Thesoj's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Thesoj's Profile › Thesoj's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 (of 36 pages)
@Onyeoma3 Yeah I also saved that Chrigo link in the google drive document where I save all my favorite links from this thread! @richcasey, yeah bros please do try again. You have been immensely valuable on this thread. @henrinco, thank you. I haven't forgotten about your SOP. |
@Graviton2, I have responded to your PM. Keep us posted on the document pickup from VFS bro. |
Thanks @Onyeoma3. Yes, so true @ the person who insulted me without restrain over several paragraphs -- I was pretty surprised by it given that I had actually given the person the direct way to answer his person. I figured there was no point getting angry but I didn't know anyone noticed the abusive post since no one commented on it. I think one of the moderators deleted it (including my short civil response to it) less than an hour after it was posted. I still remember the moniker of the insulter though, but its ok I decided I wouldn't let anyone poison my spirit or the spirit of the thread. Thank you once again for the congratulations.PS: Where in Canada are you? I tried to look through your old posts but there are a lot! You have been super helpful on this thread for so long, wow.Onyeoma3: |
My guy, I would recommend you go find someone off this thread to truly sponsor you. Also, posts of this nature can jeopardize the future applications of Nigerian students. In addition, I noticed that you posted your TRV denial document in one of your posts (June 18th post) with your full name and address visible. You do realize that any Canada VO (or any of their interns hired to scour threads like this for Naija applicant tricks) that stumbles upon this thread would blacklist any future visa application from you, right? olawale005: |
Thanks boss. Now I need to help my younger brother with the same thing. I hope the best for your application, but even if the worst occurs you can always patiently re-evaluate where things went wrong and then reapply strategically. My sister was refused a student visa three times (twice by US three years ago, and once by Canada a month and half ago) before we became super strategic (hence my reading at least like 1500 pages of this thread) and reapplied to Canada again. Thanks again and I wish your app the best. TempusQ: |
Hello boss. I highly doubt that your quote below is true -- the number of Naija students that defer admission after getting TRV is likely not a large percentage of all Nigerian students that get a TRV. My plausible guess is that most Naija people with student TRV want to leave Naija as fast as possible. Let's not panic yet. But I share your frustration at all the TRV delays sha. hayqinsbFX: |
The Germans are taking over our Canada thread o, nah just kidding. @Futurewiser and @eke40seven -- thanks to you guys for dropping by and commenting here; you guys are doing a great job on the German thread. From stealthily reading the German visa thread I have learned that it is an excellent place. My bro will try Germany if Canada visa doesn't work out. @HaykinsbFX, her approval email was sent yesterday (12th), but the PDF document stating approval was dated August 11th. @omooba2015 @SeraSera @TheBae @Inkblood @dallydd thanks for the congratulations. @favour0011, I will post more details about the documents in a few hours. @standupguy thanks bro. Yes o, na MSc. @MichaelFinn posted earlier about getting admission to uOttawa MSc with a low 2:2 BSc CGPA. My bro also has a 2:2 CGPA and he will be applying for a visa with a PGD admission… but @MichaelFinn is proof that admission to MSc is still possible, I can imagine his MSc application SOP was really good though, because I read his TRV SOP and it was excellent and easy to read. |
I will list all submitted documents in a few hours. handyteddy: |
I don't think so bros. My sister was told they would only allow her to apply from Accra because she has a Temporary Resident Card (her job got it for her a while ago) from the neighboring country she lives in.My younger brother lives in Lagos and I would like him to apply from Accra too, but so far I don't think it is possible. hayqinsbFX: |
Ok here's a summary: Both applications submitted to VFS Accra because she lives/works in a neighboring African country (she's a naija citizen). Program: MSc School: Carleton University FIRST APPLICATION Submitted: June 10 (upfront medicals) Refused June 29 (insufficient funds) SECOND APPLICATION (deferred admission to Jan 2016) Submitted: July 28 (same upfront medicals) Approved August 12 For the second application, we bombarded them with like 100 pages of financial documents and then created a one-page Letter of Clarification (different from the SOP) that concisely described the new evidence. In this letter we had a section titled "Reasons for Prior Refusal" and another titled "Substantive Changes in this Application" and then enumerated the changes in this application. In the first app, we had used a printout of the sponsor's online bank statement, and my sis also left blank the box for "room and board" in her Study Permit form. She had added the "room and board" amount and put it the "Other" category. I now believe that it is important to fill the CIC forms as perfectly as possible, to not cause any doubt. For the second app, we transferred one year's worth of tuition and living expenses to her university student account at Carleton, and attached the receipt. Her sponsor (brother) lives in the US, so this time the sponsorship letter/affidavit were notarized, and original as well as bank-certified bank statements were also sent. We also included a spreadsheet titled "Available Funds vs Annual Expenses" detailing every estimated expense and every fund available. She included her personal SOA as well. Many thanks to @HayqinsbFX for his answers to my questions when I just joined this thread just a month and half ago (the spreadsheet thing was his idea). Many thanks to @standupguy and @ada4all whose gcms files gave initial insight into what the VOs might have been thinking in this "insufficient funds" case. I pray that your applications will get great results as well. By the way I am so surprised that applications submitted physically in Accra have a much faster processing time (two and half weeks average for both my sis's applications) than ones submitted in Lagos. This is nuts. FYI I will still be on this thread as I will be helping another sibling with Canada runs. I hope my sister getting her TRV doesn’t hurt his chances o. We go see. |
My sister's TRV got approved!!!!!!!! After two US visa refusals and one Canada refusal over |
Russia is in a completely different league than Germany when it comes to racism. I would be scared of walking at night alone in Russia. Western and southern Germany are ok to me sha. Western Germany is like the rest of western Europe, whereas eastern Germany is like Russia or some parts of eastern Europe. The cold war and world war II and the old East Germany explain it all. TheBae: |
@Graviton2, you can PM me anytime as well e-brother. |
You are welcome bros. I don't think a US F1 visa can get in the way of a Canada TRV, unless the VO is paranoid. Ideally I would recommend explaining in the SOP why the US F1 visa wasn't used, this could even work in your favor to show you are not a desperate applicant. Graviton2: |
@Graviton2 Hmm dude lets not be preoccupied by racism in Germany or wherever. There are racists everywhere (tribalism na racism sef, given that our definition of "race" today is only an artificial construct) but in some places there is a critical mass of overt racists. Your article about a racist professor in one uni in Germany does not mean that city (Leipzig) or Germany is mostly racist. I know you are not making this blanket statement but I don't want other readers to construe it this way. My criteria for determining if a place is racist is if the place has a critical mass of racists, not if the city has "just" a few racists. But systemic racism is a different story sha. |
@Graviton2 My bad, boss. I was trying to get @daudugodswill to not generalize. He may have read your post and assumed most of Germany was like that and I wanted to clarify. But granted, I misread your post. Cheers bros. Per your unused US student visa, its OK. There are many awesome countries to live in with other advantages America doesn't have. |
Take a look at Ashesi College in Ghana (dont be fooled by the name... they are a uni that follows the American model like elite US unis such as Smith College, Bowdoin College, etc). They have high quality education and have exchange programs with good American schools. daudugodswill: |
Lets not generalize though. You know Germany is a large country... what you just described sounds like an experience one might have in a small town in eastern Germany, but not in a city in western or southern Germany. I have worked with Germans and this is the sentiment I get. Also, the Nairaland German thread confirms this. I live in the US, but most of the states i have lived in have been very tolerant (racism is not visible); if I lived in, say Mississippi for instance, I would probably have had overt experiences with racism. So let's not generalize some of these countries based on racism in one region of the country. Graviton2: |
The Nairaland German travel thread will be a better place to ask this question. In any case, my understanding is that south and west Germany are really good places for International students (including Africans). East Germany can be a whole different story however (except maybe Berlin, Leipzig, and a few others). I sometimes follow the Nairaland German thread as I have a family member in Naija also eyeing it as a backup plan to Canada. Plus Germany has no tuition and they require you have just 8040 Euros per year for living expenses. Also international students have work permits, just like in Canada. And I hear it is easy to get a work permit and job after graduation especially if you are in the sciences or engineering. Germany has many English language masters programs, but much fewer such undergrad programs except in a few science subjects. Go to daad.de/en and search. The German thread is incredibly good... the ogas there like @eke40seven (he is doing his MSc in Germany) will answer your questions. daudugodswill: |
Akin, when will you be able to pick up your document from VFS? I wish you well bruv. Even if you don't get it this time, you are now a guru and can always apply again with a PGD admission. But stay optimistic until you see the passport. hayqinsbFX: |
Lol true. I eventually did. Heard anything about your application? Did you do upfront medicals? TempusQ: |
You asked a great hypthetical question... I've not seen any BSc holder on this thread who recently got a TRV for a diploma admission. However I can't dispute that some Naija applicants (outside this thread) in this situation get TRVs; in such cases the SOP may have dedicated some space to justify why the person is not doing a PGD or MSc instead. Or maybe the candidate is just fresh out of BSc. Or maybe the VO was nuanced and understanding. E go beta. saxywale: |
@standupguy... I agree with @staydogged. But yeah getting your gcms would be magic. staydogged: |
I could be wrong sha, but the advanced diploma thing is what glaringly stands out to me. standupguy: |
True @ admission requirements of both being post-graduate. The Conestoga one however results in a Graduate Certificate (same as PGD) while the Centennial one results in an Advanced Diploma which is not post-graduate in and of itself. I think this is where the VO may have become distracted by "progression of study" issues. The VO did not view it with the appropriate nuance. standupguy: |
Agreed. I think it is still possible to get a visa to an Advanced Diploma program even with a prior BSc. But this is likely only in the scenario you described -- if the candidate is just fresh out of school. But even still, I would advise BSc holders to only do PGD and above for visa purposes. staydogged: |
@berexio1 @TheBae @Fhemmmy What do you guys think? @standupguy's first two applications were for a PGD, but for his most recent application he changed programs to a different school (the old program wasn't open for admission). The new program is a fast-track Advanced Diploma program (same course) but not a PGD. For admission, the fast-track Advanced Diploma program requires a BSc or prior college diploma (stated on his admission letter). The program is originally a three-year program, but fast track students skip the first year. The three-year version of the Advanced Diploma program does not require a prior BSc for admission, therefore I contend that the VO considered his fast-track Advanced Diploma admission to be lower than his BSc (and prior PGD he had applied with) because one doesn't need a BSc to be admitted into the longer Advanced Diploma program. And given that the fast-track is invariably the same diploma as its three-year version, I believe this is why "Purpose of Visit" and "Length of Proposed Visit" were ticked. An advanced diploma is still lower than a BSc or PGD, at least in the eyes of the VO. I believe the VO was thus forced to view it as a completely different application, even if he/she initially hadn't intended to. Thoughts? Edited: I think the VO should have been sympathetic to the nuances in his new application and still given @standupguy the visa, but these guys sometimes can be super strict on technicalities. |
Sent you two responses after your response. Let me know what you think about those. standupguy: |
I just sent you another email a few minutes ago. Dude, I think I just figured out why the application was delayed and it wasn't because of your brother or finances. Also, it wasn't because the VO treated it as a new application, per se. I feel 99% sure. We can share it with the house after I hear your response to the hypothesis in my email. @berexio1 @TheBae @Fhemmmy standupguy: |
I don respond about a half hour ago. Check your email. standupguy: |
I agree that the status of relatives in Canada can affect one's application, and the best strategy is to disconnect one's purpose of visit from that relative as much as possible. Meaning: don't say you'll go live with them, apply for TRV using a school in another province, etc. Also, I think you should not leave out data about relatives if they are your sibling or parents -- this could come back and bite you in the bu.tt later in the future. It is okay to leave out relatives' information if they are extended family. berexio1: |
standupguy:I suspect so bro. It is unfair, but it is what they seem to have done. Perhaps you wouldn't have this issue if your admission were in a far away province? I dunno. TheBae:I think so too. berexio1:Agreed. I think that applications should be packaged with the assumption that the VO will be lazy, although this still doesn't guarantee anything but it reduces risk. |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 (of 36 pages)
but I didn't know anyone noticed the abusive post since no one commented on it. I think one of the moderators deleted it (including my short civil response to it) less than an hour after it was posted. I still remember the moniker of the insulter though, but its ok
I decided I wouldn't let anyone poison my spirit or the spirit of the thread. Thank you once again for the congratulations.
Ordinary diploma that requires just o'level as entry requirements. I know one person resuming at sait this fall, he is not a nairalander. He declared he has a bsc in his app form yet he still got a visa. I think much depends on the contents of the SOP and how well you can convince the vo. And the guy is over 30 years old. Course also not related to previous study even though, they are both engineering.