Stats: 3,153,912 members, 7,821,182 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 09:25 AM

Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems (7277 Views)

Why Buhari Could Not Be Treated In Nigeria, Health Minister, Adewole Reveals / No Plastic Rice In Nigeria – Health Minister, Debunks Claims By Nigerian Customs / Possible Solution To The Lacuna On The Kogi Polls (2) (3) (4)

Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 10:04am On Aug 03, 2015
I have stated several times that the health care system in Nigeria is absolutely non existent. It pains me deeply when i see people die from small infections out of the fear of visiting the hospital, not for the fear quacks or medication but the fear of payment.
This calls for the setup of a functional health insurance scheme, I will like to propose an idea that should work, we spend a lot on making phone calls in Nigeria, can we dedicate 10% of every recharge we purchase to a collective insurance fund.
We currently have about 50 million active GSM lines in Nigeria, if 25 million of us load 100 naira airtime daily, thats about 250 million naira going into this fund daily. The weak ones amongst us can go to the hospital for treatment while the hospital sends their bill to the insurance company.
This system is government/corruption free.

We need to look beyond the government for our survival, we need to put a premium on every Nigeria, the government should concentrate on equipping it's hospitals and ensure standards in private hospital.

This policy should help improve standards as hospitals receives their payment in time and hospitals that falls below standard gets dropped from insurance payment.

I chose to post this here instead of the health section for proper debate. Feel free to add and criticize.

Ishilove

4 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by MizMyColi(f): 10:14am On Aug 03, 2015
I think I like this idea.
But it's a pipe dream for now.
There are more pressing issues which demand apt attention.
Our president has made it clear that Nigeria is still far from el-dorado.
We can only hope for better direction on the part of those whom we have given the mandate to pilot the affairs of our nation.

Slowly, steadily, and hopefully, we will get there.
I am optimistic.
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 10:19am On Aug 03, 2015
MizMyColi:
We can only hope for better direction on the part of those whom we have given the mandate to pilot the affairs of our nation.

I am optimistic.
I agree there are pressing issues, we as citizens should also contribute to governance by suggest or proffering solutions to our problems.
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Vyolet(f): 10:23am On Aug 03, 2015
Federal Government is really trying their best on this health insurance thing I must be sincere,taking the National Health Insurance Scheme(NHIS), for example. it is limited to Federal workers though but they still try.

The people you want to give free medicals to ,are they even ready to visit the hospitals? so many people do not visit the hospital unless their case has gone so bad,people's lifestyles also do not help matters.

What I am saying in essence is that, many things are subsidised in Govt. hospitals already but ignorance a d negligence won't make the people visit.
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by MizMyColi(f): 10:24am On Aug 03, 2015
Also, I think that before something like this is implemented, there ought to be a transformational change in our thinking
The public has to be sensitized that insurance and health benefits isn't meant for the rich only.
Nigeria isn't particularly an egalitarian society in this regard.

To begin with, the average Nigerian does not see a need for a hospital, except water has passed garri level (pun intended).

Sometimes, we're down with burning fever and instead of visiting the hospital, we'd rather visit Chemist, or call a nurse, or better still just wait for the fever to go naturally.

This reminds me of the NHIS....I wonder what became of it.
I'm aware that bureaucratic bottle necks might have hijacked the scheme, but I feel that those who really need it weren't sensitized enough on the importance.
It's not only about rolling out laudable campaigns/messages but ensuring that those who really need it are able to decode and buy into the idea, thereby adopting it as their own.
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 10:35am On Aug 03, 2015
Vyolet:
Federal Government is really trying their best on this health insurance thing I must be sincere,taking the National Health Insurance Scheme(NHIS), for example. it is limited to Federal workers though but they still try.
This is not good enough, the number of federal workers is less than 5% of our entire population, the government as it stands now does not have the funds to run a comprehensive insurance scheme.

The people you want to give free medicals to ,are they even ready to visit the hospitals? so many people do not visit the hospital unless their case has gone so bad,people's lifestyles also do not help matters.
I don't think we are giving free treatment to anyone other than children and women because almost every adult own a phone and contributes to the scheme.

The only reason people don't visit hospital is that they are scared of the bills.

What I am saying in essence is that, many things are subsidised in Govt. hospitals already but ignorance a d negligence won't make the people visit.

The question here is how many public hospitals are there, how close are they to us? one government hospital per state is suicidal
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by BlackBaron: 10:37am On Aug 03, 2015
There needs to be a deep rethinking of the whole health care situation in Nigeria. First is the standard of hospitals.
I shuddered at the type of amenities in one of the most expensive hospitals in Nigeria where millions are paid out for bills. It is laughable that that's what is essentially considered one of the best in the country.

For a start, there should be at least one 'standard' hospital in every local government with ability to cater to hundreds. Specialised hospitals such as pediatric, A&E, etc can be situated centrally in each state but with a caveat that each hospitals can perform a degree of 'stabilisation' for any type of emergencies before transferring to other suitable hospitals.

A lot of things are already militating against suitable healthcare. High cost of construction, land, power generation means that the so called best hospitals are so dear with minimal equipment only because they have to justify the capital invested in that project.

Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 10:38am On Aug 03, 2015
MizMyColi:
Also, I think that before something like this is implemented, there ought to be a transformational change in our thinking
The public has to be sensitized that insurance and health benefits isn't meant for the rich only.
Nigeria isn't particularly an egalitarian society in this regard.

To begin with, the average Nigerian does not see a need for a hospital, except water has passed garri level (pun intended).

Sometimes, we're down with burning fever and instead of visiting the hospital, we'd rather visit Chemist, or call a nurse, or better still just wait for the fever to go naturally.

This reminds me of the NHIS....I wonder what became of it.
I'm aware that bureaucratic bottle necks might have hijacked the scheme, but I feel that those who really need it weren't sensitized enough on the importance.
It's not only about rolling out laudable campaigns/messages but ensuring that those who really need it are able to decode and buy into the idea, thereby adopting it as their own.
Trust me many people will visit the hospital when they know they are not going to pay a dime or atleast they know they already paid via their recharge.
Free health care worked in the past when the government could afford it.
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Happiness87(f): 10:39am On Aug 03, 2015
Obiagelli:
I have stated several times that the health care system in Nigeria is absolutely non existent. It pains me deeply when i see people die from small infections out of the fear of visiting the hospital, not for the fear quacks or medication but the fear of payment.
This calls for the setup of a functional health insurance scheme, I will like to propose an idea that should work, we spend a lot on making phone calls in Nigeria, can we dedicate 10% of every recharge we purchase to a collective insurance fund.
We currently have about 50 million active GSM lines in Nigeria, if 25 million of us load 100 naira airtime daily, thats about 250 million naira going into this fund daily. The weak ones amongst us can go to the hospital for treatment while the hospital sends their bill to the insurance company.

We need to look beyond the government for our survival, we need to put a premium on every Nigeria, the government should concentrate on equipping it's hospitals and ensure standards in private hospital.

This policy should help improve standards as hospitals receives their payment in time and hospitals that falls below standard gets dropped from insurance payment.

I chose to post this here instead of the health section for proper debate. Feel free to add and criticize.
very few people understand insurance,

Airtel has a plan on that but Many people are not aware, or not well informed

Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 10:44am On Aug 03, 2015
BlackBaron:
There needs to be a deep rethinking of the whole health care situation in Nigeria. First is the standard of hospitals.
I shuddered at the type of amenities in one of the most expensive hospitals in Nigeria where millions are paid out for bills. It is laughable that that's what is essentially considered one of the best in the country.
You are absolutely correct about standards, I believe this is where the government comes in and this system also helps to improve standards as more people visit the hospitals they make more money
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 10:46am On Aug 03, 2015
Happiness87:
very few people understand insurance,

Airtel has a plan on that but Many people are not aware, or not well informed
That is why this system is slightly different from Airtel's plan, 10 naira out of 100 naira recharge won't/shouldn't hurt anyone
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by semitunde: 11:03am On Aug 03, 2015
Let me get this, is it that we buy a N100 recharge card and post the whole amount to a code for the insurance company; or we buy whatever amount of recharge card and only get 90% value since the 10% remaining will be transfered to the insurance coy.

Both ideas above at good, but I prefer the latter.
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 11:08am On Aug 03, 2015
semitunde:
Let me get this, is it that we buy a N100 recharge card and post the whole amount to a code for the insurance company; or we buy whatever amount of recharge card and only get 90% value since the 10% remaining will be transfered to the insurance coy.

Both ideas above at good, but I prefer the latter.
The latter
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Vyolet(f): 11:15am On Aug 03, 2015
Obiagelli:

This is not good enough, the number of federal workers is less than 5% of our entire population, the government as it stands now does not have the funds to run a comprehensive insurance scheme.

I don't think we are giving free treatment to anyone other than children and women because almost every adult own a phone and contributes to the scheme.

The only reason people don't visit hospital is that they are scared of the bills.

The question here is how many public hospitals are there, how close are they to us? one government hospital per state is suicidal
I am not saying all medicals are free in Govt. hospitals,all I am saying is,most of the treatments and services are subsidised but people do not know due to ignorance.

I'd smile at your conclusion that the ONLY reason people don't visit hospital is that they are scared of bills,capital NO. Most people from my own experience on the field especially the rural residents do not visit hospitals due to ignorance or rather spiritual reasons, most do not even believe in orthodox medicine,so even if govt. makes medicals free for all today,these people won't still visit the hospitals. Do you believe there are women who still have their babies at home? there are at least Primary Health Care (PHC) in most wards in a Local govt area in Nigeria today even in core villages you'd least expect,yet these people would rather stay home to take local herbs with the belief that orthodox medicines are just chalks.
This belief is not even limited to illiterates,those that are well schooled still act the same.
Family planning methods
Free malaria tests
Free HIV screening/treatment
Free mammography
etc are all available and yet due to fear,people won't turn up for all these.

A typical Nigerian believe that "what you don't know wouldn't kill you". Now would the Govt. force people to do what they do not wish to do?
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 11:20am On Aug 03, 2015
Vyolet:

I am not saying all medicals are free in Govt. hospitals,all I am saying is,most of the treatments and services are subsidised but people do not know due to ignorance.

I'd smile at your conclusion that the ONLY reason people don't visit hospital is that they are scared of bills,capital NO. Most people from my own experience on the field especially the rural residents do not visit hospitals due to ignorance or rather spiritual reasons, most do not even believe in orthodox medicine,so even if govt. makes medicals free for all today,these people won't still visit the hospitals. Do you believe there are women who still have their babies at home? there are at least Primary Health Care (PHC) in most wards in a Local govt area in Nigeria today even in core villages you'd least expect,yet these people would rather stay home to take local herbs with the belief that orthodox medicines are just chalks.
This belief is not even limited to illiterates,those that are well schooled still act the same.
Family planning methods
Free malaria tests
Free mammography

A typical Nigerian believe that "what you don't know wouldn't kill you". Now would the Govt. force people to do what they do not wish to do?
You made good points especially the rural example, unfortunately we haven't had totally free hospitals to test this analogy, we should also add awareness to this campaign to make it a complete package.
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by semitunde: 11:22am On Aug 03, 2015
Obiagelli:

The latter

OK. Yeah I support this. If its done on all networks. Don't even know where my airtel sim card is ( assuming its only in Airtel)
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 11:31am On Aug 03, 2015
semitunde:

OK. Yeah I support this. If its done on all networks. Don't even know where my airtel sim card is ( assuming its only in Airtel)
It should be done on all networks, you load 100 naira for instance and 90 naira appears on your balance while 10 naira goes to the insurance fund. I don't think it should be voluntary, that way everyone is contributing
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by semitunde: 11:46am On Aug 03, 2015
Obiagelli:

It should be done on all networks, you load 100 naira for instance and 90 naira appears on your balance while 10 naira goes to the insurance fund. I don't think it should be voluntary, that way everyone is contributing

Making it compulsory will have road blocks as regards the law and personal rights.
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by patrickmuf(m): 11:51am On Aug 03, 2015
Nice one...This is the change we seek...
A shift from criticism aimed at pulling down to a more constructive analysis aimed at addressing/tackling our collective challenges headlong...Kudos Obiagelli...
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by alphalpha(m): 11:56am On Aug 03, 2015
MizMyColi:

I am optimistic.

Health is always a pressing issue
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by MizMyColi(f): 11:57am On Aug 03, 2015
alphalpha:

Health is always a pressing issue

Than the lives that are currently being laid to waist at the sound of a bomb and cocking of a rifle?
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 12:46pm On Aug 03, 2015
patrickmuf:
Nice one...This is the change we seek...
A shift from criticism aimed at pulling down to a more constructive analysis aimed at addressing/tackling our collective challenges headlong...Kudos Obiagelli...
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 12:47pm On Aug 03, 2015
semitunde:

Making it compulsory will have road blocks as regards the law and personal rights.
It could ,passing a law could fix that
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by alphalpha(m): 5:15pm On Aug 03, 2015
MizMyColi:

Than the lives that are currently being laid to waist at the sound of a bomb and cocking of a rifle?

Not saying that. Just saying it is an issue that always requires attention.

If someone is faced with the problem of rescuing his wife from fleeing robbers, his parents from kidnappers, his children from ritualists, some other VIP from a burning house, it would be wiser to multitask rather than concentrating on just one

Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by MizMyColi(f): 9:11pm On Aug 03, 2015
alphalpha:

Not saying that. Just saying it is an issue that always requires attention.

If someone is faced with the problem of rescuing his wife from fleeing robbers, his parents from kidnappers, his children from ritualists, some other VIP from a burning house, it would be wiser to multitask rather than concentrating on just one

I see your point.

Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by dahaz(m): 9:23pm On Aug 03, 2015
Obiagelli:

I think your idea is similar to the national health insurance scheme NHIS although limited to federal govt wokers.

This is the kind of post we should be seeing on nairaland. Identifying our problems and finding possible solutions. We cant tell which govt official is on nairaland.
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 9:35pm On Aug 03, 2015
dahaz:

I think your idea is similar to the national health insurance scheme NHIS although limited to federal govt wokers.

This is the kind of post we should be seeing on nairaland. Identifying our problems and finding possible solutions. We cant tell which govt official is on nairaland.
Thanks for your contribution, I hoping that this thread will generate wider discourse.
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by laudate: 12:37pm On Aug 06, 2015
Vyolet:

Family planning methods
Free malaria tests
Free mammography

Ehn?? shocked shocked Mammography is free or subsidised, in which government hospital, biko nu? sad

Am yet to see this in any government hospital in Lagos, oh! shocked

If you don't have about 12,000 to 20,000 naira, na God I take beg you, don't even attempt going to a govt owned hospital in Lagos! Even malaria test and HIV Tests are not free!
Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Nobody: 9:01pm On Oct 07, 2015
Time to take that much needed sabbatical from Nairaland, i am making this last post for those that will wonder where obiagelli has gone. I will be back hopefully very soon (maybe few weeks).

In the meantime i hope this thread hits the front page someday, it will save a lot of lives. Love you all.

Re: Possible Solution To Nigeria's Health Care Problems by Alphaoscar: 10:27am On Dec 06, 2015
Obiagelli:
Time to take that much needed sabbatical from Nairaland, i am making this last post for those that will wonder where obiagelli has gone. I will be back hopefully very soon (maybe few weeks).

In the meantime i hope this thread hits the front page someday, it will save a lot of lives. Love you all.

wherever you are I hope and believe you are enjoy the love of God. I personally miss your insightful posts and analysis here. have a blessed and peaceful days forever .

NNAMDI KANU Aided By Mossad,Israel Country's Spy Agency. BBC / A Nairalanders Plea To Introduce Sharia In Lagos State. / Nairaland Doesn't Support Nigeria Breakup:Stop Using Ijaw militants as decoy!

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 84