Stats: 3,159,006 members, 7,838,524 topics. Date: Friday, 24 May 2024 at 02:14 AM

Strangerf's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Strangerf's Profile / Strangerf's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 40 pages)

Politics / Re: State Govt Of Osun New Policies On Education, What's Your Opinion. by strangerf: 4:48pm On Apr 19, 2012
Blindly following the American system, for someone who couldnt make it to a real university . . . very sad. Never again in the history of Osun State will a Poly graduate be allowed so much power and influence. Inferior brains will always come up with inferior policies.

Politics / Re: ‘I Don’t Deserve To Be Called A Religious Bigot’ Says Aregbesola. by strangerf: 5:10am On Apr 19, 2012
Hitler didnt think he deserved to be called evil.

Saddam thought he was doing great good.

The Military dictators that ran Nigeria down ceased the mantle of leadership for the good of the rest of us.

The problem with fascists is that they lack insight into their own problem.

Politics / Re: CJN, Musdapher Nominates Female Successor, Gives Quit Notice by strangerf: 4:26am On Apr 19, 2012
koruji: The man just became Chief Justice. This is a position that should have no retirement age,

So you want some demented old man, or woman, deciding landmark cases for you? What was your major at OAU again? Underwater Basket weaving?

Politics / Re: How Far Can FG Go Educating 9.5m Almajirai? by strangerf: 4:20am On Apr 19, 2012
koruji:
Why does the FG need to educate Almajiris? It is the purview of state governments.

Not really. The FG runs the FGColleges. Why cant they educate the Almanjiris? It is a security issue, which is clearly a FG matter. I cant believe they didnt teach you this at OAU?
Romance / Re: Why Wld A Guy Want To Come To Your House When The RS Aint Official? by strangerf: 4:17am On Apr 19, 2012
He wants to taste your clit, are you that dumb?
Politics / Re: Senator David Mark In Critical Condition. Flown To Israel For Treatment by strangerf: 4:16am On Apr 19, 2012
Ileke-IdI:
I 've always wondered; who gets their work done while they're oversea?

What work? How hard is it to sit around and get fat? Trust me, even you, as d/u/m/b as you are ( and you are one of the d/u/m/b/est people i have come across in my life), you can do their work because there is nothing to be done really.

Politics / Re: Senator David Mark In Critical Condition. Flown To Israel For Treatment by strangerf: 3:59am On Apr 19, 2012
Kobojunkie: If only they all do not come back when they leave on these trips outside Nigeria for treatment. sad

Well, be careful what you wish for . . .
Romance / Re: Why Wld A Guy Want To Come To Your House When The RS Aint Official? by strangerf: 8:54pm On Apr 18, 2012
Onila, how hawt are you?
Politics / Re: From The Wasted Generation To The RE-TA-RDED Generation by strangerf: 8:48pm On Apr 18, 2012
^^^

Get a life . . . OFF NAIRALAND.

Stop stalking people.
Politics / Re: Lagos, Freedom Park. The History And Her Current State! Indeed Eko Oni Baje! by strangerf: 4:15pm On Apr 18, 2012
^^^

Why are those people dancing in a park? lol. I just hope they are not making money from it

Where is Kobojunkie? WTF is going on
Politics / Re: Lagos, Freedom Park. The History And Her Current State! Indeed Eko Oni Baje! by strangerf: 3:44pm On Apr 18, 2012
http://www.tn.gov/environment/parks/Bicentennial/

A park with business activities going on inside.
Politics / Re: Lagos, Freedom Park. The History And Her Current State! Indeed Eko Oni Baje! by strangerf: 3:34pm On Apr 18, 2012
This Kobojunkie is studpiddddd, So just because there is a business center in the library, does that in any way detract from calling such a place a library. Even in Europe and America, there are business centers situated inside Parks. And talking about relaxing in a mall, well, only reeetards like Kobo would think of going to relax in a mall.

Ode oshi
Politics / Re: The Ibori Sentencing: Live Updates by strangerf: 9:49am On Apr 18, 2012
tayoccu: Oga James is going on a 13- year all expenses paid vacation?

Thats another way to look at it
Politics / Re: Lagos, Freedom Park. The History And Her Current State! Indeed Eko Oni Baje! by strangerf: 2:20am On Apr 18, 2012
White Gorilla project!

Whats the use?
Politics / Re: The Ibori Sentencing: Live Updates by strangerf: 2:17am On Apr 18, 2012
coogar:

really?
where was chris omisore when the senatorial election was about taking place?
how did omisore become a senator afterwards?

you stay in nigeria but you are clueless.

In prison; arrested but not convicted. Technically, he was innocent and,you know, he was cleared afterwards
Politics / Re: The Ibori Sentencing: Live Updates by strangerf: 9:46pm On Apr 17, 2012
coogar:

people like you voted him in. grin

People like you did not stop people like him from voting him in.
Politics / Re: The Ibori Sentencing: Live Updates by strangerf: 9:32pm On Apr 17, 2012
3kay945: atleast the EFCC and the judicial will see how useless they are!

True! Thats because the White man has shown us how useless and worthless we all are.
Politics / Re: The Ibori Sentencing: Live Updates by strangerf: 8:46pm On Apr 17, 2012
Leaders at home, common criminal abroad . . . and the victimization & colonization of the black race continues.

Moral of the story: Black people aint shyt in the UK.

How I wish it was Nigeria treating Blair, Camron etc like common criminals
Romance / Re: Is There A Reason Why We Can't Have More Nigerian Men Like This? by strangerf: 8:04am On Apr 17, 2012
dabrake: i viewed your profile picture yesterday and from what i saw, it wasn't encouraging. If all nigerian girls are like you, then 80% of any cash i come in contact with will go into purchasing of toilet soaps for w@nking. To be sincere, you are expired.

Thats her mom. That said, you know what they sat about the guava not falling too far from the tree?
Politics / World Bank Reverses Decision; Proclaims Iweala As Next President. by strangerf: 7:33am On Apr 17, 2012
Woohooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.
Politics / Re: Oya Na! Sanusi Pushes For Complete REMOVAL Of Fuel Subsidy by strangerf: 7:26am On Apr 17, 2012
[size=18pt]Senate Rejects Attempt to End Oil Subsidies
[/size]

By LAURA MECKLER And COREY BOLES

WASHINGTON—The White House and its Democratic allies are doing what they can to shift Americans' frustration with high gasoline prices from President Barack Obama to another group: oil and gasoline companies.

Senate Democrats pressed for a vote Thursday to end some $20 billion in federal subsidies to the largest oil and gas companies. The vote failed, as Democrats knew it would. The effort was a political gesture aimed at highlighting Republican support for the biggest oil companies at a time when some people are struggling to afford filling their gas tanks.

The bill gave Mr. Obama an opportunity to champion the measure from the White House Rose Garden earlier Thursday.

"Today, members of Congress have a simple choice to make: They can stand with the big oil companies, or they can stand with the American people," he said. The industry, he said, doesn't need taxpayer subsidies. "American oil is booming. The oil industry is doing just fine. With record profits and rising production, I'm not worried about the big oil companies," he said.

Republicans criticized Democrats for trying to impose what they called a tax increase on oil companies at a time when pump prices are rapidly escalating. According to the auto club AAA, the average price of gasoline stood at $3.92 a gallon Thursday and many experts have predicted it could hit $5 by the summer driving months.

"Is this really the best we have to offer folks who are staring at $4 a gallon of gas," Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R., Ky.) said. "A bill that even Democrats admit won't have anything to do with the price of gasoline?"

[size=18pt]The five largest oil companies reported a combined $140 billion in profit in 2011. Democrats argue that ending the taxpayer subsidies would have no effect on the price of gasoline, while Republicans say it would drive the price up.[/size]

Separately Thursday, an industry-backed group, the American Energy Alliance, said it would begin airing $3.6 million in TV ads blaming Mr. Obama's policies for high gasoline prices. The ads will run in eight states that are expected to be competitive in the presidential election.

President Obama and congressional Democrats have sought to end the payments since he took office, but they have been blocked by Republicans.

The bill would have affected subsidies paid to BP BP +0.85% PLC, Exxon Mobil Corp., XOM +1.28% Royal Dutch Shell RDSB.LN +0.14% PLC, Chevron Corp. CVX +0.72% and ConocoPhillips COP +0.27% .

Rising oil prices are a major concern for Mr. Obama's re-election campaign, where officials fear that optimism about the overall improving economy could be squelched by concerns over the price of gasoline. Working to show his concern on the issue, Mr. Obama has made a series of speeches on energy in recent weeks. Last week, he made a two-day trip focused solely on energy.

Obama pollster Joel Benenson, speaking to reporters at Third Way, a Democratic think tank, said Thursday that voters are feeling the pain of gasoline prices but also want a real solution, not something gimmicky.

"This [issue] isn't going to go away if they're paying four bucks [per gallon], or four bucks, 20 cents, at the pump," he said. "But they're going to want a real answer… They're very aware that we can't keep going down the path we're on."

A March Wall Street Journal/NBC News poll found that half of Americans believe gasoline prices have had a great deal or quite a bit of impact on their lives.

In the Senate on Thursday, the Democratic effort to end oil and gasoline subsidies was killed on a nearly party-line vote. The 51-47 vote fell short of the 60 votes needed to overcome a filibuster and pass it.

Four Democrats—Sens. Mark Begich of Alaska, Mary Landrieu of Louisiana, Ben Nelson of Nebraska and Jim Webb of Virginia—joined with most Republicans in opposing ending the subsidies. Maine Republican Sens. Susan Collins and Olympia Snowe voted with Democrats in supporting ending them.

Democrats had proposed redirecting some of the $20 billion from the subsidies to renew a series of tax credits aimed at manufacturers of solar panels, wind turbines and electric cars. Those credits ran out at the end of last year, and the renewable-energy industry has been clamoring for Congress to restore them. The remaining $9 billion would have gone toward the budget deficit.
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052702303404704577311872842454412.html

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 40 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 28