Stats: 3,155,884 members, 7,828,142 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 May 2024 at 02:46 AM

President Barack Obama Said Wednesday He Supports Same-sex Marriage. - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / President Barack Obama Said Wednesday He Supports Same-sex Marriage. (622 Views)

Read What Obama Said About President Buhari And Nigeria / See What Obama Said About Nigeria And Buhari / US: We’ll Compel Nigeria To Accept Same-sex Marriage (2) (3) (4)

President Barack Obama Said Wednesday He Supports Same-sex Marriage. by ogaibe1(m): 11:37pm On May 09, 2012
President Barack Obama said Wednesday he supports same-sex marriage, raising the political stakes on an issue in which Americans are evenly split.

The announcement, long sought by supporters of same-sex marriage, puts Obama squarely at odds with presumptive Republican presidential nominee Mitt Romney.

"At a certain point I've just concluded that for me, personally, it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same-sex couples should be able to get married," Obama said in an interview with ABC News.

Obama once opposed same-sex marriage. He later indicated his views were "evolving." His announcement Wednesday in support of same-sex marriage was the first by a sitting president.
Re: President Barack Obama Said Wednesday He Supports Same-sex Marriage. by Goldmind1(m): 12:52am On May 10, 2012
foolish Obama
Re: President Barack Obama Said Wednesday He Supports Same-sex Marriage. by eamah: 1:13am On May 10, 2012
Now Obama support same-sex marriage, every president would now support same-sex marriage or loose their handout grin
Re: President Barack Obama Said Wednesday He Supports Same-sex Marriage. by Musiwa51: 1:35am On May 10, 2012
I do not believe Gay people should go to jail for 10 Years In Prison . I think that law is wrong... it is an inhuman law.

There are other ways to deal with the issue.. Not 10 years in jail. How many pen robbers goes to jail in Nigeria.

Even while the issue is sensitive.. I think Nigeria have to review the 10 years issue. it is wrong.

Why do people become gay?? I think that is what we should all be looking at . give reason why people because gay and you will find solution.
Re: President Barack Obama Said Wednesday He Supports Same-sex Marriage. by Nobody: 3:53am On May 10, 2012
There is nothing like solution or not, simply put. Obama is just showing his support for same-sex marriage because that's the only way he can compete with Mitt Romney this time around, he need those support.

Obama even in his sense won't support it, if not for his not-so-good approval rating. If you want to see what he stands for, then look at his 2008 campaign.
Re: President Barack Obama Said Wednesday He Supports Same-sex Marriage. by achi4u(m): 4:19am On May 10, 2012
@oga Musiwa,10years is too cheap,it is an act punishable by death or life imprisonment.Obama cant support gay marriage he only need their votes and after that dummmped them.
Gay people are sub-human and a lowlife organism.
Re: President Barack Obama Said Wednesday He Supports Same-sex Marriage. by eamah: 4:20am On May 10, 2012
donedy: There is nothing like solution or not, simply put. Obama is just showing his support for same-sex marriage because that's the only way he can compete with Mitt Romney this time around, he need those support.

Obama even in his sense won't support it, if not for his not-so-good approval rating. If you want to see what he stands for, then look at his 2008 campaign.

Exactly you are right. This is an election year, which requires a strategic move. He doesn't think he can win without the gay vote. Sadly, nothing said on the political front represents the true thoughts. Sad indeed!

President Obama Comes Out For Gay Marriage / Hollande Sworn In As French President / Strauss-kahn Files $1m Countersuit Against Hotel Maid

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 13