
that bison reminds me of appa. of course the "indomie generation" will not understand me grin

you're not consistent these days. Where have you been? Abi you too don go Yankee cheesy

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Millennialaku(m): 1:34pm On Aug 06, 2020
OYENIYIJK:

you're not consistent these days. Where have you been? Abi you too don go Yankee cheesy
grin grin my gee
yankee no dey trip me at all, i wanna live and die in africa kiss ....highest na to go there for holiday

i have been busy with udemy courses

32 Likes 1 Share

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by OYENIYIJK: 1:37pm On Aug 06, 2020
Millennialaku:

grin grin my gee
yankee no dey trip me at all, i wanna live and die in africa kiss ....highest na to go there for holiday

i have been busy with udemy courses
grin grin grin.... The thing don pay!!!!!! I go buy lappy and meet you aswear..... That course na 2D animation abi you don port go another hustle?
Meanwhile, an educative post here.

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Kaycee7(m): 1:50pm On Aug 06, 2020
pocohantas:

Yes they are jaguars and leopards. There is no real/separate specie of big cats called black panther. You are welcome.
What of this blek pentha? Is he also a melanese leopard or jaguar? grin grin

60 Likes

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Millennialaku(m): 2:04pm On Aug 06, 2020
OYENIYIJK:

grin grin grin.... The thing don pay!!!!!! I go buy lappy and meet you aswear..... That course na 2D animation abi you don port go another hustle?
Meanwhile, an educative post here.
nah still the same hustle oh.....e never pay sha grin....but e no get option angry

yes the aunty try for the post

9 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Nobody: 2:09pm On Aug 06, 2020
pocohantas:
4— Bison and Buffalo.

Pic 2: Buffalo
A bull too can sometimes be mistaken for these two.

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Nobody: 2:10pm On Aug 06, 2020
pocohantas:
2— Turtle and Tortoise

Pic 1: Sea turtle (the only turtles with flippers)
Pic 2: Tortoise
Pic 3: Box turtle

These ones are same family. Just different species like Titus and mackerels.

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Hintona(f): 2:12pm On Aug 06, 2020
pocohantas:
1— Leopard and Jaguar

Black Panthers are very beautiful and majestic animals.

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Shellsploit: 2:18pm On Aug 06, 2020
Where's our able super moderator sef..
Lalasticlala shocked
Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Sixfeetbelle: 2:32pm On Aug 06, 2020
pocohantas:
4— Bison and Buffalo.

Appa! grin

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by LordofNaija: 2:34pm On Aug 06, 2020
pocohantas:
5— Porcupine and Hedgehog

Pic 1: Porcupine
Pic 2: Hedgehog
Pic 3: Leopard taking a chance with a porcupine, what do you think happens next?

Very enlightening post from an intelligent lady no doubt, but work on your attitude as you most times come of as a frustrated person. I'm a social psychologist and I am talking from the point of knowledge

38 Likes

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by abumeinben(m): 2:36pm On Aug 06, 2020
Sixfeetbelle:

Appa! grin

Choi....you sabi

But na white we know cheesy

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by pocohantas(f): 2:41pm On Aug 06, 2020
Sixfeetbelle:

Appa! grin

What is appa? You are the second person to mention it here.

Hintona:

Black Panthers are very beautiful and majestic animals.

You sure do like them. cheesy

Brachaa:

A bull too can sometimes be mistaken for these two.

True. That didn’t come to mind sef.

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by pocohantas(f): 2:42pm On Aug 06, 2020
LordofNaija:

Very enlightening post from an intelligent lady no doubt, but work on your attitude as you most times come of as a frustrated person. I'm a social psychologist and I am talking from the point of knowledge

You come off as someone who struggles to mind his business. Work on that and keep your psychoanalysis to your clients, they pay you. This is a wildlife thread, not your consultation room.

137 Likes 13 Shares

Re: Some Commonly Confused Animals: Can You Tell Them Apart? by Sixfeetbelle: 2:45pm On Aug 06, 2020
pocohantas:

What is appa? You are the second person to mention it.

The last airbender.

A cartoon where the main character, an air bender, has a Bison named Appa. However, his bison has a white wooly coat.

22 Likes 1 Share

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (12) (Reply)

WAEC Result Of A Student From St. Francis Catholic College, Oyo. / See Latest News About ASUU Strike Today / I Finally Signed Out At 42

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 37