Stats: 3,152,285 members, 7,815,480 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 01:06 PM

Any Ijaw Here? - Culture (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Any Ijaw Here? (40154 Views)

Ijaw Dialects And Where They Are Spoken / Some Similarities Between Ijaw , Urhobo And Itsekiri / Traditional Eastern Ijaw Attire In Pictures (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (Go Down)

Re: Any Ijaw Here? by statia: 6:25am On Dec 31, 2007
hello, From Torugbene, Owigiri saba bieme ooohh!!!!!!!!!
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by presido1: 8:28pm On Dec 31, 2007
Sorry you have no brother nor sister lol
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by mindcircle(m): 11:45pm On Jan 13, 2008
ari izon kimi
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by ifyalways(f): 7:22pm On Jan 14, 2008
tebara all
emi ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by na2day2(m): 5:55pm On Sep 23, 2008
men, i didnt know we are that large a group. i just use to see my self as kalabari and like many others can't speak the language, what a shame cry
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by dgratrock: 6:04pm On Sep 23, 2008
ahh izon!!!!
all the izon folks let's hear your 'voice'here
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by Pataki: 5:44pm On Sep 30, 2008
Ari itari mi grin
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by Tatase(f): 1:20am On Oct 07, 2008
my mom is ijaw so I'm half. I don't speak Ijaw too well, I talk like a baby in it. But I don't really recognize any of the dialects anyone has spoken here. Samples of my Ijaw (with dodgy spelling) for those trying to learn:

Tamuno: God
Ibi: Good
I dan loku: How are you?
An loku oforie/Ibi me: I'm fine
I we ri so: Leave me alone
Bo: Come
Sebo: Bring it
So: Go
O fo rie: It's not there
Fikiri: Hurry
Baweria: Good night
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by na2day2(m): 5:01am On Oct 07, 2008
ha, thats more like kalabari. so are u in the usa? if yes, where at? i live in dallas, would be nice to meet a kalabari girl in the usa wink wink

Tatase:

my mom is ijaw so I'm half. I don't speak Ijaw too well, I talk like a baby in it. But I don't really recognize any of the dialects anyone has spoken here. Samples of my Ijaw (with dodgy spelling) for those trying to learn:

Re: Any Ijaw Here? by Ibime(m): 3:05pm On Oct 07, 2008
Tatase:

na2day?:

ha, thats more like kalabari.

Not at all. . . . . .she is Okrika. . . . Okrika dialect is extremely unique amongst the Ijaws. . . . we are the only ones who greet with I dan loku. . . . .Tatase, Idani?. . . . Omoge and I are resident Okrikans on Nairaland. . . .  which town in Okrika are you from?. . . . . I'm from Ogan-Ama.

Re: Any Ijaw Here? by na2day2(m): 4:39pm On Oct 07, 2008
dude, she is in the usa not london, no pour sand sand for my garri ooo angry angry angry angry

Ibime:

Not at all. . . . . .she is Okrika. . . . Okrika dialect is extremely unique amongst the Ijaws. . . . we are the only ones who greet with I dan loku. . . . .Tatase, Idani?. . . . Omoge and I are resident Okrikans on Nairaland. . . .  which town in Okrika are you from?. . . . . I'm from Ogan-Ama.

girl, dont listen to him, me and u are 2 ijaws that are close to each other and we are one people, so lets get acquainted wink wink wink
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by ow11(m): 6:30pm On Oct 07, 2008
Mbre!!

a ke siim e Gamine doki e?

Kalabari Tuwo!! kele kele ye
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by arramyjay: 8:27pm On Oct 07, 2008
Diwo everybody.
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by na2day2(m): 8:47pm On Oct 07, 2008
LOL wink wink wink wink wink

ow11:

Mbre!!

a ke siim e Gamine doki e?

Kalabari Tuwo!! kele kele ye
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by Ibime(m): 10:06pm On Oct 07, 2008
lol. . . . na2day is Hausa, Yoruba, Urhobo, Isoko, Igbo, Ijaw . . . . . depending on where the chick is from, e go blend.
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by na2day2(m): 10:38pm On Oct 07, 2008
bros, na wetin now? i am a true nigerian, get deep roots in the niger delta, was born in lagos, grew up in abuja, get long history for north, had small tiny for enugu, i come back to the west for some time, i don try, i get the right to claim any where as long as the chic dey down with the thing  grin grin

Ibime:

lol. . . . na2day is Hausa, Yoruba, Urhobo, Isoko, Igbo, Ijaw . . . . . depending on where the chick is from, e go blend.
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by kiwi992(m): 10:57pm On Oct 07, 2008
Hi,

I'm a Kalabari from Bakana.

The people of Bakana speak the best Kalabari.  So, just a small grammatical correction please, if you don't mind.

OKIRIKA

I dan loku should really be (=) nde ani la oku?
An loku oforie = ani la oku oforie or ibime
Se bo = ke bo  (Ke bo is also Kalabari)
Baweria = Ba wa eria or wa eria bia  'ba wa eria' is Kalabari whereas 'ba wa eria bia' is Kirika (Okirika).

KALABARI

Mbre should really be (=) iyim bere
a ke siim e Gamine doki e  = a ke sim mine i Gamine doki ari
Kalabari Tuwo = Kalabari tubo (or Kalabari furo tubo)

Hope you didn't mind.

kiwi992.
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by na2day2(m): 12:59am On Oct 08, 2008
abeg how much i go pay u to learn

kiwi992:

Hi,

I'm a Kalabari from Bakana.

The people of Bakana speak the best Kalabari.  So, just a small grammatical correction please, if you don't mind.

OKRIKA

I dan loku should really be (=) nde ani la oku?
An loku oforie = ani la oku oforie or ibime
Se bo = ke bo  (Ke bo is also Kalabari)
Baweria = Ba wa eria or wa eria bia  'ba wa eria' is Kalabari whereas 'ba wa eria bia' is Kirika (Okirika).

KALABARI

Mbre should really be (=) iyim bere
a ke siim e Gamine doki e  = a ke sim mine i Gamine doki ari
Kalabari Tuwo = Kalabari tubo (or Kalabari furo tubo)

Hope you didn't mind.

kiwi992.
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by Tatase(f): 2:35am On Oct 08, 2008
Actually my mother is Okrika from Okrika town proper. I think I know where Ogan-Ama is, its on the road right before you get to Okrika town abi?

As for my Ijaw writing I didn't mind at all thank you for the correction, its exactly the way it sounds. I've never read Ijaw before so this was a revelation. Obviously I don't know my sentence structure properly. I just know relevant phrases but I'm glad to learn.

I grew up all my life in Lagos (but I'm not Yoruba o in spite of the name, I'm Urhobo) but have not spent much time at all in the Niger-D. I'm in the States doing my Masters right now but I'm sha still naij-based.
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by na2day2(m): 5:47am On Oct 08, 2008
thats why i say we come together and meet some where, u and i and we will do our masters first by getting to know each other cool cool

Tatase:

Actually my mother is Okrika from Okrika town proper. I think I know where Ogan-Ama is, its on the road right before you get to Okrika town abi?

As for my Ijaw writing I didn't mind at all thank you for the correction, its exactly the way it sounds. I've never read Ijaw before so this was a revelation. Obviously I don't know my sentence structure properly. I just know relevant phrases but I'm glad to learn.

I grew up all my life in Lagos (but I'm not Yoruba o in spite of the name, I'm Urhobo) but have not spent much time at all in the Niger-D. I'm in the States doing my Masters right now but I'm sha still naij-based.
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by kiwi992(m): 1:25pm On Oct 08, 2008
Hi Na2day,

You said

abeg how much i go pay u to learn

Thanks but I don't need the money.

Moreover, I don't have the time.  Better still, go to Bakana and learn the real Kalabari grammar when you go home on holidays.

kiwi992.
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by na2day2(m): 10:40pm On Oct 08, 2008
dunnit! ! ! sad sad sad sad

kiwi992:

Hi Na2day,

You said

Thanks but I don't need the money.

Moreover, I don't have the time.  Better still, go to Bakana and learn the real Kalabari grammar when you go home on holidays.

kiwi992.
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by biddyshegs(f): 10:44pm On Oct 08, 2008
duh!!!!!!!
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by na2day2(m): 5:57am On Oct 09, 2008
u look very much like my next girl friend grin grin grin grin

biddyshegs:

duh!!!!!!!
Re: Any Ijaw Here? by obelem(f): 1:32pm On Oct 28, 2008
I love what mohadana posted yeri kalabari na tubo pardon my spelling i can't write d language nor speak it fluently probably bcuz i was born nd bred in lagos.but its a shame don't u think that most of us(kalabari's)cannot speak our language.i'm beginning 2 think d language will soon be extinct.hu'z with me sad sad sad

(1) (2)

Ooni Ogunwusi Off To UN Headquarters In New York (Pctures) / Your Thoughts On African Americans Moving Back To Africa. / 5 Nigerian Monarchs That Own A Rolls Royce (see Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 38