Stats: 3,154,542 members, 7,823,375 topics. Date: Friday, 10 May 2024 at 09:16 AM

Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo - Politics (14) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo (67848 Views)

Naira Redesign: Emefiele Confirmed Arabic Inscription Won’t Be Removed – Sanusi / Lawyer, Malcolm Omirhobo, Appears In Traditional Outfit At Supreme Court / Sunday Igboho's Bullet Proof With Arabic Inscription On It (Pictures) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (11) (12) (13) (14) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by SamUnbeatable(m): 7:45pm On Jan 11, 2020
soloenzo:
A Nigerian lawyer and Human Rights activist Barr. Malcolm Omirhobo has Thursday sued the Federal Government, Central Bank of Nigeria, Nigeria Army, Ministry of Defense and Attorney General of the Federation over the continuous Arabic inscription on the naira notes and the flag of the Nigerian Army without considering Nigeria to be a secular nation.

He is seeking a Federal High Court to interpret the provisions of Section 10 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. He filed two suits.

The defendants in the suits are Central Bank of Nigeria, Attorney-General of the Federation, the Nigerian Army, as well as the Ministry of Defence.

Plaintiff is seeking a court interpretation whether by a community reading of Sections 10 and 55 of the 1999 Constitution, it is lawful and constitutional for the defendants to permit the Naira notes to be adorned with Arabic inscriptions.

In the same vein, the plaintiff is asking whether by a community reading of Sections 1(1)(3), 10 and 55 of the 1999 Constitution, it is proper for the defendants to permit the Nigerian Army logo to be adorned, or inscribed in Arabic insignia.

He is seeking a court interpretation whether by the true letter and spirit of Section 10 of the 1999 Constitution, Nigeria is a secular state without any official religion.

He wants the court to declare that it is  illegal, unlawful, and unconstitutional to allow the Nigerian Army logo to be adorned, and inscribed in Arabic language, instead of the official English language or Hausa, Yoruba and Igbo which are the three main languages or ethnic groups in Nigeria.

The defendants are yet to reply. The Court also is yet to fix a date for the hearing of the case.

https://mobile.twitter.com/MalcolmInfiniti/status/1215275147537666048
yessss...... I could remember vividly when former president jonathan came bak from isreal on a certain period, I don't know the discussion dat was done with great isreal, he came back to naija, he changed the 100 naira note designs and remove the arabic on it and replace it with STAR of DAVID ..( take a look at ur � naira note.. that 100 naira note has neva been reprinted since GEJ lefts Villa. u can only see worn, dead, suffering and begging 100naira note. I am actually wondering what is going on in Nigeria.....
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by sirzango(m): 8:01pm On Jan 11, 2020
daddytime:

Ooh okay...

No mind my frail old eyes.

I never knew that was Arabic. What does it say? grin
It tells the naira denomination: eg Hundred naira, two hundred naira
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by Tope96(m): 8:11pm On Jan 11, 2020
It is well
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by daddytime(m): 8:36pm On Jan 11, 2020
sirzango:

It tells the naira denomination: eg Hundred naira, two hundred naira

Thanks man..
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by Psalmy2cute(m): 9:18pm On Jan 11, 2020
sweetgala:

Ignorance is a terrible thing.

The lawyer's argument has no merit.

1- Arabic text is taught in Nigeria and is recognized by the state

2 - The Arabic text on the naira notes simply states the value of the note

There are serious issues that need to be addressed, the NASS are still intending to renovate the NASS building. They'll buy new land cruiser and prado SUVs , allocate wardrobe and seating allowances beyond what is justifiable , the minimum wage equates to 1000/day that doesn't even cover the cost of transportation and feeding for an adult.

Nigerians should focus
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by Psalmy2cute(m): 9:21pm On Jan 11, 2020
GoTV:
sad Even though I'm a born again Christian, i see nothing wrong in having Arabic inscriptions on our naira notes or national monuments. We Christians should be glad about it as it avails us the opportunity to study the Arabic language and we can also preach the gospel of our lord Jesus in Arabic language whenever we travel to the middle east. It's a win win for we Christians because before we realize, we would have won more souls for christ or we might decide to join Islam if we are tired of Christianity. Arabic language is a blessing in disguise sad
Your lack of wisdom is scary..

Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by victoronyekwelu(m): 11:46pm On Jan 11, 2020
SUPERPACK:
Yes, we should also ask them why we have " God" in the national pledge since Nigeria is a secular country and not a christian country.
God is a General Supreme being every religion service. in your religion you call Him Allah which in English it's translated as God and English is the general language in Nigeria, not Arabic
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by victoronyekwelu(m): 11:58pm On Jan 11, 2020
GoTV:
sad Even though I'm a born again Christian, i see nothing wrong in having Arabic inscriptions on our naira notes or national monuments. We Christians should be glad about it as it avails us the opportunity to study the Arabic language and we can also preach the gospel of our lord Jesus in Arabic language whenever we travel to the middle east. It's a win win for we Christians because before we realize, we would have won more souls for christ or we might decide to join Islam if we are tired of Christianity. Arabic language is a blessing in disguise sad
God need to really Olen your eyes
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by victoronyekwelu(m): 12:02am On Jan 12, 2020
Olarajee:
So DUMB!

Arabic is DIFFERENT from ISLAM!

Even the bible has an ARABIC version.

Those words are the Naira arent 'Arabic' but 'Hausa' words spelt that way. Hausa's represent almost 50% of the country populace?

Who told you we all have to write things in English?
why didn't you write your job application in Hausa?
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by hybraheeem002(m): 12:04am On Jan 12, 2020
Mr man, you just wanna be popular. With all the challenges we have in Nigeria, is this all you can come out with
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by ifymadu: 12:51am On Jan 12, 2020
Edu3Again:

So u agree that Christians worship God & moslems worship allah, proving God & allah are different

God is an English word, also known as Allah in Arabic/Islam. if they have said Christ, then it would have been different. The Jews are not Christians and they call God too, it doesn't make them Christians...
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by antibullshit: 2:32am On Jan 12, 2020
saaron:
At the bolded. It's a fact that some settlements in the north don't pay electricity bill. But electricity officials will not hesitate to disconnect Middle belt and Southern Nigerians who don't pay electricity bills. I know places in Middle belt states where almajiris living in a location don't pay a single kobo as electricity bill and they are enjoying constant power. This is what they call One Nigeria.
A country where two set of laws (constitution and sharia) are applied to two set of people in the same geographical location! A country where almajiris, fulani terrorist and boko haram members are considered first class citizens. A country where a brilliant child that scores 250 and above is not given admission, but a dull almajiri from north that scores 5 is given straight admission to unty schools in the name of quota system.
Nigeria is nothing but a geographical deception.
THE MIDDLE BELT IS QUITE DIFFERENT FROM THE NORTH . YOU DONT SEEM TO KNOW THAT .
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by sweetgala(m): 1:05am On Jan 15, 2020
Psalmy2cute:

Your lack of wisdom is scary..

People even forget Arabic is a language spoken in the middle East where many orthodox Christians live. The population of Christians who speak Arabic as their native tongue is no less than 1 million individuals
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by iLiquidator: 6:32am On Oct 14, 2020
nijabazaar:

Is the same argument. Is there no Hausa alphabet? Why not inscribed it in Hausa?
Hausa has no alphabet of its own just like other African languages. All the. alphabets used are either borrowed from Arabic or English
Re: Malcolm Omirhobo Sues FG, CBN, AGF Over Arabic Inscription On Naira, Army Logo by Konquest: 11:00pm On Feb 26
soloenzo:
A Nigerian lawyer and Human Rights activist Barr. Malcolm Omirhobo has Thursday sued the Federal Government, Central Bank of Nigeria, Nigeria Army, Ministry of Defense and Attorney General of the Federation over the continuous Arabic inscription on the naira notes and the flag of the Nigerian Army without considering Nigeria to be a secular nation.

He is seeking a Federal High Court to interpret the provisions of Section 10 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. He filed two suits.

The defendants in the suits are Central Bank of Nigeria, Attorney-General of the Federation, the Nigerian Army, as well as the Ministry of Defence.

Plaintiff is seeking a court interpretation whether by a community reading of Sections 10 and 55 of the 1999 Constitution, it is lawful and constitutional for the defendants to permit the Naira notes to be adorned with Arabic inscriptions.

In the same vein, the plaintiff is asking whether by a community reading of Sections 1(1)(3), 10 and 55 of the 1999 Constitution, it is proper for the defendants to permit the Nigerian Army logo to be adorned, or inscribed in Arabic insignia.

He is seeking a court interpretation whether by the true letter and spirit of Section 10 of the 1999 Constitution, Nigeria is a secular state without any official religion.

He wants the court to declare that it is  illegal, unlawful, and unconstitutional to allow the Nigerian Army logo to be adorned, and inscribed in Arabic language, instead of the official English language or Hausa, Yoruba and Igbo which are the three main languages or ethnic groups in Nigeria.

The defendants are yet to reply. The Court also is yet to fix a date for the hearing of the case.

https://mobile.twitter.com/MalcolmInfiniti/status/1215275147537666048
Bump.

This so-called human rights lawyer is being garrulous perhaps to gain attention to himself.

The Arabic script used to write on the Nigerian Army logo and even the Naira is actually called ajami or HAUSA language written in Arabic script. The Yorubas of the Oyo Empire and the Ashantis of the Ashanti Empire also had their languages written in Arabic script by the Royal Palace scholars who were already learned in speaking and writing in Arabic.

Because the literacy rate was low in the North with reference to Western education back in the day, Ajami came to be inscribed on the NA logo for ease of understanding by Hausa folks.

(1) (2) (3) ... (11) (12) (13) (14) (Reply)

Sowore Blasts Kelechi Iheanacho For Visiting Governor Yahaya Bello (Photos) / Police Nab 17 Sacks Containing APC Thumb-printed Ballots In Kano / See Orji Kalu’s New Look After Undergoing Surgery In Germany (photo)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 36