Stats: 3,153,746 members, 7,820,575 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 05:25 PM

Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency (1431 Views)

Kaduna Refinery To End Fuel Scarcity In The North In 2 Weeks- NNPC / IPOB Does Not Represent the Igbo / PDP Replies Femi Fani- Kayode; You Represent The Bad, The Ugly & The Scandalous (2) (3) (4)

Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Nobody: 4:24pm On Dec 26, 2013
I was just wondering if in spirit of one north,the APC can afford to give their presidential ticket to a northern christian or someone from the middle belt or is the one north applicable only when it comes to securing bloc votes for core northern presidential candidates

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by dayokanu(m): 4:26pm On Dec 26, 2013
The longest ruling president in Nigerian history was a Middlebelt Christian named Yakubu Gowon

If you need someone from the middle belt we already have Gowon -9yrs, IBB-8yrs Abdulsalam 1yr. Total 18yrs

No region in Nigeria has ever had that much time at presidency

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Nobody: 4:51pm On Dec 26, 2013
So in essence APC can field Gowon in the 2015 polls? When did the term 'core North' come into our polity? Was it before or after the gowon era?

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Nobody: 4:51pm On Dec 26, 2013
So in essence APC can field Gowon in the 2015 polls? When did the term 'core North' come into our polity? Was it before or after the gowon era?

Fyi IBB and Abdulsalami are no from the middle belt.

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by dayokanu(m): 5:01pm On Dec 26, 2013
chukwudi44: So in essence APC can field Gowon in the 2015 polls? When did the term 'core North' come into our polity? Was it before or after the gowon era?

IBB and Abdulsalam are from Niger state and from minority middle belt tribes of Gwari and Nupe.

Or howelse do you want to advertize your ignorance

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Nobody: 5:18pm On Dec 26, 2013
dayokanu:

IBB and Abdulsalam are from Niger state and from minority middle belt tribes of Gwari and Nupe.

grin yuck grin yuck grin yuck
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by 99100(m): 5:20pm On Dec 26, 2013
I was discussing/arguing with a Hausa man.
His argument was that WE are not well represented in this Jonathan govt.
And I cuts in,asking him what about Namadi,Tambuwal,Mark etc.
His response was that David Mark was not theirs (David Mark ba namu bane) .like a typical Hausa man.
@op,@your question No or not again.
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by dayokanu(m): 5:26pm On Dec 26, 2013
99/100:
I was discussing/arguing with a Hausa man.
His argument was that WE are not well represented in this Jonathan govt.
And I cuts in,asking him what about Namadi,Tambuwal,Mark etc.
His response was that David Mark was not theirs (David Mark ba namu bane) .like a typical Hausa man.
@op,@your question No or not again.

The Hausa guy is obviously smarter than you. He said WE meaning he was speaking for his tribe Hausas and he is right because David Mark is Idoma

Would an Edo man look at barth Nnaji an Iboman and say he is represented
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by 99100(m): 5:45pm On Dec 26, 2013
dayokanu:

The Hausa guy is obviously smarter than you. He said WE meaning he was speaking for his tribe Hausas and he is right because David Mark is Idoma

Would an Edo man look at barth Nnaji an Iboman and say he is represented

Don't be faster than your shadow.
His argument was base on the fact that since Mark is not a muslim,for that he is not representing them.
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by dayokanu(m): 5:50pm On Dec 26, 2013
99/100:
Don't be faster than your shadow.
His argument was base on the fact that since Mark is not a muslim,for that he is not representing them.

How do you know its because Mark is a xtian? Would he say Tinubu a fellow Moslem was representing them? Would he say Ibrahim Idris an Igala man is representing Hausas?
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Nobody: 5:53pm On Dec 26, 2013
chukwudi44:

see ignorance
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Nobody: 5:58pm On Dec 26, 2013
why don't you advise the pdp to drop Gej for your suggestions. Wetin consign you?
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Olaolufred(m): 6:06pm On Dec 26, 2013
I JUST REMEMBERED THAT WE USE TO CALL ANYONE WHO ACTS LIKE MUMU CHUKWUDI IN MY SECONDARY SCHOOL DAYS.

HAVING WORKED FOR TEN YEARS AFTER GRADUATION AS AN ENGINEER,

CHUKWUDI BROUGHT BACK THAT MEMORY VIA THIS POST.

YOU ARE TOOOOOOO DULLLLLLL.

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Nobody: 6:07pm On Dec 26, 2013
Obiagelli:
see ignorance
dayokanu:

I don't think Gideon orkar will agree with you.Did you read his coup speech and the reseans he gave for attempting to oust the IBB regime?

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Olaolufred(m): 6:09pm On Dec 26, 2013
chukwudi44:

I don't think Gideon orkar will agree with you.Did you read his coup speech and the reseans he gave for attempting to oust the IBB regime?

STOP THIS DISPLAY OF "MUMUISM"

YOU CAN'T LEARN BY RESISTING KNOWLEDGE.
ACCEPT WHAT YOU ARE THOUGHT.
NEXT TIME, YOU WOULD NOT REPEAT SAME INEPTITUDE.

THE MORE YOU KEEP RESISTING IT, THE MORE YOU KEEP FOOLING YOURSEF.

IS IT YOUR NAME THAT IS INFLUENCING YOU LIKE THIS?
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Nobody: 6:11pm On Dec 26, 2013
The middle belt obviously do not consider IBB and Abdulsalami as one of them

Fellow Nigerian Citizens,

On behalf of the patriotic and well-meaning peoples of the Middle Belt and the southern parts of this country, I , Major Gideon Orkar, wish to happily inform you of the successful ousting of the dictatorial, corrupt, drug baronish, evil man, deceitful, homo-sexually-c­­entered, prodigalistic, un-patriotic administration of General Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida.

We have equally commenced their trials for unabated corruption, mismanagement of national economy, the murders of Dele Giwa, Major-General Mamman Vasta, with other officers as there was no attempted coup but mere intentions that were yet to materialize and other human rights violations.

The National Guard already in its formative stage is disbanded with immediate effect. Decrees Number 2 and 46 are hereby abrogated. We wish to emphasize that this is not just another coup but a well-conceived,­­ planned and executed revolution for the marginalized, oppressed and enslaved peoples of the Middle Belt and the south with a view to freeing ourselves and children yet unborn from eternal slavery and colonization by a clique of this country.

Our history is replete with numerous and uncontrollable instances of callous and insensitive dominatory repressive intrigues by those who think it is their birthright to dominate till eternity the political and economic privileges of this great country to the exclusion of the people of the Middle Belt and the south.

They have almost succeeded in subjugating the Middle Belt and making them voiceless and now extending same to the south.

It is our unflinching belief that this quest for domination, oppression and marginalization­­ is against the wish of God and therefore, must be resisted with the vehemence.

Anything that has a beginning must have an end. It will also suffice here to state that all Nigerians without skeleton in their cupboards need not to be afraid of this change. However, those with skeleton in their cupboards have all reasons to fear, because the time of reckoning has come.

For the avoidance of doubt, we wish to state the three primary reasons why we have decided to oust the satanic Babangida administration.­­ The reasons are as follows:

(a) To stop Babangida’s desire to cunningly, install himself as Nigeria’s life president at all costs and by so doing, slowpoke the progress of this country for life. In order to be able to achieve this undesirable goals of his, he has evidently started destroying those groups and sections he perceived as being able to question his desires.

Examples of groups already neutralized, pitched against one another or completely destroyed are:

(1) The Sokoto caliphate by installing an unwanted Sultan to cause division within the hitherto strong Sokoto caliphate.

(2) The destruction of the peoples of Plateau State, especially the Lantang people, as a balancing force in the body politics of this country.

(3) The buying of the press by generous monetary favors and the usage of State Security Service, SSS, as a tool of terror.

(4) The intent to cow the students by the promulgation of the draconian decree Number 47.

(5) The cowing of the university teaching and non-teaching staff by an intended massive purge, using the 150 million dollar loan as the necessitating factor.

(6) Deliberately withholding funds to the armed forces to make them ineffective and also crowning his diabolical scheme through the intended retrenchment of more than half of the members of the armed forces.

Other pointers that give credence to his desire to become a life president against the wishes of the people are:

(1) His appointment of himself as a minister of defense, his putting under his direct control the SSS, his deliberate manipulation of the transition programme, his introduction of inconceivable, unrealistic and impossible political options, his recent fraternization with other African leaders that have installed themselves as life presidents and his dogged determination to create a secret force called the national guard, independent of the armed forces and the police which will be answerable to himself alone, both operationally and administrativel­­y.

It is our strong view that this kind of dictatorial desire of Babangida is unacceptable to Nigerians of the 1990’s, and, therefore, must be resisted by all.

Another major reason for the change is the need to stop intrigues, domination and internal colonization of the Nigerian state by the so-called chosen few. This, in our view, has been and is still responsible for 90 percent of the problems of Nigerians.

This indeed has been the major clog in our wheel of progress.

This clique has an unabated penchant for domination and unrivalled fostering of mediocrity and outright detest for accountability,­­ all put together have been our undoing as a nation.

This will ever remain our threat if not checked immediately. It is strongly believed that without the intrigues perpetrated by this clique and misrule, Nigeria will have in all ways achieved developmental virtues comparable to those in Korea, Taiwan, Brazil, India, and even Japan.

Evidence, therefore, this cancerous dominance has as a factor constituted by a major and unpardonable clog in the wheel of progress of the Nigerian state. It is suffice to mention a few distasteful intrigues engineered by this group of Nigerians in recent past. These are:

(1) The shabby and dishonorable treatment meted on the longest serving Nigerian general in the person of General Domkat Bali, who in actual fact had given credibility to the Babangida administration.

(2) The wholesale hijacking of Babangida’s administration by the all-powerful clique.

(3) The disgraceful and inexplicable removal of Commodore Ebitu Ukiwe, Professor Tam David-West, Mr. Aret Adams and so on from office.

(4) The now-pervasive and on-going retrenchment of Middle Belt and southerners from public offices and their instant replacement by the favoured class and their stooges.

(5) The deliberate disruption of the educational culture and retarding its place to suit the favoured class to the detriment of other educational minded parts of this country.

(6) The deliberate impoverishment of the peoples from the Middle Belt and the south, making them working ghosts and feeding on the formulae of 0-1-1- or 0-0-0 while the aristocratic class and their stooges are living in absolute affluence on a daily basis without working for it.

(7) Other countless examples of the exploitative, oppressive, dirty games of intrigues of its class, where people and stooges that can best be described by the fact that even though they contribute very little economically to the well-being of Nigeria, they have over the years served and presided over the supposedly national wealth derived in the main from the Middle Belt and the southern part of this country, while the people from these parts of the country have been completely deprived from benefiting from the resources given to them by God.

( The third reason for the change is the need to lay a strong egalitarian foundation for the real democratic take off of the Nigerian state or states as they circumstances may dictate.

In the light of all the above and in recognition of the negativeness of the aforementioned aristocratic factor, the overall progress of the Nigerian state a temporary decision to excise the following states namely, Sokoto, Borno, Katsina, Kano and Bauchi states from the Federal Republic of Nigeria comes into effect immediately until the following conditions are met.

The conditions to be met to necessitate the re-absorption of the aforementioned states are as following:

(a) To install the rightful heir to the Sultanate, Alhaji Maccido, who is the people’s choice.

(b) To send a delegation led by the real and recognized Sultan Alhaji Maccido to the federal government to vouch that the feudalistic and aristocratic quest for domination and operation will be a thing of the past and will never be practiced in any part of the Nigeria state.

By the same token, all citizens of the five states already mentioned are temporarily suspended from all public and private offices in Middle Belt and southern parts of this country until the mentioned conditions above are met.

They are also required to move back to their various states within one week from today. They will, however, be allowed to return and joint the Federal Republic of Nigeria when the stipulated conditions are met.

In the same vein, all citizens of the Middle Belt and the south are required to come back to their various states pending when the so-called all-in-all Nigerians meet the conditions that will ensure a united Nigeria. A word is enough for the wise.

This exercise will not be complete without purging corrupt public officials and recovering their ill-gotten wealth, since the days of the oil boom till date. Even in these hard times, when Nigerians are dying from hunger, trekking many miles to work for lack of transportation,­­ a few other Nigerians with complete impunity are living in unbelievable affluence both inside and outside the country.

We are extremely determined to recover all ill-gotten wealth back to the public treasury for the use of the masses of our people. You are all advised to remain calm as there is no cause for alarm. We are fully in control of the situation as directed by God. All airports, seaports and borders are closed forthwith.

The former Armed Forces Ruling Council is now disbanded and replaced with National Ruling Council to be chaired by the head of state with other members being a civilian vice-head of state, service chiefs, inspector general of police, one representative each from NLC, NUJ, NBA, and NANS.

A curfew is hereby imposed from 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. until further notice. All members of the armed forces and the police forces are hereby confined to their respective barracks.

All unlawful and criminal acts by those attempting to cause chaos will be ruthlessly crushed. Be warned as we are prepared at all costs to defend the new order.

All radio stations are hereby advised to hook on permanently to the national network programme until further notice.

Long live all true patriots of this great country of ours. May God and Allah through his bountiful mercies bless us all".

April 22,1990.
Lagos,Nigeria.
MAJOR GIDEON ORKAH
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by dayokanu(m): 6:17pm On Dec 26, 2013
So you are trying to tell us Gwari and Nupe are not middle belt but Igala, Angas and Berom are middle belt?
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Nobody: 6:22pm On Dec 26, 2013
dayokanu: So you are trying to tell us Gwari and Nupe are not middle belt but Igala, Angas and Berom are middle belt?

I think your question should be directed to Gideon orkar and his fellow middle belters who gavw their lives in an attempt to fix the middlebelt-south marginalisation in the country
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by dayokanu(m): 6:24pm On Dec 26, 2013
chukwudi44:

I think your question should be directed to Gideon orkar and his fellow middle belters who gavw their lives in an attempt to fix the middlebelt-south marginalisation in the country

maybe you should ask why in Orkars speech he didnt expel Niger State where IBB came from from the Nigerian union like he did for Kano, Sokoto, Katsina, bauchi and Borno

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Olaolufred(m): 6:24pm On Dec 26, 2013
chukwudi44:

Is it Gidoen orkar that is defending foolishness or chu-kwu-di?
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Nobody: 6:33pm On Dec 26, 2013
dayokanu:

maybe you should ask why in Orkars speech he didnt expel Niger State where IBB came from from the Nigerian union like he did for Kano, Sokoto, Katsina, bauchi and Borno

Why should he say the middlebelt were marginalised if he thought a middlebelter was in power
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Olaolufred(m): 6:40pm On Dec 26, 2013
THIS MAY HELP YOU.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CCgQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fen.m.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2FMiddle_Belt&ei=12e8Uq3bNqX30gX2vYAI&usg=AFQjCNEgtks67FzDjAzhJe3DYYVIUY3SbQ
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by IGBOSON1: 6:44pm On Dec 26, 2013
Olaolufred: I JUST REMEMBERED THAT WE USE TO CALL ANYONE WHO ACTS LIKE MUMU CHUKWUDI IN MY SECONDARY SCHOOL DAYS.

^^^Your school would be so proud of how you eventually turned out.....you can't pass through a sewer and still emerge clean at the other end! wink

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Olaolufred(m): 6:48pm On Dec 26, 2013
IGBO-SON:

^^^Your school would be so proud of how you eventually turned out.....you can't pass through a sewer and still emerge clean at the other end! wink

Congratulation.
Now do you have a support with evidence to back up chu-kwu-di?

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by dayokanu(m): 6:52pm On Dec 26, 2013
chukwudi44:

Why should he say the middlebelt were marginalised if he thought a middlebelter was in power

You are pushing the limits of foolishness

South South are still complaining of Marginalisation despite that their son retardeen is president

[size=14pt]South-South is also marginalised — Briggs[/size]

Do you think this talk about marginalisation of the South-West by President Goodluck Jonathan’s administration is justified?

Well, I think anybody who is being marginalised has the right to cry out. We, the Ijaw and other Niger Delta people, also feel marginalised by Jonathan’s government. So, South-West can cry that they are marginalised but they are not the only ones.

How is the South-South marginalised by this administration?

Where is our East-West Road? Where is the empowerment with oil wells and things that some people got from other governments and things that some northerners got when the North was in position? Where is our own?

http://www.punchng.com/politics/crossfire/south-south-is-also-marginalised-briggs/

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by SamIkenna: 7:02pm On Dec 26, 2013
Olaolufred: I JUST REMEMBERED THAT WE USE TO CALL ANYONE WHO ACTS LIKE MUMU CHUKWUDI IN MY SECONDARY SCHOOL DAYS.

Having witnessed unprecedented "fronting" and "braggadocio" here on NL, I'm tempted to ask you, Mr Olaolufred, to tell us what kind of "ENGINEER" you are.

If we have to take people seriously in a faceless forum such as NL, at the very least, we ought to test the veracity of their claims. To that end sir, I would like you to shed some light, give us a little more "beaf," and make us believe you. I'm saying - tell us your field and let's test you on it and see if you're actually what you say you are.

Mind you, I'm not saying you're not an engineer. I just want NLers to test your claim, and perhaps, test others' in the future too.

So, lets roll it.

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by WarriPikin1: 7:11pm On Dec 26, 2013
No Northern christian or anyone from the North Central zone will be allowed anywhere close to representing the north in Nigeria.
You can only represent the north if you are from Northeast or northwest.

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Nobody: 7:14pm On Dec 26, 2013
Warri _Pikin: No Northern christian or anyone from the North Central zone will be allowed anywhere close to representing the north in Nigeria.

You de mind them?
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Olaolufred(m): 7:23pm On Dec 26, 2013
Sam_Ikenna:

Having witnessed unprecedented "fronting" and "braggadocio" here on NL, I'm tempted to ask you, Mr Olaolufred, to tell us what kind of "ENGINEER" you are.

If we have to take people seriously in a faceless forum such as NL, at the very least, we ought to test the veracity of their claims. To that end sir, I would like you to shed some light, give us a little more "beaf," and make us believe you. I'm saying - tell us your field and let's test you on it and see if you're actually what you say you are.

Mind you, I'm not saying you're not an engineer. I just want NLers to test your claim, and perhaps, test others' in the future too.

So, lets roll it.

You and who?
Before I can allow such test, I must be able to know you are not another chu-kwu-di.
Thanks for your concern.

Can you help him list the states that makes middle belt?
This should be a start test for your own field of engineering.
Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by Nobody: 7:27pm On Dec 26, 2013
dayokanu:

You are pushing the limits of foolishness

South South are still complaining of Marginalisation despite that their son retardeen is president

So gideon orkar risked his life to remove another middle belter? You seriously think so? Making a political statement is differant from risking your life

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by dayokanu(m): 7:28pm On Dec 26, 2013
Warri _Pikin: No Northern christian or anyone from the North Central zone will be allowed anywhere close to representing the north in Nigeria.

When you guys claim North ruled for 38yrs you also include the 18yrs of rule by the North Central

North east ruled - Tafawa Balewa 6yrs

North west - Murtala 1 yr, Shaari 4yrs, Buhari 1 yr, Abacha 5yrs Yar Adua 3yrs total 14yrs

North Central gowon 9yrs, IBB 8yrs, Abdulsalam 1yr total 18yrs

So your statement has been proven to be false as usual

Re: Can A Northern Christian/middle Belt Represent The North In The Presidency by dayokanu(m): 7:29pm On Dec 26, 2013
chukwudi44:

So gideon orkar risked his life to remove another middle belter? You seriously think so? Making a political statement is differant from risking your life

Did Buhari not plot to remove a fellow Northerner called Shagari

Break Down Of Amounts Donated By Nigerians In Pledge For The Terror Victims Supp / Sights And Sound Of OSUN State During Election.enjoy. / 3 Hotel Attendants Docked For Recording Customer’s Sexual Escapadeo

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 82