Stats: 3,151,593 members, 7,812,935 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 10:58 PM

.... - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / .... (17516 Views)

Gov Suswam,terhemen Tarzoor Spotted With V.P Namadi Sambo In Gambia / Channelstv Presidential Debate: A.P.C Should Stop Misleading The General / We Are Not Planning To Field A Muslim-muslim Ticket – APC (2) (3) (4)

.... by Nobody: 3:59pm On Oct 17, 2014

Re: .... by Nobody: 4:00pm On Oct 17, 2014

31 Likes

Re: .... by Nobody: 4:14pm On Oct 17, 2014
Fashola would be the right pick from southwest. He has been tested and trusted, displaying an unprecedented performance as lagos state governor. I would have picked rochas okorocha, hoping it will sway the ibo votes towards APC, but that will only be a dream cos they strongly believe rochas betrayed them by abandoning APGA their ibo course for APC which they have dubbed an islamic party due to their bigotted self. Any cry from ibos to APC to field an ibo VP will only amount in calamity for the party as they have pitched their tent with a clueless government whom they think is helping them get revenge for the civil war. Buhari/Fashola ticket is a sure bet that scares PDP.

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: .... by Nobody: 4:15pm On Oct 17, 2014
Other opinions will be appreciated

Re: .... by Nobody: 4:24pm On Oct 17, 2014
Demdem, caseless, donphilopus, gbawe obiagelli berem keneking and ofcourse the ever biased phockphockman your respective opinion will be appreciated

Re: .... by Nctrice(m): 4:29pm On Oct 17, 2014
Bacanista this shows that your understanding of the politics of your country is not really profound... your first two options in person of Rauf or Fashiola as VP will mean a Muslim Muslim candidates from APC? I leave the rest for you to comprehend! your third option in the person of Rotimi Amaechi as VP would in turn mean APC should forget about votes from the SS in their political equation, and they should also forget votes from the south west. Only the option of an Adams of Edo States as a VP show a little bit of prospect! But you and I know that APC won't do that! If you had started your list with Adams Oshiomole I would have had a feeling that you have a fairly firm understanding of the politics of your country! Don't get it twisted or don't let anybody deceive you, Tribalism is still a powerful wand that decided events in the political terrain of Nigeria!

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: .... by Nobody: 4:34pm On Oct 17, 2014
Nctrice:
Bacanista this shows that your understanding of the politics of your country is not really profound... your first two options in person of Rauf or Fashiola as VP will mean a Muslim Muslim candidates from APC? I leave the rest for you to comprehend! your third option in the person of[s] Rotimi Amaechi as VP would in turn mean APC should forget about votes from the SS in their political equation, and they should also forget votes from the south west[/s]. Only the option of an Adams of Edo States as a VP show a little bit of prospect! But you and I know that APC won't do that! If you had started your list with Adams Oshiomole I would have had a feeling that you have a fairly firm understanding of the politics of your country! Don't get it twisted or don't let anybody deceive you, Tribalism is still a powerful wand that decided events in the political terrain of Nigeria!
Bla bla bla...
1. The Muslim-Muslim Ticket won resoundedly in 1993. What has changed between 1993 and Now? let me tell you as at then the hostility was rife as just few years before the poll, IBB had signed Nigeria as islamic Country Member.

2. The crossed defies logic

3. Read my analysis again. The tribalism this time will work against Jonathan. It is like you don't follow trend. Jonathan's popularity is concentrated in SE, Cross River, Akwa Ibom and probably Bayelsa State. He is relatively UNPOPULAR in Rivers State. Should APC Present a Ijaw Guber Candidate and PDP present Wike in Rivers, the animosity against PDP in Rivers By the Riverine will be rife and will translate in the Presidential Poll out of protest vote. While APC may not clear Rivers State, with Amaechi on the team and PDP guber calculation flop, it will be a shared vote.

15 Likes

Re: .... by Descartes: 4:36pm On Oct 17, 2014
Yoruba votes for her candidates in presidential elections?grin
Re: .... by Descartes: 4:39pm On Oct 17, 2014
Abiola/Kinghibe '93 is not a yardstick for these political permutations and combinations.

Re: .... by Nobody: 4:39pm On Oct 17, 2014
Descartes:
Yoruba votes for her candidates in presidential elections?grin
Go enrol for history class ma'am

Re: .... by jogsman01(m): 4:40pm On Oct 17, 2014
For ur mind

Re: .... by aljharem2: 4:40pm On Oct 17, 2014
An Olu Falaye VP will be bad for Gej truth be told
Re: .... by Nobody: 4:41pm On Oct 17, 2014
Descartes:
Abiola/Kinghibe '93 is not a yardstick for these political permutations and combinations.
Says who? Do you think an average Yorubaman give a crap about religious division? In every yoruba family you will most likely see poly-religious practice among family members. This religious stuff is only dominant in SE and the North

21 Likes 1 Share

Re: .... by Nobody: 4:43pm On Oct 17, 2014
aljharem2:
An Olu Falaye VP will be bad for Gej truth be told
Thank You. But sadly, Falae is in DPA, he is the DPA Chairman. I am sure he will agree to fly the VP ticket of APC if approached. But the APC have Aregbesola and Raji Fashola to work with if they must pick from SW(Though I prefer Aregbe)

Re: .... by Descartes: 4:45pm On Oct 17, 2014
barcanista:
Go enrol for history class ma'am
Calm down we are not fighting wink they voted massively for Obj and Olu Falae Chai...
Re: .... by Nobody: 4:49pm On Oct 17, 2014
Descartes:
Calm down we are not fighting wink they voted massively for Obj and Olu Falae Chai...
In 1999 it was between Obj and Falae. Falae as AFenifere Chief was the Top Choice. Most of Obj's vote came from the North and the South East and South South(Actually SS was heavily rigged). Obj was supported in the North because he preferred Shagari over Awolowo in 1979, same reason he is loathed by the Yorubas.
In 2003, it was majorly between Obj and Buhari. Obj had to make a Pact with AD to support him for President and they will be supported for Governor, NASS and co. AD openly campaigned for Obj's PDP in 2003(which also cost AD governors except the smart Tinubu). If not, Obj would have lost woefully in 2003

Re: .... by Descartes: 4:50pm On Oct 17, 2014
Let them try the Muslim/muslim ticket and see what will become of the party. I repeat a muslim/muslim ticket will make the coast clearer for the Otuoke man. That's my opinion though. BTW you are your crew avoided the Chibok thread like Ebola wink

Re: .... by Descartes: 4:52pm On Oct 17, 2014
barcanista:
In 1999 it was between Obj and Falae. Falae as AFenifere Chief was the Top Choice. Most of Obj's vote came from the North and the South East and South South(Actually SS was heavily rigged). Obj was supported in the North because he preferred Shagari over Awolowo in 1979, same reason he is loathed by the Yorubas.
In 2003, it was majorly between Obj and Buhari. Obj had to make a Pact with AD to support him for President and they will be supported for Governor, NASS and co. AD openly campaigned for Obj's PDP in 2003(which also cost AD governors except the smart Tinubu). If not, Obj would have lost woefully in 2003
Now you are talking cool
Re: .... by Nobody: 4:52pm On Oct 17, 2014
Descartes:
Let them try the Muslim/muslim ticket and see what will become of the party. I repeat a muslim/muslim ticket will make the coast clearer for the Otuoke man. That's my opinion though. BTW you are your crew avoided the Chibok thread like Ebola wink
You and I know that the PDP is scared of GMB/Fash or GMB/Oshio ticket. Muslim-Muslim or not, as long as the candidate is accepted in the SW, I am 100% happy as your ppl will vote GEJ.

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: .... by Nobody: 4:53pm On Oct 17, 2014
Descartes:
Now you are talking cool
We aren't on the same page ma'am

Re: .... by Descartes: 4:55pm On Oct 17, 2014
barcanista:
I didn't say we are.
Re: .... by omenka(m): 4:56pm On Oct 17, 2014
Barca na wa you oo!! So you nor see me for 24hrs u nor even bother ask wetin pap. angry

Anyway, coincidentally, my dad and I had this argument just two days ago when we hung out. He talked about fielding Okorocha as Buhari's vice but I told him I'd rather we fielded a Fashola or an Oshiomole. Reason being that politics is a game of numbers and we should try to consolidate where we are strongest. As it stands, the south east is more inclined to an encore than the SS. We've got Silva from Bayelsa (much as I don't fancy the guy), Rotimi from Rivers, and Oshiomole from Edo. These guys are sure to pull some reasonable amount of support from their respective states, a combination of which could bring some much needed votes for the party. The SE is more or less a done deal with a lone ranger pulling the strings. We are likely to get more support, financially and otherwise, from the SS than the SE. So I'm all for a SS or a S western candidate for a VP than a S Eastern candidate.

Just my opinion tho.

Tis been an awesome day by the way. cheesy

Re: .... by Descartes: 4:58pm On Oct 17, 2014
barcanista:
Ofcourse we are'nt. My statement was in line with what I read which is contrary to what you wrote in the initial post.

Re: .... by dunkem21(m): 4:59pm On Oct 17, 2014
They came to sample our opinions and revert to their paymasters. I wont talk till they present a muslim/muslim ticket.

...Only then will I ask a million and one questions.

Till then.

Re: .... by Nctrice(m): 5:00pm On Oct 17, 2014
barcanista:
Bla bla bla...
1. The Muslim-Muslim Ticket won resoundedly in 1993. What has changed between 1993 and Now? let me tell you as at then the hostility was rife as just few years before the poll, IBB had signed Nigeria as islamic Country Member.

2. The crossed defies logic

3. Read my analysis again. The tribalism this time will work against Jonathan. It is like you don't follow trend. Jonathan's popularity is concentrated in SE, Cross River, Akwa Ibom and probably Bayelsa State. He is relatively UNPOPULAR in Rivers State. Should APC Present a Ijaw Guber Candidate and PDP present Wike in Rivers, the animosity against PDP in Rivers By the Riverine will be rife and will translate in the Presidential Poll out of protest vote. While APC may not clear Rivers State, with Amaechi on the team and PDP guber calculation flop, it will be a shared vote.

Here is it!
As at 1993 Political decisions in Nigeria were mainly taken amongst the Northerners (Hausa Man) and the South westerners (Youruba Man)
But as at today 2014 a South Southerner is on the verge of ruling this same Nigeria for more than 8 years by the Ballot not by the Bullet! Bacanista That's how much things has changed since 1993!

You expect APC to field a Northerner(Hausa)/South-Westerner(Yoruba) Ticket? Guy you seem to forget that Nigeria is politically made up of six geopolitical zones!
We are talking federal politics and you are calculating only Rivers state in the scheme of things in the south-south geo-political zone? Guy wake up from your slumber!

21 Likes

Re: .... by Nobody: 5:00pm On Oct 17, 2014
omenka:
Barca na wa you oo!! So you nor see me for 24hrs u nor even bother ask wetin pap. angry

Meanwhile, coincidentally, my dad and I had this argument just two days ago when we hung out. He talked about fielding Okorocha as Buhari's vice but I told him I'd rather we fielded a Fashola or an Ashiomole. Reason being that politics is a game of numbers and we should try to consolidate where we are strongest. As it stands, the south east is more inclined to an encore than the SS. We've got[b] Silva from Bayelsa[/b] (much as I don't fancy the guy), Rotimi from Rivers, and Oshiomole from Edo. These guys are sure to pull some reasonable amount of support from their respective states, a combination of which could bring some much needed votes for the party. The SE is more or less a done deal with a lone ranger pulling the strings. We are likely to get more support, financially and otherwise, from the SS than the SE. So I'm all for a SS or a S western candidate for a VP than a S Eastern candidate.

Just my opinion tho.

Tis been an awesome day by the way. cheesy
Bros Honestly, Timpre Sylva is HATED in Bayelsa State. Let us not even consider him. He won't win his ward. That guy was stoned satchet of Pure water by Bayelsans when he held sway. The rest you said I agree with you but Sylva.

Abeg no vex my boss, I hope you de fine?

Re: .... by OboloMAN: 5:00pm On Oct 17, 2014
barcanista:
Bla bla bla...

In as much as the rivers people would resist another Ikwerre Governor if WIKE emerges PDP flag bearer...
But we will Totally Vote for Jonathan.
The South South....is Totally GEJ wen it comes to National issues.

16 Likes

Re: .... by Descartes: 5:06pm On Oct 17, 2014
Let me park my Escalade and read political comments tongue
Re: .... by Nobody: 5:06pm On Oct 17, 2014
Nctrice:

Here is it!
As at 1993 Political decisions in Nigeria were mainly taken amongst the Northerners (Hausa Man) and the South westerners (Youruba Man)
But as at today 2014 a South Southerner is on the verge of ruling this same Nigeria for more than 8 year by the Ballot not by the Bullet! Bacanista That's how much things has changed since 1993!

You expect APC to field a Northerner(Hausa)/South-Westerner(Yoruba) Ticket? Guy you seem to forget that Nigeria is politically made up of six geopolitical zones!
We are talking federal politics and you are calculating only Rivers state in the scheme of things in the south-south geo-political zone? Guy wake up from your slumber!
My friend the 1993 poll was not between Hausa and Yoruba but between the Military holding on to power at all cost and democratic struggle. In fact it was an Igboman in the Name of Arthur Nzeribe that went to court to stop the announcement of MKO as Winner, not the Hausa. As at then, Atiku Abubakar, Shehu Yar Adua and the PDM were members of Abiola's SDP

Re: .... by Nobody: 5:08pm On Oct 17, 2014
OboloMAN:

In as much as the rivers people would resist another Ikwerre Governor if WIKE emerges PDP flag bearer...
But we will Totally Vote for Jonathan.
The South South....is Totally GEJ wen it comes to National issues.
That is a ridiculous claim my friend. Jonathan may win Rivers(not disputing) but He will not win by more than 70%. In fact the Wike issue may reduce his vote the more. As for EDO state PDP won't have an easy ride there, especially with a Fashola or Oshio on the ticket. APC will get a few vote from Delta but again PDP will win. however, the Plan is to encroach into Jonathan's territory while securing APC's North and Protecting SW. We all know SE, CRS, AKS and Bayelsa is PDP

Re: .... by Canme4u(m): 5:08pm On Oct 17, 2014
Am with OP on this one.

Re: .... by Nobody: 5:15pm On Oct 17, 2014
Canme4u:
Am with OP on this one.
We all know the PDP Nightmare. It is gameover for them

I Won’t Delay Confirmation Of Buhari’s Ministerial Nominees – Saraki / Rate Of Ghost Contracts, Looting Under Amaechi Shocking – Rivers PDP / Police, SSS, Broker Peace Between Wike, Amaechi

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 84