Stats: 3,326,270 members, 8,425,751 topics. Date: Saturday, 13 June 2026 at 02:22 AM

Success4me's Posts

Nairaland ForumSuccess4me's ProfileSuccess4me's Posts

1 2 3 (of 3 pages)

PoliticsRe: Governorship Poll: APC Advises Makinde To Brace Up For "Imminent Defeat" by success4me(m): 12:25pm On Mar 02, 2023
Tunasco4u:
Makinde and Sanwo Olu will win second term cheesy cheesy cheesy,
Nothing can stop them from winning

if you think otherwise come and bet grin grin grin

Frank Nwenke will win Enugu I pray so
My brother, Oyo state is not for Nsogbo Nsogbu politics. Like a poster said below, no Governor has ever win 2nd term in Oyo state except Governor Ajimobi and Oyo people saw what happened after he won boasting that he is Kosẹlẹ ri Governor (The Governor who has done what other Governors were unable to do). He started fumbling and that was his undoing as he lost the Senatorial seat he contested for before his demise. Do you think Oyo people are naive to re elect Seyi who is even naive politically than Ajimobi. Seyi rode on coalition from disgruntled APC members who defect to ADC such has Monsurah former Oyo Central senator, ADP Kamil Akinlabi former House of rep member from Oyo Alaafin, PDP Mulikat Adeola from Ogbomoso, former Governor Ladoja and a host of other Political bigwigs in Oyo state. Now he has loose most of them to other political parties or they are neutral because he can't manage them with his 1st term victory. There are others having grudges with him like Oyo state transport union and Tokyo & co. Again he lost all the 3 senatorial seat and 9-11 house of Rep members seat to APC. Those are part of the structure that are suppose to work for him that will now work against him. It will be an acculian task for Seyi to win 2nd term in Oyo State.

The Slang is
Sọrọ Soke
Tessy Lokan
Awa Lokan
Ire o.
PoliticsRe: PDP Rejects Results Released By INEC by success4me(m): 10:50pm On Feb 27, 2023
Itzteewhy:
THIS CURRENT INEC IS A BIG THREAT TO DEMOCRACY!!!!!
Election Updates...

1. Peter Obi wins "Tinubu's" Lagos. But you are still saying INEC is rigging for Tinubu just so that when Tinubu wins Katsina, you will say it was rigged.

Oh wait. Atiku won Katsina, Buhari's State.

So really how many persons do you want to accuse INEC of rigging for? Why not accept where your candidate lose?

2. So Obi can win Lagos, it is not rigging. But Amoda Ogunlere cannot win Osun that you said he is from, it is rigging.

Oh wait. Tinubu did not even win Osun. Atiku did. So what are you saying please? You thought Obi will win Osun??

3. Obi went to Kano and went straight to Sabon Gari where you have Igbos and minority Christians.

That is the divisive campaign Obi ran yet you will shout rigging if Tinubu wins Kano.

Oh wait. It is Kwankwaso that is winning Kano despite being an enemy of the sitting APC Governor!

Again, what are you sayinghuh

4. In the South East where Obi is from, Obi is winning by 90%

In the South West where Tinubu is from, Obi has won Lagos, Atiku took Osun. But when Tinubu takes Ekiti, it is rigging.

What is wrong with you guys?

5. Obi is winning in Edo State. If you add PDP and APC votes and times it by 2, Obi is still winning. This is a State where there is a PDP Governor and a Former APC National Chairman.

But it is rigging anywhere Obi is not winning. How can a people be this bigoted?

6. I have read, on WhatsApp, people saying they will poison food and give to Northerners for not voting Obi.

I have read people here saying they will never give a Northern beggar any money for not voting Obi.

Meanwhile Obi is clearing the South South and South East and Northerners are not threatening anyone. And you will call them uncivilized?

7. An unknown Labour party candidate for House of Rep, defeated the APC and PDP to win Etin-Osa Fed. Constituency in Lagos.

The APC guy was Obanikoro's son. The PDP guy was Banky W the musician. Both floored by a Labour party candidate people didn't know.

But the election was rigged is coming from the mouth of Labour party supporters.

8. Another unknown Labour party candidate defeated the APC and PDP in the major Senatorial Election in Edo.

The gap was almost 200%. If you add the PDP and APC votes together, the unknown Labour candidate still beat them with over 50k votes and these were not small candidates. They are the two most influential people in Benin!

But Labour Party supporters are still shouting rigging, failed election. Does this make sensehuh

9. Obi is heading to 500,000 votes in Enugu. Whereas Tinubu has less than 5,000 votes in the whole Enugu.

This is not rigged, but wherever Tinubu wins is rigged.

10. Atiku's VP is the GOVERNOR of Delta State.

In Delta State, Obi has won 11 out of the 16 Local Government Areas annoinced so far.

But his supporters are still shouting the election is rigged. Is that not madness?

NB: If you cause the war you are using to bully everyone we will all suffer it. Pat Utomi that is encouraging you will carry his oyinbo face and seek asylum somewhere in America or Europe where he will collect cool breeze and return after your demise to claim hero of democracy. Use sense.

By Eseoghene Al-Faruq
PoliticsRe: 2023: 3 APC Governors Drag Emefele To Supreme Court Over Naira Redesign by success4me(m): 1:43pm On Feb 06, 2023
emmanuelbrown26:
Nothing dey happen, shey urinating machine say en go fight dirty? Dis is d time to fight dirty. All of a sudden, batified bastards are now sounding human, I thought urinating machine is a lion, regional lion playing god.
Regional politics is different from national politics.

@Moh247 TinubuAdvocate Freestuffsng Leodeking PandoraObi lhordpsy Abdul05 Throwback Batified2023 Biodun556 Roboto11 Ireportlive. Roboto11

Are y'all really ready to fly
The heat is on
Are y'all really ready to die
The heat is on
Have your mother ready to cry
The heat is on
Huh
The heat is on
You know
I wonder how most Obi.Dense zombies do reason, Ọrun nyaabọ kii sọrọ ẹnikan,If heaven will fall not on one person only. I am sure most of you are not in Nigeria or doing one bussiness or the other, you would have known what people are going through.
Many of you don't know Nigeria's politics and what is called revise psychology, that's what APC and Tinubu are using now. People knows this APC
Buhari government naira redesign policy is causing this and Tinubu & APC are fighting the policy on behalf of the people. Some electorate are bound to believe that the government is really fighting Tinubu to cause survering to most Nigerians and they will give Tinubu pity vote that he's fighting on their behalf. I am not talking of Obi supporters before any zombidiot quote me. I am talking of northern and southwest voters. Instead of opposition to be against and fire naira redesign policy, they are supporting it, a policy which is anti people and the APC and it's candidates are opposing their government. The opposition supposed to cash in on this to turn the people against the government but no, they are supporting it.
They should go and learn politics 101 from Asiwaju.

PoliticsRe: Chatham House And Tinubu's Leadership Style - Dapo Okubanjo by success4me(m): 2:14am On Dec 15, 2022
AkuYAY:
https://pmexpressng.com/chatham-house-and-tinubus-leadership-style/
What the followers of Nsogbu Nsogbu politics failed to know is that, in 2015 AIT aired a documentary tittled" Lion of Buodillon" to defamed the person of Tinubu with various allegations most of which are still repackaged today by Obidenses. With all the derogatory names and allegations, Tinubu & APC triumph over them both in 2015 & 2019. In 2023 Asiwaju will still triumph over them. Let them continue. Until they change the style of their politics, they'll continue to fail. Let Jagaban teach them POL 101.

PoliticsHis Excellency Bola Ahmed Tinubu And Joe Biden US President Today. by success4me(op): 10:52pm On Nov 29, 2022
Where are the people saying Tinubu can not visit USA. Here is Tinubu with Joe Biden President of the United States of America today.

Mynn4, Drink, Nlfmode front page pls.

Foreign AffairsRe: US Voters Reelect Tony DeLuca, Dead Lawmaker by success4me(m): 8:36pm On Nov 10, 2022
Vipro:
If only Nigerians voted Funsho Williams out of respect to him.

huhJust Maybe....we won't know of anybody called Tinumbu because he will be forced to go into extinct as even the dead is valued more than him.
Some of you don't know what really happened just heresy, Tinubu is about to finish his 8 years when Funsho William dies. Get your facts right.
PoliticsRe: Akeredolu: No Obedients In Ondo by success4me(m): 7:34am On Oct 31, 2022
EcoBrick:
https://thenationonlineng.net/breaking-no-obedients-in-ondo-says-akeredolu/
Not only Ondo state, I am yet to come across any Obidient in Oyo state especially Ibadan and Oyo Alaafin. No single Labour party poster not to talk of banner in Oyo Alaafin. When I also visited Ibadan last week, no Obi or Labour party appearance. How will Obi win Oyo or South west. As you can also see from Seyi Makinde's body language, he is supporting BAT because that's what will make him to win his second term in Oyo state. Those saying Christians will vote Obi against Asiwaju, they don't know how Yorubas play politics. Yorubas don't play religion politics, they rather look at competency rather than religion.
FamilyRe: I Saw A Dead Family Friend Two Years Later by success4me(m): 6:33pm On Oct 28, 2022
Onetenth:
I have never believed in reincarnation but my eyes did saw one yesterday

Here's the story:

Year 2020, I think around may according to his parents because I can't recollect, this neighbor of ours and close friend to my sibling was into cultism.
There's was a cult clash at ikorodu that year and he lost his life, I wasn't told I was there life when police released his corpse to his parents and I was even part of those who digged the grave he was buried. Two years ago oo..

Now, this is year 2022, I saw this boy at orile,
@OP, This do happen but it is not reincarnation, it is called AKUDAYA in Yoruba. Islam has explained the mystery behind this. According to Prophet Muhammad, each person have 2 Angels by him and one Jinn (Demon) called Qorin i.e your companion among the Jinns.The Jinns have longer span of life than humans, if a person dies, his or her companion among the Jinns continue living with the dead person bodily appearance.and go around deceiving people as if is the dead person going around. This is one of satan's device to deceive people to believe that dead people can still come alive, if you're dead you're dead and can't come back alive till eternity. The person that OP saw was the dead guys Jinn twins that's why he can disappear because it's the Jinns that God gave the ability to disappear.
PoliticsRe: Funny Responses As Wike Endorses Sanwo-Olu For Second Term by success4me(m): 9:04am On Oct 19, 2022
TheRealMalcolmX:

Sanwo-olu is a performing Governor.......
Lagosians should take the incompetent Obaseki and give us Sanwo-Olu...........
Make you dey manage your Obaseki now, sebi Edo no be Lagos.
PoliticsRe: Amaechi’s Ally, Eze Kicks As Buhari Is Set To Honour Wike On Friday by success4me(m): 9:20pm On Oct 18, 2022
Righthussle:
Dem don use and dump Ameachi. It's Wike's time now. Atiku bin wan use Wike as Buhari use Ameachi but Wike say instead of a Cameroonian to use am make a Nigerian(Tinubu) use am.
Nobody dump Ameachi, it was Ameachi's long throat that made him to resign his Ministerial job to contest for a Presidential ticket he knows he can't win.
PoliticsRe: Energetic Atiku Arrives France (Pictures) by success4me(m): 7:47pm On Oct 18, 2022
ochejoseph:
Nigeria needs an energetic president, Nigeria needs a respected leader, we cannot afford a leader whose past is tainted with drugs.

After 5 marathon
events in Kaduna from Friday to Monday, Atiku arrived Paris today and is currently meeting with foreign jounarlists before his meeting with President Macron and other french leaders.

Atiku is mentally and physically fit to lead Nigeria to the promise land. With Atiku, Nigeria will take its rightful place among the committee of Nations.

May God Bless Nigeria!!!

Dr. Oche Otorkpa

https://twitter.com/IfedolapoOsun/status/1582355679603720194?t=2z4RFbE8emFasUM_50jt9g&s=19[/quote]Let Atiku also visit USA, we want to check something
PoliticsRe: APC Decampees To PDP Declare Their Support For AtIku & Seyi Makinde (Pictures) by success4me(m): 9:17am On Oct 15, 2022
9jahotblog:
OYO STATE PDP RECEIVES ANOTHER POLITICAL BIGWIG, AS SENATOR MONSURAT SUMONU JOINS PDP.

In the above Picture is Senator Sumonu with Hon Tegbe,the PDP Senatorial Candidates for Oyo South Senatorial District.

CONGRATULATIONS to the Oyo state PDP Family and this has further proved the saying by Governor Seyi Makinde that APC is dead in Oyo State.

As we say in PDP, to God be the glory. Seyi Makinde Lekan siii. 4+4
OP stop this your lie, Monsurat Sumonu as left APC since 2019 to ADC and then to PDP. One of her son is even a commissioner in Seyi Makinde's Government. Therefore this is an unnecessary propaganda, how is someone who is in PDP already be decamping to the same PDP. Abeg talk another thing, this your lie has been busted. APC is very strong in Oyo state and Seyi Makinde is going unless he align with Tinubu that's what may save him.
PoliticsRe: Sirika: Why FG Didn’t Waste Time Giving Approval For New Lagos Airport by success4me(m): 9:33am On Oct 13, 2022
franchasofficia:
This is a very good move by FG but all we are asking for in Nigeria is for this equal treatment to be extended to all the 36 states of Nigeria so all states can develop faster too.

No developed country rely just on one or two cities for economic development

Each of the 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria ought to have 2 or 3 megacities that have seaport, inland port or river port, with other amenities that will promote faster economic growth in that region.

Doing this will reduce the stress and pressure on Lagos, which will further decongest Lagos and also preserve Lagos and make it less populated as people will naturally relocate to other working cities, and this will bring a communal growth of Nigeria without prejudice.

This should be our goal as a nation
You should direct this your suggestion to other state Governor or is it the FG building the Airport, Lekki dry seaport, Dangote refinary and other development in Lagos State? This was a vision and foresight of a single man(BAT) when he was a Governor. He created the Lekki Free Trade Zone where all this is happening.
God Bless Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the incoming President Federal Republic of Nigeria. InshaAllah.
PoliticsRe: Sokoto Residents Hold Rally For Wamakko And Tinubu (Video) by success4me(m): 9:18am On Oct 13, 2022
WibusJaga:

Thïefnubu should retire back to Iragbiji and take care of his ill health. All those campaigning for the sick ancestor bat to come shoulder Nigeria's huge problems & preside over the affairs & destinies of millions of Nigerians are wicked & unpatriotic.
Stale, change your style
PoliticsTinubu: Is It Possible To Attend University Without Prima & Secondary Education? by success4me(op):
By Farooq A. Kperogi

Twitter: @farooqkperogi

In light of renewed doubts about Tinubu’s degree qualifications, I again reached out to a colleague of mine at the Chicago State University to help me verify if Tinubu indeed graduated from the school. She told me he did but said she'd go ask at the Registrar's office. She shared this with me.

Apparently, the school prepared this in response to a cornucopia of inquiries from Nigeria. So, it's not exclusive to her. But I can confirm that this is legitimate. The so-called FBI statement doing the rounds on social media that claims no Bola Ahmed Tinubu graduated from Chicago State University appears to be a fabrication.

Of course, this doesn't answer the other concerns about Tinubu. Is the person we know as Bola Ahmed Tinubu the same person that attended Chicago State University? Why did he claim to have attended the University of Chicago when didn't? Why did he claim to have attended a primary school in Lagos and a secondary school in Ibadan that he didn't attend? That's still a mystery to me.

People have also asked me whether it's possible to be admitted to a university in America without attending a primary and secondary school. The answer is yes, you can earn a degree in America without attending a secondary school.

There's something called the General Educational Development test (or GED) for people who didn't earn a high diploma before the age of 18. It's equivalent to what used to be called "GCE" in Nigeria.

For example, my friend Comrade Umoru Ibrahim didn't attend a primary school or a secondary school in Nigeria. He took the GCE and today has a master's degree in political science. I wrote about him in a May 22, 2010 column titled "Beyond Yar’adua: Tributes to Little-Known Living Heroes."

Similarly, my late friend and colleague Dr. Matt J. Duffy didn't have a high school diploma. He had a GED but ended up with a PhD.

There's also the question of how Tinubu earned a degree in just two years. Well, he said he first attended a 2-year community college called Richard J. Daley College in Chicago from where he transferred his credits to the Chicago State University, and there is evidence that a Bola Ahmed Tinubu attended Daley College in Chicago.

Whether that Tinubu is the Tinubu we know I can't say. This is merely to set the records within the limits of what I know.

https://www.farooqkperogi.com/2022/06/a-bola-tinubu-graduated-from-chicago.html?m=1

PoliticsOyo State Youth Rally For Tinubu, Just Testing Mic. by success4me(op): 8:52pm On Sep 17, 2022
Can you compare this massive turnout those with Obidients scanty Rallies with chest beatings. PO will carry 4th by February next year, wait and see.

Mode front page pls.

PoliticsFormer Emir Of Kano Sanusi Lamido Sanusi's speech About Nigeria Elites & D masss by success4me(op):
Fellow Nigerians, former Central Bank Governor and Emir of Kano, His Royal Highness Sanusi Lamido Sanusi the second , surprised guests present at the Muson Centre for the launching of the book of Sir Olaniwun Ajayi.

Below is his unedited speech.

Let me start by saying that I am Fulani (laughter). My grandfather was an Emir also fulani my uncle and guardian was also the immediate late Emir of Kano Alhaji Ado Bayero and therefore I represent all that has been talked about this afternoon. Sir Ajayi has written a book. And like all Nigerians of his generation, he has written in the language of his generation.

My grandfather was a Northerner, I am a Nigerian. The problem with this country is that in 2009, we speak in the language of 1953. Sir Olaniwun can be forgiven for the way he spoke, but I cannot forgive people of my generation speaking in that language.

Let us go into this issue because there are so many myths that are being bandied around. Before colonialism, there was nothing like Northern Nigeria, Before the Sokoto Jihad, there was nothing like the Sokoto caliphate. The man from Kano regard himself as bakane. The man from Zaria was bazazzage. The man from Katsina was bakatsine. The kingdoms were at war with each other. They were Hausas, they were Muslims, they were killing each other.

The Yoruba were Ijebu, Owo, Ijesha, Akoko, Egba. When did they become one? When did the North become one? You have the Sokoto Caliphate that brought every person from Adamawa to Sokoto and said it is one kingdom. They now said it was a Muslim North.

The Colonialists came, put that together and said it is now called the Northern Nigeria. Do you know what happened? Our grand fathers were able to transform to being Northerners. We have not been able to transform to being Nigerians. The fault is ours.

Tell me, how many governors has South West produced after Awolowo that are role models of leadership? How many governors has the East produced like Nnamdi Azikiwe that can be role models of leadership? How Many governors in the Niger Delta are role models of leadership? Tell me. There is no evidence statistically that any part of this country has produced good leaders.

You talk about Babangida and the problems of our economy. Who were the people in charge of the economy during Babangida era? Olu Falae, Kalu Idika Kalu. What state are they from in the North?

We started the banking reform; the first thing I heard was that in Urobo land, there will be a curse of the ancestors. I said they (ancestors) would not answer. They said why? I said how many factories did Ibru build in Urobo land? So, why will the ancestors of the Urobo people support her?

We talk ethnicity when it pleases us. It is hypocrisy. You said elections were rigged in 1959, Obasanjo and Maurice Iwu rigged election in 2007. Was it a Southern thing? It was not. “The problem is: everywhere in this country, there is one Hausa, Ibo, Yoruba and Itshekiri man whose concern is how to get his hands on the pile and how much he can steal.

Whether it is in the military or in the civilian government, they sit down, they eat together. In fact, the constitution says there must be a minister from every state.

So, anybody that is still preaching that the problem of Nigeria is Yoruba or Hausa or Fulani, he does not love Nigeria . The problem with Nigeria is that a group of people from each and every ethnic tribe is very selfish. The poverty that is found in Maiduguri is even worse than any poverty that you find in any part of the South.

The British came for 60 years and Sir Ajayi talked about few numbers of graduates in the North (two as at independence). What he did not say was that there was a documented policy of the British when they came that the Northerner should not be educated. It was documented. It was British colonial policy. I have the document. I have published articles on it. That if you educate the Northerner you will produce progressive Muslim intellectuals of the type we have in Egypt and India. So, do not educate them. It was documented. And you say they love us (North) more than the south.

I have spent the better part of my life to fight and Dr. (Reuben) Abati knows it. Yes, my grandfather was an Emir. Why was I in the pro-democracy movement fighting for June 12? Is (Moshood) Abiola from Kano ? Why am I a founding director of the Kudirat Initiative for Nigerian Development (KIND)?

There are good Yoruba people, good Igbo people, good Fulani people, good Nigerians and there are bad people everywhere. That is the truth. “Stop talking about dividing Nigeria because we are not the most populous country in the world. We have all the resources that make it easy to make one united great Nigeria . It is better if we are united than to divide it.

Every time you talk about division, when you restructure, do you know what will happen? In Delta Area, the people in Warri will say Agbor, you don’t have oil. When was the Niger Delta constructed as a political entity? Ten years ago, the Itshekiris were fighting the Urobos. Isn’t that what was happening? Now they have become Niger Delta because they have found oil. After, it will be, if you do not have oil in your village then you cannot share our resources.

There is no country in the world where resources are found in everybody’s hamlet. But people have leaders and they said if you have this geography and if we are one state, then we have a responsibility for making sure that the people who belong to this country have a good nature.

So, why don’t you talk about; we don’t have infrastructure, we don’t have education, we don’t have health. We are still talking about Fulani. Is it the Fulani cattle rearer or is anybody saying there is no poverty among the Fulani?”, he said.
LESSONS FROM THIS MESSAGE

Tribalism is not our problem. Tribalism and religion are artificial problems created by selfish leaders for their own personal interest.

There are only two major tribes in Nigeria. The Elites and the Masses. Once you make lots of money, you belong to the elite tribe. When you are a commoner or suffering, you belong to the tribe of the masses. If you are an elite, and you need more power, or elective position, you sow seeds of tribalism and religion among the masses, so as to sway their emotion for your personal victory. This happens at both the national and state level. Unfortunately, after the election when they have won and joined their “sworn enemies” to drink and party, the gullible masses continue to fight each other.

Even smart people who belong to the masses, sometimes will sow seeds of tribalism and religion among the masses, and then the masses will carry them up until they belong to the elite class. It is a classic strategy used over 3000 years ago in the art of war. A commoner who aspires to sit with the elites, could stir up powerful tribal or religious sentiments, such wave if properly utilized either by shedding blood or destabilizing the elites, carries the commoner to the elite class. But once there, he immediately mingles and makes peace with the elite tribe, and turn his back on the same masses that helped him get there.

Youths are the worst victim of this powerplay, they kill each other, call other tribes unprintable names, do terrible things and sometimes, even lose their life, thinking they are fighting for their right, not knowing that they are fighting for the personal welfare of someone, whose own children are probably safe in America or London.

So youths, don’t hope on the government. If you don’t have a job, create one. There is abject poverty in the south as well as the north, whether Ogoni or Maidugri. At the same time, there is massive wealth in Lagos, Onitsha, Nnewi, Aba, Kano, Abuja, irrespective of zone.

Whatever your hand finds to do, do it well and never remain idle. No job is too low for an idle hand, or else the devil will find work for you. As you become independent, and grow your capacity, do not lose hope in Nigeria. We are the largest economy in Africa and soon the world will fear us. Western powers, don’t like big economies that threaten them, America will do anything to break China, but China is wise to resist that. China has 1.6 billion people, we have only 170 million, and we are talking of breaking.

China has 5 major religions which are Buddhism, Confucianism, Taoism, Islam and Christianity. Nigeria has only 2 major religions, Christianity and Islam. Yet we claim that religion is our problem.

America, the strongest economy is comprised of every tribe in the world, since they accept anybody from any part of the world. Yet they are united and extremely patriotic. Nigeria has only 3 major tribes, and we claim tribalism.

Think clearly and deeply, and you will realize that empowering yourself is the best course of action, not fighting each other. And once the youths are empowered, they can begin to take back their future from the hands of the old and corrupt generation that has been blinding Nigerians with hatred, while looting all her resources. Sani Abacha’s loot is still stashed away in Switzerland, did he use it to develop the north? Those that stole billions under GEJ stashed it away in foreign banks, bought expensive toys, jets and foreign homes, are they using it to develop the south? Now the ones stealing currently, including the “grasscutters”, are looking for Ikoyi apartments, abandoned houses, and pit toilets to hide it, are they using it for the youths in their tribe? NO!

Youths shine your eyes! Don’t always fall for this tribal, religious sentiments over and over again. Nigeria is bigger than these corrupt elites.
They are the problem, not the poor masses"

PoliticsANALYSIS: 2023: What Fate Awaits APC Candidate Bola Tinubu In Northern Nigerian by success4me(op): 2:42am On Jun 24, 2022
ANALYSIS: 2023: What fate awaits APC candidate Bola Tinubu in Northern Nigerian states?

The northern region is the stronghold of the ruling APC, as it governs 14 of its 19 states. But this is the first time the party is presenting a southerner as its presidential flag bearer.
ByAbubakar Ahmadu Maishanu June 23, 2022 8 min read

What fate awaits the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu, in the northern states in the 2023 election?

The question is of interest to political observers because the region is the stronghold of the ruling party, as it governs 14 of its 19 states, but this is the first time the party is presenting a southerner as its flag bearer.

Mr Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos State, polled 1,271 votes at the APC primary on June 8, defeating 13 aspirants after seven others stepped down for him at the convention ground.

He will slug it out with the candidates of 16 other parties in the February 25, 2023, general election, including Atiku Abubakar of the People Democratic Party (PDP), Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria People Party (NNPP) and Peter Obi of the Labour Party.

Patient courtship
Before declaring his intention to run for president in January, Mr Tinubu had been the leader of the APC in the South-west zone, where he had been influential since the beginning of the Fourth Republic in 1999. However, northern state governors provided the most critical support that helped him to win the party’s nomination.

This did not come as a surprise to close observers because Mr Tinubu in recent years had taken deliberate steps to build alliances with political leaders in the region.

Initially, some northern APC governors did not support Mr Tinubu because of their own ambitions. But he eventually won them over, helped no doubt by the position of a majority of them that the South should produce the successor to President Muhammadu Buhari next year. But he had also deliberately courted many of them over the years.

One of the governors, Muhammad Badaru of Jigawa, who eventually stepped down for Mr Tinubu at the primary, narrated how the former Lagos governor helped him to win his election as governor.

Mr Tinubu announced his presidential bid in January, after numerous engagements with northern leaders. He was the Guest Speaker at the prestigious Arewa House lecture series in Kaduna last year, an event he preceded with visits to Kano and Katsina states within a week.

While in Katsina, last March 24, he donated N50 million to victims of a fire disaster at the city’s central market.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr Tinubu said: “For the fire disaster, I am personally most touched because I am a son of a market woman leader. My late mother was the president of the Nigerian Men and Women Market Association.

Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Photo Credit: @OfficialBAT)
“We, together with my mother, had been to Katsina several times for political rallies and Durbar. Coming to Katsina, it is not only to celebrate but to share the joy and sorrow, particularly in this period where Nigerians need each other both in pain and joy. We will continue to pray that Nigeria will be peaceful,” the former governor said.

Arewa House Lecture
Speaking at the opening of the 2021 annual Arewa House Lectures, which he chaired in Kaduna on March 27 that year, Mr Tinubue called for massive investment in job creation to address the economic and security challenges of the region.

The theme of the lecture was “Reduction of the Cost of Governance for Inclusive Growth and Youth Development in Northern Nigeria in a Post- COVID-19 Era”.

He said the government must think outside of the box in finding solutions to the challenges posed by unemployment. According to him, frustration and despair among the youth were largely caused by chronic poverty and the breakdown of social institutions.

“Building vital infrastructures such as irrigation and water catchment systems will help agriculture, arrest desertification, and provide jobs.

“Another readily available area primed for investment is the agro-allied industry which, for the northern region, is particularly advantageous,” he said.

On the herder/farmer dispute, he said the government “must appreciate that martial security measures alone will not suffice.

“We cannot resolve this problem by holding on to one-dimensional answers. We must all be dispassionate in our search for solutions. These challenges are multi-faceted and so the solutions must be.

“The issue of insecurity, unemployment, and extremism has many things to do with governance, over time. We must tackle our deep and widespread poverty.

“If we limit the government’s role under the erroneous assumption that government spending is intrinsically unproductive, then we tether ourselves to failure.

“The development of any populous nation has always been dependent on the ability of the government to allocate sufficient funds to projects and programs that create and encourage enduring growth and employment,” Mr Tinubu said.

The 12th Colloquium in Kano.
Mr Tinubu held the 12th edition of his annual Colloquium in Kano in 2021 under the theme, “Our Common Bond, Our Common Wealth.” The colloquium is a lecture series held on his birthdays since 2009, two years after he left government.

At the event, during which he inaugurated the headquarters of the state’s anti-graft agency, Mr Tinubu lauded Governor Abdullahi Ganduje for strengthening the anti-corruption institutions in his state.

He also preached peace, unity, and tolerance among Nigerians and then held a closed-door meeting with clerics and the five first-class emirs in the state at the Government House in Kano.

These engagements probably contributed to the support that the former Lagos governor received from northern state governors at the APC National Convention. But now that he is the party’s presidential candidate, has he done enough to connect with the voters in the region?

Courtship
Habu Muhammad, a former head of Aminu Kano Centre for Democratic Research and Training (Mambayya House), a research and training unit of the Bayero University, Kano, said Mr Tinubu’s visits to Northwest states were in promotion of his ambition to succeed President Buhari come 2023.

“Tinubu is an astute politician who believes that with the support from Kano in particular and the northern states, he will actualise his ambition of becoming the next Nigerian president,” Mr Muhammad, a professor of political science, told PREMIUM TIMES.

He said if Mr Tinubu’s tours of northern states were solely to preach unity, he should have gathered southern leaders to preach the same message to them too.

“Since he started celebrating his birthday in 2009, I can’t recall the celebration taking place in the north. Holding it in the north now is political. But there is nothing wrong with that because it is politics. In politics, someone must indicate interest and that person must lobby for support. Tinubu has political relevance, he has people and supporters across Nigeria. In the end, Nigerians will decide whether he is the right person or not,” Mr Muhammad said.

However, Mr Muhammad warned that Mr Tinubu may encounter challenges in the north if leaders in his South-west region continue to be silent about the alleged persecution of Hausa/Fulani groups over the farmers/herders crisis.

He said Mr Tinubu himself had not spoken out against the attacks on northern businesses and Fulani communities in his home region.

But the candidate faces other challenges as well.

Kano: NNPP’s challenge, Ganduje’s record
Kano is the most populous state in Northern Nigeria. The APC got its highest votes, about 1.9 million, in the state in 2015, a feat it also repeated in the 2019 presidential election.

However, Governor Ganduje appears to have mismanaged the party in Kano. Many of its important stakeholders have left the party in anger and frustration. This may affect the support that the APC presidential candidate may get in the state at the poll.

A former governor Ibrahim Shekarau, a former presidential aide, Kawu Sumaila; and a former federal lawmaker, Abdulmumini Jibrin; are among those who have defected to the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) brought to the state by a former governor, Rabiu Kwankwaso, who is also running for president.

Both Messrs Sumaila and Jibrin are formidable politicians in the Kano South Senatorial district, which has 15 local government areas (LGAs). Rano LGA, which had 71,641 in the last elections, will be one of the battlefields in the zone for the APC, NNPP and PDP.

Other council areas in Kano South like Kiru, Wudil, Gaya, Tudun Wada, and Doguwa will also see close contests. However, the Chief Whip of the House of Representatives, Alhassan Ado-Doguwa, has vowed to deliver the Kano South Senatorial district to the APC as he did previously.

ALSO READ: PT State of the Race: Obi, Kwankwaso romance as Tinubu ponders VP riddle
Luckily for the APC too, Barau Jibrin, the senator representing Kano North District, which has 14 LGAs, remains in the party. Mr Jibrin, who is the Senate Appropriations Committee chairman and is seeking re-election, and Abubakar Kabir, who is the member representing Bichi in the House of Representatives, are popular in the district. With the influence of the Emir of Bichi, Nasiru Ado-Bayero, who is an in-law to President Buhari, the APC may sweep the poll in this zone.

But the ruling party will face stiff opposition in Kano Central Senatorial District where Messrs Kwankwaso and Shekarau hail from. Mr Kwankwaso’s followers (members of the Kwankwasiyya Movement) are numerous in the city.

The unresolved APC crisis emanating from the primary election in some of the metropolitan council areas, like Fagge, is an added advantage to the opposition parties.

The member representing Fagge at the House of Representatives, Aminu Suleiman, won the APC primary election despite complaints of alleged poor representation made against him by some residents. Mr Suleiman, however, dismissed the allegation as politically motivated, saying he secured hundreds of jobs for his constituents.

In addition, many APC supporters are disenchanted over the poor performance of the APC-led federal government in the last seven years.

Overall, APC needs a lot of hard work to harvest the usual humongous votes it has been getting in Kano central. However, many residents commend the Ganduje administration for executing landmark projects in the Kano metropolis.

The NNPP is unlikely to win in Kano but may play the spoiler for Mr Tinubu and his opponent of the other major party, Atiku Abubakar of the PDP.

Former Nigeria Vice President, Atiku Abubakar
Atiku Abubakar
Keen contests
The contests in other Northwest states will be keen between the APC and PDP. The ruling party will likely maintain its grip on Kaduna and Katsina states. In the former, Governor Nasir El-Rufa’i is widely adjudged to have performed well but the animosity against him in the southern part of the state means the PDP also remains strong in the state.

In Katsina, the home state of President Buhari, despite the challenges of insecurity, Governor Masari has also executed many projects and addressed the security challenges in rural communities.

But Sokoto and Kebbi will be battlefields for the two parties.

The APC has bright chances in the North Central Niger State, as the structure of the PDP seems to have collapsed in the state over the years. A former governor, Babangida Aliyu, who ought to be the leader of the party in the state, has been silent, perhaps because he is battling corruption charges.

With the absence of the PDP structure, APC chieftains in banditry-prone Shiroro, Munya, Rafi, and other council areas are noticeably supporting the victims of attacks. Those politicians are more likely to influence the elections even in communities displaced by terrorists.

The APC states and APC ruling states
The APC controls 14 states in the North. Yobe, Borno, and Zamfara are traditional APC states – the PDP has not won a governorship election in the three states since the beginning of the Fourth Republic, and there is a high tendency that Mr Tinubu will win those states hands down.

But the APC presidential candidate will suffer from the perceived sins of some of the governors in states like Jigawa and Kebbi, who have either been accused of hijacking the party structures or abandoning governance for their personal businesses.

Abdullahi Tsoho, a labour union leader and governorship candidate of the Labour Party (LP) in Jigawa, said over 9,000 teachers retired from the state civil service in the last seven years, but the government has not recruited to fill the vacancies.

Instead, Mr Tsoho said the government has focused on building new classroom blocks without teachers to teach.

Even his party members had complained that Governor Badaru has never done empowerment programmes for residents in the last seven years, while farmers also complained that farming inputs, machines and agrochemicals he reportedly imported from China were never sold to them at subsidised rates. Some farmers lamented that farm inputs are cheaper in the open market than from the state-controlled Agricultural Supply Company (JASCO), managed by a confidant of the governor.

Also, farmers alleged that Mr Badaru’s role as head of the presidential task force on fertiliser did not benefit farmers in his state as the price and availability of fertilizer in Jigawa remain a concern.

However, unlike in Kebbi where aggrieved APC members defected to the opposition PDP, they have refused to leave in Jigawa. A party member said many of them are instead waiting for the elections to pay back for the alleged wrongdoings of the governor.

Meanwhile, a former lawmaker, Farouk Aliyu, is challenging the governor in court over the alleged imposition of candidates of the party.

Thus, the unresolved party crisis and perceived political sins of the Jigawa governor may affect the support for his party’s presidential candidate in the state.

50/50 in the Northeast – Don
A professor at the Department of Political Science, University of Maiduguri, Umara Ibrahim, agreed that the APC presidential candidate may win three of the six states in the North East.

He told PREMIUM TIMES that it would be difficult for the PDP to win in Borno and Yobe states and that APC, being in government in Gombe, is also most likely to take the state. The PDP is in government in Adamawa, Taraba and Bauchi states.

The don said the APC may gain more influence in the zone if it picks its vice-presidential candidate from the zone.

Mr Ibrahim said Atiku has a large following in Bauchi State, which would make the state difficult to win for the presidential candidate of the APC. He added that though the governor, Bala Mohammed, lost in the PDP presidential primary, he will still support his party to win the state.

Muslim-Muslim
Mr Tinubu, a Southern Muslim, is under pressure from Nigerian Christian leaders to pick a Northern Christian as his running mate. But Sa’idu Dukawa, a professor of Political Science at Bayero University, Kano, said fielding a Muslim-Muslim ticket will serve his electoral interest better in conservative Northern states.

Mr Dukawa believes that Mr Tinubu’s choice of a running mate will influence the support he gets from the average voters in Kano and other conservative Muslim states in the region.

“If Tinubu picks a Muslim running mate from the North, the APC may win all the states it now controls, and even get additional states. But if they chose otherwise, the party may lose some of their states. There is no doubt about this because religion will definitely influence the voting pattern,” Mr Dukawa said.

He said the predominantly Muslim population in the North is now interpreting the calls by religious groups on Mr Tinubu not to pick a Muslim running mate as a plot against their religion.

“The simple arithmetic is that only three of the 19 Northern states are being governed by Christian governors. The Muslim population will want one of their own to represent them as the vice president,” he added.

However, he said Mr Tinubu may also face a backlash from this arrangement with the majority of Christians not voting for him both in the North and in the South. The don said the aim of any political party is to win an election, and that politicians will always adopt the option they think will make them win.

The APC has named Kabir Masari, a Muslim from Katsina State, as his running mate but many believe he is not the final choice and would be substituted before July 15.

That notwithstanding, Mr Dukawa said voters should always consider competence over religion and vote for the candidate that will address the security and economic challenges, irrespective of their regions and religions.

https://www.premiumtimesng.com/news/headlines/538601-analysis-2023-what-fate-awaits-apc-candidate-bola-tinubu-in-northern-nigerian-states.html

PoliticsANALYSIS: 2023: What Fate Awaits APC Candidate Bola Tinubu In Northern Nigerian by success4me(op): 2:23am On Jun 24, 2022
The northern region is the stronghold of the ruling APC, as it governs 14 of its 19 states. But this is the first time the party is presenting a southerner as its presidential flag bearer.
ByAbubakar Ahmadu Maishanu June 23, 2022 8 min read
What fate awaits the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu, in the northern states in the 2023 election?

The question is of interest to political observers because the region is the stronghold of the ruling party, as it governs 14 of its 19 states, but this is the first time the party is presenting a southerner as its flag bearer.

Mr Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos State, polled 1,271 votes at the APC primary on June 8, defeating 13 aspirants after seven others stepped down for him at the convention ground.

He will slug it out with the candidates of 16 other parties in the February 25, 2023, general election, including Atiku Abubakar of the People Democratic Party (PDP), Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria People Party (NNPP) and Peter Obi of the Labour Party.

Patient courtship
Before declaring his intention to run for president in January, Mr Tinubu had been the leader of the APC in the South-west zone, where he had been influential since the beginning of the Fourth Republic in 1999. However, northern state governors provided the most critical support that helped him to win the party’s nomination.

This did not come as a surprise to close observers because Mr Tinubu in recent years had taken deliberate steps to build alliances with political leaders in the region.

Initially, some northern APC governors did not support Mr Tinubu because of their own ambitions. But he eventually won them over, helped no doubt by the position of a majority of them that the South should produce the successor to President Muhammadu Buhari next year. But he had also deliberately courted many of them over the years.

One of the governors, Muhammad Badaru of Jigawa, who eventually stepped down for Mr Tinubu at the primary, narrated how the former Lagos governor helped him to win his election as governor.

Mr Tinubu announced his presidential bid in January, after numerous engagements with northern leaders. He was the Guest Speaker at the prestigious Arewa House lecture series in Kaduna last year, an event he preceded with visits to Kano and Katsina states within a week.

While in Katsina, last March 24, he donated N50 million to victims of a fire disaster at the city’s central market.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr Tinubu said: “For the fire disaster, I am personally most touched because I am a son of a market woman leader. My late mother was the president of the Nigerian Men and Women Market Association.

“We, together with my mother, had been to Katsina several times for political rallies and Durbar. Coming to Katsina, it is not only to celebrate but to share the joy and sorrow, particularly in this period where Nigerians need each other both in pain and joy. We will continue to pray that Nigeria will be peaceful,” the former governor said.

Arewa House Lecture
Speaking at the opening of the 2021 annual Arewa House Lectures, which he chaired in Kaduna on March 27 that year, Mr Tinubue called for massive investment in job creation to address the economic and security challenges of the region.

The theme of the lecture was “Reduction of the Cost of Governance for Inclusive Growth and Youth Development in Northern Nigeria in a Post- COVID-19 Era”.

He said the government must think outside of the box in finding solutions to the challenges posed by unemployment. According to him, frustration and despair among the youth were largely caused by chronic poverty and the breakdown of social institutions.

“Building vital infrastructures such as irrigation and water catchment systems will help agriculture, arrest desertification, and provide jobs.

“Another readily available area primed for investment is the agro-allied industry which, for the northern region, is particularly advantageous,” he said.

On the herder/farmer dispute, he said the government “must appreciate that martial security measures alone will not suffice.

“We cannot resolve this problem by holding on to one-dimensional answers. We must all be dispassionate in our search for solutions. These challenges are multi-faceted and so the solutions must be.

“The issue of insecurity, unemployment, and extremism has many things to do with governance, over time. We must tackle our deep and widespread poverty.

“If we limit the government’s role under the erroneous assumption that government spending is intrinsically unproductive, then we tether ourselves to failure.

“The development of any populous nation has always been dependent on the ability of the government to allocate sufficient funds to projects and programs that create and encourage enduring growth and employment,” Mr Tinubu said.

The 12th Colloquium in Kano.
Mr Tinubu held the 12th edition of his annual Colloquium in Kano in 2021 under the theme, “Our Common Bond, Our Common Wealth.” The colloquium is a lecture series held on his birthdays since 2009, two years after he left government.

At the event, during which he inaugurated the headquarters of the state’s anti-graft agency, Mr Tinubu lauded Governor Abdullahi Ganduje for strengthening the anti-corruption institutions in his state.

He also preached peace, unity, and tolerance among Nigerians and then held a closed-door meeting with clerics and the five first-class emirs in the state at the Government House in Kano.

These engagements probably contributed to the support that the former Lagos governor received from northern state governors at the APC National Convention. But now that he is the party’s presidential candidate, has he done enough to connect with the voters in the region?

Courtship
Habu Muhammad, a former head of Aminu Kano Centre for Democratic Research and Training (Mambayya House), a research and training unit of the Bayero University, Kano, said Mr Tinubu’s visits to Northwest states were in promotion of his ambition to succeed President Buhari come 2023.

“Tinubu is an astute politician who believes that with the support from Kano in particular and the northern states, he will actualise his ambition of becoming the next Nigerian president,” Mr Muhammad, a professor of political science, told PREMIUM TIMES.

He said if Mr Tinubu’s tours of northern states were solely to preach unity, he should have gathered southern leaders to preach the same message to them too.

“Since he started celebrating his birthday in 2009, I can’t recall the celebration taking place in the north. Holding it in the north now is political. But there is nothing wrong with that because it is politics. In politics, someone must indicate interest and that person must lobby for support. Tinubu has political relevance, he has people and supporters across Nigeria. In the end, Nigerians will decide whether he is the right person or not,” Mr Muhammad said.

However, Mr Muhammad warned that Mr Tinubu may encounter challenges in the north if leaders in his South-west region continue to be silent about the alleged persecution of Hausa/Fulani groups over the farmers/herders crisis.

He said Mr Tinubu himself had not spoken out against the attacks on northern businesses and Fulani communities in his home region.

But the candidate faces other challenges as well.

Kano: NNPP’s challenge, Ganduje’s record
Kano is the most populous state in Northern Nigeria. The APC got its highest votes, about 1.9 million, in the state in 2015, a feat it also repeated in the 2019 presidential election.

However, Governor Ganduje appears to have mismanaged the party in Kano. Many of its important stakeholders have left the party in anger and frustration. This may affect the support that the APC presidential candidate may get in the state at the poll.

A former governor Ibrahim Shekarau, a former presidential aide, Kawu Sumaila; and a former federal lawmaker, Abdulmumini Jibrin; are among those who have defected to the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) brought to the state by a former governor, Rabiu Kwankwaso, who is also running for president.

Both Messrs Sumaila and Jibrin are formidable politicians in the Kano South Senatorial district, which has 15 local government areas (LGAs). Rano LGA, which had 71,641 in the last elections, will be one of the battlefields in the zone for the APC, NNPP and PDP.

Other council areas in Kano South like Kiru, Wudil, Gaya, Tudun Wada, and Doguwa will also see close contests. However, the Chief Whip of the House of Representatives, Alhassan Ado-Doguwa, has vowed to deliver the Kano South Senatorial district to the APC as he did previously.

ALSO READ: PT State of the Race: Obi, Kwankwaso romance as Tinubu ponders VP riddle
Luckily for the APC too, Barau Jibrin, the senator representing Kano North District, which has 14 LGAs, remains in the party. Mr Jibrin, who is the Senate Appropriations Committee chairman and is seeking re-election, and Abubakar Kabir, who is the member representing Bichi in the House of Representatives, are popular in the district. With the influence of the Emir of Bichi, Nasiru Ado-Bayero, who is an in-law to President Buhari, the APC may sweep the poll in this zone.

But the ruling party will face stiff opposition in Kano Central Senatorial District where Messrs Kwankwaso and Shekarau hail from. Mr Kwankwaso’s followers (members of the Kwankwasiyya Movement) are numerous in the city.

The unresolved APC crisis emanating from the primary election in some of the metropolitan council areas, like Fagge, is an added advantage to the opposition parties.

The member representing Fagge at the House of Representatives, Aminu Suleiman, won the APC primary election despite complaints of alleged poor representation made against him by some residents. Mr Suleiman, however, dismissed the allegation as politically motivated, saying he secured hundreds of jobs for his constituents.

In addition, many APC supporters are disenchanted over the poor performance of the APC-led federal government in the last seven years.

Overall, APC needs a lot of hard work to harvest the usual humongous votes it has been getting in Kano central. However, many residents commend the Ganduje administration for executing landmark projects in the Kano metropolis.

The NNPP is unlikely to win in Kano but may play the spoiler for Mr Tinubu and his opponent of the other major party, Atiku Abubakar of the PDP.

Former Nigeria Vice President, Atiku Abubakar
Atiku Abubakar
Keen contests
The contests in other Northwest states will be keen between the APC and PDP. The ruling party will likely maintain its grip on Kaduna and Katsina states. In the former, Governor Nasir El-Rufa’i is widely adjudged to have performed well but the animosity against him in the southern part of the state means the PDP also remains strong in the state.

In Katsina, the home state of President Buhari, despite the challenges of insecurity, Governor Masari has also executed many projects and addressed the security challenges in rural communities.

But Sokoto and Kebbi will be battlefields for the two parties.

The APC has bright chances in the North Central Niger State, as the structure of the PDP seems to have collapsed in the state over the years. A former governor, Babangida Aliyu, who ought to be the leader of the party in the state, has been silent, perhaps because he is battling corruption charges.

With the absence of the PDP structure, APC chieftains in banditry-prone Shiroro, Munya, Rafi, and other council areas are noticeably supporting the victims of attacks. Those politicians are more likely to influence the elections even in communities displaced by terrorists.

The APC states and APC ruling states
The APC controls 14 states in the North. Yobe, Borno, and Zamfara are traditional APC states – the PDP has not won a governorship election in the three states since the beginning of the Fourth Republic, and there is a high tendency that Mr Tinubu will win those states hands down.

But the APC presidential candidate will suffer from the perceived sins of some of the governors in states like Jigawa and Kebbi, who have either been accused of hijacking the party structures or abandoning governance for their personal businesses.

Abdullahi Tsoho, a labour union leader and governorship candidate of the Labour Party (LP) in Jigawa, said over 9,000 teachers retired from the state civil service in the last seven years, but the government has not recruited to fill the vacancies.

Instead, Mr Tsoho said the government has focused on building new classroom blocks without teachers to teach.

Even his party members had complained that Governor Badaru has never done empowerment programmes for residents in the last seven years, while farmers also complained that farming inputs, machines and agrochemicals he reportedly imported from China were never sold to them at subsidised rates. Some farmers lamented that farm inputs are cheaper in the open market than from the state-controlled Agricultural Supply Company (JASCO), managed by a confidant of the governor.

Also, farmers alleged that Mr Badaru’s role as head of the presidential task force on fertiliser did not benefit farmers in his state as the price and availability of fertilizer in Jigawa remain a concern.

However, unlike in Kebbi where aggrieved APC members defected to the opposition PDP, they have refused to leave in Jigawa. A party member said many of them are instead waiting for the elections to pay back for the alleged wrongdoings of the governor.

Meanwhile, a former lawmaker, Farouk Aliyu, is challenging the governor in court over the alleged imposition of candidates of the party.

Thus, the unresolved party crisis and perceived political sins of the Jigawa governor may affect the support for his party’s presidential candidate in the state.

50/50 in the Northeast – Don
A professor at the Department of Political Science, University of Maiduguri, Umara Ibrahim, agreed that the APC presidential candidate may win three of the six states in the North East.

He told PREMIUM TIMES that it would be difficult for the PDP to win in Borno and Yobe states and that APC, being in government in Gombe, is also most likely to take the state. The PDP is in government in Adamawa, Taraba and Bauchi states.

The don said the APC may gain more influence in the zone if it picks its vice-presidential candidate from the zone.

Mr Ibrahim said Atiku has a large following in Bauchi State, which would make the state difficult to win for the presidential candidate of the APC. He added that though the governor, Bala Mohammed, lost in the PDP presidential primary, he will still support his party to win the state.

Muslim-Muslim
Mr Tinubu, a Southern Muslim, is under pressure from Nigerian Christian leaders to pick a Northern Christian as his running mate. But Sa’idu Dukawa, a professor of Political Science at Bayero University, Kano, said fielding a Muslim-Muslim ticket will serve his electoral interest better in conservative Northern states.

Mr Dukawa believes that Mr Tinubu’s choice of a running mate will influence the support he gets from the average voters in Kano and other conservative Muslim states in the region.

“If Tinubu picks a Muslim running mate from the North, the APC may win all the states it now controls, and even get additional states. But if they chose otherwise, the party may lose some of their states. There is no doubt about this because religion will definitely influence the voting pattern,” Mr Dukawa said.

He said the predominantly Muslim population in the North is now interpreting the calls by religious groups on Mr Tinubu not to pick a Muslim running mate as a plot against their religion.

“The simple arithmetic is that only three of the 19 Northern states are being governed by Christian governors. The Muslim population will want one of their own to represent them as the vice president,” he added.

However, he said Mr Tinubu may also face a backlash from this arrangement with the majority of Christians not voting for him both in the North and in the South. The don said the aim of any political party is to win an election, and that politicians will always adopt the option they think will make them win.

The APC has named Kabir Masari, a Muslim from Katsina State, as his running mate but many believe he is not the final choice and would be substituted before July 15.

That notwithstanding, Mr Dukawa said voters should always consider competence over religion and vote for the candidate that will address the security and economic challenges, irrespective of their regions and religions.

PoliticsRe: Full Result Of APC Presidential Primary For 2023 Election by success4me(m): 2:56pm On Jun 08, 2022
donklens:
Bola Ahmed Tinubu Has Won the APC Presidential Primary for the 2023 General Election. The Results are as Follows

1. Bola Ahmed Tinubu Scored 1271 Votes
2. Rotimi Amaechi. Scored 316 Votes
3. Yemi Osinbajo. Scored 235 Votes
4. Sen. Ahmed Lawan Scored. 152 Votes
5. Yahaya Bello. Scored. 47 Votes
6. David Umahi Scored 38 Votes
7. Sen. Ben Ayede. Scored 37 Votes
8. Sen. Ahmed Rufai Sani. Scored 4 Votes
9. Hon. Chukwuemeka. Scored 1 vote.
10. Ogbonnaya Onu Scored 1 vote
11. Jack Rich. Scored. 0 Vote
12. Pastor Bakare. Scored 0 vote
13. Sen. Rochas Okorocha. Scored. 0 Vote
14. Chief Mukelu. Scored. 0 Vote
Congratulations Tinubu Ọmọ olodo idẹ, Akanji ride on the Jagaban of Africa. Congrats to all Progressives that have been supporting BAT. Legendhero,Seunmsg Vaughanolanrewaju etc. Thank you all.

PoliticsFirst Ballot Box, Tinubu In Early Lead by success4me(op): 11:44am On Jun 08, 2022
*First Ballot Box*

Bola Tinubu - 205
Yemi Osinbajo - 23
Ahmad Lawan - 6
Rotimi Amaechi - 29
Yahaya Bello - 5
Invalid - 3

Politics 101, Jagaban teaching the rest how to play politics.

PoliticsRe: APC Presidential Primary: Full Speech By Bola Tinubu by success4me(m): 11:22pm On Jun 07, 2022
Lanrelagboi:
https://politicsnigeria.com/just-in-what-tinubu-said-at-apc-presidential-primaries/
Asiwaju Ọmọ olodo idẹ, this is a thorough bred politician. Jagaban is winning this race InshaAllah.

PoliticsRe: Is Tinubu Ready For This Fight He Has Started ? by success4me(m): 9:40am On Jun 03, 2022
helinues:
You and your likes are disgracing Yoruba's in general with this una toxic way of playing politics...

Can't you guys be creative with your supporting/campaigning for Tinubu?

Make una stop this recycling of same message over and over again and come up with new strategy
I support you @helinues Jagaban supporters should campaign for Tinubu with decorum and superior argument devoid of confrontations but issue based. don't let hatred of some region or people make you result to hate filled campaign against Jagaban's perceived enemies. Pls let our campaign for Asiwaju be issue based.Thank you.

EducationWhat Goes Around Comes Around... by success4me(op): 10:54am On May 09, 2022
Prof. Jubril Aminu was once the VC of University of Maiduguri. During his tenure, there was an Aluta struggle and some students were rusticated.
Four of the rusticated students came to Gani Fawehinmi to challenge the action.
He fought the case to the Supreme Court and won. The students went back to complete their studies.

Later, Gani was arrested over his anti-SAP conference and was flown to Maiduguri, then driven to Gashua. At the Lagos airport, not knowing where he was being taken to by the security men, Gani played a fast one - he told his captors that he wanted to use the toilet.

He got inside the toilet and quickly scribbled on a toilet paper - "To whoever uses this toilet, this is Gani Fawehinmi. I am being flown to an unknown destination by security men. Please, let the world know". He placed it in a conspicuous place, flushed the toilet as if he just used it and came out.

When they got to Maiduguri, they had a brief stop over at the SSS office, where a lady officer offered Gani a cup of coffee.

Gani was hooked on coffee like drug. But this time, the will power of Gani came on. He told the lady officer -"so you people have got information that l can't do without coffee. You think you can poison me? From, today, I stop taking coffee ". That was how he ended his addiction to coffee.

He was later moved to Gashua prison, in a most decrepit cell where he collapsed after some substances were sprayed in the cell.

He was rushed to the University of Maiduguri Teaching hospital. When he regained consciousness, he found a doctor examining him and he protested, asking the doctor not to touch him.

The doctor, not wanting the security men guarding him to hear, he whispered to Gani's ear - "Chief, you are in safe hands. Can't you recognise me? I am....., one of the medical students rusticated whom you fought for our reinstatement. I am now a doctor. So, relax. You are in safe hands".

And that was how Gani's life was saved - reaping from the good deeds he did earlier, which he had forgotten.

Moral Lesson Of The Story:

Do good always and it shall come back to you.
African History Archive

EducationRe: The Full List Of All The 371 Tribes In Nigeria & The States Where They Originate by success4me(op): 3:37pm On May 06, 2022
solastan:
Weldone! Kindly include the Ijaw people. Our former president is from Nigeria
Mind you..Ijaws are in almost every state in the south.
IJAW : Edo, Ondo, Delta, Rivers, Bayelsa, e.t.c
solastan, very sorry Ijaw is one of the main tribe in Naija now my mistake. I apologize to the Ijaws in the house.
EducationRe: The Full List Of All The 371 Tribes In Nigeria & The States Where They Originate by success4me(op): 1:07pm On May 06, 2022
Jones4190:
I didn't see nyigon, abakpa and akwaye in Benue state
Jones 4190 if you didn't see your tribe or language please add your tribe or language this is meant to educate us.
EducationRe: The Full List Of All The 371 Tribes In Nigeria & The States Where They Originate by success4me(op): 1:02pm On May 06, 2022
PedroEastman:
What about Eleme in Rivers state , we are a tribe and we hold the 2 Biggest Refineries in Nigeria and also the Onne Port and over 500 Big companies where 70% of Rivers indigene work so please show some respect
PedroEastman, that means you are not Nigeria indigenous abeg go look for your Country. Nna Na joke o. Please add your tribe and State.
EducationRe: The Full List Of All The 371 Tribes In Nigeria & The States Where They Originate by success4me(op): 12:56pm On May 06, 2022
;
fattprince:
He listed Awori and Egun or Ogu(. But I didn't see ilaje and Ijebu.
angry Thanks fattprince for completing the Lagos list, it was an omission from my end because I I know Ijebu a part of Lagos. Ikorodu and Epe are Ijebus but I beg differ about Ilaje, they are migrants to Lagos and not indigenous tribe.
EducationRe: The Full List Of All The 371 Tribes In Nigeria & The States Where They Originate by success4me(op): 12:49pm On May 06, 2022
Lothaire:
Your list is incomplete,some are still missing.
Please help me complete the missing parts.
EducationRe: The Full List Of All The 371 Tribes In Nigeria & The States Where They Originate by success4me(op): 12:38pm On May 06, 2022
MMWandali:
I didn't see the Bura people of Borno state and I know that they exist, they are not Babur

Your work is not thorough, but you've done well
@MMWandali, Bura is their but I only put it in Adamawa and I have included Bornu.
EducationThe Full List Of All The 371 Tribes In Nigeria & The States Where They Originate by success4me(op):
Below is a comprehensive list of all Nigerian Tribes and the States where they live…
[color=#006600][/color]
1 Abayon Cross River
2 Abua (Odual) Rivers
3 Achipa (Achipawa) Kebbi
4 Adim Cross River
5 Adun Cross River
6 Affade Yobe
7 Afizere Plateau
8 Afo Plateau
9 Agbo Cross River
10 Akaju-Ndem (Akajuk) Cross River
11 Akweya-Yachi Benue
12 Alago (Arago) Piateau
13 Amo Plateau
14 Anaguta Plateau
15 Anang Akwa lbom
16 Andoni Akwa lbom, Rivers
17 Angas Bauchi, Jigawa, Plateau
18 Ankwei Plateau
19 Anyima Cross River
20 Attakar (ataka) Kaduna
21 Auyoka (Auyokawa) Jigawa
22 Awori Lagos, Ogun
23 Ayu Kaduna
24 Babur Adamawa, Bomo, Taraba, Yobe
25 Bachama Adamawa
26 Bachere Cross River
27 Bada Plateau
28 Bade Yobe
29 Bahumono Cross River
30 Bakulung Taraba
31 Bali Taraba
32 Bambora (Bambarawa) Bauchi
33 Bambuko Taraba
34 Banda (Bandawa) Taraba
35 Banka (Bankalawa) Bauchi
36 Banso (Panso) Adamawa
37 Bara (Barawa) Bauchi
38 Barke Bauchi
39 Baruba( Batonu) Kwara/Niger
40 Bashiri (Bashirawa) Plateau
41 Bassa Kaduna, Kogi, Niger, Plateau
42 Batta Adamawa
43 Baushi Niger
44 Baya Adamawa
45 Bekwarra Cross River
46 Bele (Buli, Belewa) Bauchi
47 Betso (Bete) Taraba
48 Bette Cross River
49 Bilei Adamawa
50 Bille Adamawa
51 Bina (Binawa) Kaduna
52 Bini Edo
53 Birom Plateau
54 Bobua Taraba
55 Boki (Nki) Cross River
56 Bkkos Plateau
57 Boko (Bussawa, Bargawa) Niger
58 Bole (Bolewa) Bauchi, Yobe
59 Botlere Adamawa
60 Boma (Bomawa, Burmano) Bauchi
61 Bomboro Bauchi
62 Buduma Borno, Niger
63 Buji Plateau
64 Buli Bauchi
65 Bunu Kogi
66 Bura Adamawa,Bornu
67 Burak Bauchi
68 Burma (Burmawa) Plateau
69 Buru Yobe
70 Buta (Butawa) Bauchi
71 Bwall Plateau
72 Bwatiye Adamawa
73 Bwazza Adamawa
74 Challa Plateau
75 Chama (Chamawa Fitilai) Bauchi
76 Chamba Taraba
77 Chamo Bauchi
78 Chibok (Chibbak) Yobe
79 Chinine Borno
80 Chip Plateau
81 Chokobo Plateau
82 Chukkol Taraba
83 Daba Adamawa
84 Dadiya Bauchi
85 Daka Adamawa
86 Dakarkari Niger, Kebbi
87 Danda (Dandawa) Kebbi
88 Dangsa Taraba
89 Daza (Dere, Derewa) Bauchi
90 Degema Rivers
91 Deno (Denawa) Bauchi
92 Dghwede Bomo
93 Diba Taraba
94 Doemak (Dumuk) Plateau
95 Ouguri Bauchi
96 Duka (Dukawa) Kebbi
97 Duma (Dumawa) Bauchi
98 Ebana (Ebani) Rivers
99 Ebirra (lgbirra) Edo, Kogi, Ondo
100 Ebu Edo, Kogi
101 Efik Cross River
102 Egbema Rivers
103 Egede (lgedde) Benue
104 Eggon Plateau
105 Egun (Gu) Lagos,Ogun
106 Ejagham Cross River
107 Ekajuk Cross River
108 Eket Akwa Ibom
109 Ekoi Cross River
110 Engenni (Ngene) Rivers
111 Epie Rivers
112 Esan (Ishan) Edo
113 Etche Rivers
114 Etolu (Etilo) Benue
115 Etsako Edo
116 Etung Cross River
117 Etuno Edo
118 Falli Adamawa
119 Fulani (Pulbe)
Bauchi, Borno, Jigawa , Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi , Niger, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, etc.
120 Fyam (Fyem) Plateau
121 Fyer(Fer) Plateau
122 Ga’anda Adamawa
123 Gade Niger
124 Galambi Bauchi
125 Gamergu-Mulgwa Bomo
126 Qanawuri Plateau
127 Gavako Borno
128 Gbedde Kogi
129 Gengle Taraba
130 Geji Bauchi
131 Gera (Gere, Gerawa) Bauchi
132 Geruma (Gerumawa) Plateau
133 Geruma (Gerumawa) Bauchi
134 Gingwak Bauchi
135 Gira Adamawa
136 Gizigz Adamawa
137 Goernai Plateau
138 Gokana (Kana) Rivers
139 Gombi Adamawa
140 Gornun (Gmun) Taraba
141 Gonia Taraba
142 Gubi (Gubawa) Bauchi
143 Gude Adamawa
144 Gudu Adamawa
145 Gure Kaduna
146 Gurmana Niger
147 Gururntum Bauchi
148 Gusu Plateau
149 Gwa (Gurawa) Adamawa
150 Gwamba Adamawa
151 Gwandara Kaduna, Niger, Plateau
152 Gwari (Gbari) Kaduna, Niger, Plateau
153 Gwom Taraba
154 Gwoza (Waha) Bomo
155 Gyem Bauchi
156 Hausa: Bauchi, Borno, Jigawa, Kaduna,Kano, Kastina, Kebbi, Niger,Taraba, Sokoto, etc
157 Higi (Hig) Borno, Adamawa
158 Holma Adamawa
159 Hona Adamawa
160 Ibeno Akwa lbom
161 Ibibio Akwa lbom
162 Ichen Adamawa
163 Idoma Benue, Taraba
164 Igalla Kogi
Igbo-culture
165 lgbo: Abia, Anambra, Benue, Delta, Ebonyi,Enugu, Imo, Rivers
166 ljumu Kogi
167 Ikorn Cross River
168 Irigwe Plateau
169 Isoko Delta
170 lsekiri (Itsekiri) Delta
171 lyala (lyalla) Cross River
172 lzondjo) Bayelsa, Delta, Ondo, Rivers
173 Jaba (Ham) Kaduna
174 Jahuna (Jahunawa) Taraba
175 Jaku Bauchi
176 Jara (Jaar Jarawa Jarawa-Dutse)
Bauchi
177 Jere (Jare, Jera, Jera, Jerawa) Bauchi, Plateau
178 Jero Taraba
179 Jibu Adamawa
180 Jidda-Abu Plateau
181 Jimbin (Jimbinawa) Bauchi
182 Jirai Adamawa
183 Jonjo (Jenjo) Taraba
184 Jukun
Bauchi, Benue,Taraba, Plateau
185 Kaba(Kabawa) Taraba
186 Kadara Taraba
187 Kafanchan Kaduna
188 Kagoro Kaduna
189 Kaje (Bajju) Kaduna
190 Kajuru (Kajurawa) Kaduna
191 Kaka Adamawa
192 Kamaku (Karnukawa) Kaduna, Kebbi, Niger
193 Kambari Kebbi, Niger
194 Kambu Adamawa
195 Kamo Bauchi
196 Kanakuru (Dera) Adamawa, Borno
197 Kanembu Bomo
198 Kanikon Kaduna
199 Kantana Plateau
200 Kanufi
Kaduna, Adamawa, Bomo, Kano,Niger, Jigawa, Plateau, Taraba, Yobe
201 Karekare (Karaikarai) Bauchi, Yobe
202 Karimjo Taraba
203 Kariya Bauchi
204 Kataf (Tyap) Kaduna
205 Kenern (Koenoem) Plateau
206 Kenton Taraba
207 Kiballo (Kiwollo) Kaduna
208 Kilba Adamawa
209 Kirfi (Kirfawa) Bauchi
210 Koma Taraba
211 Kona Taraba
212 Koro (Kwaro) Kaduna, Niger
213 Kubi (Kubawa) Bauchi
214 Kudachano (Kudawa) Bauchi
215 Kugama Taraba
216 Kulere (Kaler) Plateau
217 Kunini Taraba
218 Kurama Jigawa, Kaduna, Niger, Plateau

219 Kurdul Adamawa
220 Kushi Bauchi
221 Kuteb Taraba
222 Kutin Taraba
223 Kwalla Plateau
224 Kwami (Kwom) Bauchi
225 Kwanchi Taraba
226 Kwanka (Kwankwa) Bauchi, Plateau
227 Kwaro Plateau
228 Kwato Plateau
229 Kyenga (Kengawa) Sokoto
230 Laaru (Larawa) Niger
231 Lakka Adamawa
232 Lala Adamawa
233 Lama Taraba
234 Lamja Taraba
235 Lau Taraba
236 Ubbo Adamawa
237 Limono Bauchi, Plateau
238 Lopa (Lupa, Lopawa) Niger
239 Longuda (Lunguda) Adamawa, Bauchi
240 Mabo Plateau
241 Mada Kaduna, Plateau
242 Mama Plateau
243 Mambilla Adamawa
244 Manchok Kaduna
245 Mandara (Wandala) Bomo
246 Manga (Mangawa) Yobe
247 Margi (Marghi) Adamawa, Bomo
248 Matakarn Adamawa
249 Mbembe Cross River, Enugu
250 Mbol Adamawa
251 Mbube Cross River
252 Mbula Adamawa
253 Mbum Taraba
254 Memyang (Meryan) Plateau
255 Miango Plateau
256 Miligili (Migili) Plateau
257 Miya (Miyawa) Bauchi
258 Mobber Bomo
259 Montol Plateau
260 Moruwa (Moro’a, Morwa) Kaduna
261 Muchaila Adamawa
262 Mumuye Taraba
263 Mundang Adamawa
264 Munga (Mupang) Plateau
265 Mushere Plateau
266 Mwahavul (Mwaghavul) Plateau
267 Ndoro Taraba
268 Ngamo Bauchi, Yobe
269 Ngizim Yobe
Ngweshe (Ndhang.Ngoshe-Ndhang)
Adamawa, Borno
271 Ningi (Ningawa) Bauchi
272 Ninzam (Ninzo) Kaduna, Plateau
273 Njayi Adamawa
274 Nkim Cross River
275 Nkum Cross River
276 Nokere (Nakere) Plateau
277 Nunku Kaduna, Plateau
278 Nupe Niger
279 Nyandang Taraba
280 Ododop Cross River
281 Ogori Kwara
282 Okobo (Okkobor) Akwa lbom
283 Okpamheri Edo
284 Olulumo Cross River
285 Oron Akwa lbom
286 Owan Edo
287 Owe Kwara
288 Oworo Kwara
289 Pa’a (Pa’awa Afawa) Bauchi
290 Pai Plateau
291 Panyam Taraba
292 Pero Bauchi
293 Pire Adamawa
294 Pkanzom Taraba
295 Poll TarabaPolchi Habe Bauchi
297 Pongo (Pongu) Niger
298 Potopo Taraba
299 Pyapun (Piapung) Plateau

300 Qua Cross River
301 Rebina (Rebinawa) Bauchi
302 Reshe Kebbi, Niger
303 Rindire (Rendre) Plateau
304 Rishuwa Kaduna
305 Ron Piateau
306 Rubu Niger
307 Rukuba Plateau
308 Rumada Kaduna
309 Rumaya Kaduna
310 Sakbe Taraba
311 Sanga Bauchi
312 Sate Taraba
313 Saya (Sayawa Za’ar) Bauchi
314 Segidi (Sigidawa) Bauchi
315 Shanga (Shangawa) Sokoto
316 Shangawa (Shangau) Plateau
317 Shan-Shan Plateau
318 Shira (Shirawa) Kano
319 Shomo Taraba
320 Shuwa Adamawa, Borno
321 Sikdi Plateau
322 Siri (Sirawa) Bauchi
323 Srubu (Surubu) Kaduna
324 Sukur Adamawa
325 Sura Plateau
326 Tangale Bauchi
327 Tarok Plateau, Taraba
328 Teme Adamawa
329 Tera (Terawa) Bauchi, Bomo
330 Teshena (Teshenawa) Kano
331 Tigon Adamawa
332 Tikar Taraba
333 Tiv Benue, Plateau, Taraba and Nasarawa
334 Tula Bauchi
335 Tur Adamawa
336 Ufia Benue
337 Ukelle Cross River
338 Ukwani (Kwale) Delta
339 Uncinda Kaduna, Kebbi, Niger, Sokoto
340 Uneme (Ineme) Edo
341 Ura (Ula) Niger
342 Urhobo Delta
343 Utonkong Benue
344 Uyanga Cross River
345 Vemgo Adamawa
346 Verre Adamawa
347 Vommi Taraba
348 Wagga Adamawa
349 Waja Bauchi
350 Waka Taraba
351 Warja (Warja) Jigawa
352 Warji Bauchi
353 Wula Adamawa
354 Wurbo Adamawa
355 Wurkun Taraba
356 Yache Cross River
357 Yagba Kwara
358 Yakurr (Yako) Cross River
359 Yalla Benue
360 Yandang Taraba
361 Yergan (Yergum) Plateau
362 Yoruba
Kwara, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Oyo, Osun, Ekiti, Kogi
363 Yott Taraba
364 Yumu Niger
365 Yungur Adamawa
366 Yuom Plateau
367 Zabara Niger
368 Zaranda Bauchi
369 Zarma (Zarmawa) Kebbi
370 Zayam (Zeam) Bauchi
371 Zul (Zulawa) Bauchi

If you can't find your tribe here, please relocate to your country of origin.

1 2 3 (of 3 pages)