Stats: 3,327,131 members, 8,429,468 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 10:43 PM

Truth234's Posts

Nairaland ForumTruth234's ProfileTruth234's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 (of 79 pages)

BusinessRe: Naira Rebounds, Gains Across Markets by Truth234(op): 4:40am On Nov 09, 2016
shadeyinka:
Could it be that the Naira didn't appreciate but the apparent appreciation is due to depreciation of the Dollar?

The Dollar may just be reacting to the election going on in USA.

Nigeria has done nothing different to make her NIRA appreciate in value!
That will only affect a freely floated currency, not a tightly regulated currency like the Naira.
BusinessNaira Rebounds, Gains Across Markets by Truth234(op): 4:29am On Nov 09, 2016
The Nigerian Naira rebounded against the US dollar across all the forex segments on Tuesday, after previously reaching a record low of N350.22 at the interbank market on Monday.

The local currency improved N44.95 at the interbank market window to close at N305.27 to a dollar, from Monday's record-low of N350.22.

At the parallel market, the Naira appreciated N5 from N470 it traded on Monday to exchange at N465, while both the Pound and the Euro traded at N565 and N510 respectively.

Accordingly, the Naira climbed N1 against the Pound Sterling to exchange at N564 at the Bureau De Change segment, while the Euro remains N510 to the Naira. However, the Naira maintained its CBN-Bureau De Change stipulated exchange rate of N358 to the US dollar at the Bureau De Change segment.

Speaking on the current improvement, Alhaji Aminu Gwadabe, the President, Association of Bureau De Change Operators of Nigeria (ABCON), asserted that the Naira would appreciate even further in the days to come.

According to the President, the CBN was working with Nigerians in Diaspora to facilitate more remittances to complement current liquidity in the foreign exchange market.

It should be recalled that the CBN apportioned $660 million to the manufacturers across the country on Monday, all in an effort to boost the liquidity in the forex market and ensure the Naira continues its current recovery.

Also, more International Money Transfer Operators had indicated interest in facilitating the repatriation of remittances from abroad.

http://investorsking.com/naira-rebounds-gains-across-market/
BusinessRe: Naira Plunges At Interbank Market by Truth234(op): 7:44am On Nov 08, 2016
Adesiji77:
@Truth234

Even at N350, the FX market is not liquid yet
That is a lot of improvement, to go from the current N470/$ to N350/$ at the parallel market, means Interbank market rate would have adjusted to about N240/$, with BDC rate at around N280/$. That is a lot of liquidity.
BusinessNaira Plunges At Interbank Market by Truth234(op): 5:00am On Nov 08, 2016
The Naira plunged on Monday at the interbank market to close at N350 to a US dollar, from N304.75 it traded last Tuesday. Bringing its total one-week lost against the US dollar to N45.25.

On the parallel market, the local currency dropped N5 from N465 recorded last week to close at N470 to the U.S dollar, while both the Pound Sterling and the Euro traded at N560 and N510 respectively.

At the Bureau De Change segment, the Naira was exchanged at N385 to a dollar, the CBN stipulated rate.

The surge in demand for the greenback had plunged the Naira against the US dollar as manufacturers are reportedly sourcing for dollars at the parallel market to meet the usual end of the year sales, stiffening the limited liquidity further.

Accordingly, the Central Bank of Nigeria's acting Director, Corporate Communications, Mr. Isaac Okorafor, in a statement on Monday said the apex bank has apportioned over $660 million to the manufacturing industries at the interbank market, this he said will ease foreign exchange pressure on the manufacturing and agricultural sectors through forward sales under the new flexible Forex regime.

He further stated that “The CBN is committed to ensuring that manufacturers of goods for which Nigeria does not enjoy comparative advantage are able to get letters of credit (LCs) to import the required materials for their businesses.”

Okorafor urged manufacturers to take advantage of the initiative to push Nigeria to the forefront of exporting nations through backward integration.

Traders are optimistic that the Naira would improve as diaspora remittances was expected to bolster market liquidity at the yuletide season.

http://investorsking.com/naira-plunges-at-interbank-market/
CareerRe: Palmchat Partners With A Nairalander, Tosyne2much For Posting "10 Things" by Truth234(m): 8:30pm On Nov 04, 2016
Interesting15:
OK.

But what do the partnership entails?

Like, they pay you to use their platform?
Ha, I can't reveal the details but if you have something going. They will contact you.
CareerRe: Palmchat Partners With A Nairalander, Tosyne2much For Posting "10 Things" by Truth234(m): 8:24pm On Nov 04, 2016
Interesting15:
Did they contact you via nairaland?
No, but got to know about us via nairaland, because they mentioned it.
CareerRe: Palmchat Partners With A Nairalander, Tosyne2much For Posting "10 Things" by Truth234(m): 6:28pm On Nov 04, 2016
tosyne2much:
You been dey fear shey?
No, it was purely business decision.
CareerRe: Palmchat Partners With A Nairalander, Tosyne2much For Posting "10 Things" by Truth234(m): 6:06pm On Nov 04, 2016
tosyne2much:
E don carry me enter Palmchat
Got something similar from them about 8 weeks ago. Didn't sign it because of their possibility to go "this way" and extremely low AU.
PoliticsAnambra Gets N3bn CBN Grant For Agric, Smes by Truth234(op): 12:50pm On Nov 04, 2016
Governor Willie Obiano of Anambra State on Friday said the state had secured a N3bn grant from the Central bank of Nigeria to invest in SMEs and agriculture.

Obiano made the disclosure at the flag-off of training for the first batch of 150 youths at the Federal Youths Training Centre, Mgbakwu near Awka.

He said the grant would be shared to medium and small scale entrepreneurs and farmers in the state.

According to the governor, the amount was approved due to the effective use of a similar grant of N1.5bn to agriculture in 2015.

He said that the new grant would be used to finance small businesses and entrepreneurship development in the state.

Obiano said this was in view of the fact that increase spending by federal and state governments in strategic sectors was the most viable option to pull the economy out of the current recession.

The governor urged individuals to acquire marketable skills and engage in agriculture as these were the best options that could put the economy on the path to prosperity at this moment of recession and inflation.

Obiano said that Anambra was doing well in agriculture, adding that 30 trailers of rice and 100 trucks of vegetables were being moved out of the state daily.

He said the training scheme was wholly free with a take-off package of maximum of N500, 000 for successful youths who were found worthy after the three months training.

He said, “We have to pump money into the economy and not the other way round; that is what we are doing through our investment in agriculture and empowerment off these youths in contemporary skills.

“This Federal Youth Centre will continue to get our attention, it had been abandoned since 2008, but we have revived it and are determined to make it effective.

“Every year, we shall have over 1,000 youths trained and empowered here.”

NAN
http://investorsking.com/anambra-gets-n3bn-cbn-grant-for-agric-smes/
PoliticsRe: Tincan Customs Command Generates N207.8bn In 10 Months by Truth234(op): 6:40am On Nov 04, 2016
IAMTHEHERO:
They should hold it.They should not remit it because l have not seen what PMB has done with the previous ones they remitted.
Isn't PMB directive and restructuring that led to the success?
PoliticsTincan Customs Command Generates N207.8bn In 10 Months by Truth234(op):
The Tincan Island customs service has reportedly N207.838 billion in revenue between January and October 2016.

According to the Area Comptroller Tincan Island Port Apapa, Bashar Yusef, the sum represents a positive trend in prevailing Economic Recession which has incapacitated business activities in the nation.

The comptroller, which assumed office few months ago, restructured the operational and revenue generating capacity of the command by ensuring that all revenue leakages were substantially reduced.

“A major constraint which we have continued to address is the issue of false declaration, deliberate misapplication of harmonized system code on items among other infractions. However, I am confident that with the measures which we have put in place, it will be practically impossible for anybody to manipulate or circumvent the process without being caught,” he said.

On the measures to further enhance the capacity of the command, the controller promise to ensure that all operating units within the command key into the change model of the Federal Government.

He further stated that, “We will continue the strategy of stakeholder engagement, training and re-training of our personnel as well as collaboration and synergy with the critical agencies in line with the vision and mission of the Comptroller General, Col Hamed Ali. (rtd) and his management. We will continue to remain on top of our mandate through strict adherence with the extant laws for maximum Revenue Generation.”

http://investorsking.com/tincan-customs-command-generates-n207-8bn-in-10-months/ Mynd44
PoliticsPipeline Vandalism Drops By 28% – NNPC by Truth234(op): 5:39pm On Nov 03, 2016
The Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) says pipeline vandalism across the country had reduce by 28 per cent.

The corporation made this known in its 13th publication of Monthly Financial and Operations Report released on its website on Thursday.

According to the report, the spate of pipeline vandalism has reduced following the Federal Government and NNPC’s sustained engagements with Niger Delta militants.

“In August, 2016, there was 28.94 per cent drop in the number of pipelines vandalised points relative to July, 2016 which had up to 311 vandalised points,’’ the report stated.

On natural gas supply to power plants, the report stated that it edged up to 469 million standard cubic feet per day (mmscfd) which equalled about 2,083 megawatts of electricity generation in August, 2016.

On refineries’ operations, it report said that the combined value of output by the three refineries “at import parity price’’ for August, 2016 was N50.19 billion.

“Associated crude plus freight cost was N39.77 billion, giving a surplus of N709.21 million after an overhead of N9.71 billion,’’ it said.

The report said that this was made possible in spite of the challenges of irregular crude supply and pipeline vandalism to the refineries.

On naira payments to the Federation Account, NNPC said that it transferred N35.05 billion into the account in September from the net domestic crude oil receipt and another N1.80 billion from gas receipts.

It added that its instalment repayment of debt to the Federation Account was also done with N6.33 billion remitted as the 25th instance in the process.

“The domestic crude oil and gas receipt during the month amounted to N96.15 billion, consisting of N1.80 billion from domestic gas and the sum of N88.01 billion from domestic crude oil.
“Of the N88.01 billion receipt from crude oil, the sum of N52.96 billion (about 268.83 million dollars) was transferred to Joint Venture Cash Call (JVCC) being a first line charge.

“It also guarantees a continuous flow of revenue stream to Federation Account,” the report said.

http://investorsking.com/pipeline-vandalism-drops-by-28-nnpc/
BusinessNigeria To Begin Rice Exportation - Prof. Bola Okuneye by Truth234(op): 3:24am On Nov 03, 2016
Prof. Bola Okuneye, an International Consultant, FADAMA III Additional Financing (AF), has said that Nigeria would begin exportation of rice in the next five years.

Okuneye spoke on Wednesday at Amanuke, Awka North Local Government Area of Anambra, when the FADAMA III AF team visited its rice farmland to ascertain level of progress at the site.

“I have carefully studied the development and I am convinced that with what I have seen, Nigeria will compete among other nations of the world in rice production.

“If only this community can produce 4.5 metric tonnes per hectare, compared to other assessment we have carried out in other states, then there is a lot of development in rice production in our country.

“I could see that with more encouragement, they can expand from the present stage and when they continually used the improved practices as they are taught, it will increase their yield.

Mr Okafor Hyacinth, the Ogboududu Cluster President said they were currently cultivating 90 hectares with 10 members in each hectare.

“Our last harvest was 2 to 3metric tonnes per hectare, but with the kind of training we are receiving, our productivity is going higher.

“According to the analysis of facilitators, we will produce 4.5metric tonnes in our next harvest.’’

Dr Ben Albert, the team leader, commended the farmers for their commitment, and assured them of addressing challenges they might face in the course of production.

He explained that the supervision mission was aimed at evaluating and ascertaining their progress and other challenges.

NAN
http://investorsking.com/nigeria-to-begin-rice-exportation/

BusinessRe: Naira Extend Gains Against Dollar Across FX Markets by Truth234(op): 1:12pm On Nov 02, 2016
bigtt76:
I understand this but remember that the bomb-blasted pipelines do not take a day to repair. At a time we were told the output was like 800,000 bpd with severe warnings from the militants against effecting repairs. The question now is how were they able to effect repairs for output to have increased exponentially within so short a period? Also why has CBN not relaxed the many restrictions affecting SMEs via Master Card Naira use for foreign transactions since production and oil price has increased considerably? angry
Output has never been 800,000 bpd, its lowest was 1.4mbpd. Down 800,000bpd from previous 2.2mbpd. They started this repair more than a month ago, immediately Kachikwu commence peace accord. Also, pipelines are easier to repair since it's not the source that was blown.

CBN can't relaxed master card restrictions, one, there is no enough forex to offset those transactions. Two, our foreign reserves is at all time low, about $23 billion. Production is not the same as sales, most of what is being produced are kept. In fact, we are currently selling at a discounted rate to sustain our current market share and might have to do more to attract new buyers because of the global oil glut. But once OPEC/Non OPEC cut production and prices stabilize around $60 a barrel, that should improve.
BusinessRe: Naira Extend Gains Against Dollar Across FX Markets by Truth234(op): 9:43am On Nov 02, 2016
bigtt76:
We don't even know what to believe any more! Today, the militants are to blame for dwindling income and power generation, tomorrow ....we're in full production capacity and peak power generation ...Haba! What are we to believe kwanu
During the series of attacks, output drop to 1.4mbpd from 2.2mbbpd, so when you compared current level 2.1mbpd to 1.4mbpd, you will understand it is substantial considering the short period it was achieved.
BusinessRe: Naira Extend Gains Against Dollar Across FX Markets by Truth234(op): 9:38am On Nov 02, 2016
Mattex001:
As far as I'm concerned to some extent CBN is still pegging the exchange rate, it hasn't been entirely floated as we think, Dollars is sold to Oil Marketer's at 300+ just because they want to continuously regulate the price of Oil at 145, and the secondary demands are met by travellex and first bank.

If they had really floated the exchange rate we won't be having two rates in the market (parallel and interbank rate) we would have a uniformed rate and the forces of demand and supply would determine the exchange rates.

How can you deliberately ristrict the use of naira debit and credit cards outside the country! That's the most ridiculous move by CBN, people are stranded all in the name of we are short on dollar.

I just pray for the best for Naija.
These guys are just regular folks with prerogatives they aren't doing so much to salvage the economy from this endless downturn
They never said they floated it, they said they adopted Forex flexibility Policy, which means they can intervene to regulate it according to perceived economic outlook.
BusinessRe: $150mn Erisco Foods Finally Announces Exit On Back Of FX Crunch by Truth234(m): 6:13am On Nov 02, 2016
Even dangote newly commissioned Tomato Processing Factory suspended operation, while monitoring economic improvement. The country is in recession and capital importation is low. These companies needs to be reasonable and considerate.

If Chinese businesses/investors are trooping in and you are rushing out. Then, I doubt the viability of Erisco long-term plans.
BusinessRe: Naira Extend Gains Against Dollar Across FX Markets by Truth234(op): 6:06am On Nov 02, 2016
Adesiji77:
Watching...@Truth234, I hail o
How that side Boss
BusinessRe: Naira Extend Gains Against Dollar Across FX Markets by Truth234(op): 5:29am On Nov 02, 2016
seunmsg:
A month ago, it was N500 and today, it's N465. With the right policies and strict enforcement by CBN, it can still come down to below N400.
It is a process.. but once all the measures filtered through key FX segments. Parallel market will adjust automatically.
BusinessRe: Naira Extend Gains Against Dollar Across FX Markets by Truth234(op): 5:07am On Nov 02, 2016
seunmsg:
The parallel market rate of N465 is still very high and unacceptable. They need to bring it down to under N400 before we can heave a sigh of relief.
How do you bring down what you don't control? Parallel market rate is being determined by speculators, they will do anything to sabotage all efforts by CBN for few gains.
BusinessNaira Extend Gains Against Dollar Across FX Markets by Truth234(op): 4:30am On Nov 02, 2016
The Nigerian Naira extended its gains against the US dollar across the foreign exchange market on Tuesday.

The local currency improved N4.06 at the interbank market to close at N304.75, from N308.81 it traded on Monday.

Accordingly, the Naira gained N3 at the parallel market to close at N465, from N468 it closes on Monday.

While, at the Bureau De Change segment, the Naira was exchanged at N385 to a US dollar — in line with CBN directive.

Forex traders have attributed the improvement to the increase in the market liquidity due to the weekly sale of forex by Travelex and First Bank of Nigeria.

The First Bank of Nigeria and Travelex were approved by the CBN to help boost market liquidity through the sales of diaspora remittances to the Bureau De Change operators in an effort to curb counterproductive activities of some financial institutions.

The Naira has since gained N35 on the parallel market, from N500 it traded about a month ago and appreciated N16 in the interbank market to close at N308.81 on Tuesday.

Experts expect liquidity in the market to improve once OPEC goes through with Algiers accord on November 20 in Vienna, Austria.

“This, is because oil is forecast to trade at $60 a barrel after production cut, and with Nigerian output currently averaging 2.1m barrels a day. The country is likely to boost its external reserves needed to service the economy and prop up the Naira value through the CBN intermittent intervention in the foreign exchange market,” said analysts at Investors King Ltd.

“The reality is that as of today and this morning, we are at 2.1 million barrels production. That’s substantial,” said Emmanuel Kachikwu, Minister of State for Petroleum.

The pound and Euro were exchanged at N565 and N504 respectively.

http://investorsking.com/naira-extend-gains-against-dollar-across-fx-markets/
BusinessRe: Naira Appreciates As Manufacturers Lament Forex Scarcity by Truth234(op): 5:33am On Nov 01, 2016
pointstores:
nonsense
Why? You need bad news?
BusinessNaira Appreciates As Manufacturers Lament Forex Scarcity by Truth234(op): 4:45am On Nov 01, 2016
The Nigerian Naira appreciated against the US dollar on the parallel market on Monday, even as the report of manufacturers sourcing for forex at the black market hit the news.

The Naira gained N2 to trade at N468 to the US dollar, from the N470 it traded on Friday. While the Pound Sterling and the Euro were exchanged at N565 and N510 respectively.

However, the local currency declined on the interbank market window, dropping N4.31 against the US dollar to close at N308.81 from Friday’s N304.50.

At the Bureau De Change segment, the Naira closed at N385 to the greenback, while both the Pound Sterling and the Euro traded at N564 and N504, respectively.

Some manufacturers have warned that customers may have to pay about 100 percent more than they are currently paying for locally manufactured products, as they lamented their inability to access forex at what they considered moderate rate for a period ranging from six months to one year.

Chantel Abdul, the Managing Director of Mojec Metering said “Your production suffers and you do not have products to sell to your customers, while you wait endlessly like this.”

Others, have blamed the situation on commercial banks’ reluctance to yield to CBN’s directive of selling 60 percent of forex supply in the system to the manufacturing sector.

Experts at Investors King limited have said “There is a very limited forex supply to meet both the bank customers’ demands and manufacturers usual end of the year surge in demands, banks simply do not have enough liquidity to meet those demands.”

But analysts have expressed optimism that the currency would appreciate as market liquidity increases.

“The issue of liquidity should be addressed, once OPEC members reach a consensus on production cut this November,” said Samed Olukoya, a foreign exchange research analyst at Investors King Ltd.

http://investorsking.com/naira-appreciates-as-manufacturers-lament-forex-scarcity/
PoliticsRe: Nigeria-turkey Trade To Exceed $1bn by Truth234(op): 12:38pm On Oct 31, 2016
Scholes007:
To exceed, To borrow, To borrow,To fight corruption
BusinessNigerians In Diaspora Remit N23.5tr To Economy In Five Years by Truth234(op): 11:59am On Oct 31, 2016
In five years, Nigerians in the diaspora remitted to the Nigerian economy S77.06 billion (about N23.5 trillion), according to the National Migration Policy report of 2015.

The remittances were made in bits for the five years of 2005, 2007, 2008, 2012 and 2013.

The report was published for the Nigerian government by the International Organisation for Migration (IOM) with funding provided by the European Union (EU) under the 10th European Development Fund programme on “Promoting Better Management of Migration in Nigeria.”

The document which was made available further stated: “The total volume of remittances transferred globally to developing countries far exceeds Overseas Development Assistance [ODA]. Nigeria is the largest recipient of remittances in Sub-Saharan Africa with receipts of approximately 65 per cent of officially recorded remittances into the region and two per cent of global flows, quoting statistics from the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).”

The report noted that while remittances are private funds used by migrants’ families to meet daily needs such as health, education and food, they are also invested in improvement to homes, purchase of landed property and entrepreneurial pursuits.

‘‘Strategies should be developed to encourage Nigerians in the diaspora to invest remittances through efficient formal channels at low transfer cost, as well as to encourage senders and recipients to invest part of their savings.

“Preferential interest rates on savings and opportunities for direct foreign investments for commercial entrepreneurial and other productive activities by the diaspora and the recipients of remittances should be encouraged,’’ the report stated.

According to the document, the development only showed that Nigerians in the diaspora are active and resourceful population, an indication that the country has an active working population out there.

Meanwhile, the Commissioner for Refugees, Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), Sadiya Umar Farouq has expressed gratitude to the Swiss government for supporting the second in a series of the national migration dialogue with $450 million. The event is scheduled to hold in December 2016.

Represented by Amina Ibrahim at a two-day workshop held in Saminaka, Kaduna State, Farouq said that the Swiss government had demonstrated concrete commitment to issues of migration management in Nigeria.

‘‘There are two issues that are immediate priorities and we intend to take them concurrently. One is to design a very practical and durable solution programme that may have a life span of three years to provide the various reintegration options for the IDPs in Nigeria. And the other is to facilitate the domestication of the Kampala Convention through the NCFRMI Enabling Act as well as pursue the approval of the National IDPs Policy which will provide a framework for sharing responsibilities among other various actions,’’ she said.
http://investorsking.com/nigerians-in-diaspora-remit-n23-5tr-to-economy-in-five-years/
PoliticsRe: Nigeria-turkey Trade To Exceed $1bn by Truth234(op): 11:13am On Oct 31, 2016
ovadozes:
I sincerely pray he succeeds but am not seeing any light at the end of the tunnel.
But as yourself critically what else do we have to offer apart from oil
It is more complex than people think, for instance, to diversify the economy we need to spend aggressively to support our manufacturing sector (non-oil sector) in order to create jobs and attack unemployment, but when you consider the fact that oil prices has dropped over 70 percent of its value since this current administration came to power, it is hard to immediately source for the needed fund require to stimulate the economy.

But once OPEC members reach consensus, supported by non-OPEC we should be able to generate enough to bank-roll most capital projects -- especially since OPEC is exempting Nigeria and Libya from production cap.
BusinessGhana Gives Adenuga Highest Honour by Truth234(op): 10:41am On Oct 31, 2016
Globacom Chairman, Dr. Mike Adenuga has been conferred with Ghana’s highest honour.

The conferment of “The Companion of the Star of Ghana (CSG)” on the man fondly called The Guru, was held at the Accra International Conference Centre on Saturday, 29 October.

President of Ghana, Mr. John Dramani Mahama said the Award “is in recognition of your unique and outstanding contribution to business enterprise both in Ghana and the continent of Africa at large”.

President Mahama said “through your creative business exertions, you have touched many lives in Ghana. You have provided employment for our teeming youth, artists, footballers and many more. I am particularly proud of you. This award is our way of saying a simple THANK YOU”.

In a citation that set the stage for the award, Adenuga was commended for his “transformational achievements in the telecommunications industry”, which included the laying of the historic Glo 1 optic fibre cable linking several African countries including Ghana with Europe and America.

President Mahama applauded Adenuga’s association with telecommunications in Ghana since Glo Mobile’s launch and praised the massive capital investment he has injected into the project.

He also noted that Adenuga’s investment forays and strong support for sports have drawn honours from far and near to him. He admitted that such outstanding contributions similarly recommended Adenuga for Ghana’s highest civilian honour.

Adenuga thanked Mahama for the honour and noted that the President’s “recognition and support of my modest contributions to the development of Ghana’s economy have come as a great source of pride and encouragement to me. This is more so as it is coming from Your Excellency, whose sterling qualities of leadership I admire greatly”.

Adenuga also holds the highest civilian national award in Nigeria, the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON) awarded by former president Goodluck Jonathan in 2012.
http://investorsking.com/ghana-gives-adenuga-highest-honour/
PoliticsRe: Nigeria-turkey Trade To Exceed $1bn by Truth234(op):
ovadozes:
The only they buy from us is crude oil and then we buy every other thing from them including refined oil and maybe cucumber, so while we re getting around $100m they will be pocketing about $900m
That is about to change, present administration is working on striking a mutual beneficiary bilateral trade deals with our allies.
PoliticsNigeria-turkey Trade To Exceed $1bn by Truth234(op):
Turkish Ambassador to Nigeria, Mr Hakan Çakil, says the trade value between Nigeria and Turkey is expected to exceed one billion dollars by the end of the year.

Çakil said this in Abuja at the occassion to mark the 93rd anniversary of the founding of Turkey.

He said that at present the trade value in the first seven months of 2016 stood at 600 million dollars.

“In the first seven months of this year, we have exceeded 600 million dollar of total trade volume; this means that by the end of this year we will exceed one billion dollars.

“We have the trade figure up till July for the time being.

“Compared with 2014, the trade value is less and the reason is not the decrease in quantity but the decrease in oil and gas prices.

“In 2014 the total trade volume was 2.5 billion dollars, while in 2015 it was 1.2 billion dollars.

“This does not mean that trade is decreasing, the volume is still the same but because of the decrease in oil and gas prices, we pay less, “ he said.

He added that approximately 70 Turkish companies operated in Nigeria and that other imports from Nigeria to Turkey included crude oil, palm oil and sesame oil.

He said Nigeria was one of Turkey’s most important providers of natural gas adding that they import lots of LNG from Nigeria. “

The envoy also said that the forthcoming Turkey-Africa Economic and Business Forum (TABEF 2016) would explore various economic opportunities and promote economic relations between Turkey and African nations.

The forum would be held in Istanbul from Nov. 2 to 3.

“Between Nov. 2 and 3, there will be a Turkey-Africa Business Economic Forum in Turkey and the Nigerian delegation will be one of the largest.

“Approximately 90 participants from Nigeria will be in attendance, every sub-Saharan country is attending with official and private committees.

“We talked with the Nigerian authorities, I personally requested and we are expecting two official delegations from Nigeria.

“One from the Ministry of Trade and Investment and the second from Nigeria Investment Promotion Commission (NIPC).

“NIPC will promote the direct foreign investment opportunities of Nigeria to Turkish businessmen and the delegation of the ministry will promote the economic facilities of Nigeria,” he said.

TABEF 2016 is organised to foster trade relations between Turkey and African countries, by providing unique occasions to delegates in building networks and creating new business opportunities.

The forum would have more than 5,000 African and Turkish business people in participation.

The Theme of the Forum is “Financing African Investment Projects: Infrastructure, Transportation and Energy. “

NAN
http://investorsking.com/nigeria-turkey-trade-to-exceed-1bn/ OAM4J, Mynd44
PoliticsRe: 876 Children Linked To Boko Haram Freed by Truth234(op): 10:59am On Oct 29, 2016
Politics876 Children Linked To Boko Haram Freed by Truth234(op): 10:21am On Oct 29, 2016
The UN has negotiated the release of nearly 900 children detained by Nigeria’s army and security forces after they have retaken land from Boko Haram militants, a senior official said.

The 876 children had been held in the barracks in Maiduguri, UNICEF’S Regional Director for Western and Central Africa, Manuel Fontaine, said after visiting the north-eastern city.

It was not immediately clear how long they had been held.

However, the army routinely detains civilians who have been living in areas that had been ruled by the insurgents on suspicion that they too might be linked to militant activities.

Nonetheless, rights groups said there was no proper legal process for such civilians, including the children.

They said that they were not formally charged and some ended up in so-called rehabilitation centres or Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) camps.

The United Nations says children should not be detained.

“We fear that there are still kids who are being at least temporarily detained because they are being released from Boko Haram areas by the army but then kept for a while,” Fontaine said.

He give no details of the ages of the children or how long they had been at the barracks .

It would be recalled that after President Muhammadu Buhari came to power in May 2015, security forces began an offensive.

The security force were backed by neighbouring countries, to retake territory from Boko Haram, meaning at least some of the children could have been held for a year or more.

There was no immediate comment from the army.

Army officials say they need to question civilians to establish whether they have any ties with the militant group, which has been trying for seven years to set up an Islamic state.

The security situation remains volatile in Borno and its capital Maiduguri because Boko Haram still stages suicide bombings, often using women or teenagers.

Fontaine also said the conflict, which had killed thousands and displaced more than two million, had separated around 20,000 children from their parents, of which 5,000 had since been reunited with families.

“Once we get children out, there is a major issue of stigmatisation in the communities.

“There is a sense that children who have been associated with Boko Haram for a while, could be, and in some cases we have some evidence, are rejected by community and people around them,” Fontaine said.

This was also a problem for the girls freed from the town of Chibok, he said.

Nigeria this month negotiated, with the help of Switzerland, the release of 21 of more than 200 girls Boko Haram kidnapped in April 2014.

NAN
http://investorsking.com/876-children-linked-to-boko-haram-freed/ OAM4J, Mynd44
PoliticsFG To Begin Export Of Farm Produce by Truth234(op): 9:12am On Oct 28, 2016
The Nigeria Custom Service on Thursday said it would begin the export of farm produce to Europe from some northern states.

The Comptroller in charge of Kano and Jigawa states, Mr. Abutu Mathias made this known during the quarterly stakeholders’ forum in Kano.

Mathias said that the aim was to complement the efforts of the Federal Government towards boosting the non-oil sector to revive the nation’s economy.

He said that the process was set to begin during the November and December harvest of 2016.

He revealed that some of the produce to be exported are sesame and gum arabic grains among other types of exportable grains.

The comptroller appealed to all agencies involved to give the effort a maximum cooperation to achieve the desired goals.

On the achievements recorded by the command this year, Mathias noted that the revenues collected so far in every month of this year exceeded the revenues generated in the corresponding months of the year 2015.

He expressed optimism that the command would maintain the tempo in order to meet up with the 2016 target.

NAN
http://investorsking.com/fg-to-begin-export-of-farm-produce/

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 (of 79 pages)