Stats: 3,150,839 members, 7,810,229 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 01:09 AM

Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? - Jobs/Vacancies (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Jobs/Vacancies / Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? (39256 Views)

Its Either You Are On First Class Or 2:1.... / They Require A Third Class Graduate. What Could Be The Reason? / Now Employed, 1st Class Graduate Spends First Wage On Billboard To Say Thanks! (2) (3) (4)

Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by olayincar(m): 5:23pm On Nov 16, 2014
If evil people are nt doing him/her

smiley
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Nobody: 5:25pm On Nov 16, 2014
Tell me more sad sad sad sad sad sad sad sad sad
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Bonbolos(m): 5:25pm On Nov 16, 2014
But I got many jobs offer without stress
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by daryoor(m): 5:26pm On Nov 16, 2014
im sure there a first class people struggling to get jobs...because THIS IS NAIJA. everything is different in naija

Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by stanisbaratheon: 5:26pm On Nov 16, 2014
la cram la pour causes it.
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Mahdtoy: 5:26pm On Nov 16, 2014
Some of them only brilliant but no exposure and social oriented.

Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by classiclee(m): 5:28pm On Nov 16, 2014
mikky4all:
Was discussing with a friend today and we talked on graduate with first class. I will like to know your opinion and your say on reasons why a first class graduate might not get employed
In this Nigeria who is Ready to Pay
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by idealsico(m): 5:30pm On Nov 16, 2014
Education positions one to be able to solve problems through the application of knowledge. If one goes about brandishing certificates, but lacking wisdom in solving real time problems, then those certificates are useless. In that case a first class graduate who can only solve complicated engineering mathematics problems, for instance, but can not loose a nut can not be employed for engineering jobs requiring hands-on expertise.

Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Odunharry(m): 5:34pm On Nov 16, 2014
hardbody:
Every first class graduate is an automatic employee of his university of graduation as a lecturer assistant while he pursues his Ph.d. Except he chooses to go get work elsewhere. So there is no he won't get a job. Infact having a first class has nullified all the local juju powers. Again except the guy does not wanna start from somewhere.
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by hadizadeezy(f): 5:37pm On Nov 16, 2014
Profcamsey:
Another stupid thread to discourage first-class students like me.
must people lie on NL?

Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by holatin(m): 5:40pm On Nov 16, 2014
spiritual issue you don't believe go try burn babalowo house then you will know that kulikuli is a foreign exchange
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Nobody: 5:41pm On Nov 16, 2014
Profcamsey:
come out with ur first class ooo , u need it. Just develop yourself along....Team work ,leadership skills, networking. Those are competencies that will help you, but your first class comes first in this era of cheap second class upper.

Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Nobody: 5:43pm On Nov 16, 2014
keyzid:
The only reason I fEel a first class student won't get a job is, if He/She while in school didn't for once, read, in order to broaden his/her scope of knowledge. He/She might be going with the believe that once he cram it and pour it, his/her distinction is very accertained. Buh lemme make a fact known to you, the case of a first class student cramming and pouring it is very rare. First class students don't read like that. If you're this type that cram and pour, you're only going to make good 2.1 points. 4.3, 4.2, and 4.1.
well sadly, majority of the Interviews for entry level positions barely ask technical questions , I mean questions relating to your field *most*
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by greatiyk4u(m): 5:44pm On Nov 16, 2014
Only if d person schooled in france.......meaning d person can't write or speak in english
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by sanmtiago(m): 5:44pm On Nov 16, 2014
If u are a bank manager
wud u employ a first class graduate or u want make e snatche ur position
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Nobody: 5:44pm On Nov 16, 2014
I don't see any reason why a first class student should not be able to get job because they'r by default employed as graduate assistant in almost all higher institutions after graduation. At least he or she can still work as a graduate assistant while waiting for his/her dream job (that's if he is not interested in a teaching position).
In the event that he/she is not offered a GA position and had still not been able to get job after 1 or 2 years then he/she has not mastered the art of solving aptitude tests. Aptitude test solving skill is another skill itself that is not taught in school and is not a respecter of first class or second class. You just have to master it.

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by BobbyRobson: 5:46pm On Nov 16, 2014
man know man syndrome will deny them of getting jobs in federal government parastatals.
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by PROCTOR: 5:47pm On Nov 16, 2014
For less than fifty students to distinguish themselves outta like ten thousand graduates......i c no reason why he won't get a job
there are certain instances where u've just helped urself past any hindrance..even if AYE IS INVOLVED
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Lasveg(m): 5:51pm On Nov 16, 2014
e dey very possible na, if u graduate with 1st class from a private uni...

Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Dotng: 5:51pm On Nov 16, 2014
I have heard of two cases of those who couldn't secure appointment even in the Federal university they graduated from. The more recent one is into brick making. I don't know why it is so. But it is.
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Karleb(m): 5:54pm On Nov 16, 2014
kamez:
Only two reasons..

1. He bought the certificate ..thus it becomes impossible to defend it.. When you take all these oil and gas exam like shell and chevron, u ll understand better

2. Dem don nail the photocopy of him certificate for one big iroko tree inside evil forest..

grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin gringrin grin

*Dies* cry
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by okito: 5:59pm On Nov 16, 2014
All I can say is if you are still in School and capable of making a first class, please ensure you bag it. You will never regret doing so!

Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Nobody: 6:02pm On Nov 16, 2014
majekdom2:
well sadly, majority of the Interviews for entry level positions barely ask technical questions , I mean questions relating to your field *most*
That's another sad news about it. I feel this isn't right.
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Abduletudaye(m): 6:02pm On Nov 16, 2014
I had 2 first class students in my classs then...the school automatically enployed the lady but the other first class hasn't gotten a job till date...
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by bendeco(m): 6:03pm On Nov 16, 2014
Profcamsey:

Just take a look @ ursef.....see as resemble Monkey.... 1st class mugu... lol
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by poiZon: 6:05pm On Nov 16, 2014
TheNaijan:

Reserved...
It's easy:
If he is from a country like Nigeria... Where a 3rd class person could be his boss! And you know what that means... or where a person that didn't go to school is somehow above him...or get a job due to his or her connections...
If he can't account for his degree...ie: He bought his degree or something...or can't defend his degree... It's funny, I heard stories of some computer science students in Nigeria have never coded on an actual computer before--If they do get a first class degrees-don't think Google or some good company would employ them...even the Google manager for Nigeria said so on Channelstv a couple of weeks ago.
If he's degree is sh_t...Some degrees don't just sell, period... Example: degree in ....#complete

Fahrenheit.

Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by paulshakur: 6:05pm On Nov 16, 2014
That's good to know
Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by Appswheel(m): 6:07pm On Nov 16, 2014
This question is not one to answer in a rush. The best people to answer this question are the scores of first class graduates who are yet to get a job. below are reasons that popped up in my thoughts.

1. The individual in question may be d choosy type. demanding a particular amount as salary.
2. There are too many first class graduates in our society, therefore d labor market cannot absolve all at a given time.
3. The job position in question may require a minimum no of years of experience.
4. different organisations have their requirement that not merely based on grade. if you make a first class and fail job test how do you get the job?
5 Lack of competence on the part of the candidate
6...........many otherr factors can cause it. I will leave oothers to name them

Let me add that there is more to life than making a first class. Nobody deserves to be jobless. In my opinion, there are 2 categories of employment.

1. Self employment
2. Paid employment.

if you are a graduate and do not belong to any of the group above, i am afraid you are making yourself a liability to society. But you know what? you have what it takes to succeed. Decide what you want n learn what it takes to get it. I call it self realization n self education. You need some inspiration, motivation? visit my eduportal @ www..com

Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by AdebisiAdeyinka(m): 6:08pm On Nov 16, 2014
[color=#000099][/color]EASY BRO

1 Share

Re: Why A First Class Graduate Might Not Get A Job? by aspirebig: 6:08pm On Nov 16, 2014
It is very rare but possible as some of them roam the streets of Lagos,Abuja etc joblessly,but here are some reasons for this,believing that the person have finished serving NYSC:
1.Home trouble. This one is self explanatory,as the name implies.
2.Curse, as in if the person is from a very wicked polygamous family.Maybe the senior wife whose children didn't go to university has taken the person name to one baba or one iya somewhere.
3.Bewitched statement of result/ certificate.if doesn't matter whether you believe it or not,we are in Africa,these things happen.In fact, next MFM PMCH in Dec is specifically for this topic. Treat as important,if you are a graduate but has not been able to use your result to get a good job. Try to attend the PMCH for your own good.
4.Other external factorsadNigerian factors) This includes tribalism, favorism,nepotism,etc. That time you will be hearing things like' abeg make persin hear word,na imm be d ist to get 1st class,s/he is not d ist and cannot be d last. We don dey see ist class e don tey,liv dat tin,we go give d work to the other guy wt pass afterall graduate na graduate. The ist class sef,who know whether na buy em buy am.etc. And the person saying all these may just b another pass graduate b4 he did his PGD and masters and become an oga in the Human Resources dept.
5. Fear of over qualify :Some people feels that a ist class graduate is overqualified to be employed. They rather employ 2:1 or most likely 2:2. With some yrs of experience .Ok,how many adverts have u seen that only ist class degree holders should apply?
6. Fear of underperformance: Some employers feel that being a ist class holder in school is very different from doing the job proper. They feel ist class student will make a better lecturer in the academic and not a worker in a corporate environment,as the work is all not based on theories or craming taught in school but also changes in the work place,environment and other forces in the business world.
7. Inferiority Complex and Fear of control: some employers also fear that since they themselves didn't have ist class,they will be somwhow feeling inferior to ist class holder .
8. Inability to convince the interviewers:
Being a ist class holder doesn't mean that the fellow cannot fail an interview. I don't mean the test,the fellow can score 100 over 100 in the tests,but the interviews and chats,pre chats are a different ball game entirely.
9.Lack of proper dressing: in some job roles,they way you dress,smile,personal disposition,look confident during the interview session will a long way to make or mar your job hunt successful or not. Some people do not know how to dress,especially in a very sensitive position where you will be the company brand ambassador to the world. Then you wear one old black shoe and brown belt,guy u don yab... They no dey teach this one for uni oooo.
10. Not doing proper research about the company that you are seeking job from. As a ist class holder,you are seen as a 'star' so it is expected that you know the company very well,know its close competitors,know their respective SWOT,do your home work well. Then you may go online to get more information.
Gone are the days that ist class gives you an automatic employment letter,brand new car,house and other juicy packages,atleast not in naija any more. You must wake up to the reality of the day and fight for your place.

They can be more reasons too.

However,in a nutshell,whatever is the issue,prayerfully,it will be overcome.

My Ordeal With GNLD Neolife Today / These 10 Things On Your CV COULD Be The Reason You’re Not Getting Hired / Nigerian Army List Of Candidates Shortlisted For 73rri Pre-screening Examination

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 42