Stats: 3,162,175 members, 7,849,627 topics. Date: Tuesday, 04 June 2024 at 06:25 AM

Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders - Politics (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders (30790 Views)

IPOB Invades Shops Of Those Who Disobeyed Sit-At-Home Order, Scatters Goods / We Locked Down For Covid,we Will Lock Down For Kanu / Nigerian Traders In Ghana: We Paid $1m Levy Yet Our Shops Were Shut (2) (3) (4)

Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Fantasticcc: 11:29am On Aug 17, 2020
goshen26:
This mind of "we both own this place" syndrome is disturbing my brothers from the East.

It is not a sin to be a pilgrim in a foreign land, but never assume or think that the place is urs.

God always bless people in a foreign land because they leave the comfort of their fatherland to seek for food. You can check the Bible to prove my claim.

But you not obeying simple order is not too good.

Another thing with Ibos is this natural pride. I laugh at them here in lagos when I see the ones they newly brought from the village trying to cajole me in lagos here. The way they walk also show this pride, especially the uneducated ones.

My observation tho
mynd44, seun lalasticlala
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Bighead9: 11:29am On Aug 17, 2020
MajorOvakporaye:

You are very correct.

THERE ARE CHRONIC AND FOOLISH TRIBALISTS HOVERING AROUND EVERY THREAD THAT HITS FRONT PAGE ON NAIRALAND.

CC: Simplyleo AKA Ijawwomaninoyo, bighead9, arrewa, helinues

Trash.
You no go help your Brothers to beg Ghanaian Government not to deport them, you dey here dey promote propaganda. Already, Imo State has the highest unemployment rate in Nigeria, followed by Enugu. If you allow Ghana Government deport your Brothers from Ghana, the rate of unemployment in the EAst will escalate,

Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by temptnow: 11:41am On Aug 17, 2020
Jaqenhghar:

Where did they say they dont want you? If you want to conduct business there are polices. Their policies are made to cater to their own first. What is wrong with that?

Imagine all countries in the world pass such $1million dollars law. I guess you have relatives in Europe and America imagine how devastating it will be for them. Ghanaians are naturally evil.
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by slowice(m): 11:46am On Aug 17, 2020
MrAkata:

You've obviously never been to Texas.
A new Yorker will definitely behave accordingly if he travels to Texas

What is your definition of "behave accordingly"... Is it being law abiding or ass licking locals? Is it paying you taxes or the way you walk?
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Uglyojuku: 12:08pm On Aug 17, 2020
POKUASI2:
NIGERIANS are the ones targeted.. the Chinese and Lebanese are doing retail trading in the market.. I have pictorial evidence

Let us have the pictorial evidence because I believe that Chinese, Lebanese etc do not do the 2 by 2 shops that we Nigerians do.Theirs might be super mega stores. Is there any other reason these Ghanaians are doing this?

Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by FacelessKing: 12:13pm On Aug 17, 2020
honorsam:

Those are not the issue, providing $1m is the issue bro

And Ghana ministry of Trade confirmed that?
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Sagay212: 12:20pm On Aug 17, 2020
Because you do anyhow in your country doesn't mean your nonsense will be tolerated in other countries. Obey the law and nobody will disturb you. Pay your taxes and you won't have problems.

I wish I could handle tax collection in nigeria. I swear to God I will make sure Indians , Lebanese, chinese, indians especially pay their taxes up to date. I will strangle them with that payment of taxes because they are experts in tax evasion and some useless nigerians support them.

Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Guyman02: 12:29pm On Aug 17, 2020
For those mentioning tribes, Airpeace repatriated more Yorubas than Igbos in the thick of xenophobic attacks, even me was shocked at the number of Yorubas resident in South Africa. The reality is that Igbos are loud, they attract attention to themselves by their lifestyle of showing off which is not bad but makes lazy people jealous cheesy

Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Amumaigwe: 12:59pm On Aug 17, 2020
Onijagidijagan:
No wonder na them ipod the tax evaders

Ghanaians you did the right thing. I beg you all in god's name close up all their shops and lock up your borders...they're wired never to pay tax.

The good ones let them continue to enjoyed their businesses

Afonja and jealousy. Igbos will still prosper anywhere in the world, then repatriate the funds and continue buying up your ancestors' burial grounds all over SW for shopping malls. Yoruba can never resist igbo man's offer; it is ususlly very tempting. Deal with it.
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by LastProphet: 3:07pm On Aug 17, 2020
temptnow:
Nigerian government dey fck up, that's why I'm missing Obasanjo right now. In international relations retaliation is allowed.

There's a Ghanaian man on my street that owns a restaurant, his Ghanaian wife owns a provision store 2 street away from us here in Lagos.

Government need to tell them to provide the same $1million dollars before they can sale even nasco biscuit.

But unfortunately we have the dumbest government. But until we citizens descend on these Ghanaians ourselves.

If UK, Europe, Canada and USA should put this kind of Ghana law into work that anyone who wants to do retail business must pay $1million dollars before they can open, do you think even Ghanaians or any other countries can travel to someone else ground?

Migration is allowed since the Bible times. There are Americans and Europeans doing businesses here. Selling phones, laptops, restaurants and even supermarkets. They are here not because their government or country is bad. They're here cos migration is what people do. Ghanaians are in other people's countries what are they doing to pay rent and feed, I will like to know

Some people above wants to paint tribes on the situation, let's just imagine western countries put these kind of law in their countries. Pay $1million nonrefundable fee before you can start a barbing salon to survive there. Just imagine your relatives that will be affected

Who told you those laws are not in the UK? Why do you see shoprite, DSTV, Woolworth, etc from SA but you don't see any SA man with provision shop beside your street?

Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Jaqenhghar: 3:12pm On Aug 17, 2020
temptnow:

Imagine all countries in the world pass such $1million dollars law. I guess you have relatives in Europe and America imagine how devastating it will be for them. Ghanaians are naturally evil.
I'm not here to argue the rightness or wrongness. It's their laws, simple. You don't like it, you leave. No one shot at them, beat them or stole their property. No be by force. Same way we deported them years ago and heavens didnt fall. It was your policy thenthey respected it. Respect theirs too.

Go and try setting up a business in Europe nah. You think you can just set up a container or shed and start doing business? In the long run you will spend almost rhe same thing setting up

Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Jaqenhghar: 3:13pm On Aug 17, 2020
LastProphet:

Who told you those laws are not in the UK? Why do you see shoprite, DSTV, Woolworth, etc from SA but you don't see any SA man with provision shop beside your street?
No mind them. They see things only through the eyes of naija.

Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Jaqenhghar: 3:15pm On Aug 17, 2020
Dedetwo:

The law which is meant to target certain persons has nothing to do with citizen first ideology.
Well from. What I see the Ghanaians dont have to go through the same process so yeah its Ghanaians first. Besides who cares. Like I said if e no favour you, leave. Their country their rules.

Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Jaqenhghar: 3:16pm On Aug 17, 2020
Simbrixton:
there is no space in lagos dey must stay dere
Una must create space tongue grin
Even if na on top water
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Jaqenhghar: 3:19pm On Aug 17, 2020
honorsam:

Watch the videos well bro,u will understand better.
They had their shops accessed and taxed still went ahead to close them because of the GIPC law that they must provide $1m,haba!
Dont be clouded in your sense of judgement.

I am not here to contest their laws. If its unfair I believe there are channels to challenge such laws as against screaming and constituting a public nuisance. The policeman appealed to them to go and consult the revenue services saying things will be explained to them there. I find that very very fair compared to how it might have panned out in our dear republic. With horsewhips, guns and teargas. The shops will be looted and 1 or 2 people will be killed in the process.
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Jaqenhghar: 3:22pm On Aug 17, 2020
honorsam:

Where in the world do you provide such amount of money before engaging in business ?
When was the law made?
What happens to those in business already before the draconian law came in?
It's just a means to jettison Nigerians from their country I think
You will be surprised. Its only in Naija you can erect a tin roof shed in front of people's homes and start selling stuff. No registration, no one certifies your product and if your product harms people you simply disappear or give the police something to look the other way
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by honorsam(m): 3:22pm On Aug 17, 2020
FacelessKing:

And Ghana ministry of Trade confirmed that?
Yes,that's the issue.
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Jaqenhghar: 3:23pm On Aug 17, 2020
honorsam:

Provide $1m to Ghana?
So it seems. Na their laws. Una too fit establish una own laws
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by markfemi1: 3:26pm On Aug 17, 2020
temptnow:
Nigerian government dey fck up, that's why I'm missing Obasanjo right now. In international relations retaliation is allowed.

There's a Ghanaian man on my street that owns a restaurant, his Ghanaian wife owns a provision store 2 street away from us here in Lagos.

Government need to tell them to provide the same $1million dollars before they can sale even nasco biscuit.

But unfortunately we have the dumbest government. But until we citizens descend on these Ghanaians ourselves.

If UK, Europe, Canada and USA should put this kind of Ghana law into work that anyone who wants to do retail business must pay $1million dollars before they can open, do you think even Ghanaians or any other countries can travel to someone else ground?

Migration is allowed since the Bible times. There are Americans and Europeans doing businesses here. Selling phones, laptops, restaurants and even supermarkets. They are here not because their government or country is bad. They're here cos migration is what people do. Ghanaians are in other people's countries what are they doing to pay rent and feed, I will like to know

Some people above wants to paint tribes on the situation, let's just imagine western countries put these kind of law in their countries. Pay $1million nonrefundable fee before you can start a barbing salon to survive there. Just imagine your relatives that will be affected
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by honorsam(m): 3:30pm On Aug 17, 2020
Jaqenhghar:

I am not here to contest their laws. If its unfair I believe there are channels to challenge such laws as against screaming and constituting a public nuisance. The policeman appealed to them to go and consult the revenue services saying things will be explained to them there. I find that very very fair compared to how it might have panned out in our dear republic. With horsewhips, guns and teargas. The shops will be looted and 1 or 2 people will be killed in the process.
I can confirm from a close ally that all efforts from our brothers towards resolving that falls on deaf ears,hence,the outcry for an upper hand.To think that this law applies to Nigerian traders alone should tell you something.Reciprocity is part of diplomacy.Read about Busia of Ghana,the New Patriotic Party and Akuffo Addo you will realise the information this people are gradually relaying to us indirectly.
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by luluman: 3:31pm On Aug 17, 2020
Onijagidijagan:
No wonder na them ipod the tax evaders

Ghanaians you did the right thing. I beg you all in god's name close up all their shops and lock up your borders...they're wired never to pay tax.

The good ones let them continue to enjoyed their businesses

Why are they always troublesome? Nigeria na them, South Africa na them, & now Ghana.
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by luluman: 3:33pm On Aug 17, 2020
temptnow:

If migration no pay you come back home now.
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Wizzzzmike: 4:05pm On Aug 17, 2020
ODJ124:
Wait and see..
I'm a Ghanaian and I'm telling you they can't do sh!t
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by ODJ124(m): 4:10pm On Aug 17, 2020
Wizzzzmike:

I'm a Ghanaian and I'm telling you they can't do sh!t
I laugh in Swahili..... Try anything funny with our citizens in Ghana and watch our citizens + FG respond in kind and over kind...

When we locked our border u guys were begging us to open it...
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Wizzzzmike: 4:13pm On Aug 17, 2020
ODJ124:

I laugh in Swahili..... Try anything funny with our citizens in Ghana and watch our citizens + FG respond in kind and over kind...

When we locked our border u guys were begging us to open it...

lol dude ur a joke Ghana beg Nigeria to open borders are sick? Now who's crying and begging lol smh...next joke
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by ODJ124(m): 4:21pm On Aug 17, 2020
Wizzzzmike:

lol dude ur a joke Ghana beg Nigeria to open borders are sick? Now who's crying and begging lol smh...next joke
LMAO....try anything funny and see our citizens response....
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Jaqenhghar: 4:48pm On Aug 17, 2020
honorsam:

I can confirm from a close ally that all efforts from our brothers towards resolving that falls on deaf ears,hence,the outcry for an upper hand.To think that this law applies to Nigerian traders alone should tell you something.Reciprocity is part of diplomacy.Read about Busia of Ghana,the New Patriotic Party and Akuffo Addo you will realise the information this people are gradually relaying to us indirectly.
I will read it. Seriously are you surprised by all these? I am not. The relationship between the two countries has never been warm. When doing business in such places one needs to be careful and expect the worst.

Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by Wizzzzmike: 5:02pm On Aug 17, 2020
ODJ124:
LMAO....try anything funny and see our citizens response....
the shops have been locked. what did ur citizens do ? lol
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by temptnow: 5:49pm On Aug 17, 2020
LastProphet:

oga , everyone knows Black South Africans are not naturally enterprising like the white South Africans who owns those stores and companies you mentioned.

My aunty owns a provision store in London. Nigerians own lots of shops in Peckham . Go there you will think it's a Nigerian market
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by anungangampu: 5:51pm On Aug 17, 2020
Smartwave:
if that is there law, then obey or quit. Ghana is not Lagos that you refer to as no man's land
people like you have not achieved anything in life, if they leave Lagos for you only u would continue being poor
Re: Ghana: Why We Locked Up Shops Of Some Nigerian Traders by MrAkata: 5:55pm On Aug 17, 2020
slowice:

What is your definition of "behave accordingly"... Is it being law abiding or ass licking locals? Is it paying you taxes or the way you walk?

Texas is a conservative and laid back . The hustle mentality you see in NY won't get you far in Texas. Locals wont tolerate any perceived disrespect. Texas is gun country so you might end up getting shot and nobody cares. Texas is where you can walk the street with an M16 and police cant stop you. In order to make it in Texas you have to be humble and respectful. The opposite of new York. The hustle mentality won't get you far in Texas

PDP: Secondus Resumes, Meets Akinwonmi, Others / Ikpeazu Inspects Projects In Abia, Stops Street Trading At Opobo Area (Photos) / Ekweremadu Wants Life Pension For NASS Leaders, Remi Tinubu Opposes

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 61