Stats: 3,162,340 members, 7,850,233 topics. Date: Tuesday, 04 June 2024 at 04:46 PM

Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh (734 Views)

Audu Ogbeh: We Must Make Peace Or We Lose The North / Lai Mohammed, Audu Ogbeh And Fashola Funny Photo / Rice Production: Audu Ogbeh Lied - Thailand Ambassador (2) (3) (4)

Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by TheAsegun(m): 10:42am On Jul 17, 2017
By Rotimi Ojomoyela

Ado-Ekiti —The Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Chief Audu Ogbeh, has assured Nigerians that the skyrocketing prices of foods in the country will soon crash, saying specifically that that of rice will happen within the next two weeks.
He disclosed that the Federal Government will stop importation of rice this year.

Explaining the reason behind the policy, Ogbeh hinted that the country has enough internal production that can sustain home consumption and meet foreign exchange earnings that can guarantee diversification of the economy.

In order to further boost internal production of the commodity and enhance the country’s comparative advantages in rice and yam production, Ogbeh stated that the federal government will sign a memoranda of understanding with Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti (ABUAD) and Ekiti State Government in the two critical sectors.

He unveiled his Ministry’s intention to supply ABUAD with 20 tonnes of rice seedlings in the next planting season to boost rice production internally.
The Minister said these in Ado Ekiti at the weekend during a visit to ABUAD’s farm and Ekiti State government .

Ogbeh said the current economic recession being experienced under Buhari’s government has helped the federal government to think outside the box and had succeeded in bringing the deserved revolution to the agriculture sector.

According to him, “Of recent, prices of diesel increased from N130 pr litre to about N280, which makes the cost of tractors to move up to N14 million from N7 million. The interest rate on every loan given to farmers also went up, so the aggregate of all these factors caused increase in the prices of food items.

“We are concerned with the plights of Nigerians. We knew that many are hungry but we are working round it because it doesn’t speak well of us in government that people are hungry.”

The ABUAD’s founder, Chief Afe Babalola (SAN), praised Buhari’s administration for bringing revolution to the country’s agriculture sector that had been neglected by successive governments, describing the current economic recession as a blessing in disguise.

“To support the FG initiative , this university for the past three years have been holding annual Afe Babalola Agriculture EXPO(ABAFEX), where we give N1m to the best farmer in Ekiti and N250,000 to the best in 16 local governments.

“This year, we intend to hold Rice summit with intention to expose Ekiti potentials in the production of the commodity”, Babalola said.

Source: http://www.vanguardngr.com/2017/07/prices-foodsll-soon-crash-audu-ogbeh/
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by okunfemm(m): 10:46am On Jul 17, 2017
We pray so, Enough of talking we need to see it
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by Musampa73(m): 10:54am On Jul 17, 2017
Actions speaks louder than voice they say but as for APC huh!
Voice speaks louder than actions...
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by Lanretoye(m): 10:58am On Jul 17, 2017
I'm sure he is not talking about market prices.
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by ESDKING: 11:06am On Jul 17, 2017
Akuko n'egwu.

Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by Ehiscotch(m): 11:37am On Jul 17, 2017
You just stated the obvious. In Benue state every Tom, Dick and Harry is involved in agriculture.
Gradually supply is meeting Demand.
What pleases me the most is that money that would have been used to import products is now used to patronise local farmers thereby conserving our foreign exchange and improving the standard of living.

Sadly many Nigerians aren't seeing the benefits of this agricultural revolution and economic diversification.
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by SweetJoystick(m): 11:41am On Jul 17, 2017
Make e crash first Audu
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by Ehiscotch(m): 11:43am On Jul 17, 2017
While other governors are finding ways to boost their IGR through Agriculture and other sectors, one clown in Ekiti state is busy fantasizing how he'd become president even when his party has zoned it to the North.
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by RZArecta(m): 11:48am On Jul 17, 2017
I wanna gonna government grin e go soon, we will soon. Na so we go hear till this useless tenure over grin

Ps, how much was a bag of rice before APC terrorists took power ? Give answers for other local staples too before shítting to your brains. Thenk
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by Nobody: 11:48am On Jul 17, 2017
undecided undecided
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by ZombiePUNISHER: 11:53am On Jul 17, 2017
Are they still campaigning after two years in office... Enough of this damn promises jare.. Confused set of people
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by ZombiePUNISHER: 11:57am On Jul 17, 2017
Ehiscotch:
While other governors are finding ways to boost their IGR through Agriculture and other sectors, one clown in Ekiti state is busy fantasizing how he'd become president even when his party has zoned it to the North.
while one clonish party is busy chasing music artist from shooting their videos abroad.. Their president is attending to his ill health in a london hospital
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by Ehiscotch(m): 12:08pm On Jul 17, 2017
ZombiePUNISHER:
while one clonish party is busy chasing music artist from shooting their videos abroad.. Their president is attending to his ill health in a london hospital
First, my message was for an individual not the party.
Second, you ought not to be so dumb as to believe that the FG has the power to prohibit artistes from shooting music videos abroad.
They can only persuade them.
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by aolawale025: 12:13pm On Jul 17, 2017
The denial would soon follow!
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by Ehiscotch(m): 12:14pm On Jul 17, 2017
RZArecta:
I wanna gonna government grin e go soon, we will soon. Na so we go hear till this useless tenure over grin

Ps, how much was a bag of rice before APC terrorists took power ? Give answers for other local staples too before shítting to your brains. Thenk
The price for an imported &sub standard bag of rice was about 10k give or take.
Nigeria is never supposed to import commodities for which it has comparative advantage. It is so sad that we as the giants of africa spend billions importing products we very well can produce.
If we do not revert back to agriculture we would forever be underdeveloped.
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by ZombiePUNISHER: 12:53pm On Jul 17, 2017
Ehiscotch:

First, my message was for an individual not the party.
Second, you ought not to be so dumb as to believe that the FG has the power to prohibit artistes from shooting music videos abroad.
They can only persuade them.
we are used to excuses
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by Ehiscotch(m): 12:54pm On Jul 17, 2017
ZombiePUNISHER:
we are used to excuses
What excuses ?
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by RZArecta(m): 2:08pm On Jul 17, 2017
Ehiscotch:
The price for an imported &sub standard bag of rice was about 10k give or take.
Nigeria is never supposed to import commodities for which it has comparative advantage. It is so sad that we as the giants of africa spend billions importing products we very well can produce.
If we do not revert back to agriculture we would forever be underdeveloped.
OTURUGBEKE OOOO !!! "imported and substandard rice" ? What a time to be alive, pls if you're paid to be a rambling wuss, just spare those of us with our brain intact. It's not compulsory for us to follow the idíocy bandwagon
Re: Prices Of Foods’ll Soon Crash – Audu Ogbeh by Ehiscotch(m): 2:36pm On Jul 17, 2017
RZArecta:
OTURUGBEKE OOOO !!! "imported and substandard rice" ? What a time to be alive, pls if you're paid to be a rambling wuss, just spare those of us with our brain intact. It's not compulsory for us to follow the idíocy bandwagon
Rice made in Nigeria if processed properly beats that of the imported rice. It is healthier and more nutritious. Ask anyone you know is into agriculture.
Just as how Made in Aba products also need better refining and branding.
Most of the foreign rice were below quality and are leftovers or surplus from the exporting countries.

Here is a statement from former minister of agriculture and rural development Adesina Akinwunmi where he said that some of the imported rice are over 15 years old.

naijabizcom.com/2013/12/12/rice-imported-into-nigeria-not-healthy-for-consumption-adesina/
https://abibitumikasa.com/forums/showthread.php/91689-Nigeria-Rice-Imported-Into-Nigeria-Not-Healthy-for-Consumption-Adesina

The Midwest Declaration – Invitation To World Press Conference / Over 3,000 Delegates Gather For PDP’s Unity Meeting Ahead Of Convention / Breaking: Rusian Base Biafran Launches Nuclear Missile

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 37