Stats: 3,153,016 members, 7,818,004 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 03:29 AM

Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway - Politics (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway (13464 Views)

Buhari Award $5.8 Billion Mambila Dam Power Plant Contract To Chinese State Firm / Reps Probe Award Of Multi-billion Naira Contract To 5-day-old Firm / Obiano Moves To Construct Railway In Anambra (2) (3) (4)

Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Kaybaba5(m): 1:47pm On Sep 02, 2016
We are going somewhere......

Everybody is entitled to his or her opinion...
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Goke7: 1:48pm On Sep 02, 2016
Guyman02:

Give the job to a local reputable company and source the slippers from Ajaokuta Steel, it will make more economic sense.
A country in recession does not outsource jobs with scarce resources; build capital projects and infrstructure that most of the materials can be can be sourced locally so that the money circulates

which company in Nigeria can successfully construct rail tracks in Nigeria? is ajaokuta now fully operational?

Guy e be like say you don't know how backward we are in obodo naija.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Reference(m): 1:49pm On Sep 02, 2016
Goke7:

This is the excuse PMB gave when he cancelled the Lagos rail project when he was military head of state back in the 80s. So many are yet to forgive him on that. Something tells me he is trying to redeem himself from that shameful error with the various rail projects he has been approving since he became President last year.

All you are saying is grammar, if nothing is done you guys will come up here to say the govt has no direction and is a failure.

Sometimes as Nigerians we over criticize and over analyze with nothing to show which is why we are where we are today.

No one is saying they should not do anything. Of course you must invest to bring yourself out of a recession but do it in the most productive way possible. Did Buhari cancel the metro in favour of something else more productive, employment generating, no. He did so for political reasons because of the perceived independence of the states which is the fore runner to the problems we have today in Nigeria. This is a different matter. Pure economics. The question is whether 1.8 billion dollars is best served by that project at this snapshot of a time. And for your information it is better to debate and over analyse things than to gamble. Sit down with the people and interact with them. Government is a partnership not a one way gungho trip.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Goke7: 1:52pm On Sep 02, 2016
aresa:

In economic down times, governments spends heavy on infrastructures, seek investments to generate jobs and boost economic activities, but on NL and according to lame, shallow and unintelligent people, economic down time is the time not to invest or seek investments and also not to create jobs..

Nigerian youths are so mentally warped, backward thinking and grossly shallow and it's sickening and disheartening..

egbon, the thing tire me, wetin person dey read on this thread fit make person get high bp o. Govt no spend, na wahala, Govt spend, na waste.

Its evident to all that this govt must fail to justify the failure of the previous govt. hence new projects no matter how sensible by this govt must be over analysed to make the govt look silly. No be small gbege o
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by rabex123(m): 1:59pm On Sep 02, 2016
CSTR2:
Shut the hell up, you ignorant doofus.
1.85billion dollars to china. What a wonderful achievement.
Do u have abeta idea
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Goke7: 1:59pm On Sep 02, 2016
Reference:

No one is saying they should not do anything. Of course you must invest to bring yourself out of a recession but do it in the most productive way possible. Did Buhari cancel the metro in favour of something else more productive, employment generating, no. He did so for political reasons because of the perceived independence of the states which is the fore runner to the problems we have today in Nigeria. This is a different matter. Pure economics. The question is whether 1.8 billion dollars is best served by that project at this snapshot of a time. And for your information it is better to debate and over analyse things than to gamble. Sit down with the people and interact with them. Government is a partnership not a one way gungho trip.

and where has all our debates and stakeholders' meeting over the years led us to? Guy if na debate dem de do for obodo oyinbo, we go de queue for their embassies? According to Raji Rasaki, action [asion governor in yoruba parlance] is what we need.

Even if PMB cancelled the Lagos rail project in the past for political reasons, is it a sin for him to make amends with the approval of all the rail projects so far?
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by EazyMoh(m): 2:06pm On Sep 02, 2016
Reference:

Thank you. It is not beef or chicken or turkey but mere common sense. Transport is a great force multiplier but will you buy a car, truck or van now or put the money into production of the goods you want to transport anyway. Production is down everywhere. Transport will make business more profitable. It wouldn't in itself create business. Government's priority now is to generate production, wealth before it thinks of enhancing profitability and ease of doing it. Its priority should be partnering with the privates to get people to work making stuff. Agric related infrastructure should be top priority now.
Don't mind them.
Not everyone understands the wisdom in prioritizing things. My former state governor ( Sule Lamido) installed street lights in every local government headquarter running on generator from dusk till down every day all year round! while the state ranks among the highest poverty ridden states with over 70% living in poverty. But our people list that (the street lighting) as one of his top most achievements.
And I repeat this rail will have no significant impact on production because it is basically metro line.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Reference(m): 2:06pm On Sep 02, 2016
Goke7:

which company in Nigeria can successfully construct rail tracks in Nigeria? is ajaokuta now fully operational?

The rule of development is that whatever you cannot make for yourself in times of hardship you shouldn't have. We have said it many times that we should diversify to develop. Why then the same old import driven dependency. Rail infrastructure is critical but there are other infrastructure we can build for ourselves in the now that can equally boost and diversify our economy. If agric is our primary way out then I suggest we throw our all into it for now. Get it going and then move on. An urban rail line reduces costs, it does not produce jack.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by CIGARETTE: 2:15pm On Sep 02, 2016
Reference:

Not if it is China. They do it all. They have an unemployed population ten times that of Nigeria, they produce EVERYTHING, and are miserly in renumeration and procurement. I have little hope it will create anything like micro economy beyond food vendors and cigarette hawkers. If the government wants the project to enhance the economy of Kano state directly, it should execute by direct labour and insist on local content. The benefits of the project are not in earnings but cost savings because all monies are in naira and it is government so will be most likely welfarist.
U mentioned my name oga
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Reference(m): 2:21pm On Sep 02, 2016
Goke7:

Free yourself from the captivity of 'company'. What is a company. Is it not a collection of people with vision, drive and competencies. Seperate them and you will find out there are several Nigerians with expertise in rail construction. Get them to moon light or sabatical for the 'Kano Metroline Project'. Lease equipment on favourable terms and source all but the absolutely impossible materials from local manufacturers. There are a number of foundries in Nigeria that will look at that 1.8 billion dollar cake and absolutely drool at it. They will retool away from rebar to make rail lines in a heart beat. Has the government made this inquiry yet. Let's be honest. We are not serious in this country. With all the rail projects completed, underway and proposed through the length and breadth of Nigeria, government has not realized they can insist that these Chinese folks build steel factories and foundries in Nigeria? Or give them Ajaokuta free of charge.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by CIGARETTE: 2:23pm On Sep 02, 2016
Shit
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Reference(m): 2:26pm On Sep 02, 2016
;
CIGARETTE:
U mentioned my name oga

grin If you stay in Kano for a while and know the Chinese well, you will be their close friend. You are the only thing they share in common.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by CIGARETTE: 2:30pm On Sep 02, 2016
Reference:
;

grin If you stay in Kano for a while and know the Chinese well, you will be their close friend. You are the only thing they share in common.
lol ok o
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Goke7: 2:31pm On Sep 02, 2016
Reference:

The rule of development is that whatever you cannot make for yourself in times of hardship you shouldn't have. We have said it many times that we should diversify to develop. Why then the same old import driven dependency. Rail infrastructure is critical but there are other infrastructure we can build for ourselves in the now that can equally boost and diversify our economy. If agric is our primary way out then I suggest we throw our all into it for now. Get it going and then move on. An urban rail line reduces costs, it does not produce jack.

am sorry, you are not convincing at all, you say rail infrastructure is critical but because of recession we should not touch it and then you now say an urban rail line reduces cost. In your trying to over analyze which I pointed out earlier, you are already contradicting yourself.

I think your problem is the Chinese angle which is the forex issue but you are over looking the spiral effect into the economy, you already said it will reduce cost and not produce jack, what you forget is that transportation costs are factored into production and if cost of transportation reduces there will be tendencies to produce more, hence increase in productivity. You are looking at the short term which is typical of us as Nigerians but you forget preventing future economic crisis such as this is very key here.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Goke7: 2:36pm On Sep 02, 2016
Reference:

Free yourself from the captivity of 'company'. What is a company. Is it not a collection of people with vision, drive and competencies. Seperate them and you will find out there are several Nigerians with expertise in rail construction. Get them to moon light or sabatical for the 'Kano Metroline Project'. Lease equipment on favourable terms and source all but the absolutely impossible materials from local manufacturers. There are a number of foundries in Nigeria that will look at that 1.8 billion dollar cake and absolutely drool at it. They will retool away from rebar to make rail lines in a heart beat. Has the government made this inquiry yet. Let's be honest. We are not serious in this country. With all the rail projects completed, underway and proposed through the length and breadth of Nigeria, government has not realized they can insist that these Chinese folks build steel factories and foundries in Nigeria? Or give them Ajaokuta free of charge.

you are not convincing and you are already sounding bias, I now understand where you are coming from. We deceive ourselves too much in Nigeria, we boast of how good our local engineers are but their shoddy work of very low quality are there for all to see. We are not there yet at all.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Vctr: 2:36pm On Sep 02, 2016
An applauding develpment one must say, But awarding such huge contract to the chinese company is what's disturbing. The economy is in recession, it would have been best to sponsor an indigineous company for the job.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Vctr: 2:37pm On Sep 02, 2016
An applaudable develpment one must say, But awarding such huge contract to the chinese company is what's disturbing. The economy is in recession, it would have been best to sponsor an indigineous company for the job.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by HiDee2(m): 2:45pm On Sep 02, 2016
EazyMoh:
Misplaced priority if you ask me. We shall all focus on production, production and production. Even our agricultural produce if properly processed can generate jobs and revenue for the state. Kano is not congested at all to deserve such project.

Do you know what a misplaced pripity is? IG production increases and all of Kano produces in million tonnes, how would they transport their goods and wares to consumers that need them in various parts of the State or other parts of Nigeria? Will they put it on their head? Or you think that road transport is preferable to rail transport?
When we criticize, let's be sure it is based on facts and logic. If every corresponding kobo of that $1.85b contract is spent as intended (and a big if), it will be money well spent and both the State and Nigeria will be the better for it. But to say such a developmental project (that can the potential to revolutionalize the economic fortunes of the State is a misplaced project is in deed, a misplaced statement!

Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by HiDee2(m): 2:48pm On Sep 02, 2016
EazyMoh:
Misplaced priority if you ask me. We shall all focus on production, production and production. Even our agricultural produce if properly processed can generate jobs and revenue for the state. Kano is not congested at all to deserve such project.

Do you know what a misplaced priority is? If production increases and all of Kano produces in million tonnes, how would they transport their goods and wares to consumers that need them in various parts of the State or other parts of Nigeria? Will they put it on their heads? Or you think that road transport is preferable to rail transport in such instances?
When we criticize, let's be sure it is based on facts and logic- only then will our criticisms achieve the their purpose and cause needed progressive changes. If every corresponding kobo of that $1.85b contract is spent as intended (and a big if), it would have been money well spent, and both the State and Nigeria will be the better for it. But to say such a developmental project that has the potential to revolutionalize the economic fortunes of the State is a misplaced project is in deed, a misplaced statement!
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by diegwu01: 2:53pm On Sep 02, 2016
Rikidony:
a welcome development, God brought APC to salvage the nation from the rot and lootocracy of the IB led PDP.

we need to spend more on infrastructure if we wanna get out of this self inflicted recession, and I am happy to see all this projects coming up.

Calabar light rail completed

Lagos light rail due for commissioning by December

Lagos to kano ongoing construction

calabar to PH rail signed

contractors back on federal road across the country.

Nigeria will be great again.

wailers from the yeast how market
God bless You.
While a whole bunch of confused lot keep shouting recession, hoping Nigerians should go home fold arms, join their ranks and wail like them, Serious Governors and Intelligent folks are massively investing in major infrastructure and investments, a major catalyst that would put Nigeria as a major player in the World's economic map in the coming years
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by diegwu01: 2:58pm On Sep 02, 2016
Vctr:
An applauding develpment one must say, But awarding such huge contract to the chinese company is what's disturbing. The economy is in recession, it would have been best to sponsor an indigineous company for the job.
Are you for real? The project is probably a PPP initiated by the Kano State Govt. with China who would be willing to run the entire project with their funds having offered a extensive period repayment plan. Which Nigerian indigenous coy would offer that?
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by uchewilliam18: 4:38pm On Sep 02, 2016
fiizznation:
Yeah Mr pessimist, never sees any good in others. None of your backward state can be compared with kano state in terms of social, physical, infrastructural or whatever development. Kano state is miles ahead of wherever cave you came out from. Now the topic is talking about a $1billion railways tracks, you mischievously brought "almijiri" into the discuss just because of bitterness for people who don't know a simpleton like you exist. Pray tell me, between the almajiris and the hundreds of drug barons executed all of the world, who is more better? Of course the almijiri is better because he doesn't uses greediness to take the lives of innocent people all over the world.

Never do well like you have already made social medias a place for nuisance were every tom and dick display all sorts of foolishness, that's why many sane minds are avoiding various fora.

Now what's your business with kano state or governor ganduje? Is he your state governor or its the railway tracks meant for your village you called a 'state' ?

At first, u were making sense, bt u got sentimental and personal and began to spew shit. Next time wen u want to correct a clueless person, maintain ur superiority by stating facts.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by aresa: 5:33pm On Sep 02, 2016
Goke7:

egbon, the thing tire me, wetin person dey read on this thread fit make person get high bp o. Govt no spend, na wahala, Govt spend, na waste.

Its evident to all that this govt must fail to justify the failure of the previous govt. hence new projects no matter how sensible by this govt must be over analysed to make the govt look silly. No be small gbege o

The thing is, sensible and logical criticism sounds perfect and ok, but these bitter and angry characters care less about all that, their main portion is hatred and anger by any means necessary and not sensible and logical reasoning.

How do you even leave tour own states, towns and villages where they have nothing going on to better your life, where they have zero projects to justify the taxes and allocations they collect on your behalf, but make it your life mission and obligation to spew ignorance, hate and run your mouth about progress and developments on other.

They even try to outdo each other with their dumb, idiotic, shallow and unintelligent rants
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by nuradeen011(m): 7:32pm On Sep 02, 2016
EazyMoh:
my frnd you have never being to kano
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by olac21(m): 8:26pm On Sep 02, 2016
Dollyak:
What's the economic viability of this project? Even more so for a state, according to statistics, has been one of the most unproductive states in the scheme of things. No doubt, the southerners would be forced to stump up the repayment of this sum.

What are you talking about??read what you wrote again and check if you made any sense
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Dollyak(f): 8:48pm On Sep 02, 2016
olac21:

What are you talking about??read what you wrote again and check if you made any sense
Just because your brain couldn't comprehend what I said doesn't mean you should embarrass yourself.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by ItsMeAboki(m): 9:30pm On Sep 02, 2016
CSTR2:
Take advantage of a president to improve infrastructure at the expense of others in an economy under recession?. Now that is an interesting angle you brought up.
Atleast a precedent has been set. If a SE or SS president emerges tomorrow, he is expected to leverage on his position to overspend on his domain beyond the realms of common sense and equality. He is not expected to check the most ample position for increased national productivity and invest therein devoid of ethnic sentiments.
Jonathan must be a stark moronn then for not diverting half Nigerias's budget to the Niger-delta for the total transformation of that place instead of building almajiri schools and solving northern age-long issues meant for their governors.

Your statements reek of naivety bordering on stupidity.
Pls state where you got the idea that the rail project was a FG project or in anyway being influenced by the presidency or how the president may have been diverting money at the expense of others to fund the rail project in Kano (or what you referred to as his domain)?
Kindly explain also how such a project is harmful to an economy such as ours under recession?

FYI, Kano State like any other state of the Federation derives its money from its entitled Federal allocation based on agreed national sharing formula and its own internally generated revenue (IGR) which the govt spends on projects it determines to be in the best interest of its ppl - currently the proposed light rail being one of them.

Your negativity against this project is nothing more than your apparent hate for the president and the north; which in my opinion is unfortunately misplaced because it could have been more appropriately directed towards your own governor for not doing same or out doing his counterpart in the north.

BTW, if past northern heads of state were regionally biased as you made them out to be; then I can assure you that most of your cities would today still be looking like villages and hamlets while majority of the north would be like central Abuja - you should therefore be thankful that they weren't instead of coming here to concoct such blatant lies.

Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by mickool(m): 10:43pm On Sep 02, 2016
Performing governor. Nice one sir. Where are the south south governors with all their federal allocation and derivations ? Bayelsa owing workers 9 months plus salaries. Delta state is just waking up from sleeping. Abeg, the governor tried.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by Mrufai44: 11:05pm On Sep 02, 2016
Reference:

Well for me I have thrown to every body here as to who will finance the project, they are the Chinese

Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by discusant: 11:20pm On Sep 02, 2016
Goke7:

why are you lying? most of the food you dey chop, where do you think they are from? From Mars abi grin

When Okorocha de tell una home truth, una say im be okorohausa abi? Honestly you guys preferred to be lied to

Who wants that your food? Every state in Nigeria, every region in Nigeria is capable of producing enough food to feed its people. So keep your food.
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by CSTR2: 2:13pm On Sep 03, 2016
fiizznation:
Yeah Mr pessimist, never sees any good in others. None of your backward state can be compared with kano state in terms of social, physical, infrastructural or whatever development. Kano state is miles ahead of wherever cave you came out from. Now the topic is talking about a $1billion railways tracks, you mischievously brought "almijiri" into the discuss just because of bitterness for people who don't know a simpleton like you exist. Pray tell me, between the almajiris and the hundreds of drug barons executed all of the world, who is more better? Of course the almijiri is better because he doesn't uses greediness to take the lives of innocent people all over the world.

Never do well like you have already made social medias a place for nuisance were every tom and dick display all sorts of foolishness, that's why many sane minds are avoiding various fora.

Now what's your business with kano state or governor ganduje? Is he your state governor or its the railway tracks meant for your village you called a 'state' ?
In all honesty, I don't care. I care about the humongous federal oil money wasted there at the expense of more deserving places.
Kano state gets more than the SE, ofcourse it should be a paradise but it is not. It is just an Islamic haven with a lot of decent, un-used roads due to low productivity and abysmal level of human development and millions of despicably poor people who would behead people at the chant of allah.
Despite out-receiving the SE in federal resources, it lacks behind the SE in most UN indices of human devt. It has more poor people, more illiterates, more out-of school children, poorer heath care, instability than the entire SE. That is how devt is adjudged, not barely used paved roads and fly-overs.
If kano was in a separate country or under a proper federal system where parasites have no place, then I wouldn't care how you use or waste resources. But it is not a productive state, it is a parasite leaching off others like a monster. angry
As a rational human being, how do you justify kano getting more than the SE combined in a supposedly progressive nation?
Re: Ganduje Awards $1.85b Contract To China To Construct Kano Light Railway by furrr(m): 8:37pm On Jan 23, 2017
CSTR2:
Seriously? This is supposed to be an intelligent response?
Kano state alone contributes so much food that would warrant such massive mega federal spending and yet Nigeria spent billions of dollars in food imports yearly? What then does the other northern states contributes?
Billions of dollars generated from oil, some of which was explored from two south eastern states and customs levied from south eastern importers and exporters.
Some people are so eager to comment without knowing anything about the topic

Who told you the project is funded by FG
Fyi... The project is a public private partnership where the chinese will provide 85% of the cost while the state provide 15%
All what is required from FG is their consent due to the fact that it is a huge investment....

Judiciary Workers To Join Planned Labour Strike / EndSARS Riots Aftermath: Over 2,200 Businesses Apply For Lagos Recovery Fund / Malabu: Nigeria Loses $1.7 Billion JP Morgan Chase Case

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 84