Stats: 3,155,824 members, 7,828,014 topics. Date: Tuesday, 14 May 2024 at 09:23 PM

Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo - Health (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo (109900 Views)

Why Pregnant Women Should NOT Drink Garri / Why It Is Risky For Pregnant Women, Nursing Mothers To Drink Zobo-edokita / 5 Reasons Why Pregnant Women Should Have Regular Intercourse (2) (3) (4)

Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by jamesbridget13(f): 9:55pm On Oct 24, 2017
My zobo!!!
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by Nobody: 9:56pm On Oct 24, 2017
n
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by jamesbridget13(f): 9:56pm On Oct 24, 2017
Frenchfriez:
Yet another half cooked scientific article rushed into public domain with the aim of driving blog traffic. Even in the parent blog, no citations, no specifics, no references. Seriously?
So SGPT causes LBW and yet it causes post Natal weight gain. Really, go ahead and amuse me. grin
Anyways, its a good read and far better than the celebrity nonsense we see here daily.
are u a doctor?
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by Cecyclara: 9:56pm On Oct 24, 2017
Wow, this is interesting.
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by Nobody: 9:57pm On Oct 24, 2017
Ekeseges:
Great Indeed.i even heard the drink can cause miscarriage
That's not true, not even true by half
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by Nobody: 9:59pm On Oct 24, 2017
TheHistorian:
If Nigerians are to take all these health research results serious..

I think we will only drink water and eat fruits. undecided undecided
forget... this one is true oo. zobo dey cause miscarriage.almost fell a victim. may God not let us experience such unfortunate things..

Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by Nobody: 10:01pm On Oct 24, 2017
Frenchfriez:

That's not true, not even true by half
she is right.. although every pregnancy is not the same.. but i'm talking from experience.. na this zobo almost cause wahala for me..

Some hospitals even encourage pregnant women who are almost 40 weeks or above and yet to see any signs of labour to drink a lot of Zobo or pineapple (especially the core), cos they cause uterine contractions...

Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by GratefulHeart23(f): 10:11pm On Oct 24, 2017
No be too much oily fish again, it's now zobo. Zobo that I drank frequently while pregnant and breastfeeding. Na wa ooooo.

Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by yom2(m): 10:15pm On Oct 24, 2017
BerryAnny:
Zobo and Kunu!!! Nah me favorite drink be that! I no get money to dey waste on Viju and Cway
just make sure u are not drinking blended dead flyes. d last time I saw how these local brews are being processed I swear never to drink them except from a certified factory. the stuff is left open in a big bowl and dead flyes soak in them for days before they are sieved and bottled
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by buffalowings: 10:16pm On Oct 24, 2017
People will just post rubbish

Which reputable science journal has confirmed your claim
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by highchief1: 10:21pm On Oct 24, 2017
Adaumunocha:
Yes I am... Issa twins
u can't be at ur age u shouldn't have had sex.did u eat it in indomie

Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by DeBiafran: 10:35pm On Oct 24, 2017
Ekeseges:
Great Indeed.i even heard the drink can cause miscarriage

I have heard that too!
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by davss02(m): 10:37pm On Oct 24, 2017
BerryAnny:
Zobo and Kunu!!! Nah me favorite drink be that! I no get money to dey waste on Viju and Cway
Happy you backed your comment with "reason" I.e "you don't have money"...God will provide money in Jesus name
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by EazyMoh(m): 10:52pm On Oct 24, 2017
I may not be an expert in the field, but I think the OP is exaggerating.
For example you gave to drink excessive amount of sugar to contract diabetes. However a healthy amount is OK for the body.
Likewise the OP is supposed to tell us how many liters on average per day a pregnant woman will have to consume in order to cause adverse effect. I bet it's nothing less than 200l!
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by blank(f): 11:11pm On Oct 24, 2017
TheHistorian:

Haven't you heard of water poisoning and fruits being too sweet thus detrimental to health?

We just need to starve. grin

Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by AreaFada2: 11:41pm On Oct 24, 2017
Well in pregnancy one should be always careful. No two pregnancies are same. Let alone two pregnant women being same in their experience of it.
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by Nobody: 11:48pm On Oct 24, 2017
jamesbridget13:
are u a doctor?
Yes mummy
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by Nobody: 11:55pm On Oct 24, 2017
booqee:
she is right.. although every pregnancy is not the same.. but i'm talking from experience.. na this zobo almost cause wahala for me..

Some hospitals even encourage pregnant women who are almost 40 weeks or above and yet to see any signs of labour to drink a lot of Zobo or pineapple (especially the core), cos they cause uterine contractions...
hmmm ma'am, that some ppl follow a common believe doesn't make it right and true , at least scientifically. I can highlight a number of practices which health care givers encourage but are factually just rituals.
This is not to say that I'm disputing the authenticity about the pineapple ish, infact, its well documented that bromelain , one of the metabolites in pineapple is implicated in uterine contraction.
However for zobo, the enzyme mentioned SGPT (ALT) has its pregnancy effect but it's far from what the write up suggested
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by Nwabundo38(f): 12:12am On Oct 25, 2017
extralargehead:
FTC. thank God. Noted. Next topic, please.
so they should be taking kunu so that they will get very fat. kunu that gives people weight anyhow
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by Nobody: 12:40am On Oct 25, 2017
I prefer Kunu to Zobo... smiley
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by deafeyez: 12:54am On Oct 25, 2017
ekems2017:
I strongly disagree with this research. I was pregnant with my first baby and the only thing I could drink for the whole nine mths was zobo. I was advised not to drink kunu that time so that my baby will not be too big. I drank zobo as if my life depended on it. Gave birth to a baby that weighed 3.5kg. So which one come be this one i just read?
Someone once told me that if I drink this same zobo I will go in to Labour before my baby is up to nine months but I carry am pass the date the doctor even gave me.

Abeg make i rest with this una research.

embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by Adaumunocha(f): 1:19am On Oct 25, 2017
highchief1:
Is that sarcasm? Chief pls free me
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by Ndipe(m): 2:26am On Oct 25, 2017
TheHistorian:

You sure about water? cheesy Even health researchers have dismissed bottled water as vanity that offers no health benefits when measured with tap water. And tomorrow, another group would dismiss pure water as unhygienic compared to tap water.
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by PrimadonnaO(f): 2:40am On Oct 25, 2017
TheHistorian:

We won't even eat fruits in peace. They'll say fruits have sugar...

Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by supereagle(m): 3:05am On Oct 25, 2017
So sobo can increase sex drives.
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by sampatdikachi(m): 4:12am On Oct 25, 2017
highchief1:
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by sampatdikachi(m): 4:22am On Oct 25, 2017
This is one of those silly articles submitted to journals by lecturers who must have forced their students to carry out projects that don't interest them. Yes, these students instead of visiting hospitals with questionnaires and probably running blood analysis from samples collected from pregnant women that take zobo and those that don't take the drink to get their fact right, forge figures or take data from a previously published work which might not be the same drink but is somewhat related to his/her project work.

Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by pfadom: 5:19am On Oct 25, 2017
Water = Yes

Fruits = With some exception

Only God will save us.

TheHistorian:

Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by ndiboy01(m): 5:28am On Oct 25, 2017
naive or native doctor wiA did u get ur own from
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by ndiboy01(m): 5:28am On Oct 25, 2017
Nawteemaxie:
Men! Pregnancy with its many Dos and Don`ts! Even the innocent zobo has now being implicated... Oh well, thank God I`m not a woman.
lipsrsealed
Nawteemaxie:
Men! Pregnancy with its many Dos and Don`ts! Even the innocent zobo has now being implicated... Oh well, thank God I`m not a woman.
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by 124mumsy: 5:42am On Oct 25, 2017
PublicHealthNig:

Source: http://www.publichealth.com.ng/scientifically-proven-health-benefits-of-zobo-drink/

despite it great taste and devine flavour i still prefered the kunu that are prepeared from the army barrack not those ones that are thick like akamu
Re: Why Pregnant Women Should Not Drink Zobo by 124mumsy: 5:47am On Oct 25, 2017
yom2:
just make sure u are not drinking blended dead flyes. d last time I saw how these local brews are being processed I swear never to drink them except from a certified factory. the stuff is left open in a big bowl and dead flyes soak in them for days before they are sieved and bottled
that is what make it awesome, they are all blinded to give u that great taste mind u no virus can stand 100 degree celcious.

COVID-19 In New York: Hundreds Of Bodies Buried In Mass Grave On Island(Pics) / Men Should Not Eat Okro Because Of This / Could This Be STD Or Bad Immune System?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 42