Stats: 3,151,027 members, 7,810,835 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 04:33 PM

UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) - Education - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) (15171 Views)

UNIBEN Students Throw Millions Of Naira To Celebrate Graduation (VIDEO) / UNIBEN Students Celebrate Final Year Week In Style (Video) / UNIBEN Students Protest Increase In Fees, Senate Shuts Down School (Photos) (2) (3) (4)

UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by 9jaBlogger: 2:27pm On Aug 20, 2019
Medical students of the University of Benin, on Tuesday, took to the streets to protest what they described as unfair treatment on the part of the management, Igbere TV reports.

Igbere TV reports that no fewer than 50 students, barricaded the main gate leading to the Ugbowo main campus of the school, disrupting non-academic activities temporarily.

Our correspondent learned that the students were protesting lack of electricity, security and pipe-borne water in the university's main campus.

The protesters were armed with placards, some of which read, ‘Transformer down for four weeks, no light’, ‘Fix our light, exam in darkness, no water’, ‘Medical hostel is now a forest’, ‘Security challenges in NDDC hostel’.

Speaking with our correspondent, one of the protesting students said they have been in darkness for weeks and have no good water on campus.

According to her, the medical students are currently writing their professional exams and lack electricity to study.

She alleged that some of her colleagues walk miles to surrounding neighbourhood just to get water and charge phones, adding, “security is also an issue.”

A medical student, who gave his name as ‘Dr. Jay’, said grasses have taken over their hostels, alleging that they now share walkways with snakes and reptiles.

Efforts to obtain comments from the university's spokesman, Mr. Michael Osasuyi, were unsuccessful.

But an official of the Students’ Union Government who confirmed the development, said efforts were on ground to resolve the issues.

The official who craved anonymity, added that the Union and the Student Affair Department were already on top of the matter.

Similarly, a Facebook post by the immediate past Union President, Ogbidi Osemudiamen, collaborated the report.

“Kudos UniBen students. If Ugbowo is like this, what is the the fate of Ekehuan campus?. #NoLight, #NoWater, #NoSecurity”, he wrote.

Ekehuan is the second and mini campus of the University of Benin. The campus, located along Ekehuan road, currently hosts the Mass Communication department, Theatre and Applied Arts, amongst others.

http://igberetvnews.com/915424/uniben-students-protest-against-lack-of-water-light-photos/

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by jrondit(m): 2:35pm On Aug 20, 2019
BET WHY

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Holumhidey(m): 2:41pm On Aug 20, 2019
You mean the UNIBEN that am planning to go.....

8 Likes 4 Shares

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by internationalman(m): 2:54pm On Aug 20, 2019
Their loss my gain.

At least I will have more time with my babe before they fix it..

10 Likes 2 Shares

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Caspian22(m): 3:08pm On Aug 20, 2019
It is a real shame mehn.. undecided

See the Top 5 Highest Paid Football Coaches in the World 2019. Number 1 issa shocker!

https://topsoccerblog.com/highest-paid-football-coaches-world/

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by slide43788x: 3:09pm On Aug 20, 2019

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by WalkerMichael(m): 3:09pm On Aug 20, 2019
When a federal school hostel lack basic amenities, you can't help but cool . Although, I'm not surprised but then How do they expect student to cope without provision of these normal and basic amenities?

E go better!

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Nobody: 3:09pm On Aug 20, 2019
Shame on ASUU

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Genfbfrid: 3:09pm On Aug 20, 2019

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Oteola30(f): 3:09pm On Aug 20, 2019
THIS IS ANOTHER COUPLE THAT IS GETTING MARRIED THIS COMING JANUARY ON THE PLATFORM OF LOVE

NOTE: That We are very confidential about the privacy, details and disclosure of our wonderful members to the general public and this couple had to give their blessing to even post this altered pictures of them, publicly!

Beautiful things, connections, matchmaking, networking, relationships, and much more for the purpose of marriage are happening on a daily basis on this authentic african platform of love and our VERIFIED members appreciate the genuine efforts of the Admin at putting emotional smiles on their faces absolutely for FREE (yes, you heard right, absolutely FREE as no kobo has been charged on anyone since the creation of the platform!)

So therefore.........

If you are looking for sugar mummy - GBE BODY E
If you are looking for sugar daddy - GBE BODY E
If you are looking for friends with benefits - GBE BODY E
If you are looking for 2nd or more wives - GBE BODY E
If you are looking for gigolo - GBE BODY E
If you are looking for one night stand - GBE BODY E
If you are not ready for marriage - GBE BODY E

PLATFORM IS ONLY AND ONLY FOR SINGLES WHO ARE READY AND SERIOUS ABOUT MARRIAGE

So if know that just like[b] TOKE MAKINWA[/b], this is your last year of being single, then don't be deterred by unpleasant experience you may have experienced with love in the past. Never give up on true love. When you finally meets and connects with the right person, you would wish to have that person over and over again EVERY SINGLE DAY because love is sweet!

This is the Genuine platform to join – The Authentic Platform of Love for Nigerians accross the country

Signup, registration and membership absolutely free - WE VERIFY EVERY INTENDING MEMBERS and if you cant allow yourself to be verified, GBE BODY E

WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? START YOUR TRUE LOVE CONNECTION NOW.

WHATSAPP OR TELEGRAM ADMIN NOW

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Sylraph1: 3:10pm On Aug 20, 2019
sad

Make dem protest well ooo...cos dat VC Na shit aswear...
Students are going outside the school to fetch water..

No light for school hostel for a long time now

Bush don full everywhere especially that twin LT area enroute management science building

Recently,NASU don carry strike enter market sad

They should just fix everything before I come back Biko

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by saheedbadmus(m): 3:10pm On Aug 20, 2019
imagine

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by LoveJesus87(m): 3:10pm On Aug 20, 2019

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by KidsNEXTdoor: 3:11pm On Aug 20, 2019
you are supposed to be stoning your oppressors..

Protests don't get to them...

Stop them at the airports..

Stop their kids from studying abroad
Wouldn't it be nice to protest with kiki Osibanjo

Stop them from London Hospital visits

18 Likes 4 Shares

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by loadedvibes: 3:12pm On Aug 20, 2019
Uniben again.. this school too like protest

2 Likes 3 Shares

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by sylve11: 3:12pm On Aug 20, 2019
Nigerians are difficult to handle o. Give them the water and see some wicked souls destroy what the school has spent enough money on.

people cried for street light, oya give them the streets lights and see same people sell the batteries powering the streets light.

I hail God on how HIM try create humans most especially Nigerians. cool

8 Likes 4 Shares

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by MycroftHolmes: 3:12pm On Aug 20, 2019
Nigeria which way?

No sector is left out of this breakdown.
Imagine a high-ranking federal university lacking electricity for weeks! Being an excellent student in a public university requires lots of effort and 'divine help' because there are so many factors in place to pull you down.

Our leaders have failed us. We need serious help right now.

8 Likes 3 Shares

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by money121(m): 3:12pm On Aug 20, 2019

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by seangy4konji: 3:12pm On Aug 20, 2019
Nothing works here...e

Except for the looters

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by stanliwise(m): 3:12pm On Aug 20, 2019
internationalman:
Their loss my gain.
At least I will have more time with my babe before they fix it..
They are not on strike, it is a protest tongue

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Mzee1Kahuna(m): 3:14pm On Aug 20, 2019
problem is too much in this country
ahahaha

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Kingosytex(m): 3:14pm On Aug 20, 2019
Back then in UNN, person been don do this kind thing o.cheesycheesycheesy

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Nobody: 3:15pm On Aug 20, 2019
NASU happened.

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by YorubaKing: 3:15pm On Aug 20, 2019
Why should they care? sadHow many of their wards school there?

Afterall majority of these students complaining are the ones that would kill for these miscreants.

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Princedapace(m): 3:16pm On Aug 20, 2019
U see Nigeria eh, na yeye country. In 21 century, an oil rich country with hundreds of other natural resources simply cant provide basic things of life.

Shame. More protests like this will help fix things up. Nigerians, we too relax o.

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by McCoy662(m): 3:18pm On Aug 20, 2019
the day I will get out of that hell of an institution will be my happiest. the management of that institution are monsters in Homan clothing.

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Nobody: 3:21pm On Aug 20, 2019
Holumhidey:
You mean the UNIBEN that am planning to go.....

U mean the people commenting on NL frontpage don't already have degrees?

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by alezzy13: 3:22pm On Aug 20, 2019
How sad the way the great Uniben has fallen. I remember the days of Anao (one of the best VC till date) when cleanliness, functional facilities was the order of the day.

#sad

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Nobody: 3:23pm On Aug 20, 2019
Lagos Ibadan expressway media will term them IPOB youths for demanding their rights.

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by JobsandSchools: 3:24pm On Aug 20, 2019
Good action

Re: UNIBEN Students Protest Against Lack Of Water, Light (photos) by Donchukz(m): 3:24pm On Aug 20, 2019
Kingosytex:
Back then in UNN, person been don do this kind thing o.cheesycheesycheesy

My alma mater,I was equally part of it. It goes like this: Give us light,give us light eeehhhh,give us light eeeeeehhhh!

DELSU Backs Out Of ASUU Strike, Resumes Classes / 4 Ways To Create A Good Reading Habit. / Aviation Workers To Shut Down Airports In Support Of ASUU