Stats: 3,325,027 members, 8,419,993 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 08:59 AM

Unfaized's Posts

Nairaland ForumUnfaized's ProfileUnfaized's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 (of 12 pages)

PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 10:40am On Dec 21, 2025
lilclin:
What's the colour of the ODU signal? Check if it's showing green. If it's not showing green then move it to another location
Yes it's showing green and all the parameters are looking great including signal strength and other values.

It's mounted on a dstv dish so I can turn it to face any direction. I've done that countless times to no avail.
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 10:25am On Dec 21, 2025
lilclin:
I think it's from your location. Hope you've not passed your FUP?
Not even close. I was getting very good speeds until it rained. From the next day everything cast.

This usually happens once in a while but mainly with the older unlimited plan. If you go to move the ODU. At that point of movement the speed dramatically increases. But after that it's back to being terrible.
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 9:50am On Dec 21, 2025
Is it safe to reset the ODU router? This poor network issue has continued to the 3rd day. Internet only works well at midnight hours till like 7a.m
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 6:42pm On Dec 20, 2025
My internet has been so bad for about 2 days now after a rainfall.
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 10:31am On Dec 20, 2025
Rokynwastar:
"According to him, the partnership will enable Airtel to deliver satellite-to-mobile services across the 14 African markets where it operates, particularly in areas with limited or no terrestrial network coverage, using SpaceX’s Starlink platform".

This is a quote from a news article about Airtel and Startlinks collaboration.

What's are your takes?
Airtel should rather focus on improving internet experience for users. They already have a reputation for one of the worst internet services across the country.
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 9:51am On Dec 19, 2025
Hullabaloon:
Is anyone's Airtel horrible this morning?
Here since last night. Thought it was coz if the rain but apparently it's not as bad network persists.
PhonesRe: My SpaceX Starlink Internet Experience In Lagos, Nigeria by Unfaized: 9:49am On Dec 19, 2025
morikee:
I don wanna pay 1 year subscription 😂 the money i will use to order na borrow i go borrow o

But i told them i will wait till them ship from their ends they have applied free 1 month credit for me already
Ok that's a great option then. That funds go reach take care of other pressing needs normally.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Unfaized: 9:42am On Dec 19, 2025
JoeSef0:
Hi everyone.
A friend of mine consulted me about going solar, he was looking at the colasolar 3600 power station but after factoring the price including solar panels, i told him he's better off installing a solar system.

So i need some recommendations on budget friendly and very good:
*2.5kw 24v lithium battery
*2.5-3kva 24v hybrid inverter system
*Is 2 550w jinko solar panels good enough to charge the battery considering his total load is not more than 800w but he would be adding a 1hp AC unit in the future
*what mm cable is good enough to handle the series connections of the solar panels

Lastly the price range of the items and where to get them from would be appreciated
Try stating your budget. That will enable streamlined recommendations. And also the number of hours you're likely to run your loads.

2.5kwh battery is too small to add a 1hp AC to especially as your initial load is already 800w. Consider a 5kwh battery minimum.

With the above, 2 550w panels cannot consistently give you a full charge for your daily needs. Consider stepping it up.
PhonesRe: My SpaceX Starlink Internet Experience In Lagos, Nigeria by Unfaized: 9:17am On Dec 19, 2025
morikee:
Based on the info i got the full hardware cost will be credited to my Starlink account and can only be used to upset my monthly bills 😂
Hahaha... But it's still technically thesame, that's like 1 yr subscription ahead. + 2 free months.
PhonesRe: My SpaceX Starlink Internet Experience In Lagos, Nigeria by Unfaized: 7:21pm On Dec 18, 2025
morikee:
I got update after i requested for human intervention this is what they told me to do i was wondering how will they reimburse my payment if i use Jumia and Jumia doesn't provide receipt i guess or just proof of purchase is ok
Jumia surely provides receipts.
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 2:14pm On Dec 18, 2025
Starlord99:
1. Setup Smartcash with an Airtel Number
2. Transfer money from your bank to that phone number as the account number and 'Smartcash' as the recipient bank.
3. Setup myAirtel account with an Airtel Number (preferably the same one as your ODU SIM, I don't know how it looks like when you use a different number)
4. Select Buy Bundle
5. Select the ODU number you want to buy for. If you signed up with your ODU number, it auto-selects that one. Otherwise input your ODU phone number.
6. Select your desired Data Pack
7. Select Smartcash. It should auto-select the same number as your myAirtel app. If you use a different number for sSmartcash, edit the number there.
8. Proceed to pay.
9. Discount should appear in Smartcash immediately payment goes through.
10. Buy mobile phone data with that bonus, rinse and repeat 🤣
Ok. Thanks.
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 10:37am On Dec 18, 2025
Starlord99:
You are welcome my boss 🙏
Feel free to ask about this Huawei Setup.

I also see you got your system from Matis Mall and are potentially near me, how is connection in your area like?
Plz can you give a breakdown of how you used smartcash to subscribe thereby getting the 10% discount?
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Unfaized: 8:32am On Dec 18, 2025
micxwell:
Hmm. Thanks 👍
Too high?
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Unfaized: 3:14am On Dec 18, 2025
micxwell:
What's the idle load consumption of that Haisic inverter, the 4.2kva; 24V?
1.4amps
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Unfaized: 9:12pm On Dec 17, 2025
favouredbymercy:
I don dey eye this Haisic inverter.
I'll recommend it. It's affordable although I can't tell if there are available service centers Incase of damage.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Unfaized: 8:19pm On Dec 17, 2025
Edrizz:
If it's their 4.2kva, it isn't silent oooo both while charging alone n when load is used on it....
It's the 4.2kva. Yes the fan comes on while on heavy load, and while charging. Louder when charging with high current. But on light loads it's literally silent.

Consider cleaning the vents... Made a difference for me and now even while using submersible pump I can barely hear the fan.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Unfaized: 1:23pm On Dec 17, 2025
favouredbymercy:
From my experience, the starting surge of pumping machine is very high. So i cant recommend a 24v system for pumping machine anymore. Just look at a 48v system. If you can leave out the water aspect, then a 24v system would do just fine.
I use 24v Haisic hybrid inverter. Great inverter, very silent. No issues with even 1.5hp submersible.
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 5:23pm On Dec 14, 2025
Mel1234:
Have anybody tried "PAYING WITH AIRTIME" for their ODU using the Airtel Africa App?
You can pay with Airtime, but from another Airtel line. Most likely the primary line registered on the app.

If your airtime is loaded in the ODU line then you have to use the link for direct broadband subscription. Someone posted the link about some pages back.
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 9:52pm On Dec 12, 2025
I went to Check out the mtn Fiber X thread, and they also have their own complaints. I was hoping it would be a better alternative overall but alas!
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 10:00pm On Dec 10, 2025
NSEstudent:
They should bring it to 25k just like their FibreX. Folks in areas of strong MTN network would then try it.

This nightly speed reduction would be Airtel's undoing.
From past experience, router plans all behave the same regardless of network.

I have used an mtn router plan a few years back and regardless of how strong network reception was, it faced similar issues as Airtel router plans, barely reliable.
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 1:29pm On Dec 08, 2025
mrboluu:
How do we turn this off?
It's not recommended to turn it off, but if you must, then go to system, developer options, put in password and then toggle temperature control.

PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 9:49am On Dec 08, 2025
I think one of the reasons why the ODU consumes a lot of battery is due to the temperature control feature present.

I believe if you turn that off you should be able to get more hours out of your back up.
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 9:47am On Dec 08, 2025
emmohh:
This Airtel odu powerbank doesn't last at all...can't even give me 2hrs after nepa took light. Is that what y'all are experiencing too?
Which one did you get? Mine lasts close to 5hrs.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Unfaized: 7:05am On Dec 04, 2025
dollarnaira:
Diy of Africa Nigeria Lagos Ikorodu grin
4kwh wey pump water. Na sense
On a full charge, how long does the 4kwh battery last u on basic loads only?
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 12:42pm On Dec 03, 2025
So the network thing is general. Just subbed this afternoon after a long time and I have been unable to connect.
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 9:47pm On Nov 19, 2025
pheranme9:
Today is my birthday guys you can send your greetings... Kudos to everyone keeping this group moving and active
Happy birthday to you Chief. Wishing you long life, success and prosperity. May your days be blessed.

Thanks for your contribution to this thread.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Unfaized: 1:25pm On Nov 17, 2025
litaninja:
Lol. Forgive the laptop abeg grin
😂
PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 9:07pm On Nov 16, 2025
I am curious. Why are you pipo stressing over using another router to link when the main router works just fine. Like works perfectly fine.

For instance I have about 10 devices connected and still stream just fine. I'm just curious though.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Unfaized: 4:10pm On Nov 15, 2025
Adaowerri111:
The installer is strongly recommending Felicity, what do you think?
Avoid o.

Quoted capacity is way less than actual capacity. Test videos are readily available on tiktok and YouTube.
PhonesRe: My SpaceX Starlink Internet Experience In Lagos, Nigeria by Unfaized: 5:46pm On Nov 14, 2025
Point to note, the above account also enjoyed the free no subscription month about 2 months ago. Infact this bonus is coming immediately after enjoying 1 free month.

Apparently there's much more reward in not keeping up with subscriptions. Fingers crossed to see if we can actually do 24 months at 50%. A game changer IMO.
PhonesRe: My SpaceX Starlink Internet Experience In Lagos, Nigeria by Unfaized: 2:02pm On Nov 14, 2025
I can confirm the 50% subscription fee for old unused accounts.

PhonesRe: Airtel Unlimited Data Thread! Best Data Plan In 2024!! by Unfaized: 12:25pm On Nov 14, 2025
nurez305:
MTN is already spending billions on fiber X, what will they need ODU for??... This ODU is more like advance router which still failed many time with inconsistent speed
This is way better and more realistic than Fiberx in my opinion especially due to accessibility.

Fiberx deployment rate is very poor and is none existent in most major cities & locations.

Cost wise, this Airtel model is also cheaper as it is OTA & doesn’t require much physical connection or set up.

Yes the ODU model is not perfect, but considering how long Fiberx has been in existence compared to this, the ODU is a superior business model.

With better coverage and reach, I think MTN should consider adopting this model as a form of FiberX 2.0 with similar pricing. This is the only way they can stay competitive in the unlimited internet market and make good profit for investors.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 (of 12 pages)