Stats: 3,153,211 members, 7,818,713 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 10:34 PM

Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners (3256 Views)

Buhari Names Osinbajo 'Coordinator' In His Letter To Senate / Buhari Names Six INEC And Five NPC Commissioners / Buhari Names New Federal Permanent Secretaries And Their Portfolios (2) (3) (4)

Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by Laredojohn(m): 1:22pm On Oct 21, 2015
President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday named Prof. Mahmood Yakubu as the National Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The appointment was consequently approved at the first meeting of the Council of State presided over by Buhari.

Five new national commissioners were also named for the commission.

The national commissioners are Mrs. Amina Zakari (North-West); Dr. Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine (North Central); Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (North-East); Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Lecky (South-South) and Mr. Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (South-West).

The South-East is said to still have a sitting national commissioner.

Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State briefed State House correspondents at the end of the meeting.
ADVERTISEMENT

Details later…
source: http://www.punchng.com/news/buhari-names-inec-chairman-five-commissioners/
cc: lalasticlala
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by SMARTKEED: 1:22pm On Oct 21, 2015
hmmmm nawa
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by Nobody: 1:22pm On Oct 21, 2015
Great..the Council of State should have passed a vote of confidence on PMB...

So Jonathan was absent abi...in Tanzania doing eye service shocked

Jonathan sef shocked

Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by hamzakito(m): 1:26pm On Oct 21, 2015
ok
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by eleko1: 1:28pm On Oct 21, 2015
Good but baba should have appoint Igbo man to take charge of North East, a Yoruba man to South South. Hausa to East and South to West.
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by BALLOSKI: 1:38pm On Oct 21, 2015

He is an expert in guerrilla warfare, terrorism and counter-terrorism.
I heard the new inec chairman has this as part of his credentials.

We need him with the DSS more.
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by honestivo(m): 1:38pm On Oct 21, 2015
Northernization of Nigeria @ it pick

Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by BALLOSKI: 1:40pm On Oct 21, 2015
eleko1:
Good but baba should have appoint Igbo man to take charge of North East, a Yoruba man to South South. Hausa to East and South to West.
even the man currently occupying the SE seat is from yobe state.

BUHARI is lopsided in his appointment. embarassed

Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by eleko1: 1:43pm On Oct 21, 2015
BALLOSKI:
even the man currently occupying the SE seat is from yobe state.

BUHARI is lopsided in his appointment. embarassed
He go better.If dey nor perform, we'll shovel them out in 2019 undecided
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by BlackrulesDworld(m): 1:44pm On Oct 21, 2015
3 northerners? Booari is a bigot!
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by TonyeBarcanista(m): 1:46pm On Oct 21, 2015
Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Lecky(South-South
Can someone should explain this to me

Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by BALLOSKI: 1:46pm On Oct 21, 2015
eleko1:
He go better.If dey nor perform, we'll shovel them out in 2019 undecided
so I hope.
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by BALLOSKI: 1:48pm On Oct 21, 2015
TonyeBarcanista:
booking space to modify later when ur epistle is ready?

Ok. What say you about this appointment?
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by merry02(m): 1:49pm On Oct 21, 2015
The seat belongs to South......I think this man knows what hes doing.
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by Babatindan: 1:51pm On Oct 21, 2015
Congrats prof. Hope he'll improve on d welfare of inec staff and increase their poor salary since Jega said his inability to pay inec staff well was the only regret he had. I know some inec staff and know they're not smiling.

Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by HAH: 1:53pm On Oct 21, 2015
Is that Dr Lecky formerly of NHIS representing south south ?
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by gebest: 1:56pm On Oct 21, 2015
k
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by ziccoit: 1:59pm On Oct 21, 2015
Brb
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by Nobody: 2:12pm On Oct 21, 2015
SE & SS beloongs to PDP so if PMB likes he should appoint Tinubu as a national commissioner there, APC ll stil loose

Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by miqos02(m): 2:22pm On Oct 21, 2015
ehheeeen
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by miqos02(m): 2:25pm On Oct 21, 2015

Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by vanunu: 2:35pm On Oct 21, 2015
This man is an ethnic bigot he will surely destroy Nigeria. An old man who some people expect to be fair to all, is behaving as if south of Nigeria does not exist. God must surely judge u.
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by Nudge: 2:44pm On Oct 21, 2015
Dr Mohammed Mustafa Lecky is from Auchi in Edo State, which is a part of the South-South. I feel some people are worried why a Muslim chosen from a Christian dominated South South. We should learn to realise that the Federal Character principle in Nigeria only considers ethnicity/tribes in balancing nominations, and religion place no role.
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by Nobody: 3:18pm On Oct 21, 2015
Tribalists would avoif this thread like it's ebola!
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by Nobody: 3:22pm On Oct 21, 2015
ECOTERRORS:
SE & SS beloongs to PDP so if PMB likes he should appoint Tinubu as a national commissioner there, APC ll stil loose
You're definitely not practicsing what is on your siggy
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by Okanokan(m): 3:23pm On Oct 21, 2015
Mr Buhari is helping the cause of self-determination, so whom am i to complain. I have done my bit in wanting him to succeed(though i do not believe in his ideology of CHANGE) I WISH HIM WELL IN THE ONEROUS TASK OF LEADING A FRAGMENTED NATION, divided deliberately on the basis of Religion.
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by TonyeBarcanista(m): 3:38pm On Oct 21, 2015
BALLOSKI:
booking space to modify later when ur epistle is ready?

Ok. What say you about this appointment?
Well, a victory for him and his appointees
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by vanunu: 3:40pm On Oct 21, 2015
Nigeria has blood in its hand, they killed 3million Igbos in 30 months, just like Hitler killed 6 million Jews in 6 years. Shame on Gowon.
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by TonyeBarcanista(m): 3:41pm On Oct 21, 2015
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by Beremx(f): 3:46pm On Oct 21, 2015
ECOTERRORS:
SE and SS bellongs to PDP? I thought the presidency has been zoned to the north?

My dear,teta nu ura! Chi e hu o la!
Re: Buhari Names INEC Chairman, Five Commissioners by dustydee: 4:07pm On Oct 21, 2015
looks balanced

Dame Patience Jonathan @ 58 : A Woman Of Timber And Caliber / Breaking: Nnamdi Kanu To Spend Xmas In Prison As Magistrate Loses Dad / See What Omojuwa Just Tweeted About Buhari

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 32