Stats: 3,143,382 members, 7,781,070 topics. Date: Friday, 29 March 2024 at 08:24 AM

Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? (8792 Views)

Help!! I Have A Spirit/Marine Wife. I Need Deliverance / 10 Self-Proclaimed Holy Men With Miracles That Went Horribly Wrong / What Has Changed About You Ever Since You Received The Holy Spirit? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (17) (Reply) (Go Down)

Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by Blabbermouth: 7:08am On Dec 31, 2020
I know the God of Israel has a name, numerous titles and other personal names.

I know the Lord Jesus has a name, numerous titles and many other names.

So I'm asking, does the holy spirit have a name? If so, what is(are) the name(s)?
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by grim33(m): 7:11am On Dec 31, 2020
Ah this life hard grin
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by Blabbermouth: 11:12am On Dec 31, 2020
grim33:
Ah this life hard grin
Is that his name?
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by jesusjnr2020(m): 11:28am On Dec 31, 2020
Several.

1. The Comforter.

2. The Spirit of Truth

3. Power from on high/The Power of God

4. The Breath of God/Eternal Life

5. The Holy Ghost

6. The Unconsuming Fire

That's all I can remember for now but if I get more I would get back to you.

God bless.

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by bingbagbo(m): 11:56am On Dec 31, 2020
Blabbermouth:

So I'm asking, does the holy spirit have a name? If so, what is(are) the name(s)?

His Name is Jesus

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by MaxInDHouse(m): 12:13pm On Dec 31, 2020
It's only persons that have names, JEHOVAH is the name of the Most High God {Exodus 6:2-3; Psalms 83:18} JESUS is the name of God's only begotten SON, but God's Holy Spirit is not a person rather it's God's active force so it doesn't have a personal name! smiley

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by bingbagbo(m): 12:33pm On Dec 31, 2020
MaxInDHouse:
It's only persons that have names, JEHOVAH is the name of the Most High God {Exodus 6:2-3; Psalms 83:18} JESUS is the name of God's only begotten SON, but God's Holy Spirit is not a person rather it's God's active force so it doesn't have a personal name! smiley

LIAR!

John 4:24
God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.”

Matthew 12:31-32
[31]“Therefore I say to you, every sin and blasphemy will be forgiven men, but the blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven men.

[32]Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man, it will be forgiven him; but whoever speaks against the Holy Spirit, it will not be forgiven him, either in this age or in the age to come.

Genesis 1:2

[2]The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.

John 14:26

[26]But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you.

ONLY A FOOOL AND AN ANTI-CHRIST WILL STILL TEACH THAT THE HOLY SPIRIT IS NOT A PERSON

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by jesusjnr2020(m): 1:15pm On Dec 31, 2020
jesusjnr2020:
Several.

1. The comforter.

2. The Spirit of Truth

4. The Breath of God/Eternal Life/

5. The Holy Ghost

6. The Unconsuming Fire

God bless.
7. New wine.

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by MightySparrow: 1:34pm On Dec 31, 2020
It depends on what your definittion of name is. Holy Spirit is already a name.

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by MaxInDHouse(m): 2:09pm On Dec 31, 2020
You still have a looooong way to go to acquire divine wisdom! smiley

If truly you know someone very well it won't be a difficulty for people to observe the person's touch and influence in your life. Just prove that you and your church know God's holy spirit by presenting it's positive effect in your gathering! James 2:18-26
JEHOVAH'S WITNESSES teaches that God's holy spirit is not a person but the active force of God your church taught you it's a person the stage is set now just like Elijah's day. Prove what you know about Holy Spirit with evidence and point to it's vivid manifestation where you noticed it and i'll present the undeniable proof that it's only working amongst JEHOVAH'S WITNESSES! smiley

What's deceiving most of you is that you forgot angels are spirits whether faithful or fallen ones, and the fallen angels are disguising as angels of light {2Corinthians 11:14} so it's what you've heard in the past about God's holy spirit that demons will do to deceive you since you're not interested to know what God's holy spirit supposed to be doing in your own generation! Since you're not interested in knowing the signs to recognize the works of God's holy spirit in your own time God is also not going to give you the signs you're seeking {Mark 8:12} that's why demons are manifesting in various forms to cause confusion and contradictions in your Churches! Revelations 16:14 smiley

bingbagbo:

LIAR!
John 4:24
God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.”
Matthew 12:31-32
[31]“Therefore I say to you, every sin and blasphemy will be forgiven men, but the blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven men.
[32]Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man, it will be forgiven him; but whoever speaks against the Holy Spirit, it will not be forgiven him, either in this age or in the age to come.
Genesis 1:2
[2]The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.
John 14:26
[26]But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you.
ONLY A FOOOL AND AN ANTI-CHRIST WILL STILL TEACH THAT THE HOLY SPIRIT IS NOT A PERSON
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by bingbagbo(m): 3:00pm On Dec 31, 2020
MaxInDHouse:
You still have a looooong way to go to acquire divine wisdom! smiley

If truly you know someone very well it won't be a difficulty for people to observe the person's touch and influence in your life. Just prove that you and your church know God's holy spirit by presenting it's positive effect in your gathering! James 2:18-26
JEHOVAH'S WITNESSES teaches that God's holy spirit is not a person but the active force of God your church taught you it's a person the stage is set now just like Elijah's day. Prove what you know about Holy Spirit with evidence and point to it's vivid manifestation where you noticed it and i'll present the undeniable proof that it's only working amongst JEHOVAH'S WITNESSES! smiley

What's deceiving most of you is that you forgot angels are spirits whether faithful or fallen ones, and the fallen angels are disguising as angels of light {2Corinthians 11:14} so it's what you've heard in the past about God's holy spirit that demons will do to deceive you since you're not interested to know what God's holy spirit supposed to be doing in your own generation! Since you're not interested in knowing the signs to recognize the works of God's holy spirit in your own time God is also not going to give you the signs you're seeking {Mark 8:12} that's why demons are manifesting in various forms to cause confusion and contradictions in your Churches! Revelations 16:14 smiley

2 Corinthians 3:15-18

[15] But even to this day, when Moses is read, a veil lies on their heart.

[16]Nevertheless when one turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.
[17] Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is , there is liberty.

[18] But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.

Halleluyah

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by MaxInDHouse(m): 3:17pm On Dec 31, 2020
Wahala Yaaso! cheesy

What are the positive results as evidence that God's holy spirit is working in your gathering?

Perhaps you want me to start telling this forum the positive results that's evident amongst JEHOVAH'S WITNESSES! smiley

bingbagbo:

2 Corinthians 3:15-18
[15] But even to this day, when Moses is read, a veil lies on their heart.
[16]Nevertheless when one turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.
[17] Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is , there is liberty.
[18] But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.
Halleluyah
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by Blabbermouth: 4:37pm On Dec 31, 2020
jesusjnr2020:
Several.

1. The comforter.

2. The Spirit of Truth

4. The Breath of God/Eternal Life/

5. The Holy Ghost

6. The Unconsuming Fire

God bless.
Jesusjnr, I do believe all these are mere titles. I can call you "The comforter", or personalize it and call you "my comforter", that is not your name, it's just a title or role tied to your person.
The holy spirit is called the wine because His operation can be intoxicating.

The holy spirit is called the spirit of truth because it functions as a spirit that manifest truth wherever it abides.
And so on and so forth.

Since the holy spirit is generally regarded as a person, I want to know his name. Just like I know my Lord's name is Yahshua, Immanuel and co. I know my God's name is Yahweh. I want to know the holy spirit's name.

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by Blabbermouth: 4:39pm On Dec 31, 2020
bingbagbo:

His Name is Jesus
Consequently, Holy spirit is Jesus. Another name for Jesus is holy spirit.

Bingbagbo, is the above right?
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by bingbagbo(m): 4:49pm On Dec 31, 2020
Blabbermouth:

Consequently, Holy spirit is Jesus. Another name for Jesus is holy spirit.

Bingbagbo, is the above right?

Yes.

You see, in Matthew 28:19, before the Lord Jesus ascended, He directed His disciples and by extension all sons of God to baptize believers in THE NAME of the Father and of the son and of the Holy Spirit.

Note that, the Lord Jesus said NAME and not NAMES. The disciples consequently went and baptized believers in THE NAME JESUS (Acts 2:38, ACTS 19, ACTS 10, Collosians 3:17 et Al.)

The Lord Jesus is that same Holy Spirit

2 Corinthians 3:17

See, God is not 3 different persons acting as God; God is ONE. He is same as the God of Moses , The Lord Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit. They are manifestations of that same one God (Deuteronomy 6:4)

May God be with you bro

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by Blabbermouth: 4:50pm On Dec 31, 2020
bingbagbo:

Yes.

You see, in Matthew 28:19, before the Lord Jesus ascended, He directed His disciples and by extension all sons of God to baptize believers in THE NAME of the Father and of the son and of the Holy Spirit.

Note that, the Lord Jesus said NAME and not NAMES. The disciples consequently went and baptized believers in THE NAME JESUS (Acts 2:38, ACTS 19, ACTS 10, Collosians 3:17 et Al.)

The Lord Jesus is that same Holy Spirit

May God be with you bro
That's a nice point there.
So, are you also saying Jesus is Yhwh?

If yes, then I have a series of question to ask.

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by jesusjnr2020(m): 4:51pm On Dec 31, 2020
Blabbermouth:

Jesusjnr, I do believe all these are mere titles. I can call you "The comforter", or personalize it and call you "my comforter", that is not your name, it's just a title or role tied to your person.
The holy spirit is called the wine because His operation can be intoxicating.

The holy spirit is called the spirit of truth because it functions as a spirit that manifest truth wherever it abides.
And so on and so forth.

Since the holy spirit is generally regarded as a person, I want to know his name. Just like I know my Lord's name is Yahshua, Immanuel and co. I know my God's name is Yahweh. I want to know the holy spirit's name.

Isaiah 9:6
For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

So would you also classify the above names of Jesus as titles?

If so, Even Immanuel which you claim to be a name of Jesus could be classified into a title because when translated into English, it becomes "God with us".

God's also has several names apart from Yahweh like "I Am".

Except you're seeking a Hebrew name for the Holy Spirit, but the reason He may not have one could be perhaps because He was not directly involved with the Israelites, and it was not until after the resurrection of Christ, that He became directly involved with the people of God.

So think that some of those names I listed if not all are some of the names of the Holy Spirit just as the other names of God and also Jesus.

That said, the most important thing, is to have the Spirit of God dwelling in us, because otherwise, if we know all about Him including His native name, it would bear no real significance.

God bless.
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by Emusan(m): 4:54pm On Dec 31, 2020
Blabbermouth:

Jesus said Matthew 28:19 "Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:"

If Holy Spirit doesn't have a name, then Jesus would have wrong to baptize in THE NAME of the Holy Spirit.
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by bingbagbo(m): 4:55pm On Dec 31, 2020
Blabbermouth:

That's a nice point there.
So, are you also saying Jesus is Yhwh?

If yes, then I have a series of question to ask.

Yea, Jesus Christ is YHWH

All questions are welcome bro

God be with you

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by Emusan(m): 4:58pm On Dec 31, 2020
MaxInDHouse:

If Holy Spirit doesn't have a personal name, then Jesus was wrong to have said Matthew 28:19 "Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in THE NAME of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:"

Is this not in your NWT?

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by Blabbermouth: 5:05pm On Dec 31, 2020
Emusan:

Jesus said Matthew 28:19 "Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:"

If Holy Spirit doesn't have a name, then Jesus would have wrong to baptize in THE NAME of the Holy Spirit.
That verse is one of the reasons why I'm interested in knowing that name.

Do you know his name?

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by Blabbermouth: 5:09pm On Dec 31, 2020
bingbagbo:

God be with you
Q1: You saying they have the same name (in this case) mean they are one and the same person, not 3, just 1.
Is the holy spirit, Yhwh and Jesus just one person?

Q2: What kind of being is this person? A man, an angelic creature or what?

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by Emusan(m): 5:11pm On Dec 31, 2020
Blabbermouth:

That verse is one of the reasons why I'm interested in knowing that name.

Do you know his name?

If you read the scripture very well you'll have familiar with the phrase "The Spirit" used for Holy Spirit in many times.

Besides, Holy Spirit is a name on it's own.
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by Blabbermouth: 5:16pm On Dec 31, 2020
Emusan:

If you read the scripture very well you'll have familiar with the Noun "The Spirit" used for Holy Spirit in many times.

Besides, Holy Spirit is a name on it's own.
Lol. We both know you are spiritually kidding.
Yhwh is God's name, The Holy One is a title/eulogy.

Jesus is the Lord's name, the savior is a title/office.

The spirit of the holy one is the holy spirit. That's not a name!

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by bingbagbo(m): 5:20pm On Dec 31, 2020
Blabbermouth:

Q1: You saying they have the same name (in this case) mean they are one and the same person, not 3, just 1.
Is the holy spirit, Yhwh and Jesus just one person?

Q2: What kind of being is this person? A man, an angelic creature or what?

Good questions

Q1: Yes, the Holy Spirit is same as the Lord Jesus Christ

Q2: He is Spirit/God (John 4:24)

At the appointed time, He became man (1 Timothy 3:16)

Died, resurected on the third day and ascended into heaven. He poured Himself upon His children and Lives in the children of God.

Only He can do this.

With Him all things are possible

He loves you
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by Emusan(m): 5:20pm On Dec 31, 2020
Blabbermouth:

Lol. We both know you are spiritually kidding.
Yhwh is God's name, The Holy One is a title/eulogy.

Jesus is the Lord's name, the savior is a title/office.

The spirit of the holy one is the holy spirit. That's not a name!

This is funny considering that when God disclosed the name to Moses, we read that God says "This will be my name" which means prior to that time, God wasn't using that name.

At least the fact from the scripture is that The Holy Spirit has a name according to Jesus, if not Jesus will be wrong.
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by MuttleyLaff: 5:33pm On Dec 31, 2020
Blabbermouth:
God's personal name is too potent, too wonderful, too inexplicable, too beyond understanding, too extraordinary, too hard or difficult to understand, for it to be revealed and so God has His personal name to be not known and thus His personal name in a deliberate and intentional way remains a secret, lmso.

Nobody knows God's great powerful, influential revered personal name, and so nobody can whimsically decide to evocate Him with His personal name, like as rubbing a bottle. to summon a genie, lmso

Blabbermouth:
Yahshua Ha Mashiah, aka Jesus Christ, God Incarnate, our Lord, Owner of the Universe and Saviour of the whole wide world at birth was personally name Yahshua, as an indication that Salvation comes from Yah (i.e. Salvation comes from God, lmso)

Son of Man, inarguably one of the most favourite, if not the most favourite descriptor, our Lord, Owner of the Universe and Saviour of the whole wide world, Yahshua Ha Mashiah, aka Jesus Christ, God Incarnate uses is a title indicating the human being side of Him, and Him actually identifying with us, that He too is a product from a human being, hence He often uses the Son of Man title to remind us, that He is just as human as we are.

Blabbermouth:

MightySparrow:
It depends on what your definittion of name is. Holy Spirit is already a name.
The Holy Spirit has descriptor names. It has names that describes it (e.g. Comforter, Spirit of Truth, Helper et cetera, but there is no known personal name of the Holy Spirit, lmso brothers.

You need to realise that there is one spirit of God, that comes and reveals itself specifically in distinctive seven flavours, lmso, and so the phrase "Holy Spirit" essentially is indicating the whole of the distinctive spirit flavours, aka wholly spirit lmso. The Holy Spirit is, whole of the spirit devoted to God and dedicated to the successful work of God

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by DappaD: 6:31pm On Dec 31, 2020
The main Greek word for “name” @Matthew 28:19 is not limited to one meaning and also means “authority” [check biblehub.com] so one who has been taught the good news about God's Kingdom from Jesus, which also includes “all the things [he] commanded”(Matthew 24:14, 28:20a, John 15:10) would become his disciple by getting baptized, recognizing the authority of the Father as Sovereign Ruler and Saviour[Psalm 83:18, Isaiah 43:11], recognizing the role that Jesus plays in all of God's purposes such as Mediator, King etc[Luke 1:31-33, 1Timothy 2:5] and also acknowledging how God uses holy spirit[which isn't a person] to accomplish his will and purposes. Luke 11:13, 2Peter 1:20-21

Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by sonmvayina(m): 6:43pm On Dec 31, 2020
He has a name..and his name is sonmvayina...
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by sonmvayina(m): 6:46pm On Dec 31, 2020
bingbagbo:

God be with you

Jesus vs Thanos, who do you think will win. Can we schedule a fight..
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by MightySparrow: 6:56pm On Dec 31, 2020
MuttleyLaff:
God's personal name is too potent, too wonderful, too inexplicable, too beyond understanding, too extraordinary, too hard or difficult to understand, for it to be revealed and so God has His personal name to be not known and thus His personal name in a deliberate and intentional way remains a secret, lmso.

Nobody knows God's great powerful, influential revered personal name, and so nobody can whimsically decide to evocate Him with His personal name, like as rubbing a bottle. to summon a genie, lmso

Yahshua Ha Mashiah, aka Jesus Christ, God Incarnate, our Lord, Owner of the Universe and Saviour of the whole wide world at birth was personally name Yahshua, as an indication that Salvation comes from Yah (i.e. Salvation comes from God, lmso)

Son of Man, inarguably one of the most favourite, if not the most favourite descriptor, our Lord, Owner of the Universe and Saviour of the whole wide world, Yahshua Ha Mashiah, aka Jesus Christ, God Incarnate uses is a title indicating the human being side of Him, and Him actually identifying with us, that He too is a product from a human being, hence He often uses the Son of Man title to remind us, that He is just as human as we are.

The Holy Spirit has descriptor names. It has names that describes it (e.g. Comforter, Spirit of Truth, Helper et cetera, but there is no known personal name of the Holy Spirit, lmso brothers.

You need to realise that there is one spirit of God, that comes and reveals itself specifically in distinctive seven flavours, lmso, and so the phrase "Holy Spirit" essentially is indicating the whole of the distinctive spirit flavours, aka wholly spirit lmso. The Holy Spirit is whole of the spirit is devoted to God and dedicated to the successful work of God
So, in essence, if I get what you're trying to explain is that there's no particular Spirit, known as Holy Spirit. The combination of and all angels and others, four living beings , cherubim and seraphim , they?
Re: Does The Holy Spirit Have A Name? by MuttleyLaff: 6:56pm On Dec 31, 2020
sonmvayina:
Jesus vs Thanos, who do you think will win. Can we schedule a fight..
DOA
Thanos is a fictional supervillain appearing in American comic books published by Marvel Comics. The character was created by writer-artist Jim Starlin, and made his first appearance in The Invincible.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (17) (Reply)

Why Did The Vatican Remove 14 Books From The Bible In 1684? / Nigerian Pastors Are Shameless / Alien Skull Found In Peru

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 81